8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Acer TimelineX 3820TG & 4820TG, Owners and visitors discussion

sarf2k4
post Feb 17 2011, 03:40 AM

393 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 17 2011, 03:33 AM)
ERUNT is usually used to backup registry, but not sure whether it will work for Win 7 or not...
ok... i'll do the clean+launch manager this weekend i think but i had to redownload the patches and av updates later... i download before the actual formats...

so... i will install all drivers and some softwares required and put some as manual services, disable them upon startup, optimize use soluto and then use wpt is that it?
sarf2k4
post Feb 17 2011, 03:46 AM

393 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 17 2011, 03:42 AM)
Can just skip the soluto...
oh... erunt able to run on w7 though but i guess i wont be using it right now becos of the server.exe thingy... and could be due to other things as well... but i was wondering y is it that this ghost suddenly took 170sec during boot time....

im gonna create a 1 point back up using ghost... or something else that u want to recommend me after the clean install
sarf2k4
post Feb 17 2011, 03:52 AM

393 posts

oh... thx for ur help... gonna get acronis later... is it the acronis backup and recovery?
sarf2k4
post Feb 17 2011, 01:06 PM

393 posts

I wanna know y i cant directly play any mp3 by using the media keys on winamp? it searches for cdrom instead of playing any mp3 in winamp
sarf2k4
post Feb 17 2011, 01:38 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Feb 17 2011, 01:12 PM)
Enable Global Hotkey in Winamp?

(Imitating Sifu Lee's response...)
well. from what i remembered, i tried to enable and disable both the 2 option in hotkeys, still able to use the media keys without the checkbox on but i only concerned that y its only want to play from cdrom drives instead of the old launch manager, just play the media?
sarf2k4
post Feb 17 2011, 01:46 PM

393 posts

hurm~

i like winamp becos of mini mode, i dock them to the top, for main windows and to my right is the playlist but would disable playlist most of the time
sarf2k4
post Feb 17 2011, 02:01 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 17 2011, 01:51 PM)
The winamp, you mean when you press play on keyboard, the winamp will try to search cdrom instead of playing the song ?
yea... thats it nod.gif
sarf2k4
post Feb 17 2011, 02:28 PM

393 posts

it was fine couple of years ago... i had an acer laptop before as well but not like this, launched from cdrom.

I browsed through the preferences, dont think theres an option for this... last time tried without the virtual cdrom drive still the same. i was thinking it might be the launch manager
sarf2k4
post Feb 17 2011, 02:41 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 17 2011, 02:29 PM)
Then, kill the launchmanager.exe for a while and test the play button ?
there were 2 lmanager.exe, removed both it worked, run again(manually) worked, run lmworker to process, the problem occurs. so the real problem was the lmworker.exe
sarf2k4
post Feb 18 2011, 06:04 PM

393 posts

ugh... dont think this wpt and soluto really helps a lot... one of my problems right now is unable to install .net framweork 4.. stuck at profile or something then failed
sarf2k4
post Feb 18 2011, 06:25 PM

393 posts

i did, 2 times in 2 days, yesterday and today... still around 300secs. the intel rapid storage does improve a bit
sarf2k4
post Feb 18 2011, 06:33 PM

393 posts

not sure about that... the fastest one i could achieve was 150sec... maybe its due to the soluto
sarf2k4
post Feb 18 2011, 06:38 PM

393 posts

my own w7 dvd cos its the fastest to reformat the laptop rather than the recovery dvd took me 3 hours
sarf2k4
post Feb 18 2011, 06:46 PM

393 posts

not sure for the intel rst... i try again tonight but i wont able to give u a quitck update about it...

for the next format session, u mean a clean+driver only right?
sarf2k4
post Feb 18 2011, 06:52 PM

393 posts

even the power management, camera?

this is the driver version 9.5.6.1001
sarf2k4
post Feb 19 2011, 11:41 AM

393 posts

ok... ive done the reformat thingy... heres the results

with all the application that i always used is (right before the format process)

this is basic+driver+IRST 1st test

2nd test

I use this objectdock to access all of my programs instead of the desktop icons, its messy

This post has been edited by sarf2k4: Feb 19 2011, 11:42 AM
sarf2k4
post Feb 19 2011, 11:54 AM

393 posts

here's what my desktop looked like...
i personally dont like to pin to star menu/taskbar, large icons on taskbar and i prefer each of them looked more simpler like xp (or u could say.... prefer xp rather than w7 features)
sarf2k4
post Feb 19 2011, 12:10 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Feb 19 2011, 12:01 PM)
If you disable the following service, you should get better bootup time:

1. VMware DHCP
2. VMware NAT
3. VMware Agent
4. VMware USB

Make the VMware Authorization (Start delayed)

Do note that, by doing so, your VMware can only use Bridge network. If you want NAT and Host only, you need to manually start those service.

Personally, I even disable the VMNet1 and VMNet8 network adapter.

Nice desktop!
thx... i like it simple and by using the objectdock tabbed features, i dont have to go through the start menus
sarf2k4
post Feb 19 2011, 12:21 PM

393 posts

looks like this is the best avg boot time i can get... is there any application that works like norton parition magic? i wan to transfer 100gb from my c to e drive
sarf2k4
post Feb 19 2011, 12:23 PM

393 posts

i could but i had to transfer all the data from the drive then format again and retransfer all of them back... i want to make my e drive to have 200gb but wanna do it without the reformat the partitions

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0457sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:20 AM