arcule
Sep 15 2011, 08:17 AM

hey i got a problem here
i change my sim card and did sth (not sure what)
and now i change back to my original sim card, my bb doesnt receive anymore email
i went to check for my email account activation, whenver i wanna verify my email acc, it ask me to log in, where should i log in?
raikko5
Sep 15 2011, 08:31 AM
QUOTE(arcule @ Sep 15 2011, 08:17 AM) hey i got a problem here i change my sim card and did sth (not sure what) and now i change back to my original sim card, my bb doesnt receive anymore email i went to check for my email account activation, whenver i wanna verify my email acc, it ask me to log in, where should i log in? of course u need to register it back.... BB phone got security for it... detection on sim card....
mengsuan
Sep 15 2011, 08:39 AM
9W2NNS
QUOTE(chkhoo76 @ Sep 14 2011, 02:41 PM) Recently just bought a Torch 9800 from LYN member, found cracking sound from the phone ear piece. Is it normal? Doesn't happen on mine. QUOTE(Lucassss @ Sep 14 2011, 05:57 PM) Anybody experiencing paint chipping off the front bezel? No. I think paint can chip off if you dropped the phone before.
arcule
Sep 15 2011, 02:37 PM

QUOTE(raikko5 @ Sep 15 2011, 08:31 AM) of course u need to register it back.... BB phone got security for it... detection on sim card.... em where to register back? i got no idea  Added on September 15, 2011, 2:40 pmbtw anyway for force start the phone? jus now the phone hang and i pull battery, and when i put back the battery, it doesnt start, no matter what i press This post has been edited by arcule: Sep 15 2011, 02:40 PM
auhckw
Sep 16 2011, 01:25 AM
I plan to get a Ipad2 Wifi only since my Torch has 3g coverage plan.
Will I be able to connect from Ipad2 -> Torch and get internet on Ipad2?
If yes, mind to share how or the apps to use? I am totally noob in Ipad2 (haven buy yet but want to consider which is best wifi or wifi+3g).
chkhoo76
Sep 16 2011, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(auhckw @ Sep 16 2011, 01:25 AM) I plan to get a Ipad2 Wifi only since my Torch has 3g coverage plan. Will I be able to connect from Ipad2 -> Torch and get internet on Ipad2? If yes, mind to share how or the apps to use? I am totally noob in Ipad2 (haven buy yet but want to consider which is best wifi or wifi+3g). BB6 do not have the Mobile AP Hotspot feature like Android which enable your Torch become wireless AP. but BB7 will have this feature coming up later. You can get PB to connect to Torch via BB Bridge
ayil
Sep 16 2011, 12:54 PM
got problem here.
model: torch 9800
simcard maxis/hotlink SOS all the time. if i put DiGI then it's usable. i thought simcard problem. then i go maxis change to a new one. guess what? same problem appeared. -.-! speechless. don't know what to do.
any suggestion or friendly advice? thanks.
mengsuan
Sep 16 2011, 04:27 PM
9W2NNS
QUOTE(auhckw @ Sep 16 2011, 01:25 AM) I plan to get a Ipad2 Wifi only since my Torch has 3g coverage plan. Will I be able to connect from Ipad2 -> Torch and get internet on Ipad2? If yes, mind to share how or the apps to use? I am totally noob in Ipad2 (haven buy yet but want to consider which is best wifi or wifi+3g). I've seen people done that. BB supports DUN profile. You need to jailbreak your ipad and install an app to use DUN.
kapultek
Sep 16 2011, 06:07 PM
What is dun profile
auhckw
Sep 17 2011, 07:59 AM
Thanks for the direction. I will try to research a little on it and hope it can work
cross2sun
Sep 17 2011, 12:26 PM
my BB 9800 middle button got problem.....someone know KL where can fix it back nicely ?
i can move it juz cannot accept= ="" now green button and red button also got problem >< cham.....
mengsuan
Sep 18 2011, 04:48 PM
9W2NNS
QUOTE(kapultek @ Sep 16 2011, 06:07 PM) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bluetooth_pro...ofile_.28DUN.29QUOTE(auhckw @ Sep 17 2011, 07:59 AM) Thanks for the direction. I will try to research a little on it and hope it can work I heard of an app called ibluever or something like that.
ronnie26
Sep 19 2011, 02:24 AM

dear sifus: after changing the housing in my own, phone is unable to boot.. bring it to some shop they say need 1 week time to check the problem, refuse to wait end up calling an expert, he said probably problem on ribbon.. i do not know it is so sensitive.. anyone can suggest me location and normally it costs how much to repair in puchong?
louisnhs
Sep 19 2011, 11:19 AM

