11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Credit Card v12, Credit card GST remains....

MilesAndMore
post Nov 18 2010, 10:20 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 18 2010, 10:10 AM)
I don't think it is capped at RM30 for petrol. Someone mentioned long ago in this thread that the cash back is RM30 when using the OCBC website sample calculator for cashback. But it is not mentioned in the T&C.
Oh ... i wasn't aware of that.

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Nov 18 2010, 09:52 AM)
ok thanks for the reply. how about citibank and hsbc cc ? is it good for oversea transaction ?
The exchange rate for HSBC MasterCard is kind of high. Not sure about their VISA though. Anyway, from what i remember is that their VISA exchange rate is pretty high as well.

MilesAndMore
post Nov 18 2010, 04:25 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Nov 18 2010, 03:56 PM)
UPDATES for HSBC SMS & Win Contest:

finally! this morning i swipe around 11:20am then SMS immediately.

after 2 minutes got reply: "Congrats! You have won RM10 cashback." rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

so i bought another 2 things (each price is more then rm100), and ask the cashier to make the bill/swipe separately so i will get another 2 approval code.

SMS, and both also get RM10! so now "Your total cashback won to-date is RM30". thank u HSBC notworthy.gif

tomorrow also need to try in early morning. haha  sweat.gif
Congrats !!! rclxms.gif

MilesAndMore
post Nov 18 2010, 09:18 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 18 2010, 08:56 PM)
from hsbc
All the three Singaporean banks offer this kind of security device to their customers in Singapore. I think there was an article saying that this kind of security device is the most secure one. Only two banks in Malaysia offer this kind of security device while all other banks send the one time password through sms most likely due to the high cost of offering this kind of security device.

MilesAndMore
post Nov 18 2010, 10:29 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ Nov 18 2010, 09:27 PM)
Correct me if I'm wrong but if one loses this hardware token, isn't it dangerous? I mean it's just a small gadget , you might not notice if you have misplaced it. Whereas if you lose your phone, you're most likely to notice the loss sooner.

If the bas*** knows your username and password, then yes. It can be very dangerous. Especially with HSBC which you can transfer as much as RM100,000 in one day out of your account. However, you may only transfer RM100,000 out from your account to the pre-designated accounts which can only be registered at their office.

QUOTE(hebe87 @ Nov 18 2010, 09:33 PM)
i not sure why hardware token is more secure, maybe because i have no idea how hardware token works together with the computer..

but it is quite troublesome for me if i wanna carry hardwaretoken along with me la..
The article i read did mention why it is more secure but i couldn't recall what was written. Still couldn't figure out how it interacts with the bank's system hmm.gif

MilesAndMore
post Nov 18 2010, 11:48 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 18 2010, 11:12 PM)
Thanks for info above.

I was in Singapore on 6 Oct where I posted earlier Alliance Visa 2.44297, OCBC 2.41113 and DAWMC 2.41121. Based on this, I would be paying RM30 more for every SG1K using Alliance.

Based on your info above, MBB 2.42 and OCBC 2.45, MBB is cheaper by RM30 for every SG1K compared to OCBC or convert to Ringgit, savings of 1.23%. Considering my transactions where OCBC and DA rate almost same, MBB rate still beats my DAWMC even taking into consideration of the extra 1 reward points for overseas spending which gives equivalent to 0.5% "cash back".
I am interested to know the exchange rate for Standard Chartered Priority Banking VISA Infinite. If the exchange rate is more or less the same as OCBC's or DA's, then it is very worth to use it overseas due to the 5x Choice Points biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Nov 18 2010, 11:51 PM
MilesAndMore
post Nov 19 2010, 01:33 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 19 2010, 12:14 AM)
And how to qualify for SG OCBC CC considering I don't work there ?

By making a huge deposit into your account there in Singapore biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 19 2010, 12:14 AM)
And also I will be paying for conversion rate when I make payment from here. Actually I did thought of opening an account in SG and get a SG Debit Card but the interest rate for Savings Account is just too low. Actually the cheapest way to save on conversion is to go to our local money changer and use cash in SG.
If you change your mind one day, go for the DBS VISA debit card. It is annual fee free and the design of the card is so nice biggrin.gif

QUOTE(erry- @ Nov 19 2010, 12:20 AM)
your welcome  notworthy.gif
thanks guys ~  icon_rolleyes.gif

and i did it again this evening! for paying my maxis bill ~  brows.gif
my bill just out today, rm270+.
i went to maxis at warta bangi. swipe rm100 x2 then sms x2. got rm10 x2 rebates! rclxm9.gif
(i left another rm70 carry forward to next bill tongue.gif)

now, each rm100 get min rm10 rebates! thats equal to 10% ~!! haha.
(of coz need to pay 15sen + 30sen for sms. still, i get back rm9.55).

tomorrow (today actually, friday) planning to swipe another rm100 x2.
i wish can get cash back rm50 or rm100!!! pray for me!!!

note: this HSBC SMS & Win Promo will end 21-Nov. hurry!
This is definitely one of the best promotions from HSBC so far. It is just so easy to get the free cash rclxms.gif Too bad i did not put much attention into it when the promotion started last month. Spent so much in the last few weeks and i did not send in a single sms at all doh.gif
MilesAndMore
post Nov 19 2010, 09:39 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Nov 19 2010, 09:16 AM)
AFAIK it doesn't interact with the bank's system, it generates a code with relation to your account and the current time.  That's why you cannot generate many codes to be used later because the time does not match, and you cannot use other people's token for your login.  BTW, I've never had my HSBC token run out of sync despite pressing it many times to test it and write down numbers.
Hey ! I've done this before too laugh.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Nov 19 2010, 09:40 AM
MilesAndMore
post Nov 19 2010, 04:53 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Nov 19 2010, 02:36 PM)
so today by 12PM, HSBC cc users already swipe at least RM300,000 ~! shocking.gif

