113 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

Drums LYN Drummers Paradise

chuckenscream
post Nov 15 2007, 02:19 AM

96 posts

yeap, so actually what exams did arthur and jone took?
gaTO
post Nov 15 2007, 04:33 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(chuckenscream @ Nov 15 2007, 02:19 AM)
yeap, so actually what exams did arthur and jone took?
erm..my best guess would be the rockschool examination..or other?
Namqul
post Nov 17 2007, 03:27 PM

790 posts

i need a shorter hi hat rod. is there any on sale or the only way to get it is to cut it manually? i tried to google around but found on cutting.

and if cutting is the only way, anyone care to share their experience?
Party2DMax
post Nov 17 2007, 08:57 PM

party2dmax
1,092 posts

For cutting metal, you'll need an angle grinder. I'm not sure about solid rods (even though it's as thin as the ones on hi hat stands) 'coz I've only cut sheet metal. It seems like it could cut through thicker stuff; operating word: "seems". Still, it should be OK since the worse you can do is wear off the grinder really fast when cutting hard materials.

Namqul
post Nov 17 2007, 11:44 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(Party2DMax @ Nov 17 2007, 08:57 PM)
For cutting metal, you'll need an angle grinder. I'm not sure about solid rods (even though it's as thin as the ones on hi hat stands) 'coz I've only cut sheet metal. It seems like it could cut through thicker stuff; operating word: "seems". Still, it should be OK since the worse you can do is wear off the grinder really fast when cutting hard materials.
are you also saying that there is no shorter hihat rod in the market n it comes in std length? hmmm, i dont own an angle grinder, how bout this steel saw? i dont mind trying later but the only problem is to hold the rod and to prevent it from bending. i dont want any squeeking sounds later. maybe ill get a new rod 1st then try cutting only after then.
Party2DMax
post Nov 18 2007, 01:28 AM

party2dmax
1,092 posts

I don't know nuthin' about hi-hat rods, but I know how to cut metal.
What kinda steel saw you got? I don't think any handsaw can cut through a solid rod but there's no harm trying. Good chance to work some muscles too.

Just get two wooden stoppers, or bricks etc and saw at the gap between them? You can hold the rod down onto the stopper with your one leg and one hand, or ask someone else to hold it while you saw.
Namqul
post Nov 18 2007, 08:06 AM

790 posts

a handsaw. ive tried to cut through some steel and it worked fine, so i guess ill try after buying an extra rod. ahha, now you sound more like a blacksmith rather then a drummer. lol~ anyway thanx for the tip
theRev
post Nov 18 2007, 11:21 AM

20 posts

hi guys
i am totally new here in LYN..
i just read this thread for 2+ pages and i am so anxious to post..

it is just so cool to talk everything about drum..
as i got no one here at my place that i know to talk about drum stuff..

as for drumming..i am also relatively new..
so my knowledge is very limited..
hope i can gain much from here..

cheers.gif

btw guys..
im planning on buying used double pedal..
any tips?

This post has been edited by theRev: Nov 18 2007, 11:38 AM
AlienProbe
post Nov 18 2007, 12:32 PM

209 posts

ahha The Rev himself posted up...and disguise as a newcomer..
Party2DMax
post Nov 18 2007, 12:43 PM

party2dmax
1,092 posts

QUOTE(Namqul @ Nov 18 2007, 08:06 AM)
now you sound more like a blacksmith rather then a drummer.
Practical skills are always handy to have.
Just yesterday I had to improvise a rope wrench, and I was so glad it turned out alright 'coz it was an urgent situation lol.

QUOTE(theRev @ Nov 18 2007, 11:21 AM)
im planning on buying used double pedal..
any tips?
Just post the info of the pedals you're considering and someone will comment.
Used stuff are tricky so we should go on a case by case basis?
theRev
post Nov 18 2007, 07:20 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(AlienProbe @ Nov 18 2007, 12:32 PM)
ahha The Rev himself posted up...and disguise as a newcomer..
ngeee..i thought already someone will post something like this tongue.gif
yaa..The Rev and Chris Adler are my fav and the reason im playing drum seriously nod.gif

as for the pedal..im still looking..
im following my friend suggestion..buy used..cheaper and branded..
if u ask what pedal..i guess here we dont have so many opt..
we always found only pearl,laser, or maxtone..
found axis one in jamtank..

anyone here got exp of buying used double pedal?
care to share?

how about if i buy double pedal from e-bay international?

if there negative comment about used double pedal..then i think i just go for new one..
haih..too bad la im just an unpaid student..everyday think how to buy >1.5k pedal rclxub.gif
plus still newbie..and still learning on keeping the beat right..
but i rather buying exp+good pedal than thinking of upgrading cheap pedal later..

