8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Acer TimelineX 3820TG & 4820TG, Owners and visitors discussion

sarf2k4
post Feb 19 2011, 12:36 PM

393 posts

so... 1st i resize the c drive, restart, then resize my e drive is that it?
sarf2k4
post Feb 19 2011, 12:50 PM

393 posts

if resize c, resize e, i couldnt get the unallocated 100gb to e drive

still havent done it

This post has been edited by sarf2k4: Feb 19 2011, 12:51 PM
sarf2k4
post Feb 19 2011, 01:09 PM

393 posts

no, but my e drive is 100gb only and feels not enough. since c drive is the windows drive, 300gb. i want to take 100gb from c to e
sarf2k4
post Feb 19 2011, 02:19 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 19 2011, 01:12 PM)
If its not beside it, don't think can just resize it and add into partition E...
done... took me 1 hour to do so

QUOTE(erwinlee @ Feb 19 2011, 02:13 PM)
Eh bro how to make ur taskbar look like that ? I also prefer the semi windows XP look ? Can teach ? cuz when I open things, they all come down and cram in thatt Big Icon at the taskbar !!! Pls help ! =D
taskbar>properties>use small icons
sarf2k4
post Feb 19 2011, 03:04 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Feb 19 2011, 02:47 PM)
any good anime to recommend (other than one piece, bleach and naruto)....
on going series
infinite stratos
freezing
to aru majutsu no index 2

completed series
to aru kagaku no railgun
appleseed
karas
kaichou wa maid-sama
angel beats!
kannagi
K-On series
sarf2k4
post Feb 19 2011, 04:22 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Feb 19 2011, 04:11 PM)
Easiest is to use the external DVD player.

If you want to do a clean install, I recommend NOT to remove the recovery partition. As long as the partition is there, you can restore to factory setting with just Alt-F10. No need recovery CD.
acer's recovery partition hotkey is alt-f10? i never knew u need to press alt
sarf2k4
post Feb 19 2011, 04:59 PM

393 posts

sure... im still finding a nice completed/on-going series... watched a lot of fun anime liao... wont be online for a few days due to internet restrictions in campus life bye...
sarf2k4
post Feb 22 2011, 08:45 AM

393 posts

I reformatted my lappy recently due to the boost in time needed to boot up... could be that this UWT that made me having 300sec boot time... heres is what i get for their boot time

1. only drivers

2. drivers+ acer utilities

3. after everything installed
2nd run

4. wpt prefetch error

5. done with wpt tweaks
2nd run

6. after startup tweaks
2nd run

startup tweaks

This post has been edited by sarf2k4: Feb 22 2011, 08:46 AM
sarf2k4
post Feb 22 2011, 10:06 AM

393 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Feb 22 2011, 09:49 AM)
What programs do u install? 2 minutes is a bit seriously long
objectdock
office 2011
handbrake
winamp
ghost
firefox
daemon tools
windows performance toolkit
digsby
idm
launch manager
epower management
optical drive management
cfosspeed
batterycare
netlimiter
fraps
symantec endpoint protection
sarf2k4
post Feb 22 2011, 10:44 AM

393 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Feb 22 2011, 10:14 AM)
i recommend try disable the following to see if there is improvement:

1. Objectdock
2. cfosspeed
3. netlimiter

For deamon tool, u need to rename the spdt.sys to spdt.sys.anything to effectively disable it. to enable it back, u need to rename it back to spdt.sys and reboot to use it back. this driver is slow.

