Canon EOS thread V31, The White Knights

goldfries
post Nov 8 2010, 10:36 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

doesn't matter, you'll get it. you read my simple food shoot article?

quite often it relies on you to spot where are the strong and soft light sources and how to use it for your photos.

the earlier photo i use flash, cos i was at event so flash la who cares.

not the best shot i have but you can see how i use the strong lights at the back to highlight the creamy texture of the dish.

you can combo food also, one as subject while the other as decoration.

goldfries
post Nov 8 2010, 10:45 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

http://www.goldfries.com/photography/food-...sic-equipments/ you missed out this article huh? smile.gif see if you can pick up some things from there.

when i want to TAKE PHOTO, i don't just suka hati go to the makan place wan la. i study the location, study the crowd (ok la not exactly but sometimes you get to know when got less crowd. less crowd mean less waiter / worker walking around. mean less light variation also). location means surrounding, see is it shaded or got natural source of light. blablablablabla..........

sound like going for battle right? of course, as a photographer you're supposed to THINK. not just go there and hentam and hope for the best. you hope for the best only after you think.

you need to know how to manipulate the environment, with or without flash. some photos if i tell you how long i took to take and what equipment i used - you might be shocked. wink.gif

anyway back to taking those photos. reach restaurant also not really need to rush to find place. if you have experience, you can agak agak where to sit best. and also ........... eh i think i cover most of it in the article already, i'm just repeating myself. hehe.

to add to the complexity, you may need to also consider the temperature of the light. no la no need to go touch it hot or not, sure hot wan. i referring to whether the lights are cool, warm or whatever.

some restaurants like to mix their lights. either that or they cincai replace bulb with whatever color and don't care. i tell you when light is like that susah, even RAW also hard to adjust.
goldfries
post Nov 8 2010, 11:03 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 8 2010, 10:57 PM)
When you need some inspiring food shots can also visit http://www.vkeong.com/ nod.gif apart from goldfries' blog la laugh.gif

Goldfries can comment on my pic ma? Taken with LX3, the lighting was quite bad, so i shot with RAW + PP quite a bit biggrin.gif

aiyah my blog picture so so la. sometimes i lz to use SLR snap wan. cannot compare to brother LVK wan la.

anyway your photo ah, like that lor - good enough as food blog photo. i no care so much.

but i think LX3 can try zoom closer. in situation like this it would be great if you can sit closer to some light source. it helps. another thought is to bring a small small gorrilapod or something to shoot using point and shoot.
goldfries
post Nov 8 2010, 11:09 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

got got. I bought my Jenova sling bag for about RM 150 i think. few years back. I met vikingw2k a few years back, saw he using same bag also. if i push everything in i can fit 4 lenses, 1 body and 1 flash. my other combo is 1 body 3 lens 2 flash la. sometimes i bring 2 flash.
goldfries
post Nov 8 2010, 11:19 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Nov 8 2010, 11:12 PM)
whoa goldfies ur blog is awesome lah~!!! soo nice like those magazine one... u inspired me liao... sui ah ur blog makes me HUNGRY!!!! ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH..................... biggrin.gif
thanks biggrin.gif i spent a lot of time and effort to write. as long as got people appreciate and support the site also i damn happy already.

i got some more articles coming out on other areas of photography.

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 8 2010, 11:16 PM)
Damn. I'm using Maxis 3G now and can't load into goldy's Buurps. sad.gif

I wanna see the Pang's... sad.gif
yeah donno why. i got your msg on MSN the other day.

i just super duper busy to trouble shoot only.

both business and personal stuff all coming in within the same weeks.
goldfries
post Nov 8 2010, 11:28 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i donno what model. i bought it back in 2008. i see cheap i buy. serve me well till now.
goldfries
post Nov 8 2010, 11:33 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 8 2010, 11:29 PM)
Goldy, in which kind of situation I can utilise the +4 filter the best? I tried snapping the chicken chop gravy the other day and it turned out sucks. sad.gif

Any advice? smile.gif
why da heck you want to use +4 to snap gravy? nothing to see wan leh. gravy best snapped as a decoration or accompanying item i find.

i show you what i snap with +4 la.

user posted image <=-- notice i use the light to HIGHLIGHT the green part, showing the texture.

reason to use +4 : when items are small and my 50mm cannot reach due to MFD range.

