751 posts

Please refer to my previous post:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=334125

metalhead
post Sep 10 2006, 12:18 AM

1,672 posts

yum is mostly for RPM based distribution, ubuntu comes with apt-get ... i think the main issue with the TS problem is the repositories ... if u dun get the repositories rite u cant find the application that u need...

like mokona say, try updating your application list, go to console terminal: -

sudo apt-get update - and grab the latest list

but synaptic package manager is the easiest way to get the application that u need, at least for me ...

and remember to keep ur system updated frequently

to go to add additional repositories: -

Synaptic Package Manager -> Settings -> Repositories

-> Select Ubuntu 6.06 LTS (binary) -> Edit -> Mark all the Components in the Channel

This is give u more application and most of the needed one....

This post has been edited by metalhead: Sep 10 2006, 12:29 AM
xboss182
post Sep 11 2006, 08:03 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(Snyy @ Sep 4 2006, 12:38 PM)
hi, i have a question. recently i just try up the ubuntu live cd. i found out i can't mount my C drive. what is the problem?
but how bout dis prob??
python_king
post Sep 20 2006, 03:54 PM

195 posts

Hi folks,

I'm a newbie to linux. I have some litte experience with linux RH b4; but havent try to install linux to my own PC.
I plan to install Ubuntu into my PC now; I only want to install the Ubuntu console (I dont want Ubuntu GUI!!). how to do that???
Currently, i'm running windows in C & D drive. I would like to install Ubuntu into E drive of my PC. how to make it ???

lj0000
post Sep 20 2006, 04:02 PM

2,202 posts

since u r newbie, i recomend u play with live cd first. ubuntu got live.

since u need console only, do try puppy or damn small.
dopodplaya
post Sep 20 2006, 04:07 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(python_king @ Sep 20 2006, 03:54 PM)
Hi folks,

I'm a newbie to linux. I have some litte experience with linux RH b4; but havent try to install linux to my own PC.
I plan to install Ubuntu into my PC now; I only want to install the Ubuntu console (I dont want Ubuntu GUI!!). how to do that???
Currently, i'm running windows in C & D drive. I would like to install Ubuntu into E drive of my PC. how to make it ???

With alternate or desktop CD, select Server Install. Done.
Or download the server CD and go for the default install.

Btw, Linux sees partition differently. You cannot install into your FAT32/FAT16 partition (unless your kernel has UMSDOS, which does not exists, by default in most current distros kernels). You must installed GNU/Linux onto a partition with supported Filesystem format, like ext2/3, ReiserFS or XFS. In fact, Linux support many filesystems types.

Put it in a simple way, you cannot install GNU/Linux onto drive E:, because the Linux kernel doesn't know what is "drive E:".

This post has been edited by dopodplaya: Sep 20 2006, 04:12 PM
python_king
post Sep 20 2006, 04:10 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ Sep 20 2006, 04:07 PM)
With alternate or desktop CD, select Server Install. Done.
Or download the server CD and go for the default install.
Server Install == only install console ??
dopodplaya
post Sep 20 2006, 04:12 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(python_king @ Sep 20 2006, 04:10 PM)
Server Install == only install console ??
Yes... server install, means basic install without X server or desktop or any window manager.
python_king
post Sep 20 2006, 04:17 PM

195 posts

thank you guys..
btw, any Python programmer / lover in LYN ?
dopodplaya
post Sep 20 2006, 04:33 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(python_king @ Sep 20 2006, 04:17 PM)
thank you guys..
btw, any Python programmer / lover in LYN ?
I love snake and actively breeding snake.
ryurhrt
post Sep 22 2006, 12:34 AM

141 posts

sad.gif when i try to login, after i key in my user name and password.
the msg propmt out....
and it make me cannot login to my account.
any one know what is the problem and how to fix it?

i am using Ubuntu 6.06

the msg:
User's $HOME/.dmrc file is being ignored. This prevents the session and language from being saved.File should be own by user and has 644 permissions. User's $HOME dicrectory must be owned by user and not writable by other users.

my solution:
boot to reconvery CLI mode, then type those command in the user's HOME directory.
ls .dmrc -l

and i found the permission is set to 600
then i try to change it to 644 by "chmod 644 .dmrc",however
the error still there.. so how to solve it.... all the expert pls... :'(
highland3r
post Sep 22 2006, 06:29 AM

146 posts

how come thatt error happen in the first place??

i have no idea on such problem..
user to chmod or root to chmod??
any user group?
the home directory write / mod status is??
kons
post Sep 22 2006, 07:41 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(ryurhrt @ Sep 22 2006, 12:34 AM)
User's $HOME dicrectory must be owned by user and not  writable by other users.
The solution given is pretty obvious.

Before doing chmod, first you must do chown to change the owner of the file/directory to the correct user:group.
Then only you chmod it to 644.

Look closely, it says "directory", not "file".

So probably you need to do chown and chmod the directory, and also the .dmrc file. Putting a -R switch there might be better when doing the directory.

That's all for now.
Cheers!
ryurhrt
post Sep 22 2006, 09:51 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(highland3r @ Sep 22 2006, 06:29 AM)
how come thatt error happen in the first place??

i have no idea on such problem..
user to chmod or root to chmod??
any user group?
the home directory write / mod status is??
I have no idea why it happen also... haha

QUOTE(kons @ Sep 22 2006, 07:41 AM)
The solution given is pretty obvious.

Before doing chmod, first you must do chown to change the owner of the file/directory to the correct user:group.
Then only you chmod it to 644.

Look closely, it says "directory", not "file".

So probably you need to do chown and chmod the directory, and also the .dmrc file. Putting a -R switch there might be better when doing the directory.

That's all for now.
Cheers!
the owner is the user for sure i had checked that, but the msg i dun understand is "the file $HOME/.dmrc is being ignored", what this means?
kons
post Sep 22 2006, 10:26 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(ryurhrt @ Sep 22 2006, 09:51 AM)
the owner is the user for sure i had checked that, but the msg i dun understand is "the file $HOME/.dmrc is being ignored", what this means?
Sounds like the .dmrc file could not be read, or the permissions is wrong.
But to fix this, it requires some trial and error after all.
I've heard about this *bug* before....
Lots of solution out there.

Can't contribute much as my Ubuntu Server 6.06 doesn't have this problem..
Oh well.
ryurhrt
post Sep 22 2006, 11:46 AM

141 posts

solution is found.... from here :
http://www.ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-91455.html
ryurhrt
post Sep 22 2006, 11:47 AM

141 posts

solution is found.... from here :
http://www.ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-91455.html

biggrin.gif i try it and it work... smile.gif
medicontherun
post Sep 23 2006, 01:43 AM

25 posts

how do i connect to streamyx using linux?
ubuntu basically
the websites dun tell me anything...
goldfries
post Sep 23 2006, 04:30 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=159451&st=55
serez
post Sep 23 2006, 08:30 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

hah.. ubuntu is very good in hardware detection... still can detect my dsl connection although i`m using wired-usb. hehe... i think there`s should be no problem at all

95 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:24 PM