Official Blackberry Torch 9800 Community, A place for Discussion and Sharing

MetalHeads
post Nov 18 2010, 12:34 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(kent_jai @ Nov 18 2010, 12:15 PM)
That right button beside your trackpad...

Added on November 18, 2010, 12:20 pm

Mine also Mexico 4....the slider abit loose...button abit problem...unlock button also seem got problem =.=;
What is the issue with the unlock button just in case I did not notice, gonna send for waranty by today or tommorow, will miss my torch during that time.

Added on November 18, 2010, 12:36 pmMine brighstar

This post has been edited by MetalHeads: Nov 18 2010, 12:36 PM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 18 2010, 12:45 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

The unlock button is loose... When you press it you will feel "goyang" this is what describe by Torch owner...
MetalHeads
post Nov 18 2010, 12:57 PM

81 posts

Its seams ok. But not sure for the long run coz just using it under 1 week
EightPhantomz
post Nov 18 2010, 01:05 PM

1,766 posts

Mine still ok. No loose buttons/slider. So far so good.
kent_jai
post Nov 18 2010, 01:11 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(stuffx @ Nov 18 2010, 12:33 PM)
mexico 4 brightstar set or at&t set?
Mine Brightstar...

Added on November 18, 2010, 1:13 pm
QUOTE(MetalHeads @ Nov 18 2010, 12:57 PM)
Its seams ok. But not sure for the long run coz just using it under 1 week
Hope you got no problem after 2 weeks tongue.gif

Added on November 18, 2010, 1:19 pm
QUOTE(dicksonbell @ Nov 18 2010, 12:45 PM)
The unlock button is loose... When you press it you will feel "goyang" this is what describe by Torch owner...
Yeah...That unlock button always accidently get touch and unlock itself...

This post has been edited by kent_jai: Nov 18 2010, 01:19 PM
MetalHeads
post Nov 18 2010, 02:04 PM

81 posts

Just come back from digi center ss2 they say they have 7days return policy, too bad lunch hour is only 1 hour didn't have chance my one to get examined. Gonna try at times square they open after office hours
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 18 2010, 02:06 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

That is not bad 7 days Return Policy... Better be quick...
spinworkz
post Nov 18 2010, 03:13 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(CKJMark @ Nov 18 2010, 08:31 AM)
No need deposit.  You just have to pay for the phone price. 

What to check for:-

- button panel under the touchscreen, make sure its not loose or flimsy.  It should fit nicely, and you cannot see the backlight from between the gaps of the touchscreen and the button panel.  Test the buttons also.  In my case, after pressing the BB menu button a few times, the panel is loose.

- check your phone whether can tether with Desktop Manager 6 (test out both 3g and 2g setting).  In my case, 3G cannot connect at all.  2G connected but cannot surf.

- slider mechanism.  Make sure it doesn't feel loose

Remember that Maxis policy is that if your phone is defective, they will only change for you within 24 hours from the time of purchase.  After that they will insist you send the phone for warranty service with Brightstar.  Just FYI, Maxis and Brightstar warranty service period is 2-4 weeks.  Don't let them tell you "please call our online technician to solve your problem" because they will take 2-3 working days to get back to you and by that time, 24 hours pass liao and they won't replace the phone for you.

I am currently in a dispute with Maxis on this now and opted to drop them in favour of Digi.
wow, thank you very very very much for your advises CKJMark! biggrin.gif

i will check these 3 parts!
but one thing is i'll be buying on Saturday and maxis center will be closed on Sunday, it will be over 24 hours if my Torch is defective and need to change a new one... sad.gif
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 18 2010, 03:15 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Then get it on weekdays...
CKJMark
post Nov 18 2010, 04:03 PM

579 posts

Which Maxis centre are you going to? Those in shopping malls are open 7 days a week if I'm not wrong.
spinworkz
post Nov 18 2010, 04:33 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(CKJMark @ Nov 18 2010, 04:03 PM)
Which Maxis centre are you going to?  Those in shopping malls are open 7 days a week if I'm not wrong.
smile.gif most probably this maxis centre:

Penang - I-Centre Maxis Centre
Unit S-1-B and Unit S-2-A,
The Northam,
No. 55 Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah,
10050 Pulau Pinang

OPERATING HOURS:
Mon to Fri : 9.00AM - 5.30PM
Sat : 9.00AM - 1.30PM
Sun & Public Holiday Closed

is it okay to go to those in shopping malls if i found my Torch is defective(assuming i'll be buying the phone on Saturday at the centre above)

by the way, what's the different between "Maxis Centre" and "MEP outlet"?

This post has been edited by spinworkz: Nov 18 2010, 04:34 PM
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 18 2010, 11:14 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Maxis Exclusive Partner (MPE) different between Maxis Center is only certain stock distribute to MPE, but Center they have everything...
genbat2003
post Nov 18 2010, 11:30 PM

186 posts

Hmm...I have problem..wifi.

Last time, my torch worked well with wifi. But today, i try to surf using torch but failed.

I turned off the digi line and on wifi. Its connected to router. But, when i try to youtube or browse..unable to locate the server.

If i not mistake, once we save the configuration, the setting can be use again n again.

any idea?
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 18 2010, 11:51 PM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Double check you setting given to you earlier...
genbat2003
post Nov 18 2010, 11:54 PM

186 posts

Im Pretty sure my setting all correct. Even i have recreated new WEP. I never changed the setting.

For 4 days, can browse wifi without problem, except now.

TSdicksonbell
post Nov 19 2010, 12:12 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Restart your router and phone...
genbat2003
post Nov 19 2010, 12:15 AM

186 posts

Hmm.. I will do tomorrow morning. Now like always " batman" time
TSdicksonbell
post Nov 19 2010, 06:48 AM

This is life...
11,159 posts

Good luck!!
hfadzl1
post Nov 19 2010, 03:24 PM

94 posts

So far im satisfied with the Torch in term of design/function. The only problem with this Torch is that the screen is a bit wiggle after 1 week. This happened only when i use the touch screen or when pressing the back/NO button. Not sure if i need to return it & get a new device. Coz as mentioned in other forums, the problem still there even after changing to a new one..Hmmm..Cant imagine using it after 6 months. It could be worst! If i want to get the replacement, can i go direct to Brightstar instead of the service provider? But thinking its a waste of time if i get the replacement but problem is still there.
Morning_Star
post Nov 19 2010, 04:30 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(benh77 @ Nov 17 2010, 08:31 AM)
Heya.....do you guys notice that 9800 LED doesn't blink for missed calls ? Seems to be ok for 9700 but not for 9800 ? Was trying to figure out if it was a configuration somewhere but doesn't seem to be so ?
Install BerryBuzz they have setting in it...

>>
So 9700 & possibly 9780 have default blink for missed calls but not the Torch?

Is BerryBuzz application free ?

--------
*Offtopic-*
-Anyone here uses BB for viewing small financial charts ?

147 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0339sec    1.03    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:24 AM