Added on February 22, 2011, 10:15 am

nope. blush.gif but it could be related to upcoming timelinex model 3830tg!
im aware about the objectdock during the login (after the windows login screen) is slow, what about if i set netlimiter and ghost to manual start in services?
sarf2k4
post Feb 22 2011, 11:51 AM

393 posts

after update my windows, here it is
sarf2k4
post Feb 22 2011, 12:03 PM

393 posts

ok i thought i should share my experience ,i had a similar problem and then i played arround and here is my solution ,
when you set the task to autohide ,and when the taskbar is at the same position as the dock,so what i have done is ,i unhide the windows taskbar then unlocked the windows taskbar and then moved it to a different site thanthe dock ,now it runs alot faster on startup and it seems alot more stable ,hope that helps"i am running windows vista ultimate btw"

i dont understand this part
sarf2k4
post Feb 22 2011, 12:14 PM

393 posts

they said that having more than 15 shortcuts will slow u down... what im thinking is, what if i load multiple docks? like internet as 1 tabbed dock, games 1 tabbed docks
sarf2k4
post Feb 22 2011, 12:24 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(sbd @ Feb 22 2011, 12:20 PM)
i just bought me a 3820tg. lee_what you're a sifu and all your input is so valuable.

i suppose there are two ways of getting the crap acer software out of my machine:
1. remove one by one and hope for the best
2. reformat the drive and make a fresh win 7 hp install

if i opt for no.2, any ideas how to extract the win 7 installation files without all the crap?
installing the drivers should not be a problem right, can get them from the acer site...
use a program called ABR. been using this to backup my oem license

Added on February 22, 2011, 12:26 pmis there any alternatives to objectdocks that supports tabbed dock?

This post has been edited by sarf2k4: Feb 22 2011, 12:26 PM
sarf2k4
post Feb 22 2011, 12:53 PM

393 posts

whats this mlaa thingy?
sarf2k4
post Feb 22 2011, 01:26 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Feb 22 2011, 01:15 PM)
Didnt know it was necessary! I tested that method when I was using 11.1 but it didnt work. Surprisingly, it work with 11.2  doh.gif

Now can already, even in switchable card like mine. Yours should work too.

Added on February 22, 2011, 1:17 pm

Allow you to do Anti Aliasing independent of any game. The theory also suggest that it should be much faster than any normal AA.

Read more here:

http://www.geeks3d.com/20101023/tips-what-...-aliasing-mlaa/
how do i enable this thing? from the site u mentioned earlier in notebookreview?
sarf2k4
post Feb 24 2011, 05:21 PM

393 posts

ive finally achieved this resultsAttached Image

by formatting the laptop, installing the drivers along with the amd drivers under the switchable 1st then discrete mode, updated ccc11.2 under discrete and switchable mode after that.

installed all software that i always used
startup, disabled acronis, idm, office

service, acronis set to manual start

used uwt to change the windows explorer behave (disabled full row selection) and the time above is what im able to maintain.

right now is going to update my windows to check whether it will make my boot slower or not.

i got a question about w7sp1, last time i installed it, took me 1 hour to complete and in the end, i got my win7 as evaluation copy for 1 year. any ideas?
sarf2k4
post Feb 24 2011, 05:50 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Feb 24 2011, 05:43 PM)
win7 sp1 just launched on 16 Feb 2011, and public access on 22 Feb 2011. any earlier version could potentially a beta or release candidate which you should avoid.

after you update, u should run WPT again. good luck!  icon_rolleyes.gif
well... ive backed up my system before the update process takes place. after that im going to time my boot again after windows set up the updates...

regarding the sp1, right now is ok to download right? not going to be evaluation copy is it?
sarf2k4
post Feb 25 2011, 03:11 PM

393 posts

well... sp1 is up in my laptop, the process is very painstakingly long. my boot time is 140-200 second after the windows update along with the sp1 updates

if my windows update failed halfway through, it installs and i install another one again after cancelled it, will it affect my system performances?

p/s:
i still havent used the wpt yet
sarf2k4
post Feb 25 2011, 03:48 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Feb 25 2011, 03:17 PM)
i read dis prob b4 dats y i dont update yet..
kinda hate slow boot when switch on my lappy..
i update becos i wanted to install dotnetfx4... sigh.... i will try out the wpt later at night i guess

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:26 PM