103 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Bottom

LYN Breastfeeding Support Group, may u b bless wif abundance of supply~!!

TSnicKit
post Jul 7 2012, 10:34 PM

374 posts

oh i just read these...

catherinessc, ahhh u reminded me of the "good old days" of confinement... if u read from the start u'll know wat i've been thru n it's somewat similar to urs (like every new mummies)... guess wat? i'm still bf my 21mo boy smile.gif keep ur spirit up n gambateh~! n lucky for u ur hubby supports u unlike me battling it all alone...

Syd, our kiddos r 1 mth apart rite? hehe
catherinessc
post Jul 7 2012, 10:55 PM

541 posts

Thanks for the encouragement all! We must do what is right and best for BB! smile.gif
bumblebeecanfly
post Jul 15 2012, 12:02 PM

20 posts

Hi everyone. I just gave birth to a baby girl recently. I encountered one issue about express breast milk (EBM) and couldn't find solutions elsewhere.

I notice that my baby refuse to drink the EBM which i store in freezer. When i taste it, i notice it has soapy smell. No wonder why she reject the EBM.

FYI, i have use steriliser to sterilise the bottles and breast pump before expressing milk. and i store into the fridge immediately.

the other day my hubby helped me to feed the baby with EBM. he thawed and warm the milk. but my baby spit it. when i taste it, it has soapy smell.

1. anyone face the same issue. is there a solution? i will start working soon and worried that my baby couldn't be fed with breast milk. my MIL keep influencing my hubby to let the baby drink formula instead. please help.

2. do i need to dry up the bottles/pump after sterilised them?

thank you and hope to hear a solutions soon.
laughiebean
post Jul 15 2012, 03:11 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(bumblebeecanfly @ Jul 15 2012, 12:02 PM)
Hi everyone. I just gave birth to a baby girl recently. I encountered one issue about express breast milk (EBM) and couldn't find solutions elsewhere.

I notice that my baby refuse to drink the EBM which i store in freezer. When i taste it, i notice it has soapy smell. No wonder why she reject the EBM.

FYI, i have use steriliser to sterilise the bottles and breast pump before expressing milk. and i store into the fridge immediately.

the other day my hubby helped me to feed the baby with EBM. he thawed and warm the milk. but my baby spit it. when i taste it, it has soapy smell.

1. anyone face the same issue. is there a solution? i will start working soon and worried that my baby couldn't be fed with breast milk. my MIL keep influencing my hubby to let the baby drink formula instead. please help.

2. do i need to dry up the bottles/pump after sterilised them?

thank you and hope to hear a solutions soon.

First of all, congratulations.

The smell from EBM is caused by an enzyme in breast milk known as lipase. It helps to break down fats in the milk, so that the nutrients are easily digested by baby. This will result in the EBM soapy smell.

What can you do if your baby rejects your milk due to excess lipase? 
Newly expressed milk can be stored by flash heating the milk to inactivate the lipase and stop the process of fat digestion.

How do you flash heat your breastmilk?
Method 1: Scalding - Heat milk until you see little bubbles around the edge of the pan (not a full boil), then cool and store the milk.

Method 2: It is similar to double boiling your ginseng soup. Place a bottle of breastmilk in a pot filled with water. Once the water comes to a boil, remove the bottle with breastmilk to cool and store.

I got the above info from the breastfeeding network on Facebook. Awesome mommies there. You can check it out if you want. smile.gif
bumblebeecanfly
post Jul 15 2012, 07:26 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(laughiebean @ Jul 15 2012, 03:11 PM)

First of all, congratulations.

The smell from EBM is caused by an enzyme in breast milk known as lipase. It helps to break down fats in the milk, so that the nutrients are easily digested by baby. This will result in the EBM soapy smell.

What can you do if your baby rejects your milk due to excess lipase? 
Newly expressed milk can be stored by flash heating the milk to inactivate the lipase and stop the process of fat digestion.

How do you flash heat your breastmilk?
Method 1: Scalding - Heat milk until you see little bubbles around the edge of the pan (not a full boil), then cool and store the milk.

Method 2: It is similar to double boiling your ginseng soup. Place a bottle of breastmilk in a pot filled with water. Once the water comes to a boil, remove the bottle with breastmilk to cool and store.

I got the above info from the breastfeeding network on Facebook. Awesome mommies there. You can check it out if you want. smile.gif
Hi laughiebean, thanks for your reply.