i think total time spent with my Raynox DCR-250 is when i'm doing my computer stuff rather than taking photos. tongue.gif works great as a magnifying glass to fix bent pins and read small serial numbers.
goldfries
post Nov 8 2010, 11:39 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

wah like that you call harsh. biggrin.gif no la not harsh la. i donno what you want to shoot la i see gravy my thought is just that liquid substance in a bowl. hehe.
goldfries
post Nov 8 2010, 11:50 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Nov 8 2010, 11:47 PM)
u can always try bafallo brand...the price is quite cheap n quality wise still ok...
tested picture style wit RAW...and gt affect...i always thought tht picture style only affect photo wit Jpeg format...
http://www.usa.canon.com/content/picturest...file/index.html

(1) Original RAW image data is never changed by use of Picture Styles or other controls in the camera or Canon software. If a particular effect is tried and is not satisfactory, simply select different Picture Styles or other RAW image settings, and process the file again.

if you opened tried one of the default picture style and open that RAW file using DPP, i think it would load the picture style. (i haven't tried) that doesn't mean RAW is affected.
goldfries
post Nov 9 2010, 12:08 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Nov 8 2010, 11:55 PM)
view through my dslr gt affected wo... rclxub.gif
of course la but that doesn't mean RAW is affected.

that's just the camera loading RAW file + the picture style you used.
goldfries
post Nov 9 2010, 12:11 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

no long term short term la. they work differently.

for assignments i bring my sling more than my backpack cos it's most convenient. backpack nicer for travelling, the other day walking around Singapore with my LP FP 250 and my notebook, lenses and body blablablabla.......... good workout!
goldfries
post Nov 9 2010, 12:19 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

generally those with 1 strap you can on shoulder is called sling bag / shoulder bag.

the term Slingshot is for one of Lowepro's product range.

*for clarification sake la.

and single strap bag hurts cos all the weight rests on 1 shoulder. smile.gif
goldfries
post Nov 9 2010, 12:20 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Nov 9 2010, 12:20 AM)
lol...wonder y so many ppl can get hurt by slingshot bag.. hmm.gif
i hang it for whole day n still feel nth... sweat.gif
you carry what thing, they carry what thing?

fruitie bring everything out wan you know. smile.gif

goldfries
post Nov 9 2010, 12:23 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

very simple. look at Lowepro website.

http://products.lowepro.com/catalog/Sling-bags,4.htm

those are the list of SLING bags they have. one of the range is called SlingShot.

goldfries
post Nov 9 2010, 07:03 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(poi2005 @ Nov 9 2010, 12:11 PM)
Wow, does that means I am gay(no offense on sexuality) as I own a 550D? Haha...
Btw, anyone here used  Tamron AF 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical (IF) MACRO lens before?

Or anyone here owns a all-round-lens, mind to share your opinions/experience?
they saying that cos 550D small. don't care wan.

my photos from this little fella can satisfy some tough judges, so i don't see why anyone should worry about using it.

all rounder lenses are fine, they have advantage on range but lose out on speed and quality, generally speaking but the quality is also generally acceptable, after all it's a travel lens and you're not using them for competition or wanting it in high detail print.

QUOTE(chinti @ Nov 9 2010, 05:13 PM)
the price... shocking.gif fuyoh..7k~  rclxub.gif
bt the bokeh is lik wow... brows.gif
i suggest you don't think so much about bokeh. if you look at the best photos in the world, there's minimal to little bokeh.

Added on November 9, 2010, 7:08 pm
QUOTE(FirstOne @ Nov 9 2010, 05:51 PM)
U do wedding photography with lenses 1 meh? Ease? dream on =.=
why cannot? whether actual day or pre-wed, you'!l be surprised it can be done beautifully with just 1 lens.

i shot a friend's wedding recently with 18-135 IS. shoot one day. image handed the next day. 2 days later the mother come thank me for the photos. smile.gif

that's not to say you should rely on only one but it's just to show your mind (thinking need more than 1 lensis a greater limitation than your gear.
goldfries
post Nov 9 2010, 11:56 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(FirstOne @ Nov 9 2010, 11:44 PM)
LoL..i suggest u go and read again what I post =.="
i saw only 4 posts in this thread. 1 is 24-70. 1 is ipad. 1 is the one i quoted. 1 is this one asking me to go read. not that it matters. smile.gif

Added on November 9, 2010, 11:57 pm
QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Nov 9 2010, 09:23 PM)
My own motto is that "Why everyone can do that and I can't? We are all human"
because we're all different.

a car is still a car. why what one car do doesn't mean the other car can do? *of if you prefer, can also replace it with camera*

Added on November 10, 2010, 12:00 am
QUOTE(ckdenion @ Nov 9 2010, 07:52 PM)
welcome to canon EOS!
mayb u can visit food photography blog to learn more on d composition...=)
anyway...nice try u got there!improve by practicing more!
1. you referring to food blog or food photography blog?

