Wedding Attires for the Groom, Recommendations and discussions

TSzsnipes
post Jun 11 2009, 01:18 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(jind86 @ Jun 11 2009, 12:34 AM)
if you're going ahead with rental suits, read up the links provided in the first post and the last few posts (link provided by lanatir) on how a suit should fit in the Suit and others thread..

im sorry but i just dont trust the bridal houses staff's knowledge, its better if you yourself am aware of how a great fit should look like.. you should read up on what type of color suit you want to go for (whether you want to go for charcoal/navy, etc), type of lapel, type of vent, number of buttons, etc.. at least you would have an idea of what you're looking for and start browsing their selections.. and from there you can discuss with the bridal houses staff or whoever which is supplying the rented suit..

Added on June 11, 2009, 12:41 am
no they wont, they could probably just do simple alterations like pant length, what you shld do is find a good tailor and get them altered..

thats the trouble in msia.. unlike the states, department stores which sell suits have their own in-house tailors which will be there on hand to take your measurements first and then start showing you suits within your size.. and then from there they proceed to pin up the suit for alterations to be done..

unfortunately here, you have to learn yourself how a good suit should fit at the body then bring them later to get them altered.. if you go to suiting stores like Sparksmen Shop, they will provide such service to find a suit off-the-rack, however for general brands like Seed and Padini, no..
Sparksman. I heard before. Is this far expensive than Seed/G2000/Padini ?
U+FFFD
post Jun 11 2009, 01:27 AM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ Jun 11 2009, 01:18 AM)
Sparksman. I heard before. Is this far expensive than Seed/G2000/Padini ?
With tailor-made suits, being over your budget is definite. If you want to get a cheap tailored suit, I remember seeing an advertisement in The Star a few days back on a promotion offered by a tailoring shop. Among the listed prices, I remember that their tailored suit costs only around RM500. Suffice to say, the material is definitely polyester for that price but then again, most RM500 off-the-rack suits are also of the same material but not specifically made to your measurements.

Regarding name of the shop and in which particular day's newspaper the ad was in, I forgot. Apologies. However, I think it is Vincent Tailor in Amcorp Mall since they always have promotions.

Added on June 11, 2009, 1:38 am

Anyway, if you need other people's feedback on the tailoring of wedding clothes, check out Malaysian Wedding & Brides forum. It is definitely the one-stop resource and discussion forum for everything related to wedding.

This post has been edited by Fusion[eX]: Jun 11 2009, 01:39 AM
TSzsnipes
post Jun 11 2009, 12:26 PM

878 posts

QUOTE(FusioneX @ Jun 11 2009, 01:27 AM)

Added on June 11, 2009, 1:38 am
Anyway, if you need other people's feedback on the tailoring of wedding clothes, check out Malaysian Wedding & Brides forum. It is definitely the one-stop resource and discussion forum for everything related to wedding.
I look around at other forums,
the Peter Tailor seems quite Cheap & heard got experience one. (~RM650)
Anyone know this ?

Even cheapest material from Tailor Made is better than Cheapest Off-The-Rack type, right.
jind86
post Jun 11 2009, 07:38 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ Jun 11 2009, 12:26 PM)
I look around at other forums,
the Peter Tailor seems quite Cheap & heard got experience one. (~RM650)
Anyone know this ?

Even cheapest material from Tailor Made is better than Cheapest Off-The-Rack type, right.

of course cheapest tailor made will be better than cheapest OTR.. because the suit is measured to fit your body and it is specially personalized for you..
calvinloke
post Jun 11 2009, 09:26 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(FusioneX @ Jun 11 2009, 01:00 AM)
I swear by sartorial god's name that I'll do just that on my wedding day, if they day ever comes. Haha
I thought I'm the only one. Make sure none of your guests show up in their daddy's jeans though. tongue.gif
U+FFFD
post Jun 12 2009, 02:19 AM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(calvinloke @ Jun 11 2009, 09:26 PM)
I thought I'm the only one. Make sure none of your guests show up in their daddy's jeans though. tongue.gif
I dare say that I'll at least slap derbies on their heads and wear a top hat myself. Anyone who dares to attend in ragged jeans will get b****-slapped with doeskin gloves. laugh.gif
yeelin04
post Jun 17 2009, 03:50 PM

✈ Look at all my stars ✈
3,116 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ Jun 10 2009, 03:09 AM)
Hi All,

I'm going to be a Groom soon. I don't know much about it cause never wed b4  biggrin.gif
About a Groom's attire. Is that called suit or Tuxedo ?

I need get one for myself.
Is it going to Buy or Custom-made or Rent one ?
You see, wedding cost me a lot now. I'll try to spend as low as possible, ok  blush.gif

Can someone guide me on these attire. Where to buy / made / rent.