HSBC says : "biasalah". laugh.gif

QUOTE(erry- @ Nov 19 2010, 02:36 PM)
u r so unlucky. me 1st time noticed it via ads at mid valley, 3-days after the promo started sweat.gif
I did get a sms regarding this promotion but i simply did not bother to read it as HSBC credit card promotions always come with many T&C. Besides, i was so convinced that i did not get anything from the previous "up to 25% cash back" promotion. However, i was proved very wrong last week when RM139.85 was credited into my account sweat.gif

By the way guys, any idea how the 0% interest cash advance works ? I received a sms from Citibank this morning regarding this offer. The minimum is RM1000. It says in the sms that there won't be any interest charged for the first 3-month. Now here is my question. Does it mean if i pay everything back to Citibank by the end of the third month, i will not be slapped with interest ? And instead of making the cash advance withdrawal at ATM, can i ask them to issue me a cheque instead ? So i can save on ATM withdrawal fee.

I did call their call centre but they are having a system maintenance now. Just want to know if any of you have experience in this.

MilesAndMore
post Nov 19 2010, 05:23 PM

9,301 posts

Is the Maybankard VISA Platinum and Maybankard MasterCard Platinum no longer open for public application ? Just got myself their application form but Petronas Platinum VISA is the only platinum credit card stated there. Any idea ?
MilesAndMore
post Nov 19 2010, 07:00 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(johnnyc @ Nov 19 2010, 05:53 PM)
Should get CCRIS report annually even without unknown credit facilities to check your credit heatlh. Just a simple 30 min task, i believe
Less then 30 minutes once you're inside BNM. In fact, you can get everything done in less than 3 minutes smile.gif

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Nov 19 2010, 05:41 PM)
Yes, there is totally no interest. BUT there is a one time admin charge, depending on the amount taken out. It is somewhere about RM300-600 for RM10k
doh.gif
QUOTE(winner @ Nov 19 2010, 06:54 PM)
There won't be free lunch from Citibank. Those so-called promotions from Citibank always come with hiden clauses and stringent T&Cs.
Have requested for a call back from Citibank. Shall find out more about this offer soon.

MilesAndMore
post Nov 19 2010, 08:51 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Nov 19 2010, 08:00 PM)
Listening to automated message is time-consuming and money-burning.
Not if your land line is on a package deal biggrin.gif Last time calling KL from KK cost an arm and leg. Now i can talk as long as i want. Even calls to 1 300 are totally free biggrin.gif

MilesAndMore
post Nov 19 2010, 10:57 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Nov 19 2010, 09:31 PM)
Oh, you mean TM Blockbuster Deal? That was an awesome package!
My package is Celcom Broadband + Streamyx. The statement is issued by CELCOM.
Indeed it is. I won't even think twice now before making a call to KL laugh.gif I also won't grumble if they put me on hold for 10 minutes. After all i usually only make the call when i am free and there is no bill i have to worry about biggrin.gif

MilesAndMore
post Nov 20 2010, 12:35 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(rockefeller @ Nov 20 2010, 12:30 AM)
there's a special form for these two cards which you can enquire from the branch smile.gif
Thank you biggrin.gif

MilesAndMore
post Nov 20 2010, 12:40 AM

9,301 posts

A new promotion for Citi Gold card. Valid till 1/11/11.

MilesAndMore
post Nov 20 2010, 01:18 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Nov 20 2010, 12:56 AM)
Still cannot beat CIMB/DA'sweekend 5% or RM50 per merchant.
But then, the 5% rebate too are applicable only at selected merchants. Besides, i think they did not extend the rebate for ISETAN this time around.

MilesAndMore
post Nov 20 2010, 12:49 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(shoduken @ Nov 20 2010, 11:26 AM)
EON bank upgrade my limit even though I have 2k outstanding with them for like already 1 year zzz =.= and i'm paying mins payment everymonth rofl
You are playing with fire ... doh.gif

MilesAndMore
post Nov 21 2010, 02:36 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Disagree @ Nov 21 2010, 02:09 AM)
I applied for a cimb cc and i haven`t received it yet... But the card is present in cimbclicks and it shows that i have RM50 to pay, guess its the tax charge.. Do i have to pay tis amount once i start using the card? I thought they waived the RM 50 charge, or what should i do to waive tis cost?

Someone care to explain. Tq
No. They will not waive the RM50 credit card tax and there is nothing you can do.

MilesAndMore
post Nov 22 2010, 08:45 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Nov 22 2010, 05:09 PM)
is it the same with HSBC?  hmm.gif
Highly doubt so.

MilesAndMore
post Nov 23 2010, 02:08 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(rockdaman @ Nov 23 2010, 11:23 AM)
I already have citibank cash back platinum and wanted to apply citibank platinum card.

do i need to submit income papers?
For a second card without credit limit increase, then no.

QUOTE(persistence85 @ Nov 23 2010, 12:05 PM)
wow, within 1 day get approved? how about credit limit? higher than previous card? whistling.gif
Citibank uses customer credit limit. Basically you just have to remember the card with the highest credit limit. That would be your total usable credit limit.
MilesAndMore
post Nov 24 2010, 07:27 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gr3yL3gion @ Nov 24 2010, 11:13 AM)
I would like to ask.

Lets say I would like to cancel a credit card, with all the debts being fully paid.

But then I have lost the card as well, would I incur any penalties or do I need to produce the card to the bank in the event of cancellation?
You do not have to surrender the card. However, if it is not canceled yet, it can still be used. Report a loss to your bank fast.

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.2201sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:24 AM