10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Credit Card v12, Credit card GST remains....

chemistry
post Oct 19 2010, 03:25 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 19 2010, 03:21 PM)
Which bank offers FREE IBG transactions ?
If I recall correctly, it is AMStar Extreme.
Not sure whether it's a Savings or Current acc. You may check it out at Ambank's website.
chemistry
post Oct 19 2010, 04:24 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 19 2010, 04:11 PM)
1st to 5th IBG transaction is FREE only and you need to maintain RM3000 (RM5 monthly if average balance is less than RM3,000)

Hmmmm...
Ambank is not as widely available as MBB/PBB/HLB/CIMB, you may need to consider the convenience of banking with Ambank. Of course, if your job requires you to travel and you pass by OCBC/HSBC/Citi/etc, you have wider choices then.
chemistry
post Oct 19 2010, 08:22 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 19 2010, 07:50 PM)
On another note, SCB sent me a letter to upgrade my CL... 54k now for a 3k monthly salary... go go go... I wanna see when Credit Card bubble will bust...
my goodness! That is 18 times monthly salary! Are u a big spender?
chemistry
post Oct 20 2010, 12:03 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 19 2010, 11:47 PM)
Free 5 IBG Transactions per month
- Ambank Extreme
- OCBC iQ Basic

Free Unlimited IBG Transactions per month
- HSBC Premier
- HSBC Advance
- OCBC iQ Elite
Hi, I've made a PDF which summarizes OCBC's iQ elite & basic accounts.
Kindly pls pay extra attention to ATM withdrawal fees.
[attachmentid=1842742]
chemistry
post Oct 20 2010, 12:38 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 20 2010, 12:31 AM)
Those are OK as I don't intend to withdraw much from iQ... main use for IBG purposes.
I can't find their Interest rates for iQ account type.
You also need to check if there is ATM annual fee.
I would rather open one or two basic savings (no annual fee) account which is entitled to 2 free IBG trxn each month.

I think the two iQ accounts are non interest bearing? There isn't iQ accounts found in webpage of deposit interest rate.

This post has been edited by chemistry: Oct 20 2010, 12:40 AM
chemistry
post Oct 20 2010, 01:41 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 20 2010, 01:29 AM)
OCBC doesn't charge annual fee for its ATM card. They do however, charge RM8 for new card issuance and that's it. For replacement card, you'll have to pay RM12 like most other banks.
I see. Thanks for your information.
IQ basic offers 5 free IBG trxn on the price of being non interest bearing ?
chemistry
post Oct 20 2010, 02:58 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 20 2010, 01:51 AM)
Most likely so. I can't find the interest rate for this account either.
If iQ is really non interest bearing, its 5 free IBG becomes no more attractive.
Any non-fee Basic Savings Account which earns interest will be better than it.
Imagine, a CIMB non-fee BSA with 0.85% interest p.a, maintaining a mere RM1000 for one year gets you RM8.50, which is equivalent to 4 times IBG (say IBG charge = RM2 per trxn). Not to mention CIMB's vast presence as opposed to OCBC's.
chemistry
post Oct 20 2010, 12:26 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 20 2010, 11:50 AM)
But many current accounts in the market do come with interest nowadays. AmStar Extreme is one. Believe this is the best current account in the market thus far  thumbup.gif
DA Premier Plus Account is the best CA for me, as it is interest bearing (0.50% p.a for balance>1k) and does not have minimum maintenance amount. Its ATM card is free for life, unlike some other banks' one-time RM8 ATM fee.

The only drawback of Premier Plus Acc is you cannot get back the remaining balance in full should you wish to close the account. A minimum RM10 will be levied as account closure fee.
chemistry
post Oct 20 2010, 07:46 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(WhiteWing @ Oct 20 2010, 06:12 PM)
Impossible that I want their card right,I don't see any benefit from the card so I only notice their freegift so then I take the freegift on spot then cabut biggrin.gif
If Ambank surprisingly approved your cc application, then you receive a statement containing RM50 GST, you come to here and blahblahblah curse the hell out of Ambank.
chemistry
post Oct 20 2010, 09:20 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(luqmanz @ Oct 20 2010, 09:16 PM)
One question ...

If I lost my CC, what will happen to the standing order of that CC?
Do I have to sign the standing order form again?
Firstly, report to Card Centre at once. The bank will issue new card, whether charge you replacement fee or not is up to the bank. The new card will bear new number, as such you need to update all the standing orders with new card details (card number & expiry date).
chemistry
post Oct 20 2010, 11:20 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(Johore @ Oct 20 2010, 10:56 PM)
can someone explain on this term while applying for new OCBC titanium cc.
"0% Balance Transfer for 6 months" meaning whut? smile.gif
Pls be informed that the said Balance transfer is subject to minimum transfer amount of RM2000. And, it is only for new-to-bank cardmember.

