15 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

What insurance plan you having? Pls share as guide, Tell us how much, good/bad it is:)

vilim
post Oct 26 2010, 09:41 PM

You know something guys... I don't know about you all.. but I really like traditional policies. I think investment-link policies are great.. but still cannot beat the traditional policies like a whole-life policy.

I bought one in 2006 from Great Eastern called the Supreme Living Care Plus.. At that time, I really thought I had bought a house with purchasing my first insurance policy. In fact, it is better than a house because buying a house comes with housing loan which is a liability. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.. but now.. 4 yrs down the road.. I just regret how come I didn't buy a BIGGER house (insurance policy)! LOL!! biggrin.gif

Added on October 26, 2010, 9:51 pm
QUOTE(MNet @ Oct 24 2010, 12:12 PM)
prudential

i mau tanya u

1. wat different between PRU health and PruBSN Takaful health ? Pros and cons?

2. Do u hv any plan that can earn money? i don't want buy unit trust.
i just did a research on PRU health.. please check out their premiums on their medical cards.. it's so0o0o0o ex*******. this is the link:
http://www2.prudential.com.my/corporate/li...ts_download.php

knock yourself out. compare prices cause we work very hard, don't we? just download the brochure for PRU health and the premiums are at the back of the brochures.. nobody ever reads them, i'm sure. doh.gif

btw, plans that can earn money in insurance are always endowment plans. great plans.. IF you can afford them.

This post has been edited by vilim: Oct 26 2010, 09:51 PM
ajau
post Oct 26 2010, 10:02 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(vilim @ Oct 26 2010, 09:41 PM)
You know something guys... I don't know about you all.. but I really like traditional policies. I think investment-link policies are great.. but still cannot beat the traditional policies like a whole-life policy.

I bought one in 2006 from Great Eastern called the Supreme Living Care Plus.. At that time, I really thought I had bought a house with purchasing my first insurance policy. In fact, it is better than a house because buying a house comes with housing loan which is a liability. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.. but now.. 4 yrs down the road.. I just regret how come I didn't buy a BIGGER house (insurance policy)! LOL!! biggrin.gif

i just did a research on PRU health.. please check out their premiums on their medical cards.. it's so0o0o0o ex*******. this is the link:

knock yourself out. compare prices cause we work very hard, don't we? just download the brochure for PRU health and the premiums are at the back of the brochures.. nobody ever reads them, i'm sure.  doh.gif

btw, plans that can earn money in insurance are always endowment plans. great plans.. IF you can afford them.
PRUhealth is only can be attached to investment link. The premium is different with charges. The premium is depend on the entry age and it remains the same through out your policy. While the insurance charges is the actual charges that is deducted from your cash value from your fund. The older you are the higher is the insurance charges for PRUhealth.

Other insurance company's medical plan that attached to investment link work the same way. You need to understand between insurance premium and insurance charges.
vilim
post Oct 26 2010, 11:03 PM

Oh right.. their insurance charges are high.. but insurance charges affects insurance premiums, right? Still ex*******

Added on October 26, 2010, 11:07 pmi don't mean Prudential insurance is not good. i think their plans are a tad expensive, that's all..
that's my opinion when i check the brochure.. i got a shock.

Added on October 26, 2010, 11:11 pmoh and about this PRU Med Major 5.. it can be attached to investment-link policies or traditional policies?? really??

This post has been edited by vilim: Oct 26 2010, 11:11 PM
ajau
post Oct 26 2010, 11:25 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(vilim @ Oct 26 2010, 11:03 PM)
Oh right.. their insurance charges are high.. but insurance charges affects insurance premiums, right? Still ex*******

Added on October 26, 2010, 11:07 pmi don't mean Prudential insurance is not good. i think their plans are a tad expensive, that's all..

Added on October 26, 2010, 11:11 pmoh and about this PRU Med Major 5.. it can be attached to investment-link policies or traditional policies?? really??
You need to check the benefit offered, then you know why the charges/premium as such.

Frankly speaking it is hard to compare one medical plan from one company to another. So far, I could not find two identical plan from different company. I found other more expensive plan - it is better from one aspect but lack from other aspect. I found other cheaper medical plan - and again lack here, better there.

It's back to the question which insurance is the best - because there is no answer for that. We should look for which insurance is suit us most. And are we willing to commit?

Added on October 26, 2010, 11:31 pm

PRU med major 5 can be attached to investment link until July 2009. After that, it can only be attached to traditional policy.

If you are comparing PMM5 and PRUhealth, yes PRUhealth is more expensive. The major different, PRUhealth give No Claim Bonus while PMM5 does not. Maybe the different in charges/premium is due to the introduction of NCB.

