8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Acer TimelineX 3820TG & 4820TG, Owners and visitors discussion

sarf2k4
post Feb 26 2011, 11:21 AM

393 posts

ok... ive finally timed my laptop after the wpt and know how wpt works the actual way

last night i timed my boot, i got this:

my boot time should be around 1 minutes and in this few weeks, i also compiled the 2 most common wpt errors, the part to prepart step 2 of 6 and step 5 of 6. to fix these problems, I included the exact error messages as well

run cmd as administrator
input the text below or just paste it

xbootmgr -trace boot -prepSystem -verboseReadyBoot

Troubleshoot

Gave up waiting for Win7RTM physical prefetcher after 300 seconds.
Could not wait for prefetcher.
Couldn't find kenrel logger in active logger list.
Couldn't find user-mode logger in active logger list.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\SysMain 0

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Dfrg\BootOptimizeFunction
    * "OptimizeComplete" with a string data of "No"
    * "OptimizeError" with a string data of "Missing Registry Entries"

* "Enable" with a string  data of "Y"
    * "LcnStartLocation" with a string data of 0
    * "LcnEndLocation" with a string data of 0

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Prefetcher
"BootFilesOptimized" with a Double-Word data of 1

Failed to defragment disk after 5 attempts
PrepareSystem failed
Couldn't find kernel logger in active logger list
Couldn't kind user-mode logger in active logger list

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Dfrg\BootOptimizeFunction

Enable = Y
OptimizeComplete = Yes

the above solution is only make u able to run wpt but wont optimize ur boot performances. in order to make the wpt works like a charm;

1. run windows defragmenter to defragment c drive 1-2 times at least
2. open cmd as admin
3. paste xbootmgr -trace boot -prepSystem -verboseReadyBoot
4. wait until the WPT finish its job (6 time reboot)

i just wanna tell u guys how satisfied i am to have a boot time around 1 minute. as for the solutions in the quoted text, is because of that maybe u never run any defragmenter before and therefore by following the solution, wpt able to run but wont optimize the boot time

This post has been edited by sarf2k4: Feb 26 2011, 11:25 AM
sarf2k4
post Feb 26 2011, 12:28 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Feb 26 2011, 12:24 PM)
cowithgun.. how i auto update to sp1? home premium x64 can anot?
u need to manually download the sp1 update setup from the microsoft itself worth about 1gb for 64bit platform.

i suggest u update it overnight
sarf2k4
post Feb 26 2011, 12:41 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Feb 26 2011, 12:34 PM)
i tot it auto update ma? sarf2k4 i saw u having alot problem after update sp1 right? ur boot-time is slow ya?
sp1 i think is just an optional update packs. here is the links to Standalone Service Pack 1

yes... ive encountered with several slow boot-time problem but this time ive overcome that problem. I think its all started from the switchable graphic mode driver installations that made it slow and i never run any defragmenter before starting up the wpt process. i thought by using the solutions above still able to improve my boot time but its just a fake 6-time restart by wpt and no boot optimization were done in the process.

right now my boot time is around 1 minute, and im satisfied with 1 minute as well.

sarf2k4
post Feb 28 2011, 01:08 PM

393 posts

lol.... maybe becos i have lots of startup items running, my actual fastest time was 53sec and i didnt disable some startup items by the acer driver alone

now im facing artifact rendering problem while on switchable mode playing Cities XL 2011 (massive artifact while playing the cities)

to measure the boot time, use the boottimer search in google of course. it'll boot ur pc and time the duration for the boot until the message appeared

for the switchable problem, try clean the driver using driver sweeper, install the ati driver from acer website then the latest catalyst 11.2 from the ati.com in discrete graphic mode

good luck in that
sarf2k4
post Mar 1 2011, 10:55 AM

393 posts

what is the results of reinstalling the ati driver after driver sweeper? i was thinking about using it then reinstall my driver again but this could lead to boot time issues
sarf2k4
post Mar 1 2011, 03:21 PM

393 posts

cooler master u3 seems so nice
sarf2k4
post Mar 2 2011, 03:24 AM

393 posts

just now used boot timer, 150 second... maybe its due to the installations of the ccc11.2 again becos of artifact thingy. right now felt like dont wanna do it yet using the driver sweeper

p/s:
maybe i run the defragmenter 1st. i noticed that my defragmenter now elevated up until 6th pass

This post has been edited by sarf2k4: Mar 2 2011, 03:27 AM
sarf2k4
post Mar 2 2011, 02:11 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Mar 2 2011, 11:46 AM)
it was only a few days i didnt online! it was not long!

my best boot time

but, i can no longer achieve that. now, it's mostly on 25 seconds... most likely due to new Catalyst, Realtek audio driver (i used to use the stock driver), a few dotNet framework stuff i installed, etc... but i can live with it
what about ur startups? care to share with us? 4820tg or 3820tg is ur machine?