This post has been edited by theRev: Nov 18 2007, 08:08 PM
chuckenscream
post Nov 18 2007, 08:58 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(theRev @ Nov 18 2007, 07:20 PM)
ngeee..i thought already someone will post something like this  tongue.gif
yaa..The Rev and Chris Adler are my fav and the reason im playing drum seriously  nod.gif

hi theRev, haha i love a7x and lamb of god too man, should be a pleasure talking about them with you in future? haha.

as for the pedal..im still looking..
im following my friend suggestion..buy used..cheaper and branded..
if u ask what pedal..i guess here we dont have so many opt..
we always found only pearl,laser, or maxtone..
found axis one in jamtank..

anyone here got exp of buying used double pedal?
care to share?

alright, here is what i think, pedals wise, dont go for those low ended one. i have a low graded mapex double pedals, and it is f***ing up my progress. go for those good ones, like iron cobra, pearl's elims or those top notch gilbratars or even dw9000/5000. u will most probably be happy with them.

however, if u start off with great pedals, u wont know how low ended pedals feel like. haha, i can tell u, that those pedals really make u work harder. then, when u switch to great ones, then u will feel the difference and appreciate them more.

how about if i buy double pedal from e-bay international?

i just order an Axis longboards from ebay last week. .
it arrived in my friend's house already in US, then he shipped it to me.should be arriving tomorrow/tuesday
he said it looked good, well i hope it'll be great.
if u're keen to know how it is, i dont mind keeping u updated.

anyways, i guess buying over the internet is fine, especially eBay. because those the f*** up will get sued in US.
but yea, many of them dont ship internationally. i asked a favour from my friend in US to get it for me, u might wanna try the same too.

if there negative comment about used double pedal..then i think i just go for new one..
haih..too bad la im just an unpaid student..everyday think how to buy >1.5k pedal  rclxub.gif
plus still newbie..and still learning on keeping the beat right..
but i rather buying exp+good pedal than thinking of upgrading cheap pedal later..
dont go for second hand pedals, u never know how it'll feel like and how much the first owner f***s it up already, especially over internet buying.
if u're sure u dont wanna upgrade later, then take my advice in getting one good one.
however, if u still claim to be a newbie, u should only go for double bass later, after u can keep your beat right and all.

and , TRY ALL available pedals before u buy. because u see, iron cobras and elims might be as awesome, but they are different too. u might prefer the elims to the heavy iron cobras. or u might prefer a direct drive pedals over chain driven.

when i was making my decision on which pedals to buy , i liked the iron cobras,i opted for axis longboards although its another 1k more expensive because im used to light pedals, iron cobras are f***ing heavy. and i didnt like the feel of elims. so yea, everything is up to you trying out. dont rush your decision making because its alot of money.

oh yeaa, i didnt mean to talk soo much, but then i was very into the pedala market lately because i was looking to buy one. hope i did helped.
Namqul
post Nov 18 2007, 09:13 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(chuckenscream @ Nov 18 2007, 08:58 PM)

it arrived in my friend's house already in US, then he shipped it to me.should be arriving tomorrow/tuesday

dang... already? guess im gonnabe the one left with cheeeepo pedals. lol. anyway, upload pict k. and how much u buy? tried dw before? why longboards? i might change mine soon so any advice will help.
chuckenscream
post Nov 18 2007, 09:51 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(Namqul @ Nov 18 2007, 09:13 PM)
dang... already? guess im gonnabe the one left with cheeeepo pedals. lol. anyway, upload pict k. and how much u buy? tried dw before? why longboards? i might change mine soon so any advice will help.
oh pictures, sure, i have some in my pc, but then its from my friend, he took it for me when he got it in US last week.
let me see,

yea, i tried dw before, axis longboards too, both in JS. bought it over eBay for 2.3k including shipping and all.
i like the feel from axis because its really light and smooth, and i chose longboards because i wanna try something different (no point paying so much and goin back to those normal ones) , and it'll be easier for me to do the heeltoe technique.. and i feel axis is much smoother than dw9000, at least for me.

and also, the price between an axis and a dw9000 is not really big, i guess axis is around 300-500 more expensive. so yea, since im willing to spend so much, i dont wanna save another 300 getting something i dont prefer the most. haha.

dont get me wrong, dw really feels good, i liked it too, but then it's always up to your own feel. what's best for me might not be good for you. so yea, as i'ved said, TRY ALL PEDALS. dont rush when u wanna buy them.