This post has been edited by ajau: Oct 26 2010, 11:31 PM
Hansel
post Oct 27 2010, 05:14 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(coolpajames @ Oct 26 2010, 10:19 PM)
hansel...

SOP is about 2 week across the board. n u can take ur policy (original) n walk into any of the office n say u wanna surrender.

reason now is y u wanna surrender the policy?

Added on October 26, 2010, 9:27 pm
Coolpajames, thank you.

My friend bought a policy when he was young. It is not too much, it's only of a 40K coverage. He bought it when he was 20+, and he is, I think 41 today, not too sure about this.

He been paying his premium diligently for the last 17 years without a single miss. The Critical Year was 4 years ago, in 2006. and it was extended by the insurance company up to 2012.

Who knows if the insurance company will not extend it again come 2012 ? What else can he do, besides cancelling ?

I think the main reason he is contemplating to cancel the policy and take back the money is because he is pretty mad that his Critical Year has been extended without his knowledge. He has other policies too, and those were not extended.

Yes, there is a loss if he cancels, but it's better to lose now than to lose more later. He has been paying for 17 Years and his Surrender Value is still ONLY about 66% of the total amount paid in the last 17 Years. This is NOT worth it, right ?

Secondly, he feels having a coverage of 40K is not much today. With his current wealth level today, he always has 40K in his Emergency Funds, and he figures he can invest the Surrender Value himself better today rather than leave it with the insurance company.

Appreciate everybody's comments here.
coolpajames
post Oct 27 2010, 11:14 PM

55 posts

Hansel,

m i correct to say that u meaning 'the critical year' = when u dun need to pay premium anymore???

if it is, we best really have a look at his policy...in terms of how much he is paying for it. remember guys...that the cost of insurance increases with age.

if he was paying 100 a month when he was 20+ n still paying d same amount..cash value is VERY low. aka extended years.

u have a choice to either get a new policy or top up on the existing policy. n since it's more then 5 years old...best just get a new one cos the current policies has more coverage then those previously.

NOTE to all, no more 36 critical illness...it's getting almost to 40 now...previously a cardiac procedure that inserts a valve into the artery n balloon it open is now INCLUDED.

hahaha...to the last bit...if he wants to manage his own investment go for it biggrin.gif u do get more back with it. if u r looking for a lower entry level and higher return compared to FD...endowment...like wat was mentioned a few posting ago.

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 27 2010, 05:14 AM)
Coolpajames, thank you.

My friend bought a policy when he was young. It is not too much, it's only of a 40K coverage. He bought it when he was 20+, and he is, I think 41 today, not too sure about this.

He been paying his premium diligently for the last 17 years without a single miss. The Critical Year was 4 years ago, in 2006. and it was extended by the insurance company up to 2012.

Who knows if the insurance company will not extend it again come 2012 ? What else can he do, besides cancelling ?

I think the main reason he is contemplating to cancel the policy and take back the money is because he is pretty mad that his Critical Year has been extended without his knowledge. He has other policies too, and those were not extended.

Yes, there is a loss if he cancels, but it's better to lose now than to lose more later. He has been paying for 17 Years and his Surrender Value is still ONLY about 66% of the total amount paid in the last 17 Years. This is NOT worth it, right ?

Secondly, he feels having a coverage of 40K is not much today. With his current wealth level today, he always has 40K in his Emergency Funds, and he figures he can invest the Surrender Value himself better today rather than leave it with the insurance company.

Appreciate everybody's comments here.

Added on October 27, 2010, 11:16 pmhahaha good one vilim...not many ppl will know how to take advantage of certain plans when it is offered. good on u biggrin.gif

QUOTE(vilim @ Oct 26 2010, 09:41 PM)

knock yourself out. compare prices cause we work very hard, don't we? just download the brochure for PRU health and the premiums are at the back of the brochures.. nobody ever reads them, i'm sure.  doh.gif

This post has been edited by coolpajames: Oct 27 2010, 11:16 PM
Colaboy
post Oct 27 2010, 11:49 PM

670 posts

expensive policy have expensive value . . . you pay peanut you got monkeys
thats my personal point of view . . .
we have reasons why its slightly higher because our policy is:
1) "non cancelable" as some of the medical plan outside still "conditional renewal"
2) pruhealth have NCB = no claim bonus which most dont
3) its 1 of the highly exceptable medical card in market
SUSMNet
post Oct 28 2010, 02:29 AM

11,954 posts

Why PruBSN Takaful Health premium is more expensive that PruHealth although they have same feature?

