25 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Drums LYN Drummers Paradise v3 thread

isaacmiranda7
post Jan 5 2011, 06:54 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Jan 5 2011, 12:53 AM)
how bout u? haha

really hard for me to play by ear la..terpaksala read notes while playing..huhu
I'm like afiq I guess, I can't do both same time.

QUOTE(VaLeNrUdOn @ Jan 5 2011, 05:39 PM)
Hi guys..i'm new here...
was wondering where can i get a 2nd hand Roland e-drums with mesh heads?..and how much would that be...
Hey mate smile.gif Welcome to LYNDP3 (waaa.. xD) I don't know anyone who's selling.

Same dp as Vulcan.x wei smile.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 6 2011, 06:32 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Jan 6 2011, 05:28 PM)
There are brand new set for e-drum at the range of 3k actually.
I personally do not recommend e-drums. There are a lot of things that e-drums could not do, especially with the hi-hat.. E-drum hi hat sucks..
Another thing is the feeling.. The bass kick, you will be kicking into a hard pad.. Totally the different feeling of kicking into a bass skin of the bass drum.. That applies to other as well (Snare, tom tom)..

Symbols will be sucky (Only 1 or 2 kind of sound no matter how u hit it)

If you are serious, get an acoustic one for sure. But if you going for usual practice and just to keep touch with drum without having to worry of disturbing your neighbor, then you can go for e-drum..

Anyway. You can buy silence pad for acoustic drum. It can reduce the sound..
Not necessarily. If you have money to spend over RM20k plus on the high end Rolands and Yamaha's... Well, that's a different thing tongue.gif
That day played the DTXtreme. NICE WEI.
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 7 2011, 07:10 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Jan 7 2011, 12:08 AM)
Buy silence pad, you can practice it at afternoon, remove it.. And you can get the cool effect.. If it is evening, put them on.. Like wearing clothes la..

Added on January 7, 2011, 12:09 am

You are right also..  smile.gif

Added on January 7, 2011, 12:11 am

That is other say... 20-30k, of course you can get a better quality stuffs.. But 20-30k, not everyone on to it. An acoustic only cost 2-3k, and it is consider ok already..
So to reduce the sound and get same quality, need to amplify budget x10 times? Hahaha..
No lah bro smile.gif the 20-30k sets will sound like your 10-15k drumsets tongue.gif HAHAHAHA! amplify budget x2 aje xD
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 8 2011, 03:58 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(AhBoy~~ @ Jan 7 2011, 07:59 PM)
yea  cool2.gif

tested pearl e-pro that day  laugh.gif  still sound pretty electronic, IMO still no e-kit can replace the feel of a real 1 wub.gif

Added on January 7, 2011, 8:02 pm+ u can touch, feel, tune, experiment, add, mix, play with it(hobbies ma~) if the condition allow I think acoustic is more preferable.

anyway is up to personal preferences
True smile.gif but sometimes you have no choice. For electronic beats... YOU NEED them, or triggers, at least. smile.gif But say you're playing live.. then easier lah. xD
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 9 2011, 10:17 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Jan 8 2011, 10:12 PM)
hi pros (particularly isaacmiranda, boner, bomb, treflip, franklooi and others)

How do u play triplet bass beat on the kick then eighth note on the hi hat? The coordination like veyr weird not sure the middle truplet note shud be where...

Can teach?
WA. Pro arh? tongue.gif I not pro lah.

Any notes or songs we can listen or see? I think I know what you're talking about.
The galloping beat is it?

QUOTE(musefanatic @ Jan 8 2011, 11:48 PM)
do bentley have pearl reference drum kit
how about the price
Reference, I suggest you don't buy what they have. You order your your specs. Its expensive, why go for what they have? Go for omething you'll treasure and know as your own. smile.gif

QUOTE(OH- @ Jan 9 2011, 02:22 AM)
I mean I really don't get the technique, like heels up or heel toe etc2. Just don't know if the method I'm using is correct. But i can't get to play it :/
I know people who can play fast in all kinds of technique. But it takes a lot of time to practice.

Contrary to popular belief, heel down, can also be used very fast.