I am wondering if i shud throw those EBM i have in freezer.

the other day, my hubby boil the EBM at 100 celcius and notice that the soapy smell is gone. i wonder if i can scald the EBM milk and wait until it cold down to room temperature before feed my baby.
leongal
post Jul 15 2012, 08:18 PM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

i thought EBM shouldn't be boiled? hmm.gif
bumblebeecanfly
post Jul 15 2012, 08:40 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Jul 15 2012, 08:18 PM)
i thought EBM shouldn't be boiled?  hmm.gif
ya, that time my hb wasn't aware. but at the end he didnt feed baby with it. i m wondering isit okay if i scald those EBM which i stored in freezer before feeding.
laughiebean
post Jul 15 2012, 08:47 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(bumblebeecanfly @ Jul 15 2012, 07:26 PM)
Hi laughiebean, thanks for your reply.

I am wondering if i shud throw those EBM i have in freezer.

the other day, my hubby boil the EBM at 100 celcius and notice that the soapy smell is gone. i wonder if i can scald the EBM milk and wait until it cold down to room temperature before feed my baby.
You don't have to waste the EBM. Mixing some fresh EBM into it right before feeding or in your case the scalded ones, will do the trick. Make sure to taste the EBM is not sour first.

Normally, scalding is down after expressed and before storing. So, no need to wait for cool down. If it is freshly pump, should be can give straight to baby?

Boiling the EBM will destroy the antibodies and possibly the nutrients in it. Thus, we only warm it.

Are you direct latching as well? Could it be other factors like your LO DON't like the bottle nipple?

Added on July 15, 2012, 8:49 pm
QUOTE(bumblebeecanfly @ Jul 15 2012, 08:40 PM)
ya, that time my hb wasn't aware. but at the end he didnt feed baby with it. i m wondering isit okay if i scald those EBM which i stored in freezer before feeding.
You can try though scalding before storing is more effective. Anything for our LO to have the best milk, right? icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by laughiebean: Jul 15 2012, 08:49 PM
bumblebeecanfly
post Jul 15 2012, 09:18 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(laughiebean @ Jul 15 2012, 08:47 PM)
You don't have to waste the EBM. Mixing some fresh EBM into it right before feeding or in your case the scalded ones, will do the trick. Make sure to taste the EBM is not sour first.

Normally, scalding is down after expressed and before storing. So, no need to wait for cool down. If it is freshly pump, should be can give straight to baby?

Boiling the EBM will destroy the antibodies and possibly the nutrients in it. Thus, we only warm it.

Are you direct latching as well? Could it be other factors like your LO DON't like the bottle nipple?

Added on July 15, 2012, 8:49 pm
You can try though scalding before storing is more effective. Anything for our LO to have the best milk, right? icon_idea.gif
actually my baby is direct latching. sometimes when i m too sleepy, hubby will help feed the baby using EBM with cup.

laughiebean
post Jul 15 2012, 10:21 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(bumblebeecanfly @ Jul 15 2012, 09:18 PM)
actually my baby is direct latching. sometimes when i m too sleepy, hubby will help feed the baby using EBM with cup.
Wah...your hubby is a good daddy. You are one lucky gal rclxms.gif

Anyways, my bb rejects the bottle depending on his mood and time of the day. If persistently give him, he will suck and spit out the milk.

Also, check that the nipple is a slow flow nipple. Could also be flow is too fast, so milk overflow in mouth?

My bb only 5 months, so my experience also limited. But I find that with babies, sometimes, gotta be trial and error. sweat.gif
periwater
post Jul 16 2012, 02:45 PM

324 posts

Dear mommies,

I'm breast feeding my 3weeks newborn and hitting a roadblock now. My NB's appetite has been outpacing my milk production. I've tried different methods of increasing my supply ie taking fenugreeks, consuming more lactating food, and even my gynae prescribed medicine to increase my supply, but no avail. As days passed, we have no choice but resorted to give him formula milk. At 3 weeks, he is consuming 3 oz within 2 hours, and seems increasing to 3 1/2 oz soon. rclxub.gif

While my milk production is only 1 1/2 oz per 4 hours pumping. So each time we have to top up with formula milk. I don't want to give up on bf, is there any others suggestions to increase my supply? icon_question.gif

