Samsung LED TV Thread, owners pls share

alister88
post Aug 16 2012, 02:14 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(Neo86 @ Aug 16 2012, 12:40 PM)
Series 4? Samsung? RM799 with 4 HDMI ports?  hmm.gif

Cheapest Samsung 32' LED TV is UA32Eh4003, but it is with only 1 HDMI port.
QUOTE(avantasia @ Aug 16 2012, 01:00 PM)
hmm.gif  hmm.gif  The most for 32" is 2 ports only....
Unless it is D series model D5000
Im not sure tho..
from what I saw the description... I can be wrong cos I didnt get to see the ports at the back cos it wwas mounted on the shelf..
If im not mistaken, it's a slim one. I did googled and I found one with 4 ports. Not sure if it's this.

http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/UN32C4000PDXZA-specs
avantasia
post Aug 16 2012, 04:23 PM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Aug 16 2012, 02:14 PM)
Im not sure tho..
from what I saw the description... I can be wrong cos I didnt get to see the ports at the back cos it wwas mounted on the shelf..
If im not mistaken, it's a slim one. I did googled and I found one with 4 ports. Not sure if it's this.

http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/UN32C4000PDXZA-specs
Series C is absolete, i believe it is D5000, 2011 D series! flex.gif
Neo86
post Aug 16 2012, 04:26 PM

Authorized Online Dealer
1,241 posts

QUOTE(avantasia @ Aug 16 2012, 04:23 PM)
Series C is absolete, i believe it is D5000, 2011 D series!  flex.gif
Guess so... Old stock clearance... tongue.gif
avantasia
post Aug 16 2012, 04:29 PM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

QUOTE(Neo86 @ Aug 16 2012, 04:26 PM)
Guess so... Old stock clearance...  tongue.gif
Yup...that's y selling RM7XX
alister88
post Aug 16 2012, 06:09 PM

1,367 posts

Defo old stocks but is that model good?
looks pretty good to me... smile.gif

avantasia
post Aug 16 2012, 10:29 PM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

I bought for my client for 46" and so far no complaint.
aerozs
post Aug 25 2012, 06:55 PM

96 posts

hi, just get es7500. quite ok but motion control not so sensitive. i have question to ask you guys. what type of logitech keyboard is compatible with samsung smart tv? any idea? plan to get it one..
avantasia
post Aug 27 2012, 12:13 AM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

QUOTE(aerozs @ Aug 25 2012, 06:55 PM)
hi, just get es7500. quite ok but motion control not so sensitive. i have question to ask you guys. what type of logitech keyboard is compatible with samsung smart tv? any idea? plan to get it one..
U can ask angel-girl as he/she using it atm... hmm.gif
MilesAndMore
post Aug 29 2012, 02:19 AM

9,301 posts

I am currently using a 40" Samsung Series 6 LCD TV, model number LA40A650A1R which I bought in December 2008. This was one of the most talked about HDTV in 2008 mainly due to its superb/sharp picture quality and its unconventional glass panel frame design.

Anyway, it was working flawlessly until 6.30pm+ last Friday, when vertical lines suddenly appeared on the TV screen. Initially I thought something was wrong with my Astro. Anyway, I switched off the TV and then switched it back on. It was the time that I realize it is the TV's problem.

I called Samsung hotline the next morning. The guy suggested that it could be a panel problem and if it really is a panel problem, he said that it is not worth to repair it as it is going to be thousand of RM and I am better off buying a new one. Anyhow, he said that I can opt to have their technician to come over to inspect my TV but since it is already out of warranty, it will cost me RM160 just to have their technician coming over. It is quite a lot of money just to have their people coming over, so he suggested that I call the Samsung Service Centre office in my place directly and see if they can offer me another solution that doesn't require me fork out RM160.

