AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V24, Thuban or Bulldozer!? Its 6-Season
cloudwan
Oct 31 2010, 11:22 PM
QUOTE(bad melatonin @ Oct 31 2010, 09:25 PM) yo to all AMD sifus & the sifus... i got noob question wta. im considering getting meself 1090t & asus M4A87TD/USB3. as i plan to do mild oc, is this 2 gud combination? lets say 4ghz 24/7...hehehe can it be achieved by aircooling only? i'll be using value ram only as i will not oc d ram & leave it @ stock since d cpu has unlocked multiplier. i really need recommendation frm all d sifus. if everytg is ok, esok jugak i go lyp & beli. i plan 2 build my noob amd rig wt item smtg like below: - 1090t - M4A87TD/USB3 - kingston valueram 1333 mhz 4gb x 1 - gecube ati 4850 (mayb will do some pencil vmod) - 2tb x 2 running raid 0 - pcp&c 750w psu I read reviews that the M4A87TD doesn't oc that well, maybe u could look for a known gud mobo here like the M4A88TD-EVO/USB3 ker: Asus M4A87TD max o/c   Or if u still wanna a 870 mobo maybe a Gigabyte 870A-UD3 ker:  Got a few more issues being talked about in the comparison review try reading em here: AMD 870 Motherboard Roundup By Xbits labs
cloudwan
Nov 1 2010, 01:04 AM
QUOTE(verdict @ Nov 1 2010, 12:43 AM) Guys 1090T is on my hand now...btw care to share the recommended speed running on turbo core? Quit new here...im able tu push the NB till 3300Ghz on air... Need those s3x core user experience here...many thanks guys... If ur ocing ur s3x cor3s just turn the turbo core off ler  If u wanna run it on stock volt maybe a 3.2ghz oc with turbo core on i think is do'able, with turbo on it would only oc up by 500mhz right?
cloudwan
Nov 1 2010, 01:24 AM
QUOTE(sai86 @ Nov 1 2010, 01:19 AM) if enable the turbo core, will it crash when it goes turbo mode?  ...what trick can i use to test the stability of the turbo? ur suggestion quiet nice...3.2 + Turbo  I don't really think it would crash tho coz in turbo mode only 3 cor3s would be running at higher speed, tho i maybe wrong  Have to wait for unker ah_khoo for confirmation
cloudwan
Nov 1 2010, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(sai86 @ Nov 1 2010, 09:18 AM) @bro cloudwan what is ur CpuV running at 3.0ghz? At 3ghz i'm only running on stock volt, xmau main volt tinggi2 for 24/7, plus 3ghz is enuff for me so far for my everyday usage  I was able to run with stock volt up to around 3.4ghz IIANM  , heres some SS: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Added on November 1, 2010, 11:25 amBTW guys, is the CM Hyper 212+ a good enough HSF for s3x Cor3s? New units can be get at RM80 nowadays make me really feel itchy wanting to play2 with it This post has been edited by cloudwan: Nov 1 2010, 11:25 AM
cloudwan
Nov 1 2010, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Nov 1 2010, 02:25 PM) woot... that's a strong imc there bro... how bout ram mileage? u still have ya gkill pi rite? can do me a favor? pls try whether 1600 @ 6-7-6/6-8-6 & 2k @ 7-9-7 doable. initially i was thinkin of replacin d eco w/ pi 1600, but now there's somethin new on my mind... :/P thinkin of downgradin d 1090 to 1055 again, either this 1090 really sucks in ram clockin or i need a pair of higher end ram. but i dun have budget for new ram becoz new stuff (2nd hand as usual  ) are comin in... :/( i'd say save d RM80 & upgrade some other things bro, like d chip... :/P joke aside, hyper 212+ is gud for stock/litely oc'ed thuban (3.5GHz below mebe), any higher it mite have problem copin w/ d heat... :/sweat: Hahahaha mau downgrade ka? Lai lai kasi tukar wif my 1055T mau?  Aiseyh, mau beli HSF mahal2 kenot, have to play with brg murah2 only nowadays, huhuhuhu
cloudwan
Nov 1 2010, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(bad melatonin @ Nov 1 2010, 07:12 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
tengs 4 d info bro. lucky i posted q here 1st b4 buying. so i went 2 lyp 2day hunting 4 1090t & asus M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3. for proc, cheapest i was quoted rm923 & i was unable to find any shop selling M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3. perhaps i'll go for GA-870A-UD3 (rm370) instead. is the price ok? That price to me i would say quite ok, the lowest i can scan thru the pricelist online are RM389, soo should be ok  » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « BTW guys, do u know the warranty length for sapphire GPU's? My Sapphire HD4670 in my HTPC rig just died on me, thinkin of RMA'ing it coz got no money to buy a new one
cloudwan
Nov 1 2010, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Nov 1 2010, 10:42 PM) IINM Sapphire GPU has 2 Year Warranty  unless selected models. Ok thanx bro for the info, huhuhu hopefully mine is covered under the 2 years warranty, if not
cloudwan
Nov 4 2010, 01:16 AM
QUOTE(verdict @ Nov 3 2010, 09:29 PM) Seldom update my driver...im just sharing...my bad then...  5.5Ghz screen short on 3Dmarks06 @ -190c [attachmentid=1866841] This is what u call ur so-so oc??  I already malu with my oc comparing to urs » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « BTW unker ah_khoo ku sayang, i think my rams got prob alredi, been having frequent windows gadgets crashes & other weird symptoms, last nite done memtest errors galore
cloudwan
Nov 4 2010, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Nov 4 2010, 10:10 AM) as for d ram, what's d setting that give u tonnes of errors bro? if 1600 @ cas8 oso got problem then courier pos lambat it to me ledi... who know's u'll receive eco 1333 in return??? seriously, u need a 890fx bro... ur hard core so 7xx series should be history for u by now... time to CHIV?  Huhuhu, i was just only using 17xx @ cas 8 but with ram volt at 1.57v But last nite i adjusted a bit, upped the ram volt to 1.6v then did memtest it was ok plak, b4 this there was no prob running below that  I agree with u bro, verdict has to go for the kill, 890FX FTW!!! This post has been edited by cloudwan: Nov 4 2010, 11:18 AM
cloudwan
Nov 4 2010, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(8tvt @ Nov 4 2010, 04:45 PM) what to do.. they need to clear their old stock.. Agree with u with this, nothing we can do, shop gotta clear stock too, if not they be selling at loss..