After my NB has bottle feeding and formula milk, he seems to lose interest in bf and only want my breast a night time for comfort. Besides that, my right breast has engorged and a plugged duct with lumpy bits formed after that. It has yet to give my any discomfort. I've tried nursing more on this side to get rid of the lumpy bits but no avail. I also realised that my milk flow rate has slowed down and made it more challenging to nurse my NB. Any ideas on how to overcome the plugged milk duct and slow flowing milk rate? icon_question.gif

sbux
post Jul 16 2012, 03:06 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(periwater @ Jul 16 2012, 02:45 PM)
Dear mommies,

I'm breast feeding my 3weeks newborn and hitting a roadblock now. My NB's appetite has been outpacing my milk production. I've tried different methods of increasing my supply ie taking fenugreeks, consuming more lactating food, and even my gynae prescribed medicine to increase my supply, but no avail. As days passed, we have no choice but resorted to give him formula milk. At 3 weeks, he is consuming 3 oz within 2 hours, and seems increasing to 3 1/2 oz soon.  rclxub.gif

While my milk production is only 1 1/2 oz per 4 hours pumping. So each time we have to top up with formula milk. I don't want to give up on bf, is there any others suggestions to increase my supply?  icon_question.gif

After my NB has bottle feeding and formula milk, he seems to lose interest in bf and only want my breast a night time for comfort. Besides that, my right breast has engorged and a plugged duct with lumpy bits formed after that. It has yet to give my any discomfort. I've tried nursing more on this side to get rid of the lumpy bits but no avail. I also realised that my milk flow rate has slowed down and made it more challenging to nurse my NB. Any ideas on how to overcome the plugged milk duct and slow flowing milk rate?  icon_question.gif

Alright. first of all, ditch the bottles and formula. Continue latching on aka direct feed your baby. The best breasts pump is ur baby.

To relieve engorgement, use hot compress. I use a hot hanky and also use hot shower to spray on the area of the lump and then bf immediately. My baby manage to clear my lumps.

About slow flowing milk rate,

Your milk rate is not slow. Its just the right way a NB baby should feed. They should feed slowly and not fast which would cause indigestion.

U know when we eat slowly, we tend to feel full faster? Same logic.

about Pumping,
I pump every 2 hours. If i am not feeding baby, I would pump when baby wake up to feed. Eg,
8am - Direct feed
10am - Bottle (I would also pump when baby taking bottles)

I see that u did your homework and are quite familiar with the theory of breastfeeding. Demand = Supply. The more your baby suck, the more u produce. Just keep latching on whenever ur baby need a feed.

Also, taking milk boosters does not work for everyone. U should also increase ur fluid intake. If like me, sick of water, i take milo/horlicks, red dates drink, soup, tong sui, ... etc etc..

My motto: To feed like a cow, u need to eat like a cow!

This post has been edited by sbux: Jul 16 2012, 03:06 PM
periwater
post Jul 16 2012, 06:35 PM

324 posts

Thanks sbux for the prompt reply. Pls see my reply below in blue.

QUOTE(sbux @ Jul 16 2012, 03:06 PM)
Alright. first of all, ditch the bottles and formula. Continue latching on aka direct feed your baby. The best breasts pump is ur baby.

Actually this is the first thing I did (continue to direct feed my baby) until I realised that the baby was fusing a lot, kept crying and my milk has dried up! I offered another breast and it was drained out too. I kept pressing and compressing more milk for him but there isn't any milk left. It was really heart breaking for me  cry.gif

Now with the engorgement, I did continue to direct feed him until he refused it due to the slow flow rate. I knew it was slow because I tried pumping and the milk took longer to come out and it seemed like dripping a bit here and there.

To relieve engorgement, use hot compress. I use a hot hanky and also use hot shower to spray on the area of the lump and then bf immediately. My baby manage to clear my lumps.

Ok, will try this out tmrw. Hopefully it'll have positive results ! icon_rolleyes.gif

About slow flowing milk rate,

Your milk rate is not slow. Its just the right way a NB baby should feed. They should feed slowly and not fast which would cause indigestion.

U know when we eat slowly, we tend to feel full faster? Same logic.

about Pumping,
I pump every 2 hours. If i am not feeding baby, I would pump when baby wake up to feed. Eg,
8am - Direct feed
10am - Bottle (I would also pump when baby taking bottles)

How long did you pump during the 2 hours period? I tried to pump/direct latching every 2 hours but it was more tiring and not conducive for me. So I pumped every 4 hours instead ie.:

8 am - Direct latching
10 am - formula milk
12 pm - pumping out

I couldn't keep up with his demand, therefore I substituted it wit formula milk instead. I tried to direct latch more often but my milk supply is insufficient for him. I think he's having his growth spurt and I can't seem to catch up since then.

