65 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Western Digital TV™ HD Media Player, Full HD 1080p Player

zeese
post Feb 23 2011, 09:02 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

Anyone having problem with mkv with dts sound for wdtv live?
Everytime I play the movie, the movie will be fine initially, after sometime, it starts to stutter (the movie moves slowly) and sound will be gone?
This is using external hard disk (NOT networking). I tried to change audio setting to every settings available (stereo, digital, digital without hdmi audio). All the same.. played fine initially, then it stutters..

Any help? Tq
ancnw
post Feb 23 2011, 09:54 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Feb 23 2011, 09:02 AM)
Anyone having problem with mkv with dts sound for wdtv live?
Everytime I play the movie, the movie will be fine initially, after sometime, it starts to stutter (the movie moves slowly) and sound will be gone?
This is using external hard disk (NOT networking). I tried to change audio setting to every settings available (stereo, digital, digital without hdmi audio). All the same.. played fine initially, then it stutters..

Any help? Tq
Have you updated your firmware? What version are you on now?
laowai
post Feb 23 2011, 10:00 AM

490 posts

I've tried hundreds of mkvs ... no such problem of stuttering or hang in middle of movie.

It's either compression issue or no problem, that's all.

zeese
post Feb 23 2011, 11:54 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(ancnw @ Feb 23 2011, 09:54 AM)
Have you updated your firmware?  What version are you on now?
I'm using the latest official firmware.. anyway, I've google a bit and found some post
that recommend to check the hdmi output setting.. My setting is automatically set to 720p, 50Hz
by the WDTV .. If I'm not mistaken, my lcd tv spec is 720p, 60Hz. I'm gonna try to change
the setting when I'm back home and see if it will fix my issue..
reef_d
post Feb 23 2011, 12:02 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Feb 23 2011, 11:54 AM)
I'm using the latest official firmware.. anyway, I've google a bit and found some post
that recommend to check the hdmi output setting.. My setting is automatically set to 720p, 50Hz
by the WDTV .. If I'm not mistaken, my lcd tv spec is 720p, 60Hz. I'm gonna try to change
yeah i think that could solve your prob..
once i manually set the settings to 50hz too instead of 60hz.. but on my lcd, the stuttering happened really2 fast.. immediately after playing movie i know its the wrong setting.. in your case, you state that it happened 'sometime' later so not sure if it was the same case with me..
anfieldude
post Feb 23 2011, 12:15 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Feb 23 2011, 11:54 AM)
Its framerate mismatch between the source file and output. This why autoframerate is so important.
zeese
post Feb 24 2011, 08:55 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

Thank you guys for all your suggestion.. I just found out the cause.
I forgot to mention that I connect the hard disk through usb hub. In fact, the official firmware doesn't really support usb hub but in my case, it works because the hub is connected to only hard dsk and usb keyboard. Not much load there.

When I connect the hard disk directly to usb port of wdtv, I can play the dts movie without problem.. smile.gif

laowai
post Feb 24 2011, 09:48 AM

490 posts

WDTV old generations got no firmware for long time now. Think WD has abandoned the old gens
zeese
post Feb 24 2011, 10:09 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

Yeah.. I think they no longer interested to continue supporting wdtv1..
Just like any other product.. once they've a lot of new products lining up, they'll stop supporting old one.. and I guess, they won't be new buyers for the wdtv1 because wdtv live is just like rm20/rm30 more than wdtv1 nowadays..
writesimply
post Feb 24 2011, 01:44 PM

936 posts

WD HD player is a legacy product now. No new firmwares being developed.

That said, I'm looking to install WDLxTV firmware into my friend's WD HD player. The reason is newer .MKV files hangs the player; only a reset would make the player operational.

The problem is not the .MKV files but the player itself. It's not recognizing the newer compression header in .MKV files. Once it reads ONE file with this header, it hangs. ALL music and video files read after the point of hanging will not play.

Supposedly WDLxTV firmware fixed this problem but I can't see any posts about it working with WD HD players. Most reports are for the WD HD Live players.

fuad
laowai
post Feb 24 2011, 02:54 PM

490 posts

Tell us if it works.

Didn't know new gen firmware can work for old gen.

QUOTE(writesimply @ Feb 24 2011, 01:44 PM)

That said, I'm looking to install WDLxTV firmware into my friend's WD HD player. The reason is newer .MKV files hangs the player; only a reset would make the player operational.