cloudwan
Nov 7 2010, 07:29 PM
QUOTE(shinjite @ Nov 7 2010, 02:25 PM) Hi all, just checked some price lists from lowyat and found some clearing stock prices for MSI 790FX-GD70 at RM385, those who want to upgrade can faster get it  Looks like gonna be quite a lot MSI converts soon
cloudwan
Nov 7 2010, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(verdict @ Nov 7 2010, 11:51 PM) Woww....so low ahh...dayuum...  last time was MYR700+ wor...  All the better to sell it and get urs 890FX bro
cloudwan
Nov 9 2010, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(lichyetan @ Nov 9 2010, 10:05 AM) Hi guys, Planning to build a high mobility gaming rig with AMD solution. Does this micro ATX board good ? How about the Overclock ability ? MSI 890GXM G65 Any other good m-ATX board to recommend... ? ( Good in OC ) Oh ya, been left AMD for a long time, any good OC proc nowadays ? prefer dual or quad. Seems like a good mobo there, its under MSI new military class component mobo, price around RM480 to boot.. The nearest M-ATX mobo would be a Gigabyte GA-880GMA-UD2H but that mobo only has 4+1 phase & no heatsink for the pwm's plak tuh  I'd say get that MSI mobo & pair it with a X4 955 or if u want something newer maybe a Thuban X6 1055T
cloudwan
Nov 9 2010, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(lichyetan @ Nov 9 2010, 11:28 AM) Phenom II X4 960T and 940T, is these T series X4 good ? If u can get them yes they're good, they are supposedly thuban base, and u know what that means, it means that core unlocking is in the house Beside that they got amd turbo boost tech also, i'd say handy if u wanna run it stock
cloudwan
Nov 10 2010, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(uzer85 @ Nov 10 2010, 11:44 PM) the new ram huh? is this max or can go higher? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « why ur 3rd core temp hit 80c Normal for a gigitbite mobo ler
cloudwan
Nov 11 2010, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(8tvt @ Nov 11 2010, 09:52 AM) that kvr using what chip? need to look a decent ddr3 ler.. I'm sensing someone's gonna be upgrading soon
cloudwan
Nov 11 2010, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(8tvt @ Nov 11 2010, 11:21 AM) don't want oc.. retired.. oc 5850 is better..  Said don't wanna oc but mention wanna oc ur HD5850 plak  QUOTE(dblooi @ Nov 11 2010, 11:29 AM) Wow naise info there dblooi, 4.1ghz oc on stock hsf somemore
cloudwan
Nov 11 2010, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Nov 11 2010, 12:36 PM) x nak high end card bro, 5770 considered high end to me...  5750 x-fire should be near to 5830 at least, not bad for very2 casual gamer like me. i dun game as hard as u guys... another 0.03v? hmm... did u stress d ram @ higher freq w/ higher volt? i noticed that's what happened to mine. cpu score does matter bro... put on x6 then diff story liao...  Errrr, last time i did try stress a bit, 1000@2000mhz at 1.7v IIANM, didn't pass but after that i revert it back to the 1.57~1.58v @ 1733mhz setting
cloudwan
Nov 11 2010, 06:54 PM
QUOTE(archonixm @ Nov 11 2010, 06:37 PM) Anybody know where can i get 1065t? lol. Not yet i think, or maybe its for OEM market only
cloudwan
Nov 11 2010, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(saturn85 @ Nov 11 2010, 07:24 PM) the phenom ii x6 1065t haven't launch right?  Yup not yet tho it was mentioned that amd would be launching in this quarter of the year with the X6 1100T & X4 975 AMD CPU RefreshQUOTE(8tvt @ Nov 11 2010, 07:50 PM) why amd releasing close cpu speed? few mhz like no different.. and some can even oc Hahahaha  , normal i think just to add some spice plus not to let the market stagnant i think