Added on March 2, 2011, 2:13 pm
QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Mar 2 2011, 12:25 PM)
mine 41++ haiz.. my lappy the fan suddenly work so hard.. damn noisy this problem happened sometimes nia.. how to settle? i update sp1 liau.. the temp show 63-65 with my lappy idle.. sometimes transferring files will like this also.. the fan damn noisy.. play doom 3 with high quality then the sound keep running like goin 2 blow!
i got this problem in 2 weeks ago, even in idle i noticed the laptop is hot. my solution was the format and thats where all my boot time problem started

This post has been edited by sarf2k4: Mar 2 2011, 02:13 PM
sarf2k4
post Mar 2 2011, 02:34 PM

393 posts

oh yea... i tried that F10 thingy during boot up, i got this cli style thingy and dunno what to write there

dont think theres disable dvd in 4820tg
sarf2k4
post Mar 2 2011, 03:12 PM

393 posts

i try that alt+F10 along with the autoruns and disabling several startups
sarf2k4
post Mar 3 2011, 03:11 PM

393 posts

avg boot time is around 60-70 seconds after using the defragmenter...

i tried on the driver sweeper last night and ran into several bluescreen in discrete mode. I managed to solve it by going into safe mode (discrete mode) and update the ati driver automatically in device manager. the artifact is fixed last night while playing cxl2011 under the switchable mode

This post has been edited by sarf2k4: Mar 3 2011, 03:11 PM
sarf2k4
post Mar 7 2011, 02:11 AM

393 posts

the best boot tie. only achieved it once and then i got around 60 seconds

This is the factory settings used from the recovery partition and removed all the crapware as well
sarf2k4
post Mar 9 2011, 01:39 AM

393 posts

latest boot time after the wpt with all the updates installed

notes on wpt:

i got an error during preparing part 2 of 6.

Solutions:
defragment your drive once after wpt installation and it will run flawlessly
sarf2k4
post Mar 9 2011, 06:51 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Mar 9 2011, 11:20 AM)
Nice to see you finally able to get a reasonable boot time!  rclxms.gif Thanks for the tips on using WPT as well.
rawr!!! suddenly boot time is 55 seconds after the windows update last night even after the normal defragmentations. maybe i should run wpt again and that will fix my boot time i hope
sarf2k4
post Mar 10 2011, 04:54 PM

393 posts

my boot time is 31 second at fastest and 33 second at average. after doing some tweaks through regcleaner and ccleaner. tweaked the bios appearances in msconfig but it made it worst so better not to touch it

i did plan to upgrade my bios but i doubt so becos i really need this laptop to do works and entertainment for myself.

im dedicating this picture to ngkhanmein
sarf2k4
post Mar 11 2011, 04:43 AM

393 posts

restart the laptop after hibernating process will be slower for unknown reason. maybe its becos of the startup settings migrated from hibernating to normal shutdown but the boot time reverted back to the previous one i got around 33 seconds i think after doing the normal restart around 4 times
sarf2k4
post Mar 11 2011, 02:26 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Mar 11 2011, 11:29 AM)
wow.. free come jb find me i sure treat u.. haha.. brb.. do work 1st..
can try to refer here for wpt

http://srfblog.blogspot.com/

just like lee said, prefetcher are enabled by default. i included some troubleshooting and explanation about the registry fix as well. looked like the boot time is very inconsistent and just now i sensed that my boot time is around 40-60 second. didnt disable my synaptic and other drivers though
sarf2k4
post Mar 11 2011, 02:56 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Mar 11 2011, 02:33 PM)
sifu LEE, for xp followed http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/window-on...performance/742
but figure D appeared then disappeared & figure E no appear also what happened? i just b from lunch.. went b test at my laptop for win 7, after 2nd restart is show the process running... i need to wait how long.. i just leave it on. i late 30min damn!!

Added on March 11, 2011, 2:43 pm
ur boot time no stable still dare dedicated the time 2 me ah? wan die eh hahahaha joking... i not yet restart 6 times leh.. what happened?
heheh... i really dunno y the boot time is quite unstable, maybe its becos i on the hibernating feature when using the battery. but last night i just turned off using the normal shut down, nothing else. just dont follow the registry fix ok liao becos the registry fix saying u need to change the value all by urself is kinda fake and boot time will stay just like before nia... total time to done the wpt should be 30minutes-1 hour becos each step requires waiting for prefetcher and saving the boot trace
sarf2k4
post Mar 11 2011, 05:26 PM

393 posts

wpt does defragment ur boot files... wonder if i should disable my hibernate function and switch to shutdown instead?
sarf2k4
post Mar 11 2011, 05:33 PM

393 posts

mine is right after plug in, on as usual then boot time is 43 seconds. after 3-5 restarts while plugged in then the boot time back to normal. just now in the afternoon, i felt that my boot time is slightly slower than usual

my hibernate feature will trigger only when i close the lid

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0526sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:10 AM