Hope someone help out  smile.gif

hmm i tot mostly when u take wedding picture they come with the coat..only buy own pants + the white collar shirt..
TSzsnipes
post Jun 17 2009, 04:56 PM

878 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Jun 17 2009, 03:50 PM)
hmm i tot mostly when u take wedding picture they come with the coat..only buy own pants + the white collar shirt..
No, wedding photograph place don't rent or supply coat. They told me coat is very fussy. cannot suit everyone.
Gown size has more typical, also can altered to suit ur size, but no coat.... sad.gif
yeelin04
post Jun 17 2009, 08:26 PM

✈ Look at all my stars ✈
3,116 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ Jun 17 2009, 04:56 PM)
No, wedding photograph place don't rent or supply coat. They told me coat is very fussy. cannot suit everyone.
Gown size has more typical, also can altered to suit ur size, but no coat....  sad.gif
huh y yours so special der?

last time when my cousin sis married, her husband got coat from the wedding shop..

u can rent from them to suit your wifey's gown...
jind86
post Jun 17 2009, 08:27 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Jun 17 2009, 08:26 PM)

last time when my cousin sis married, her husband got coat from the wedding shop..

suit your wife's gown? lol.. how does that work?
TSzsnipes
post Jun 17 2009, 08:36 PM

878 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Jun 17 2009, 08:26 PM)

maybe some got & some don't have....
i visited those don't provide...
yeelin04
post Jun 17 2009, 08:40 PM

✈ Look at all my stars ✈
3,116 posts

QUOTE(jind86 @ Jun 17 2009, 08:27 PM)
suit your wife's gown? lol.. how does that work?
oh example : my cousin chose her wedding gown was cream colour from the designer place..damn freaking expensive need to add RM 600 for that gown..then they come with a cream colour coat..

QUOTE(zsnipes @ Jun 17 2009, 08:36 PM)
maybe some got & some don't have....
i visited those don't provide...
u ask the person see how much do they charge if u rent from them..it might be cheaper from renting outside..+ u als have wedding packages with them..
TSzsnipes
post Jun 17 2009, 08:43 PM

878 posts

I thing I would like to know.
If the Bride is wearing those Traditional KUA, the groom wear coat can match or not ?
or must the Groom wear Mandarin Collar to suit ?
yeelin04
post Jun 17 2009, 08:45 PM

✈ Look at all my stars ✈
3,116 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ Jun 17 2009, 08:43 PM)
If the Bride is wearing those Traditional KUA, the groom wear coat can match or not ?
if wear KUA is better you wear mandarin collar it suits more than coat...

coat is english version..

mandarin collar is chinese traditional version..

if u wear coat then it looks a bit weird...
netmatrix
post Jun 18 2009, 01:03 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

It all depends really. Maybe the photographer going for the Shanghai look or something?
yeelin04
post Jun 18 2009, 01:19 AM

✈ Look at all my stars ✈
3,116 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ Jun 10 2009, 04:07 AM)
Hi, Thanks for the info.

I think I can go for the common one. A Suit.
I don't have any idea the price range of a suit. Is it okay I say.... around RM400 to RM500 ?
So, Buy off-the-rack or Rent is recommended for me ?

I think I only need it for,
1) Marriage Registrations
2) Wedding Ceremony Day
3) Dinner Banquet

Any other stuff I need to know ?
Places convenient for me for shopping are KL/Selangor.

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jun 18 2009, 01:03 AM)
It all depends really. Maybe the photographer going for the Shanghai look or something?
he wanted for that 3 events not for photography session..
TSzsnipes
post Jun 18 2009, 02:06 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Jun 17 2009, 08:45 PM)

I see some wedding photos from catalogue & online, really sees some couples matching KUA & Coat.
Haven't found any photos of KUA Matching Mandarin Collar yet....
U+FFFD
post Jun 18 2009, 02:14 AM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ Jun 17 2009, 08:43 PM)
Coordinate with the bride's KUA and go for the mandarin collar suit jacket, preferably rented as the world today has no use for mandarin collar jackets unless for wedding or fancy events.

Just make sure that your trousers are plain and not striped like the one in the picture.

This post has been edited by Fusion[eX]: Jun 18 2009, 02:16 AM
yeelin04
post Jun 18 2009, 09:35 AM

✈ Look at all my stars ✈
3,116 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ Jun 18 2009, 02:06 AM)
I see some wedding photos from catalogue & online, really sees some couples matching KUA & Coat.
Haven't found any photos of KUA Matching Mandarin Collar yet....
not to say kenot..just it wont mix & match nicely,

summore mostly gals chose to wear KUA only 2 reasons nia

1. parents want her to wear.to follow back tradition

2. she ownself feels more tradition ways lor...

so the best ikut the flow lor...all depends on the groom & bride...

QUOTE(FusioneX @ Jun 18 2009, 02:14 AM)
Coordinate with the bride's KUA and go for the mandarin collar suit jacket, preferably rented as the world today has no use for mandarin collar jackets unless for wedding or fancy events.

Just make sure that your trousers are plain and not striped like the one in the picture.
its expensive though...
TSzsnipes
post Jun 18 2009, 05:00 PM

878 posts

Got 2 Tailors at Amcorp Mall named Peter Tailor & Vincent Tailor.

I want to make 1 set of Coat & Pants. biggrin.gif

Vincent Tailor
Color: Black
Material: Silk Wool (it's what he told me)
Tailor: A Younger Man (looks not as experience as Peter Tailor below)
Price: RM1,000 (Coat & Pants)

Peter Tailor
Color: Black
Material: Unknown (forgot to ask, I feel it's not as silky as the above Silk Wool)
Tailor: An Older Man (looks quite experience in doing tailoring)
Price: RM700 (Coat & Pants)

Other better quality clothing I cannot afford anymore, over budget. sweat.gif

So, which one do you think is good, please suggest one. notworthy.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0235sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:41 PM