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 20 2010, 11:17 PM)
Meaning you can transfer any outstanding amount from another bank's CC to 6-month repayment period with no interest charged. It's like a term refinancing.
Thanks for your kind explanation.
chemistry
post Oct 21 2010, 12:00 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 20 2010, 11:47 PM)
Anybody used Hong Leong Bank for IBG ?
Basic Savings / Current account: RM0.50 per transfer
http://www.hlb.com.my/eb/personal/hlop_ft_...sp?flag=hlop_ft
don't use HLB's basic accounts, their ATM card got annual fee, somemore charge every year, unlike other banks' FOC.
chemistry
post Oct 21 2010, 12:30 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 21 2010, 12:20 AM)
HLB's info on their website seem to be contradicting.
On the HLB Basic Savings account says it's 50sen for first 2 transactions
On the HLB IBG page says it's 50sen (didn't mention no. of trxn)
What do you want to know? We might be able to advise you smile.gif
chemistry
post Oct 21 2010, 12:54 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 21 2010, 12:49 AM)
That's not true. I had Hong Leong Bank Basic Savings Account and they do not charge annual fee for their Basic Savings Account ATM card.
But I was charged sweat.gif I am sure mine is a BSA. What's going on?

chemistry
post Oct 21 2010, 10:50 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Oct 21 2010, 08:52 AM)
i used it

and I also always transfer from my pbb normal savings to pbb basic savings b4 performing IBG biggrin.gif

Added on October 21, 2010, 8:53 am
did your online banking show "HL Basic Savings Account"?
No it doesnt show what you said. it's a Savings Account-i.

I felt something must have gone wrong. The bank has not completed the account conversion process but told me that it's already done. i have filed an official complaint via email to HLOnline.

I requested a refund of RM8 atm card fee as well, as MilesAndMore said HLB's BSA does not have atm card fee.
chemistry
post Oct 21 2010, 11:27 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 21 2010, 11:00 AM)
Obviously the account has not been converted.
How could the Officer say the account has been successfully converted? She said she checked through HL database wor...I asked for a clear explanation from the bank, and not forget to tease HLB's incompetence.
chemistry
post Oct 21 2010, 11:50 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Oct 21 2010, 11:37 AM)
i plan to close my HL savings account and open a basic savings account and get the debit card together with the debit card with tngo, does hlb allow conversion from savings to BSA? as i asked before for CIMB , they dont allow this, you have to open another account
Yes, HLB does allow account conversion from regular type to basic type. However, I doubt Debit Card is available under BSA, because BSA only offers free ATM card, not free Debit card.
chemistry
post Oct 21 2010, 12:49 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Oct 21 2010, 12:10 PM)
yup, savings account-i is normal account
miles is right, my HLB's BSA does not hv ATM card fee

Added on October 21, 2010, 12:15 pm
did u ask for a photocopy of the conversion form which u filled in?
if u hv, screw them kaw kaw biggrin.gif
No I don't have the photocopy. The teller took the ori form.

However, I asked for confirmation from HLB Online, and an officer replied that the conversion was done and effected. I made a screenshot of that message.

Later then if I drop by HLB I'll try to get a photocopy of that form. I wonder the bank would entertain my request.
chemistry
post Oct 21 2010, 03:58 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Oct 21 2010, 01:54 PM)
if the conversion was done and effected, how come still got charge rclxub.gif
if u walk in to the branch, just ask them to reverse the charge straight away
Last night I just email HLB and asked for reverse charge for atm fee. Just now when I stepped in to the bank, the branch manager recognized me & passed me a credit advice RM8.

I wonder if anybody kena screw kaw kaw for the error. Could it be purely server error? HLB sees my account as BSA-i, but my Online Banking shows SA-i. This is weird. Anyway, now they are aware of such error, I hope this doesn't happen to anyone else.
chemistry
post Oct 21 2010, 04:28 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Oct 21 2010, 04:04 PM)
glad it has been sorted out, in my opinion most likely system error, branch system and HQ system not sync

and wow, the branch manager even recognized u  biggrin.gif
lol. I am not a VIP though. It's just that my parents are their customers since MUI Bank era. I always deposit cash/cheque on behalf of my parents, all the tellers know who I am actually.

Somehow, banks without CDM know their customers better.

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:05 AM