I see that u did your homework and are quite familiar with the theory of breastfeeding. Demand = Supply. The more your baby suck, the more u produce. Just keep latching on whenever ur baby need a feed.

Also, taking milk boosters does not work for everyone. U should also increase ur fluid intake. If like me, sick of water, i take milo/horlicks, red dates drink, soup, tong sui, ... etc etc..

Maybe my liquid intake is not sufficient, now I come to think of it! Thanks for pointing it out.

My motto: To feed like a cow, u need to eat like a cow!
sbux
post Jul 16 2012, 11:01 PM

225 posts

Let me say again, Baby is the best breast pump! Even though u cannot press out any milk, baby will be able to suck.

Sucking from the bottle is easy. Without sucking, milk would flow out as well. But sucking from the breast would be hard work. I guess your baby has a preference for the bottle already. Thats why a lot of info from the internet or books would tell u to NOT use the bottle during the first month no matter what.

What u can do is, latch your baby on first. Wait till he finish his feed.. If he cry, try topping up 0.5oz per serving. Baby cries doenst mean they are hungry. Maybe they need a burp, or they want to be carried.

About pumping, what pump are u using? I pump every 2 hours for 20 minutes each. I am using a mid-grade double pump.
Frankly speaking, a lot of people tell me their breast dried up after a month or two. After a few questions, most of them told me they did not pump frequent enough. 4 hourly isnt a good gap. Baby usually feed every 2 hourly. U must mimick the feeding pattern of ur baby to have more supply.
The more u feed/pump, the more u get. Most importantly, DO NOT skip the midnight pump. During midnight, i pump at 12am, 3am and 6am.

If u r tired, sleep when baby sleep.Feed ur baby, leave the burping, diaper changing to the CL/hubby.

I know its easier said than done but then, i have been through it so i understand.

U are doing a great job!

catherinessc
post Jul 16 2012, 11:46 PM

541 posts

I found out lately online a list about foods that will help to boost BM, I have yet to try all but here are some of them:

Soy milk
fenugreek seed (available in pills, can get from GNC, pharmacy)
stinging nettle
Fennel seed
Garlic
Carrot
Pearl barley
Oatmeal
nuts

And also stimulate by letting baby suck as frequent as possible especially during midnight 12am to 6am as that's the time when the prolactin level is the highest...

I wish I knew more of this before...
nevertheless I am still trying my best to BF my baby. I wish everyone the best and remember: stay positive, get advice in LYN BF support group and last but not least don't gave in to MIL tongue.gif

This post has been edited by catherinessc: Jul 16 2012, 11:49 PM
bumblebeecanfly
post Jul 17 2012, 10:36 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(catherinessc @ Jul 16 2012, 11:46 PM)
I found out lately online a list about foods that will help to boost BM, I have yet to try all but here are some of them:

Soy milk
stinging nettle
Fennel seed
Garlic
Carrot
Pearl barley
Oatmeal
nuts

And also stimulate by letting baby suck as frequent as possible especially during midnight 12am to 6am as that's the time when the prolactin level is the highest...

nevertheless I am still trying my best to BF my baby. I wish everyone the best and remember: stay positive, get advice in LYN BF support group and last but not least don't gave in to MIL tongue.gif
thanks for sharing out this list. I like this statement, "dont gave in to MIL". she practically trying to brainwash me n hb to give bb drink formula biggrin.gif

to add in to your list to boost BM, it is red dates. i have been drinking this everyday during confinement but MIL has stop boiling it after bb full moon. for more convenient, maybe i will buy from eu yan sang. those instant packet.

i m thinking to drink soymilk but MIL said soymilk very 'angin". after baby drink breast milk, baby stomach will be angin too. dunno true onot biggrin.gif

Added on July 17, 2012, 11:14 am
QUOTE(laughiebean @ Jul 15 2012, 10:21 PM)
Wah...your hubby is a good daddy. You are one lucky gal  rclxms.gif

Anyways, my bb rejects the bottle depending on his mood and time of the day. If persistently give him, he will suck and spit out the milk.

Also, check that the nipple is a slow flow nipple. Could also be flow is too fast, so milk overflow in mouth?

My bb only 5 months, so my experience also limited. But I find that with babies, sometimes, gotta be trial and error. sweat.gif
ya, luckily hubby willing to help out.

as i m going to start working soon, my hb said gotta train bb drink EBM from bottle instead of cup. now i m worried after she start drinking from bottle, she will refuse drect latching.