I called the Samsung Service Centre in my place, talked to one of their technicians and he asked me to take a picture with the TV switched on and MMS to him. This way I do not have to pay anything sweat.gif Awesome! But the bad news is, he confirmed that it is indeed a panel defect problem and the parts and labour charge will cost me north of RM1,700!!! ohmy.gif

Before calling him, I've googled about this and yes. I believe it is a panel problem too even though he did not actually come to my house, disassemble my LCD TV set to check the problem. It seems that all the reported problems so far came from all Samsung and SONY TV from year 2007-2010. There are pictures available on the Internet and many of those in the US who bought the same model as me also complained the same thing. Some not very lucky people noticed the problem just after 1 year plus into using the TV, while the majority only experienced the problem between 3 to 4 years later and in my case, it is about 3 years and 8 months. So I suppose I can consider myself as one of the ones with better luck but then, when you paid RM6,000+ for the TV, you'd expect it to last for at least 10 years. Yes, series 6 was very expensive then cry.gif

I still think that Samsung LCD/LED HDTV have the sharpest image of all the HDTV manufacturer there (ok, this is A FACT, whether you like it or not!). And their argument that using a glossy screen instead of a matte screen makes the picture even more lively and sharp is definitely true! Samsung undoubtedly is the best when it comes to HDTV image quality but with so many people experiencing their HDTV panel to fail just 2 to 4 years into using it, there is definitely something seriously wrong with their HDTV panel.

You guys can look for this TV model, LN40A650 in Amazon.com. It is the exact same model as LA40A650, just that those models sold in Americas carry the serial LN instead of LA. You guys will notice that it is a highly rated LCD TV and most reviews posted in 2008-2009 are positive ones but all the recent reviews are mostly written by the same people who gave this LCD TV a 4 or 5-star a few years back but now all of them came back to that page and said that their TV are all dead! cry.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 29 2012, 02:26 AM
ck3135
post Aug 29 2012, 07:14 PM

107 posts

dear all sifu..
i am thinking to get a samsung 40es5600, so should i get a extended warranty on the 4th & 5th years since the seller said first 3 years warranty covered.

it shall cost me extra RM350 for two years warranty... does it worth? anyone encounter any defect issue for samsung es model?
MilesAndMore
post Aug 29 2012, 08:54 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ck3135 @ Aug 29 2012, 07:14 PM)
dear all sifu..
i am thinking to get a samsung 40es5600, so should i get a extended warranty on the 4th & 5th years since the seller said first 3 years warranty covered.

it shall cost me extra RM350 for two years warranty... does it worth? anyone encounter any defect issue for samsung es model?
Yes. It's worth it. Many reported panel defect problems with Samsung and SONY HDTV from year 2007-2010. Since ES and EH are this year's model. It is very hard to tell if their HDTV models from this year and last year have similar issue as well as it is still too early. Most reported cases happen only after 2 years into using the HDTV. Mine failed after 3 years and 8 months. I bought my 40" Series 6 LCD TV for RM6,000+ in 2008.

Anyway, Samsung in my opinion, is still the best LCD/LED HDTV manufacturer. Their picture quality is top notch and the colors are superb! The panel defect issue is quite a problem but as i said earlier, we do not know if models from 2011 and 2012 have this issue as well as it is simply too early to tell. Anyway, i'll pay a bit of extra and get 2 years of extended warranty if i were you so to buy a piece of mind smile.gif

avantasia
post Aug 30 2012, 03:40 AM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 29 2012, 08:54 PM)
Yes. It's worth it. Many reported panel defect problems with Samsung and SONY HDTV from year 2007-2010. Since ES and EH are this year's model. It is very hard to tell if their HDTV models from this year and last year have similar issue as well as it is still too early. Most reported cases happen only after 2 years into using the HDTV. Mine failed after 3 years and 8 months. I bought my 40" Series 6 LCD TV for RM6,000+ in 2008.

