166 Pages « < 127 128 129 130 131 > » Bottom

Acer TimelineX 3820TG & 4820TG, Owners and visitors discussion

Anime4000
post Apr 1 2011, 10:37 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Mar 30 2011, 06:07 PM)
That was my mistake, it should be like what you get. Mine is like yours now:
Did you Install desktop version driver?
lee_what2004
post Apr 2 2011, 12:08 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

^should be mobility driver...
SUSngkhanmein
post Apr 2 2011, 08:52 AM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Apr 2 2011, 12:08 AM)
hey sifu lee.. i installed 11.3 but still stated 11.2 maybe bcos of the driver didn't stated mobility driver?
i still facing the freeze problem after installed 11.3 for desktop 1 i think... disable apm using quiethdd... i think driver problem?

Added on April 2, 2011, 9:40 ambro i think installed 11.3 driver for desktop into my laptop liau so now do i need uninstall it or dl mobility driver?? damn still showing 11.2 on my lappy..

Added on April 2, 2011, 9:57 amgao tim liau.. 11.3 after install half way will appear few sec black screen meaning 11.3 is successful installed.. hahahaha

This post has been edited by ngkhanmein: Apr 2 2011, 09:57 AM
Anime4000
post Apr 2 2011, 11:26 AM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Apr 2 2011, 12:08 AM)
so... that driver come from "German Modded" driver?
SUSngkhanmein
post Apr 2 2011, 12:00 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

y u said so? my setting with cowithgun same wor.. hahaha
Anime4000
post Apr 2 2011, 12:38 PM

2,399 posts

well I don't know, if this modded improve then current one (acer) I think, wan Install also...
Flicx
post Apr 2 2011, 04:58 PM

63 posts

Hi, my 4820TG is slightly older version with i5-450M, 14", 500GB and only 2GB DDR3 RAM. Not too smooth atm so thinking to upgrade RAM.

Preloaded with x86 W7 so my question is how much RAM can this lappy take in? 4GB or 8GB as some of the googling i did shows 4GB and some 8GB.
TScowithgun
post Apr 2 2011, 06:12 PM

A cow that can play notebook & phone
2,248 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Apr 2 2011, 12:38 PM)
well I don't know, if this modded improve then current one (acer) I think, wan Install also...
i m not using the modded driver. i m using the Catalyst 11.4 Preview from AMD web site. Comparing with Acer driver, Catalyst from AMD offer significant performance increment with no noticeable short-coming if you use 11.1 onwards.

remember to switch to Discrete graphic in BIOS before installing Catalyst 11.4 Preview.
TScowithgun
post Apr 2 2011, 06:14 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(Flicx @ Apr 2 2011, 04:58 PM)
Hi, my 4820TG is slightly older version with i5-450M, 14", 500GB and only 2GB DDR3 RAM. Not too smooth atm so thinking to upgrade RAM.

Preloaded with x86 W7 so my question is how much RAM can this lappy take in? 4GB or 8GB as some of the googling i did shows 4GB and some 8GB.
max is 8GB... i m using 4GB, currently enough for me...
barca96
post Apr 2 2011, 06:15 PM

980 posts

for the 20's (3820, 4820, 5820), the 13 inches had an advantage of having a double fan.
do the new gen's have the same advantage as well?
TScowithgun
post Apr 2 2011, 06:17 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Apr 2 2011, 06:15 PM)
for the 20's (3820, 4820, 5820), the 13 inches had an advantage of having a double fan.
do the new gen's have the same advantage as well?
No more dual fan... cry.gif
barca96
post Apr 2 2011, 06:21 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Apr 2 2011, 06:17 PM)
No more dual fan...  cry.gif
that's weird.
why would acer take out one of the best thing on the laptop?
any reason for this?
i dont think that an additional fan would add that much to the price.
ALeUNe
post Apr 2 2011, 06:23 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

http://www.amazon.de/Acer-Aspire-TimelineX...01425279&sr=8-1
Look at the pictures, there is only a ventilation hole on the left.
So, it should have single fan.