This post has been edited by bumblebeecanfly: Jul 17 2012, 11:14 AM
laughiebean
post Jul 17 2012, 11:26 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(catherinessc @ Jul 16 2012, 11:46 PM)

Soy milk
stinging nettle
Fennel seed
Garlic
Carrot
Pearl barley
Oatmeal
nuts

I just found out 2 days ago that some bf mommies just eat 1 tsp of fenugreek and swallow with water. Same goes for fennel seeds. Tried it, I got 1 oz more from morning pumping session. This is a cheaper alternative to fenugreek pupils lor.

Also to add to the list, durian and bananas, green barley drink, fish, green papaya also boost milk supply.

Some food that will reduce milk supply acre cabbage, dong kwai ( chinese herb for woman), guave, pork liver and San cha - some plumlike fruit used to make haw flakes from Chinese medicine shop.

Just thought I share some info that I learnt recently. Happy bf-ing. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by laughiebean: Jul 17 2012, 11:26 AM
Syd G
post Jul 17 2012, 11:40 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Soy milk ar.. .try to lessen soy milk intake if ur baby is a dude biggrin.gif
periwater
post Jul 17 2012, 03:28 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(sbux @ Jul 16 2012, 11:01 PM)
Let me say again, Baby is the best breast pump! Even though u cannot press out any milk, baby will be able to suck.

Sucking from the bottle is easy. Without sucking, milk would flow out as well. But sucking from the breast would be hard work. I guess your baby has a preference for the bottle already. Thats why a lot of info from the internet or books would tell u to NOT use the bottle during the first month no matter what.

What u can do is, latch your baby on first. Wait till he finish his feed.. If he cry, try topping up 0.5oz per serving. Baby cries doenst mean they are hungry. Maybe they need a burp, or they want to be carried.
About pumping, what pump are u using? I pump every 2 hours for 20 minutes each. I am using a mid-grade double pump.
Frankly speaking, a lot of people tell me their breast dried up after a month or two. After a few questions, most of them told me they did not pump frequent enough. 4 hourly isnt a good gap. Baby usually feed every 2 hourly. U must mimick the feeding pattern of ur baby to have more supply.
The more u feed/pump, the more u get. Most importantly, DO NOT skip the midnight pump. During midnight, i pump at 12am, 3am and 6am.

If u r tired, sleep when baby sleep.Feed ur baby, leave the burping, diaper changing to the CL/hubby.

I know its easier said than done but then, i have been through it so i understand.

U are doing a great job!
I'm using single pump Medela Swing, my average pumping time is 1 - 1 1/2 hours, so if I pump out every 2 hours, it means I'll only have a lapse of 30 mins - 1 hour to rest. If I reduce my pumping time, I might not able to pump out the hind milk for my baby. Do correct me if I'm wrong to think this way.

I don't like pumping, as my breast are sore and tender and I agreed that direct latching is the way to go. However If I direct latch him, there will be a lot of struggles from him and most of time, I gave way upon hearing him crying non stop. In fact, last night he cried till his voice is out. I get very emotional seeing him crying and it just defeats all my purpose of direct latch him. Any possible way to manage this issue better?

I also do midnight pumping ie 12 am and 4 am, and I'm looking after my baby during night time. I'm doing confinement at my mom's place and my aunty will help out during the day time. My DH will come at night after work. They are very supportive of bf, however my mom and my aunty insisted I rest more during confinement and bf will be second priority. They mentioned that I can bf as much as I want after my confinement. I wonder will it be too late then?

QUOTE(laughiebean @ Jul 17 2012, 11:26 am)

Some food that will reduce milk supply acre cabbage, dong kwai ( chinese herb for woman), guave, pork liver and San cha - some plumlike fruit used to make haw flakes from Chinese medicine shop.

Just thought I share some info that I learnt recently. Happy bf-ing.  biggrin.gif
Alamak, I took lots of dong Kwai during my confinement! Wonder if it's the culprit for my low milk supply?

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jul 17 2012, 11:40 AM)
Soy milk ar.. .try to lessen soy milk intake if ur baby is a dude biggrin.gif
I'm having a baby boy, mind to share to reason to reduce the soy milk intake?
Syd G
post Jul 17 2012, 03:40 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(periwater @ Jul 17 2012, 03:28 PM)
I'm having a baby boy, mind to share to reason to reduce the soy milk intake?
Soy contains plant version of our female hormones wink.gif

103 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Top

0.0354sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:44 PM