22 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Folding@Malaysia needs your help!, Fellow hardware gurus, please read !

hackcremo
post Nov 11 2010, 09:30 AM

1,299 posts

QUOTE(barry80 @ Nov 11 2010, 09:25 AM)
didn't use any avr...just the 50f is about 2 years half of aging 24/7, some more my rig suppose to be load over 500w after few items upgrade...

have to send for rma liao .... shakehead.gif
iicc, better use avr with your new power supply for long term usage...it stabilize current better before entering your pc...

over 500w..oppps, what specs you have..??

This post has been edited by hackcremo: Nov 11 2010, 09:30 AM
TSDiademz
post Nov 11 2010, 02:40 PM

Folding@Malaysia needs you!
1,246 posts

QUOTE(VT-Ten @ Nov 10 2010, 03:45 PM)
Its nice to see that our production is going up once again.
Nice work Diademz for the intiative!
Thanks VT-Ten! It is most definitely team effort! Fold on everybody! Noticed our ppd reached 210k yesterday! Wow!

QUOTE(FidelisGVR @ Nov 10 2010, 08:17 PM)
just broke 1k score barrier! rclxm9.gif
Congrats! What hw are you using to fold?

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Nov 10 2010, 09:43 PM)
broo..can you help me...
i need recommendation on cpu, mobo and gpu for multi gpu rig...
lets say my budget below rm1000..
what used part combination that give higher ppd on smp and gpu...
I have reposted your question in the F@M forums

QUOTE(barry80 @ Nov 11 2010, 03:44 AM)
bad luck yesterday... cry.gif

my silverstone 50f get burnt after 1 weeks+ of folding... doh.gif maybe too hot? not enough juice?  hmm.gif

thought it will kill the gc but end up psu took the bullet... ohmy.gif

now replaced coolermaster gx 650w to continue folding... tongue.gif
Wow! I would think it is not directly due to folding, but is probably a PSU that is about to give up soon. I have been running the same PC for over 4 years 24/7 and replaced gfx cards from 7600gt -> 4870 -> gtx460 (both 4870 and gtx460 folding 100% 24/7) and no issues yet (touch wood!).

Let's take all discussions to the F@M forums - see you all there. Fold on biggrin.gif

FidelisGVR
post Nov 11 2010, 04:12 PM

673 posts

QUOTE(Diademz @ Nov 11 2010, 02:40 PM)
Congrats! What hw are you using to fold?
folding on my i5 760 at stock speeds (2.8 GHz) using the normal client (x86) laugh.gif
saturn85
post Nov 11 2010, 04:19 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(barry80 @ Nov 11 2010, 09:25 AM)
didn't use any avr...just the 50f is about 2 years half of aging 24/7, some more my rig suppose to be load over 500w after few items upgrade...

have to send for rma liao .... shakehead.gif
wow, what graphic card you have there?
silverstone is a good psu wo. unsure.gif

Added on November 11, 2010, 4:20 pm
QUOTE(FidelisGVR @ Nov 11 2010, 04:12 PM)
folding on my i5 760 at stock speeds (2.8 GHz) using the normal client (x86) laugh.gif
hey, try out smp client.
i think the bonus worth a lot. brows.gif

This post has been edited by saturn85: Nov 11 2010, 04:20 PM
FidelisGVR
post Nov 11 2010, 04:48 PM

673 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Nov 11 2010, 04:19 PM)
wow, what graphic card you have there?
silverstone is a good psu wo. unsure.gif

Added on November 11, 2010, 4:20 pm
hey, try out smp client.
i think the bonus worth a lot. brows.gif
i want to, but i still use my pc for watching movies + game + other stuff...

i plan to install the SMP client on my lab's pc, let it fold 24-7, see how it goes. brows.gif
saturn85
post Nov 11 2010, 06:15 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(FidelisGVR @ Nov 11 2010, 04:48 PM)

i plan to install the SMP client on my lab's pc, let it fold 24-7, see how it goes. brows.gif
i see. you can use -smp 3 to limit the smp client to use 3 cores.
left 1 core you can do other things. brows.gif
TSDiademz
post Nov 11 2010, 08:49 PM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(FidelisGVR @ Nov 11 2010, 04:48 PM)

All FAH clients by default run on idle priority - so even though they take up CPU (eg in TaskMan), whenever you are running something active (eg surfing Internet with your web browser, or gaming, or movies) - it will *not* interfere with your CPU, as its priority is lower than the active tasks.

