95 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

[Help!] Ubuntu Problems, everything related to ubuntu goes here

mAnGkOk_jAmBaNs
post Oct 4 2006, 08:51 AM

130 posts

1. your browser connection setup properly ?
2. try ping out to any ur web server to test your net connection ...

seraphiel
post Oct 4 2006, 09:39 AM

33 posts

When using VMWare you need to have configured it properly for network access via the host machine. Apart from that, you'll need to figure out what the network environment presented by VMWare is - Gateway, IP etc. -- Somehow I don't think VMWare has a DHCP server included tongue.gif

Once you have all this setup, and the information needed, go to System -> Administration -> Networking

After that, look for Ethernet Connection, and open the properties dialogue. Put in the info. Should be good to go now.
babymilo83
post Oct 4 2006, 07:03 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(seraphiel @ Oct 4 2006, 09:39 AM)
When using VMWare you need to have configured it properly for network access via the host machine. Apart from that, you'll need to figure out what the network environment presented by VMWare is - Gateway, IP etc. -- Somehow I don't think VMWare has a DHCP server included tongue.gif

Once you have all this setup, and the information needed, go to System -> Administration -> Networking

After that, look for Ethernet Connection, and open the properties dialogue. Put in the info. Should be good to go now.
my router is set to DHCP. so i bet my VMware also have it.
Now my ubuntu can finally work but not 100%. sometimes can load especially pages like thestar.com.my. But when i load google.com. and yahoo.com -error msg keep on poping up (eg: time out failure n etc). sometimes it successful. i can use yahoo once in a blue moon, after few clicking, it goes back to error state icon_question.gif i've no idea what;s wrong with that.

i even made a partition for ubuntu without using VMware. same ubuntu cd. however, weird case is... the packages such as apache n etc are not supported in the sypnatic package... why like that huh ???? i can't online at all....
pali
post Oct 4 2006, 07:22 PM

306 posts

Oo...my mistake.i'll try it one more time,or can i just save the file in my 1GB thumb drive,and install it from there?
And,if i oredi install ubuntu linux,can it detect my usb drive?

This post has been edited by pali: Oct 4 2006, 09:25 PM
highland3r
post Oct 4 2006, 11:04 PM

146 posts

burn as iso image ,
or u can extract the files first then copy to your storage media(cd,dvd,thumbdrive,etc)

pali
post Oct 4 2006, 11:28 PM

306 posts

i'll try to burn it 1 more time..and if i still fail,i think,better buy the CD.. whistling.gif
mAnGkOk_jAmBaNs
post Oct 5 2006, 08:01 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(babymilo83 @ Oct 4 2006, 11:03 AM)
....... sometimes can load especially pages like thestar.com.my. But when i load google.com. and yahoo.com -error msg keep on poping up (eg: time out failure n etc). sometimes it successful. i can use yahoo once in a blue moon, after few clicking, it goes back to error state  :help:  i've no idea what;s wrong with that.

try usr mtr to check ur net connectivity ......
mAnGkOk_jAmBaNs
post Oct 5 2006, 08:02 AM

130 posts

try 'burn' ur money at plaza low yat ....
red-queen
post Oct 6 2006, 05:12 PM

1,310 posts

burn it as a image, then u can boot it from cd-rom. and ubuntu will be up and running. u can test the ubuntu environment with the boot disc without having to isntall it. if u really wanna install it only then double click on the install file which will be on the ubuntu's desktop.

i mount the image using daemon tools and run it using vmware. everything runs perfect.
PcKronik
post Oct 6 2006, 10:19 PM

92 posts

i found this site about ubuntu guide.
like to share with others tongue.gif

ubuntu guide

i think u should burn image fist then try to instal.
seem cannot work oso try find a cd laugh.gif

ryurhrt
post Oct 7 2006, 03:28 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(babymilo83 @ Oct 1 2006, 02:39 PM)
hi there, i've just install this ubuntu using VMWare. can boot easily and most of the thing seems fine. but, when i try to use the browser, y it can't be used? is there any configuration i need to do in order to use it?
pls help
1. in VMware -> set the network adapter to "NAT"
2. in ubuntu -> configure system->admin->networking
a.make the adapter get ip from DHCP
b.add the TM NET DNS server to the DNS

they are:

maybe this work.
babymilo83
post Oct 7 2006, 06:32 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(ryurhrt @ Oct 7 2006, 03:28 PM)
1. in VMware -> set the network adapter to "NAT"
2. in ubuntu  -> configure system->admin->networking
a.make the adapter get ip from DHCP
b.add the TM NET DNS server to the DNS

they are:

maybe this work.
i follow ur instruction step by step, yet still doesnt work sad.gif
neway, thx loads for helping... any other command that i should try out?
soulfly
post Oct 7 2006, 10:21 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(babymilo83 @ Oct 4 2006, 07:03 PM)
my router is set to DHCP. so i bet my VMware also have it.
Now my ubuntu can finally work but not 100%. sometimes can load especially pages like thestar.com.my. But when i load google.com. and yahoo.com -error msg keep on poping up (eg: time out failure n etc). sometimes it successful. i can use yahoo once in a blue moon, after few clicking, it goes back to error state  icon_question.gif  i've no idea what;s wrong with that.
sounds like more of streamyx problem instead of hardware configuration

believe me, recently my netbrowsing sometimes crapping up while my BT starts running full speed

soulfly
post Oct 7 2006, 10:23 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(pali @ Oct 4 2006, 11:28 PM)
i'll try to burn it 1 more time..and if i still fail,i think,better buy the CD.. whistling.gif
it's actually much easier to burn ISO image rather than going to shop/order the CD

you just burn it the wrong way, that's why you cannot run it.
babymilo83
post Oct 8 2006, 12:42 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(pali @ Oct 4 2006, 11:28 PM)
i also facing the same thing... i throw the wrong cd d... well actually really easy,u go to nero express/start smart,choose burn cd > copy and backup > burn IMAGE to disk > then follow the instructions to start..... the end !

boot from the cd.... follow by 'red queen' steps biggrin.gif
good luck....

This post has been edited by babymilo83: Oct 8 2006, 12:44 PM
babymilo83
post Oct 8 2006, 07:31 PM

89 posts

just started to use Linux-ubuntu.
anyone knows how to open PHP files using browser ?
my prob is.. i created a php file and store in /var/www. when i wana open from the browser i just type http://localhost/test.php at the browser. however, once i enter, the gedit of the php file is open instead of the expected browser rclxub.gif
what should i do?

This post has been edited by babymilo83: Oct 9 2006, 01:02 AM
babymilo83
post Oct 8 2006, 07:40 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Oct 7 2006, 10:21 PM)
sounds like more of streamyx problem instead of hardware configuration

believe me, recently my netbrowsing sometimes crapping up while my BT starts running full speed
oh yeah... i also suspect the streamyx instead of my configuration. neway, thx fren
stealer
post Oct 8 2006, 07:55 PM

88 posts

u should type http://localhost/test.php in the browser not http://localhost.test.php

babymilo83
post Oct 9 2006, 01:02 AM

89 posts

oopss sorry..., typo error
ryurhrt
post Oct 9 2006, 10:30 AM

141 posts

what is the version of ur vmware? 5.5?

95 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top