6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Folding@Malaysia needs your help!, Fellow hardware gurus, please read !

saturn85
post Oct 28 2010, 08:55 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

how come i get this? unsure.gif
i already disable firewall.
using windows xp sp3.
CODE
[11:38:40] - Ask before connecting: Yes
[11:38:40] - User name: Anonymous (Team 0)
[11:38:40] - User ID not found locally
[11:38:40] + Requesting User ID from server
[11:38:40] - Presenting message box asking to network.
[11:42:15] + Could not connect to Primary Assignment Server for ID
[11:45:48] + Could not connect to Secondary Assignment Server for ID
[11:45:48] + Could not get ID from server. Retrying...
[11:49:37] + Could not connect to Primary Assignment Server for ID
[11:53:11] + Could not connect to Secondary Assignment Server for ID
[11:53:11] + Could not get ID from server. Retrying...
[11:57:03] + Could not connect to Primary Assignment Server for ID
[12:00:36] + Could not connect to Secondary Assignment Server for ID
[12:00:36] + Could not get ID from server. Retrying...
[12:04:35] + Could not connect to Primary Assignment Server for ID
[12:08:08] + Could not connect to Secondary Assignment Server for ID
[12:08:08] + Could not get ID from server. Retrying...
[12:12:32] + Could not connect to Primary Assignment Server for ID
[12:16:05] + Could not connect to Secondary Assignment Server for ID
[12:16:05] + Could not get ID from server. Retrying...
[12:21:12] + Could not connect to Primary Assignment Server for ID
[12:24:45] + Could not connect to Secondary Assignment Server for ID
[12:24:45] + Could not get ID from server. Retrying...
[12:31:07] + Could not connect to Primary Assignment Server for ID
[12:34:40] + Could not connect to Secondary Assignment Server for ID
[12:34:40] + Could not get ID from server. Retrying...
[12:43:37] + Could not connect to Primary Assignment Server for ID

saturn85
post Oct 29 2010, 09:08 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

actually i still facing the same problem even have configure to join team 2999. sweat.gif
CODE
[00:54:34] - Ask before connecting: Yes
[00:54:34] - User name: saturn85 (Team 2999)
[00:54:34] - User ID not found locally
[00:54:34] + Requesting User ID from server
[00:54:34] - Presenting message box asking to network.
[00:58:09] + Could not connect to Primary Assignment Server for ID
[01:01:42] + Could not connect to Secondary Assignment Server for ID
[01:01:42] + Could not get ID from server. Retrying...
[01:05:34] + Could not connect to Primary Assignment Server for ID

This post has been edited by saturn85: Oct 29 2010, 09:09 AM
saturn85
post Oct 29 2010, 06:41 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

i didn't use 3rd party firewall and didn't set any proxy.
windows firewall disable.
but i m using a wireless connection provided by school. sweat.gif
client.cfg
CODE
[settings]
username=saturn85
team=2999
passkey=
asknet=yes
machineid=1
bigpackets=big
extra_parms=

[http]
active=no
host=localhost
port=8080
usereg=no
proxy_name=
proxy_passwd=

[core]
priority=0
cpuusage=100
disableassembly=no
nocpulock=0
checkpoint=3

[power]
battery=no

and do i need a passkey?
and what is PPD?
how it related to point, score, work unit? unsure.gif

saturn85
post Oct 30 2010, 12:31 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(Diademz @ Oct 29 2010, 08:09 PM)
saturn85,

Could you try accessing the following via ur web browser :

http://assign.stanford.edu:8080/
http://assign2.stanford.edu/

Do you use any AV programs then? Try disabling momentarily and see if it works?
Points/scores are Stanford's way of rewarding donors like you and me - there are various protein "projects" and each project has a different number of credits or points assigned. When your client connects to Stanford to download these projects, it is typically called a work unit. When the work unit is 100% processed by your PC it is uploaded back to Stanford, and then you get assigned the points.

So when we say PPD, it means Points Per Day ie. estimated number of points your CPU/GPU can process per day. It is a way Stanford "rewards" its donors and keeps us donors continuously interested in the project. We as individuals then join or form our own teams (e.g Folding@Malaysia) to compete against other teams and this friendly rivalry ultimately benefits the folding community.

A passkey is a unique id given by Stanford to differentiate donors with the same userid. Eg if there is another person called saturn85 running F@H then u could generate a passkey for your own id so the points u contribute would be recognised individually.

