95 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

[Help!] Ubuntu Problems, everything related to ubuntu goes here

zenix
post Jul 23 2008, 12:30 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(bluswhitehat @ Jul 23 2008, 12:10 AM)
all my drivers are up to date..
reinstall not update sweat.gif
bluswhitehat
post Jul 23 2008, 08:29 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jul 23 2008, 12:30 AM)
reinstall not update sweat.gif
[attachmentid=537033]
ChrisHor
post Jul 23 2008, 03:29 PM

178 posts

Hi everyone.

This is my firsrt time 1st time trying to use Ubuntu or Linux in my office network

Wondering how to connect to internet via existing modem router?

Current setup:
My Computer ip 192.168.1.84
Modem Router ip 192.168.1.2
DNS 202.188.0.133

I can see all existing window PCs in the network but unable to connect to internet. Ping modem router also no problem.

Can anyone help, please?

Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 23 2008, 03:53 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(ChrisHor @ Jul 23 2008, 03:29 PM)
Hi everyone.

This is my firsrt time 1st time trying to use Ubuntu or Linux in my office network

Current setup:
DNS 202.188.0.133

I can see all existing window PCs in the network but unable to connect to internet. Ping modem router also no problem.

Can anyone help, please?
u can ping ur gateway way but u cant access to internet?
can u try to ping 202.188.0.133 see whether got reply.
ryurhrt
post Jul 23 2008, 03:56 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(ChrisHor @ Jul 23 2008, 03:29 PM)
Hi everyone.

Current setup:
DNS 202.188.0.133

Can anyone help, please?
can u show the result of "cat /etc/resolv.conf"

yout ip is assign manually or by DHCP?
ChrisHor
post Jul 23 2008, 04:41 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(ryurhrt @ Jul 23 2008, 03:56 PM)
can u show the result of "cat /etc/resolv.conf"

yout ip is assign manually or by DHCP?
Sorry, I don't know about Ubuntu.

IP is assigned manually.

But I don't know how to check "cat/etc/resolv.conf" and DNS can't set in Network Settings either though I tried to add.

Hope you can help me out.

Added on July 23, 2008, 4:44 pm
QUOTE(Guai Guai Zai @ Jul 23 2008, 03:53 PM)
u can ping ur gateway way but u cant access to internet?
can u try to ping 202.188.0.133 see whether got reply.
Gateway 192.168.1.2 100% success
No problem in pinging 202.188.0.133. 100% succesful packets too.

This post has been edited by ChrisHor: Jul 23 2008, 04:44 PM
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 23 2008, 04:50 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(ChrisHor @ Jul 23 2008, 04:41 PM)
Sorry, I don't know about Ubuntu.

IP is assigned manually.

But I don't know how to check  "cat/etc/resolv.conf" and DNS can't set in Network Settings either though I tried to add.

Hope you can help me out.

Added on July 23, 2008, 4:44 pm

Gateway 192.168.1.2 100% success
No problem in pinging 202.188.0.133. 100% succesful packets too.
u can ping public ip means ur dns didnt configure correctly..

1) open a terminal (if u r using ubuntu desktop, go to Accesories> Terminal)
2) type ' sudo gpedit /etc/resolve.conf' (it will prompt for password, type ur current user password)
3) after u enter ur password correctly, a text pad will prompt out
4) add the following line to the text pad and save it
CODE
nameserver   202.188.0.133
   nameserver   202.188.1.5

ChrisHor
post Jul 23 2008, 05:06 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Guai Guai Zai @ Jul 23 2008, 04:50 PM)
u can ping public ip means ur dns didnt configure correctly..

1) open a terminal (if u r using ubuntu desktop, go to Accesories> Terminal)
2) type ' sudo gpedit /etc/resolve.conf' (it will prompt for password, type ur current user password)
3) after u enter ur password correctly, a text pad will prompt out
4) add the following line to the text pad and save it

CODE
nameserver   202.188.0.133
   nameserver   202.188.1.5

just tried it.

After keyin password. got this reply below:
sudo: gpedit/etc/resolve.conf: command not found.

Any idea?
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 23 2008, 05:10 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(ChrisHor @ Jul 23 2008, 05:06 PM)
just tried it.

After keyin password. got this reply below:
sudo: gpedit/etc/resolve.conf: command not found.

Any idea?
oops sorry is gedit
ChrisHor
post Jul 23 2008, 05:19 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Guai Guai Zai @ Jul 23 2008, 05:10 PM)
oops sorry is gedit
retried again.

but got this message.

Could not save the file /etc/resolve.conf.
You do not have the permissions necessary to save the file.
Please check that you have typed the location correctly and try again.

Did I make any mistake somewhere?
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 23 2008, 05:30 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(ChrisHor @ Jul 23 2008, 05:19 PM)
retried again.

but got this message.

Could not save the file /etc/resolve.conf.
You do not have the permissions necessary to save the file.
Please check that you have typed the location correctly and try again.

Did I make any mistake somewhere?
did u use sudo ?

sudo gedit /etc/resolv.conf

This post has been edited by Guai Guai Zai: Jul 23 2008, 05:31 PM
ChrisHor
post Jul 23 2008, 05:40 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Guai Guai Zai @ Jul 23 2008, 05:30 PM)
did u use sudo ?

sudo gedit /etc/resolv.conf
Yeah, forgot the sudo part & amend to resolv.conf
Re-tried again and just got connected to internet.

Thank you very much Guai Guai Zai.
zenix
post Jul 24 2008, 12:16 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

keke....fatal problem with my ubuntu tongue.gif
might have to reinstall from scratch sweat.gif
bluswhitehat
post Jul 24 2008, 12:35 AM

446 posts

what happened??
zenix
post Jul 24 2008, 12:53 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

dunno leh.
firstly firefox was acting weird.
it kept saying i have no space to download but my disk analyzer states i've gigabytes to spare. then the download will just hang there cannot stop/cancel unless restart firefox and delete the partially downloaded files.

later search box also kenot use. try to restart i notice my gnome is broken. x-server, gnome, nautilus, and a few more have tons of error messages before starting up to a windows managerless desktop.

got a working wm when i switched to my xfce session but it seems like there is a big problem as most of the applications won't load sweat.gif

i'm too lazy and sleepy to manually do it now tongue.gif
bluswhitehat
post Jul 25 2008, 10:14 AM

446 posts

hey guys.. need some help...

I downloaded a new Nvidia driver from the net. its a .run file and when i set it to be executed as a program it will run in terminal and then say i need to be logged in as root to continue installation.
I have already activated my root account and when i log out of my user account and try to log in with root and the password from the log in screen it will say you cannot log in as root from this screen...

How do i log in as root? or is there another way to install the driver without logging in as root?
chickenducksoup
post Jul 25 2008, 10:30 AM

I'm so GAY
1,298 posts

sudo -i
type ur root password

This post has been edited by chickenducksoup: Jul 25 2008, 10:32 AM
bluswhitehat
post Jul 25 2008, 07:42 PM

446 posts

Thank you.
UbuntuClient
post Jul 25 2008, 07:55 PM

1,417 posts

Still stuck with my wifi.

All instruction from ubuntu forum i follow but none of them solve my problem.
bluswhitehat
post Jul 25 2008, 08:08 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(chickenducksoup @ Jul 25 2008, 10:30 AM)
sudo -i
type ur root password
sorry but it doesnt work la... it still says you need to be logged in as root to install this driver hmm.gif

95 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:49 PM