Anyway, Samsung in my opinion, is still the best LCD/LED HDTV manufacturer. Their picture quality is top notch and the colors are superb! The panel defect issue is quite a problem but as i said earlier, we do not know if models from 2011 and 2012 have this issue as well as it is simply too early to tell. Anyway, i'll pay a bit of extra and get 2 years of extended warranty if i were you so to buy a piece of mind  smile.gif
I do agree with u...Samsung LED is still the best!
piruntha
post Aug 30 2012, 12:53 PM

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 29 2012, 08:54 PM)

Anyway, Samsung in my opinion, is still the best LCD/LED HDTV manufacturer. Their picture quality is top notch and the colors are superb! The panel defect issue is quite a problem but as i said earlier, we do not know if models from 2011 and 2012 have this issue as well as it is simply too early to tell. Anyway, i'll pay a bit of extra and get 2 years of extended warranty if i were you so to buy a piece of mind  smile.gif
I bought my 46" Samsung LED TV (Model: UA46D6400UR) in November 2011. On 4th August, I was watching some games for the Olympics in the evening when some "multi-colour" horizontal lines appeared in the middle of the TV screen. One part of the TV screen was "boiling hot" when I touched it. Initially I too thought that something was wrong with my Astro.

I managed to call the Samsung Service Centre just before they closed for the day, and the technician came to check the TV on 7th August. There was no image on the TV screen when he switched it on but you could see some "blackish" vertical lines on the screen. The tech guy said that he has never come across such a problem before, but said that it was probably a problem with the panel.

The technician guys came back to my place on 15th August to replace the panel.

kimhoong
post Aug 31 2012, 05:05 AM

5,154 posts

Guys,
I just managed to setup my new UA40ES5600R and have just realised that it does not support video format rmvb! doh.gif My wife has a bunch of rmvb videos to watch shakehead.gif

I'm planning to setup a DLNA so that I can stream rmvb format video from my desktop or laptop - to play on my TV.

I'm not sure if this is possible, kindly advise as I am planning to do it on this weekend.
gatsby12
post Aug 31 2012, 10:46 AM

79 posts

yeah it does not support rmvb, the reason behind it I heard was because rmvb movie size are small and not clear so they dun want people complain their tv not clear (something like that hehe)
azeemzuhair
post Aug 31 2012, 11:02 AM

2,190 posts

The new YouTube app in the SMART hub is pretty neat. Now u can pair with smartphones to watch YouTube on the TV.
Neo86
post Aug 31 2012, 12:29 PM

Authorized Online Dealer
1,241 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Aug 31 2012, 05:05 AM)
Guys,
I just managed to setup my new UA40ES5600R and have just realised that it does not support video format rmvb!  doh.gif My wife has a bunch of rmvb videos to watch shakehead.gif

I'm planning to setup a DLNA so that I can stream rmvb format video from my desktop or laptop - to play on my TV.

I'm not sure if this is possible, kindly advise as I am planning to do it on this weekend.
Samsung supports movie format as below:
.avi
.mkv
.asf
.wmv
.mp4
.3gp
.vro
.mpg
.mpeg
.ts
.tp
.trp

kimhoong
post Aug 31 2012, 11:54 PM

5,154 posts

QUOTE(gatsby12 @ Aug 31 2012, 10:46 AM)
yeah it does not support rmvb, the reason behind it I heard was because rmvb movie size are small and not clear so they dun want people complain their tv not clear (something like that hehe)
QUOTE(Neo86 @ Aug 31 2012, 12:29 PM)
Samsung supports movie format as below:
.avi
.mkv
.asf
.wmv
.mp4
.3gp
.vro
.mpg
.mpeg
.ts
.tp
.trp
Correct me if I'm wrong.

I thought I could play rmvb format movie using my PC (Windows 7/Windows Media Player 11) and stream it to Samsung LED TV - despite the fact that Samsung LED TV itself could not play rmvb format, I am playing using my desktop.

Please advise ya!

Lastly, if the above is incorrect, which means that playing rmvb movies via DLNA on Samsung LED TV is not possible - the only alternatives we have are to get either BD player that support rmvb and/or any other media player that support rmvb. Am I right?
and1nicky
post Sep 2 2012, 10:49 PM

160 posts

hi guys. few days ago i bought a new UA46ES7500R. im currently using ip-tv to watch. sometimes my tv flickering. anyone know why is that happening ? tv problem or unifi problem ? my previous sony tv doesnt have this kind of problem.
yellow_label2207
post Sep 6 2012, 01:20 PM

332 posts

hi,
just bought a UA40EH5300 yesterday.
can i connect NAS cloud storage to the tv via network to stream movie?
tq.

245 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0479sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:50 AM