Let me know if you need more info! Fold on!  biggrin.gif
finally found out my antivirus block it. sweat.gif
another question:
what is ns/day refer to? unsure.gif
saturn85
post Nov 1 2010, 05:06 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

why FahMon there, the ETA show *Hung* for all client? unsure.gif
saturn85
post Nov 5 2010, 03:59 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Nov 5 2010, 03:28 PM)
i already run F@H client on my m15x with gtx260m gpu however i cant fold with my processor...how to do it??
i think you need cpu client or smp client. unsure.gif
saturn85
post Nov 8 2010, 03:42 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(ongweiping @ Nov 8 2010, 12:21 AM)
New folding user reporting in! ^^ thanks to Saturn85 remind... tongue.gif
so nice. rclxms.gif
your card is good to fold. brows.gif
remember to join team number 2999. biggrin.gif
saturn85
post Nov 8 2010, 09:28 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

i think run 1 or 2 smp client is enough.
because smp client are multi threading. unsure.gif
saturn85
post Nov 9 2010, 05:21 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

yea, i also feel that 2nd hand 8800gt/9800gt is a cheap and good start. thumbup.gif
saturn85
post Nov 10 2010, 09:27 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Nov 10 2010, 09:19 PM)
rclxms.gif This my temporary folding machine..
next year will collect used part combine make 1 folding rig with multi gpu and fold 24\7..
i live in hostel..no electric bill... rclxm9.gif
hostel is nice, use power hungry card also won't worry for electric bill. brows.gif
saturn85
post Nov 10 2010, 10:55 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Nov 10 2010, 09:43 PM)
broo..can you help me...
i need recommendation on cpu, mobo and gpu for multi gpu rig...
lets say my budget below rm1000..
what used part combination that give higher ppd on smp and gpu...
if want really good performance for folding.
i will suggest:
smp client: core i7 870.
gpu client: 2x GTX460 or GTX470. brows.gif
but this will definitely need more than rm1000. sweat.gif

so with rm1000, you want a cpu, a motherboard, 2x graphic card?
do you need ram also? unsure.gif
saturn85
post Nov 11 2010, 01:29 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Nov 10 2010, 11:26 PM)
aiiiyoooo...that rig really produce a lllooooottsss of ppd..hahaha.. drool.gif
i want cpu, mobo that support multi gpu at least each lane run at minimum 8x, 1 graphic card only, later i maybe add up the remaining slot..
ram,power supply,hard disk,casing...
do you think can get those USED item under rm1000... hmm.gif
hmm, not sure used items how much. unsure.gif
you can try see in garage sales, look for items below:
core i5 750
LGA1156 P55 chipset board with 2 pcie x16 slot.
GTS250.

the ram, hdd, psu, casing not included right? unsure.gif
if included then with rm1000 hard to get good performance stuff.
saturn85
post Nov 11 2010, 04:19 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(barry80 @ Nov 11 2010, 09:25 AM)
didn't use any avr...just the 50f is about 2 years half of aging 24/7, some more my rig suppose to be load over 500w after few items upgrade...

have to send for rma liao .... shakehead.gif
wow, what graphic card you have there?
silverstone is a good psu wo. unsure.gif

Added on November 11, 2010, 4:20 pm
QUOTE(FidelisGVR @ Nov 11 2010, 04:12 PM)
folding on my i5 760 at stock speeds (2.8 GHz) using the normal client (x86) laugh.gif
hey, try out smp client.
i think the bonus worth a lot. brows.gif

This post has been edited by saturn85: Nov 11 2010, 04:20 PM
saturn85
post Nov 11 2010, 06:15 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(FidelisGVR @ Nov 11 2010, 04:48 PM)
i want to, but i still use my pc for watching movies + game + other stuff...

i plan to install the SMP client on my lab's pc, let it fold 24-7, see how it goes. brows.gif
i see. you can use -smp 3 to limit the smp client to use 3 cores.
left 1 core you can do other things. brows.gif
saturn85
post Nov 12 2010, 03:07 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(FidelisGVR @ Nov 12 2010, 03:03 AM)
ok, just tried the SMP client on my pc, and i chose 80% cpu utilization.

from what i've read in the site, the SMP is a multi-core client right?

it's kinda weird bcoz out of the 4 cores i have, only core #4 is consistently over 40% usage. the rest is just 12, 15; and the occasional spike of 30-40%..

did i do something wrong in the config, or is it meant to be that way? rclxub.gif

do you use -smp flag?
saturn85
post Nov 12 2010, 03:15 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(FidelisGVR @ Nov 12 2010, 03:09 AM)
no, i didn't.. do i have to run the config again by restarting the client?
i think stop and quit the client first. unsure.gif
the use cmd to configure it.
and the following should help:
http://folding.stanford.edu/English/WinSMPGuide

http://forums.ncix.com/forums/?mode=showth...nt=40&subpage=1
saturn85
post Nov 12 2010, 04:09 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(FidelisGVR @ Nov 12 2010, 03:28 AM)
still looks the same to me...

if anything, core #4 is now steadying at 60+ %.

the -smp is entered at the "additional client parameters []" right?
yes, should entered there.
saturn85
post Nov 12 2010, 05:01 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

smp client is multi threading, so 1 smp client should be enough.
but for my case, the cpu usage reach 100% one. unsure.gif
saturn85
post Nov 12 2010, 10:15 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

refer here for image: biggrin.gif
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/?nav=IMAGES
saturn85
post Nov 13 2010, 11:41 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Nov 13 2010, 08:22 PM)
You will need to use both of the Folding@Home application.
One would be for the processor, which would be in the link on the first post on the first page.

The other one is in the "High End Clients section".
hey bro, didn't see you folding one? unsure.gif

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0393sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:21 AM