coolpajames
post Oct 28 2010, 08:01 AM

55 posts

MNet, good questions. i assume cos it's takaful.
At Manulife it's just MaxShield, with the options to double up death/disability benefit and/or critical illness benefit tongue.gif
ajau
post Oct 28 2010, 08:22 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Oct 28 2010, 02:29 AM)
Why PruBSN Takaful Health premium is more expensive that PruHealth although they have same feature?
PruBSN and Prudential is a separate entity.
The underwriter and everything is totally different.

aliex87
post Oct 28 2010, 10:58 AM

376 posts

im currently on pru takaful.....up to this point ive went to private hospitals for 3 times already, minor things only but very2 comfortable compared to gov. hospitals. and very fast also....last time want to do mri, went to gov. hospital have to take appointment that will happen in 3 month! private hospital today doctor said have to do mri, tomorrow morning done....
SUSMNet
post Oct 28 2010, 11:22 AM

11,954 posts

I'm planning to buy medical card.

Any recommendation?
MaxWealth
post Oct 28 2010, 12:11 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(ajau @ Oct 28 2010, 08:22 AM)
PruBSN and Prudential is a separate entity.
The underwriter and everything is totally different.
Hi Mr. Ajau, is it
PruBSN = bancaassurance?
Thanks..
coolpajames
post Oct 28 2010, 04:36 PM

55 posts

what type of medical card do u want?

allows u to go to normal clinics as well as hospital or just hospital n what bed range u want to b sleeping in?
basic medical card range are 100, 150, 200, 300, 400 and 500; which then comes with a lifetime limit n an annual limit.

depending on which limit u want, u have to trade off 1 being higher then the other. it's your choice.

QUOTE(MNet @ Oct 28 2010, 11:22 AM)
I'm planning to buy medical card.

Any recommendation?
ajau
post Oct 28 2010, 04:42 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(MaxWealth @ Oct 28 2010, 12:11 PM)
Hi Mr. Ajau, is it
PruBSN = bancaassurance?
Thanks..
Nope.
PruBSN is a takaful operator.

This is I quote from their website:
"Prudential BSN Takaful Berhad (PruBSN) was formed from the partnership of Prudential Holdings (Prudential) and Bank Simpanan Nasional (BSN), two financially strong companies in their respective fields of expertise. In early 2006, PruBSN received the approval from Bank Negara to operate a Takaful business."

SUSMNet
post Oct 28 2010, 04:52 PM

11,954 posts

I cannot buy takaful health alone?

Must attached it with takaful link plan aka unit trust?
babyphie
post Oct 28 2010, 08:56 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(Veda @ Oct 25 2010, 03:11 PM)
I have several plans, giving me a combined total of:

CI: RM200k-RM250k  (I'm still tweaking the exact amount)
Medical Card: R&B up to RM500, RM250k annual limit, > 1 million lifetime limit, got deductible
PA: Quite limited. Might get  a few free/cheap PA soon. Personally don't favour paying for PA.
Life: No need, I'm single.

And I'm paying only about RM90 a month. It pays to shop around  brows.gif

Added on October 25, 2010, 3:12 pm

You are a good friend indeed  notworthy.gif
wah!!! premium so cheap

may i noe which company?
coolpajames
post Oct 28 2010, 10:25 PM

55 posts

really do check the plan out 1st...remember...u pay peanuts u get monkeys...

QUOTE(babyphie @ Oct 28 2010, 08:56 PM)
wah!!! premium so cheap

may i noe which company?
ajau
post Oct 28 2010, 11:42 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Oct 28 2010, 04:52 PM)
I cannot buy takaful health alone?

Must attached it with takaful link plan aka unit trust?
Yup.

Added on October 28, 2010, 11:51 pm
QUOTE(coolpajames @ Oct 28 2010, 10:25 PM)
really do check the plan out 1st...remember...u pay peanuts u get monkeys...
He said his medical plan is deductible. That's why it is cheap.

As long as he knows what he is doing, probably he always have 1k, 3k, 10k to pay the 1st part of the bill. That's fine.

Everybody needs is different.

Added on October 28, 2010, 11:53 pm
QUOTE(aliex87 @ Oct 28 2010, 10:58 AM)
im currently on pru takaful.....up to this point ive went to private hospitals for 3 times already, minor things only but very2 comfortable compared to gov. hospitals. and very fast also....last time want to do mri, went to gov. hospital have to take appointment that will happen in 3 month! private hospital today doctor said have to do mri, tomorrow morning done....
Congrat.. rclxms.gif Bravo.. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by ajau: Oct 28 2010, 11:53 PM
SUSMNet
post Oct 29 2010, 03:56 AM

11,954 posts

I buy takaful health must attached it with takaful link plan aka unit trust

So its kind of investment linked insurance ?

Tabaru fund is unit trust?

15 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:39 PM