Hi all,
Can I flash my Torch with Maxis/Celcom's firmware from BB website while am using Digi line? Cause I notice the firmware ver. is same for Maxis/Celcom which is higher but Digi one is still very old version. I did an update via the Desktop Manager but even so the firmware ver. is still lower than Maxis/Celcom.
Maxis/Celcom: BlackBerry Handheld Software v6.0.0.862 (Multilangauge)
Package Version: 6.0.0.862 Consisting of: Applications: 6.0.0.284 Software Platform: 6.4.0.120 File name: 9800jAsia_PBr6.0.0_rel862_PL6.4.0.120_A6.0.0.284_Maxis.exe File size: 157.56MB
Digi: BlackBerry Handheld Software v6.0.0.1907 (Multilangauge)
Package Version: 6.0.0.1907 Consisting of: Applications: 6.0.0.448 Software Platform: 6.4.0.210 File name: 9800jAsia_PBr6.0.0_rel1907_PL6.4.0.210_A6.0.0.448_DiGi_Telecommunications_Sdn_Bhd.exe File size: 163.67MB
Eiraku
Sep 19 2011, 01:50 PM
Hey there guys, finally found myself in possession of a Torch after all these years of not liking BBs so much lol.
And really, I'm liking what I'm holding.
The obvious issues and niggles aside, it's actually quite a fun little thing to use, suprisingly even more then, say, a comparable Symbian device. It also feels solid as heck, far more then even my SGS2. And the slider, even if mine is a year plus old edi and not so tight any more, is a joy to operate.
Planning on running a hybrid FW on it soon (bad habit from all my SGS2 ROM flashing), any recommendations for hybrid FWs?
Looking at MaxHybrid V8 right now, skipping the V9 as it seems to have BT problems. Anything else better?
Also, finding spare batteries for BBs are a PITA, really. With the crypto chip and all.
@Mengsuan: Yes, iBluever WILL work, but needs a JBed iDevice. BBOS7 will come with a wifi hotspot feature in the future though, hopefully a future hybrid FW for the Torch will include that somehow.
This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 19 2011, 01:55 PM
subrok007
Sep 19 2011, 07:44 PM
is BB 9810 good to go jump from n97..
i personally like qwerty keyboard....
so BB 9810 fast enuff? got problem? lag?
hyperyouth_firepower
Sep 19 2011, 08:47 PM
the Torch 2 is a definite upgrade to your N97. In more ways than one. Think of it as a N97+extra benefits with the idea that it's like the final piece of a puzzle in a super-robo (or Voltron)
subrok007
Sep 19 2011, 10:49 PM
QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Sep 19 2011, 08:47 PM) the Torch 2 is a definite upgrade to your N97. In more ways than one. Think of it as a N97+extra benefits with the idea that it's like the final piece of a puzzle in a super-robo (or Voltron) aside email, what other feature that BB 9810 got? i belief BB apps still lose to android rite? btw, might explain more to QUOTE N97+extra benefits with the idea thanks
hyperyouth_firepower
Sep 20 2011, 10:41 AM
BB apps may lose to Android in terms of numbers, but in terms of quality though BlackBerry Apps are few there are many good ones. Recently due to PlayBook's SDK, we're seeing more 'crapware' that originated from the Android scene flushed into the BlackBerry App World.
when we're talking about the N97, we talk about the strengths of the N97.
Physically it has a really good keyboard, a screen that's easy to see, and a very Nokia-ish interface that all Nokia users should be aware of. In the 9810, (Torch 2), the keyboard is roughly the same, the shortcuts are there, the response in the UI is different (but I'll say its smoother) but it is definitely an upgrade over the old Symbian (I myself come from the s3/s5 symbian platform) UI.
when it comes to functions, what you can do with a n97 can be done with a blackberry 9810. Watch videos, listen to songs, get connected (the emails, the IM messages, facebook, etc... its just there, you can set how much so that you're not given too much / too little information) with the push technology (which ironically Nokia uses RIM's licensed push technology for Nokia) and the security.
If you compare OVI store and BlackBerry App World, selection wise is just a matter of "how you adapt".
A BlackBerry Smartphone (if you got the cash, just like iOS or Android user) can connect to a myriad of devices in the office and the home with a selection of apps. In one way, I'll also say that the BlackBerry 9810 can be a really decent 'many-things-in-one' packaged device compared to most other phones, especially notmentioning the fact that a BlackBerry phone uses external power source, which means lots of good stuff for super duper heavy user (i use a powerpack though, and its non-intrusive) and you'll see that overall costs should not be higher than operating your current phone (as opposed to iOS and Android based phones where users will have to fork out a huge bill, and that's why all the 'its okay,i can connect to wifi' comments)
I guess that's one part of it.
not to mention that whatever your blackberry smartphone can't do, your blackberry playbook can be seen as an 'extension' of the smartphone and a 'bridge' to your mobile computing in many, many ways. productivity without even needing to 'dock'.
alieamin
Sep 22 2011, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(subrok007 @ Sep 19 2011, 07:44 PM) is BB 9810 good to go jump from n97.. i personally like qwerty keyboard.... so BB 9810 fast enuff? got problem? lag? its really a good jump, but jumping from different os might give u trouble, i believe in 3days using bb os u can handle it with good If u are fast learner la  ]UPDATE LATEST 22/9/11CURVE 8520 RM620 FREE SCREEN PROTECTOR + 2GB MEMORY CARD
TORCH 9800 RM1599 FREE SYNC POD AND SCREEN PROTECTOR WITH 4GB MEMORY CARD
Brand new set brightstar 18months warranty