Nevertheless, it should not have any issue in handling heat.
Look at 4820TG, it was pretty cool with single-fan design.

Added on April 2, 2011, 6:27 pm
QUOTE(barca96 @ Apr 2 2011, 06:21 PM)
that's weird.
why would acer take out one of the best thing on the laptop?
any reason for this?
i dont think that an additional fan would add that much to the price.
Well, the 3820TG was the exceptional.
3830TG could be just back-to-basic.

I don't see there is a special reason for this.

P/S In fact, I think the dual-fan was used due to the design of the motherboard. The AMD GPU is just butt-hurt to sit beside Intel processor.
3830TG is now running with nVidia GPU and therefore it has no issue sit right beside Intel CPU. laugh.gif

Added on April 2, 2011, 6:39 pmhttp://acer.it168.com/thread-1308883-1-1.html

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Apr 2 2011, 06:39 PM
TScowithgun
post Apr 2 2011, 06:45 PM

2,248 posts

no one knows why Acer decided to switch back to 1 fan (may be even Acer themselves are wondering... what? we are going back to 1 fan? .. err.. ok... smile.gif )

it may save more power, since 2 fans eat more power for sure.

personally, i think, no matter how good is 540M, i refuse to believe that 3830TG will cool the GPU better than 3820tg... look, there is 1 heatsink, 1 fan underneath the GPU...

only actual benchmark after the released on 3830TG will tell... i have been known to make mistake.. laugh.gif
Flicx
post Apr 2 2011, 06:53 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Apr 2 2011, 06:14 PM)
max is 8GB... i m using 4GB, currently enough for me...
So it's better to get a 4GB stick or 2x2GB stick then? Can you guys tell me the price of 4GB RAM also smile.gif

On the lappy it says DDR3 but the reviews/spec says

Standard Memory Maximum Memory Memory Expansion CPU Type Model/Chipset
1GB 8GB
PC2-6400 DDR2-800 200pin SDRAM SODIMM 2 (2 banks of 1) Intel Core i5 Processor
Intel HM55 Chipset
shakehead.gif

TScowithgun
post Apr 2 2011, 07:16 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(Flicx @ Apr 2 2011, 06:53 PM)
So it's better to get a 4GB stick or 2x2GB stick then? Can you guys tell me the price of 4GB RAM also  smile.gif

On the lappy it says DDR3 but the reviews/spec says

Standard Memory  Maximum Memory  Memory Expansion  CPU Type  Model/Chipset
1GB  8GB
PC2-6400 DDR2-800 200pin SDRAM SODIMM  2 (2 banks of 1)  Intel Core i5 Processor
Intel HM55 Chipset
  shakehead.gif
u only have 2 slots, so, if u wanna upgrade to 8Gb in the future, must get the 4Gb x 1. it's only RM160 ...

2gb ram is RM65 (i got the prices from lowyat.net...)
tedisgodlike
post Apr 2 2011, 10:05 PM

582 posts

when 3830tg will be out?
TScowithgun
post Apr 2 2011, 10:54 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(tedisgodlike @ Apr 2 2011, 10:05 PM)
when 3830tg will be out?
good question...
jedi_dc
post Apr 2 2011, 10:59 PM

2,273 posts

honestly, there is no need for 8gb if your using it for normal use without opening 20 tabs in a browser at once ..

gaming? 4gb is more than enough imo laugh.gif

Anime4000
post Apr 2 2011, 11:27 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Apr 2 2011, 06:12 PM)
i m not using the modded driver. i m using the Catalyst 11.4 Preview from AMD web site. Comparing with Acer driver, Catalyst from AMD offer significant performance increment with no noticeable short-coming if you use 11.1 onwards.

remember to switch to Discrete graphic in BIOS before installing Catalyst 11.4 Preview.
after install, can switch back to normal? I really use lot of battery when I at college.

166 Pages « < 127 128 129 130 131 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.99    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:03 AM