The problem is not the .MKV files but the player itself. It's not recognizing the newer compression header in .MKV files. Once it reads ONE file with this header, it hangs. ALL music and video files read after the point of hanging will not play.

Supposedly WDLxTV firmware fixed this problem but I can't see any posts about it working with WD HD players. Most reports are for the WD HD Live players.
fuad
alucard89
post Feb 24 2011, 05:44 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Feb 24 2011, 01:44 PM)

fuad
I don't they include header compression fix for the wdtv hd original firmware.
Th reason it works for WDTV Live is because wdlxtv v1.03.46 is based on the 0.4.5.3 original firmware that already includes support for header compression.

writesimply
post Feb 25 2011, 02:19 AM

936 posts

QUOTE(laowai @ Feb 24 2011, 02:54 PM)
Tell us if it works.
Didn't know new gen firmware can work for old gen.

I read the release log for it. Says nothing about .MKV header compression amendments. The dev team says that they cannot develop the codec; it must come from WD.

fuad
dR.viLLanZ
post Feb 27 2011, 07:25 PM

Hi..
Im planning to get WDTV Live soon..Today I went to Lowyat to check the price and demo set..
I want to plug this set to my LCD TV using HDMI cable..But for audio I wanna use my AV receiver..
Its a normal AV receiver,which have red and white cable..

So I wanna know whether for picture can I use HDMI output and for audio use AV Output..?

Another thing is,can it play normal 30GB -40GB files flawlessly..?

Coz the seller recommend me another brand,kworld i think...
putih
post Feb 27 2011, 08:46 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(dR.viLLanZ @ Feb 27 2011, 07:25 PM)
Hi..
Im planning to get WDTV Live soon..Today I went to Lowyat to check the price and demo set..
I want to plug this set to my LCD TV using HDMI cable..But for audio I wanna use my AV receiver..

So I wanna know whether for picture can I use HDMI output and for audio use AV Output..?

Preferred connection for your case:
Video -> HDMI to TV
Audio -> Optical to AVR (All AVR has optical input unless it's pre DD/DTS era, 1997 I think)

Never tried with 30-40GB files. But if you play ISO files mainly, better get Dune smile.gif

Good Luck.
shahruls
post Feb 27 2011, 09:18 PM

243 posts

wdtv live can play bmdv 30-40GB files but without menu. i tested 2 title... if u want full menu better get dune d1

This post has been edited by shahruls: Feb 27 2011, 09:19 PM
dR.viLLanZ
post Feb 27 2011, 11:13 PM

QUOTE(putih @ Feb 27 2011, 08:46 PM)
Preferred connection for your case:
Video -> HDMI to TV
Audio -> Optical to AVR (All AVR has optical input unless it's  pre DD/DTS era, 1997 I think)

Never tried with 30-40GB files.  But if you play ISO files mainly, better get Dune smile.gif

Good Luck.
Ya mine is pre era.. sweat.gif
So which connection i should use for audio..? notworthy.gif
Pok Leh
post Feb 28 2011, 02:53 AM

263 posts

Hi..

did you actually found one? (the WDTV Live)? in Lowyat, Imbi or Digital Mall...emmmmm
dR.viLLanZ
post Feb 28 2011, 09:53 AM

QUOTE(Pok Leh @ Feb 28 2011, 02:53 AM)
did you actually found one? (the WDTV Live)? in Lowyat, Imbi or Digital Mall...emmmmm
I think Viewnet still selling this model..
Only left few if Im not wrong...
Viewnet Hub..
zeese
post Feb 28 2011, 10:00 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

Hi..

QUOTE(dR.viLLanZ @ Feb 27 2011, 11:13 PM)
Ya mine is pre era.. sweat.gif
So which connection i should use for audio..? notworthy.gif
For you setup, you can use the av cable (red/white/yellow) cable to connect the
audio to your AV receiver.. and in the wdtv setting, set the audio to stereo.

Another option is, just use your hdmi cable only because hdmi cable also carries
a sound/audio. In the wdtv setting, u choose "hdmi connection with audio".
However, for my lcd, if the movie is in AC3 movie, I cannot hear any sounds using
this mode. I believe, it's because ac3 signal is transmitted via the hdmi cable to my
lcd and my lcd have no capability to decode ac3 to stereo sound. If I'm watching
stereo divx movies, there's no problem at all.

65 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0327sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:40 PM