2. best reference - cook books! tongue.gif or watch AFC

3. food blog photos generally not nice. there are those nice ones but they are still limited in many ways. taking nice photos for food blog doesn't mean one can actually do nice food shoot.

Added on November 10, 2010, 12:03 am
QUOTE(KIntos @ Nov 9 2010, 07:47 PM)
Hello Sifu,

Im a newbie on this photography. Just bought canon 550D recently. pls feel free comment on my below picture on where i should improve. using 50mm 1.8
next time just put the IMG here rather than link.

for better feedback, best you put in gallery rather than asking here. the spam level is insane and you are not likely to get any feedback when that happens.

good attempt but try having a wider depth of field, if you're shooting food at f1.8 or whatever widest aperture with your prime lens - you're not heading the right direction.

might need some work on the exposure too.
goldfries
post Nov 10 2010, 03:27 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 10 2010, 01:56 AM)
I think we all should ask Goldfries to conduct a special food photography class for us tongue.gif But hopefully free la! biggrin.gif
i'm on LYN / Facebook / Twitter. i'm always around if people want to ask.

just that Canon thread go so fast, only reply when I can.

QUOTE(chinti @ Nov 10 2010, 12:20 AM)
I'm still a newb in photography and I tested wedding photography last week at my cousin wedding...my exp is that the light won't b enough due to the ceiling is very high and I guess all wedding dinner hv diff kinda light that will affect ur shot..so it's very hard to get the right setting at tht time on the spot...plus u nd to follow both the bride n groom everywhere to shoot which is another hard task...
every event is different, that's why you need to get your basics right, and at least know how to adapt.

bounce can be tricky.

simple way is just shoot direct with a stofen / demb diffuser. use TTL.

in Malaysia wedding very long process. pre-wedding. wedding day itself, then at night dinner some more. in places like UK - 1 shot finish the whole thing wan la. smile.gif

so when you say shoot wedding here, i believe you're referring to wedding dinner. wedding dinner usually dim lights and yeah, have to follow around. depends on how IDEA-FUL is the couple la, some of them want to do walk in in grand manner with music boom bam away. then got game show some more. you need to know how to go about.

don't worry, we all make mistakes. mistakes on paid assignments do happen, happened to me before but it's part and parcel of learning.

QUOTE(FirstOne @ Nov 10 2010, 01:11 AM)
He is saying about owning that 3 lenses making the wedding photography easy, well, what i means was skill are more important. and i dono why u go reply with 1 lens bla bla  rclxub.gif
Nvm forget it ba.  smile.gif
sorry, maybe got conversation flow that i missed. smile.gif

Added on November 10, 2010, 3:29 am
QUOTE(victorr @ Nov 10 2010, 01:47 AM)
Food pic spam  tongue.gif
ahh good try but you have a long way to go in composition.

one thing for sure - # of people on the table DOES affect your photos. biggrin.gif a bunch of hungry friends pressure you to finish taking photo, make sure you can focus. sometimes they affect the shadow and such in the background or even the sources of light to the food.

Added on November 10, 2010, 3:29 amof forgot to say, even their dress /shirt color CAN actually affect your photos. don't play play man.
goldfries
post Nov 10 2010, 01:36 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

eh 550# with grip, lens and flash on is not light.

camcorder for better video? hehe, i had both, prefer dslr video.
goldfries
post Nov 11 2010, 07:23 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

guys and gals, CreativeAsia 2011 - cheap cheap RM 1000 for conference. smile.gif how many of you intend to go ah?

All the top photographers there to speak, RM 1000 is so little to pay for it.
goldfries
post Nov 11 2010, 11:47 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Redcross @ Nov 11 2010, 07:29 PM)
Im sending a contest form from Digital SLR Photography tomolo, since my office is juz next door to theirs~ biggrin.gif
hope i win lor! laugh.gif
i ask one thing you replying another.

eh you student mah, can get discount still.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0469sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:53 AM