Party2DMax
post Nov 18 2007, 10:11 PM

party2dmax
1,092 posts

Bring your pedals to the next jam or something.
I'll bring mine too =D.
chuckenscream
post Nov 18 2007, 10:18 PM

96 posts

haha, shall see how it goes.

This post has been edited by chuckenscream: Nov 18 2007, 10:20 PM
Namqul
post Nov 19 2007, 12:03 AM

790 posts

argh, so the battle of sifus begins. lol~ so envious
theRev
post Nov 19 2007, 12:17 AM

20 posts

hi theRev, haha i love a7x and lamb of god too man, should be a pleasure talking about them with you in future? haha.
hi chuck..that would be vry nice..most of my fren in mmu is a7x n lamb of god kaki..and so my jamming mate..feel like meeting new family

alright, here is what i think, pedals wise, dont go for those low ended one. i have a low graded mapex double pedals, and it is f***ing up my progress. go for those good ones, like iron cobra, pearl's elims or those top notch gilbratars or even dw9000/5000. u will most probably be happy with them.
well..studio here use 2nd hand and a little bit off balance maxtone..jam the beast and harlot like 2 or 3 times for us to satisfied..
that made me feel like im in urgent to get a new pedal to improve my skill..

however, if u start off with great pedals, u wont know how low ended pedals feel like. haha, i can tell u, that those pedals really make u work harder. then, when u switch to great ones, then u will feel the difference and appreciate them more.
this is well said and did hit me..if i dont really get the chance to get new and good pedal..then i think i just find cheap pedal to "belasah".

yes it is very nice of you to update..i watched one heeltoe tutorial and it seem very easy with those..maybe later i can have some tips from u notworthy.gif

anyways, i guess buying over the internet is fine, especially eBay. because those the f*** up will get sued in US.
but yea, many of them dont ship internationally. i asked a favour from my friend in US to get it for me, u might wanna try the same too.
dont go for second hand pedals, u never know how it'll feel like and how much the first owner f***s it up already, especially over internet buying.
if u're sure u dont wanna upgrade later, then take my advice in getting one good one.
however, if u still claim to be a newbie, u should only go for double bass later, after u can keep your beat right and all.

and , TRY ALL available pedals before u buy. because u see, iron cobras and elims might be as awesome, but they are different too. u might prefer the elims to the heavy iron cobras. or u might prefer a direct drive pedals over chain driven.

when i was making my decision on which pedals to buy , i liked the iron cobras,i opted for axis longboards although its another 1k more expensive because im used to light pedals, iron cobras are f***ing heavy. and i didnt like the feel of elims. so yea, everything is up to you trying out. dont rush your decision making because its alot of money.

oh yeaa, i didnt mean to talk soo much, but then i was very into the pedala market lately because i was looking to buy one. hope i did helped.
maybe if i can "songlap" some of my loan then i can go for the really good one..but u really help alot with all these advice..since i have no one around to ask about buying new or used double pedal..

thanks a lot dude

cheers.gif

Added on November 19, 2007, 12:38 amohh yaa..if buying the pedal at the store..
can we get any chance to try it first?

This post has been edited by theRev: Nov 19 2007, 01:16 AM
chuckenscream
post Nov 19 2007, 11:51 PM

96 posts

yea man of course u can try it if u're really interested in buying one.
bentley, JS all they let you try.

Namqul
post Nov 20 2007, 09:43 AM

790 posts

chucky. why your longboards 2.3 k? so expensive? which model? JS selling at 1.5k only rite? but maybe its a different series or something.

btw, tried sonor pedals before? i seriously want to try out giant steps. anyone knows where i can try in malaysia?

113 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0236sec    1.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:13 PM