Eg on my laptop I run the uniprocessor CPU clients at 100% utilisation and I can still use my laptop as normal (surfing, Office tasks, movies etc). Try it! smile.gif

The only thing is your PC may generate extra heat as the CPU is running at 100% utilisation - so if you're not comfortable with this then you can run the client at eg 80% utilisation or similar.
FidelisGVR
post Nov 12 2010, 03:03 AM

673 posts

ok, just tried the SMP client on my pc, and i chose 80% cpu utilization.

from what i've read in the site, the SMP is a multi-core client right?

it's kinda weird bcoz out of the 4 cores i have, only core #4 is consistently over 40% usage. the rest is just 12, 15; and the occasional spike of 30-40%..

did i do something wrong in the config, or is it meant to be that way? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by FidelisGVR: Nov 12 2010, 03:05 AM
saturn85
post Nov 12 2010, 03:07 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(FidelisGVR @ Nov 12 2010, 03:03 AM)
ok, just tried the SMP client on my pc, and i chose 80% cpu utilization.

from what i've read in the site, the SMP is a multi-core client right?

it's kinda weird bcoz out of the 4 cores i have, only core #4 is consistently over 40% usage. the rest is just 12, 15; and the occasional spike of 30-40%..

did i do something wrong in the config, or is it meant to be that way? rclxub.gif

do you use -smp flag?
FidelisGVR
post Nov 12 2010, 03:09 AM

673 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Nov 12 2010, 03:07 AM)
do you use -smp flag?
no, i didn't.. do i have to run the config again by restarting the client?
kripkorn
post Nov 12 2010, 03:14 AM

512 posts

yea, u should use -smp
saturn85
post Nov 12 2010, 03:15 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(FidelisGVR @ Nov 12 2010, 03:09 AM)
no, i didn't.. do i have to run the config again by restarting the client?
i think stop and quit the client first. unsure.gif
the use cmd to configure it.
and the following should help:
http://folding.stanford.edu/English/WinSMPGuide

http://forums.ncix.com/forums/?mode=showth...nt=40&subpage=1
FidelisGVR
post Nov 12 2010, 03:28 AM

673 posts

still looks the same to me...

if anything, core #4 is now steadying at 60+ %.

the -smp is entered at the "additional client parameters []" right?
saturn85
post Nov 12 2010, 04:09 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(FidelisGVR @ Nov 12 2010, 03:28 AM)
still looks the same to me...

if anything, core #4 is now steadying at 60+ %.

the -smp is entered at the "additional client parameters []" right?
yes, should entered there.
FidelisGVR
post Nov 12 2010, 04:34 AM

673 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Nov 12 2010, 04:09 AM)
yes, should entered there.
ok, did that..

does yours look like this when running the smp client? i mean, the cpu usage (reconfigured it to use 100%).

i remember seeing one folder here in i7 with 4 concurrent clients, while i only have one. i suppose he used multiple clients (different working directory?)

This post has been edited by FidelisGVR: Nov 12 2010, 04:34 AM
saturn85
post Nov 12 2010, 05:01 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

smp client is multi threading, so 1 smp client should be enough.
but for my case, the cpu usage reach 100% one. unsure.gif
FidelisGVR
post Nov 12 2010, 06:05 AM

673 posts

The effect of not sleeping after 24 hrs:

hackcremo
post Nov 12 2010, 06:39 AM

1,299 posts

QUOTE(FidelisGVR @ Nov 12 2010, 06:05 AM)

my dream folding card...you go sleep la..just leave your pc alone...that what i am doing..he3..zzzzZZZzz..

Helpp3..why my signature folding@home table not same as my current database at extreme overclocking website... I think i only upload image than because its not link..

can anyone teach me how to make link with my sig and extrme overclocking website??

This post has been edited by hackcremo: Nov 12 2010, 08:31 AM
saturn85
post Nov 12 2010, 10:15 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

refer here for image: biggrin.gif
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/?nav=IMAGES
TSDiademz
post Nov 12 2010, 11:30 AM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(FidelisGVR @ Nov 12 2010, 06:05 AM)

good morning everyone!

FidelisGVR - Sounds like you are still using the classic uniprocessor client. As saturn85 mentioned, you need to use the SMP client, and start it with the "-smp" flag e.g. "fah.exe -configonly -smp" for first time config, and then ensure it has the "-smp" flag everytime after that. If you are running the console client and starting it as service then ensure you regedit the service commandline parameter to include the "-smp" flag as well.

Wow another GTX460 babeh! What are your gpu/shader clocks? For mine it is overclocked to 830/1660 @ 1V and it averages 61-63C at 100% load, so quite nice and not too hot.

Just watch your electricity bill and the temps and you'll be fine. Looking forward to seeing you in the top 25 producer list too biggrin.gif

22 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:08 AM