But as you said you play heel up, try playing with that first. Try to play for one minute at 120 bpm, then slowly build up speed. What you can also do, to practice your slave leg, is to play simple songs, with your left leg only. Don't care about the open close hi-hat feel and all first. Just do beats with your slave kick first. Start simple. It will help you master coordination.
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 10 2011, 05:50 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Jan 9 2011, 11:20 PM)
Hmm, You can try listening to Paramore - That's what you get
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1kz6hNDlEEg

The intro - 1st verse and bridge had some nice challenge on the bass drums..
Try to get it right.. smile.gif

Added on January 9, 2011, 11:41 pm

Correct way of kicking the bass drum is the heel should not be touching the pedal. Your sole of your feet should be projected to around 30-45 acute degree towards the pedal.
To give a good bass hit, kick the bass hard and confidently, and do not let go of the pedal until before you are going to kick the next time. Let the kick slammed and stick to the bass skin. With this method, there will be no pale kicks (a loud kick, follow by a few fade away kicks)

And as for fast kicking (using one leg to do x2, x4 times faster), it takes sometime to practice. Similar to your hand + wrist movement. If you move your hand without wrist movement to play a x2 faster beat, your hand (arm) needs to move x2 to match it. But by adding wrist into action, arm needs to move x1, and wrist x1 (not so tiring).
Apply this to the bass drum kicking. Your leg move, and your ankle move as well, then you will be able to do fast bass kick without needing to use double pedals. No shortcut, it is a painful training...
Bro smile.gif

I believe that you can't really say that there is a wrong technique, and I believe that many people here will agree. Many professional drummers, use both, or even more techniques for different applications.

From a thread on DW, George Kollias thread:

Heel down:
Great balance
Speed (cause your ankle is not "locked")

Heel up:
Power
Control

Besides that, you also have heel toe, the ankle technique and so on. Different drummers swear by different techniques. Personally, I use both, for different applications. And the truth is, we're all different smile.gif

Anyway, I feel that sure, with a single kick you can do 140-160bpm and so on, yes. But why push it when you can use double kicks? tongue.gif

isaacmiranda7
post Jan 10 2011, 11:07 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Jan 10 2011, 10:23 PM)
Probably you are right. But for me personally, heel down really could not give a good kick because there is a feeling of not enough power in the kick.. (Not in a good position to deliver a good kick). But again, that is for me.. I do not know about others.. But I am sure that most of you guys here use Heel up..

By the way, i can do around 220+ bpm using a single kick smile.gif
Videos or it never happened wink.gif AHAHAHAHA!

My first drum teacher, when I was six or so, was a very jazzy player, so from there, I started with the heel down technique. I feel it gives more dynamics smile.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 11 2011, 05:08 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Jan 11 2011, 11:18 AM)
Yea, of course can hang for more than 1 minute. Can go with that for a song or 2 smile.gif
But usually this kind of kicking is played on Metal songs, or they call it blast beat...

Usually my songs do not need blast beat...and it is not metal..
Ahh... I've never tried tbh. Anything above 200+ I just go with my doubles.
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 11 2011, 11:15 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Jenglot @ Jan 11 2011, 05:16 PM)
Anyone interested in 2 months old Demon Drive..Never gig..only on practise Pad...

pm me...
I'm interested lah. But now no money tongue.gif Why selling?

I'm getting the HQ Bass Drum practice pad later this week.
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 12 2011, 06:46 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(Jenglot @ Jan 12 2011, 12:52 AM)
Come lor...

Selling the pedal with original packaging..
Free
1) Pearl PX85 Pedal Stabilizer
2) Gibraltar Bass Pedal Practise Pad..

all item less then 2 months old..

selling because need money urgently sad.gif otherwise i'll keep this demon...
Wa. I'm interested in the Gibraltar Practice Pad. smile.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 15 2011, 03:26 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(franklooi96 @ Jan 15 2011, 02:47 PM)

I don't find projection any problem now. smile.gif If you put a enough far distance between your throne and the pedal, you can get more projection. Cause you can step on the pedal easier and more power.
Correct.

I'm really out of practice now wei. I had band practice last night and my left hand was lagging.
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 16 2011, 09:31 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Jan 16 2011, 08:59 PM)
lol. hating elec drum kits is like hating electric guitar.
I disagree.
Electric guitars are necessary, electric drums aren't. xD

NO, I'm not a hater. tongue.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 17 2011, 05:16 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(treflip @ Jan 17 2011, 10:59 AM)
of course it does hehehehehe...tuned it and it sounds awesome bro!! hehehe thanks!!
WAHAHAHAHAHA! Sexynia!!! Saving up myself for a Yamaha.. wink.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 20 2011, 12:22 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

WE NEED MORE FEMALE DRUMMERS! tongue.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 20 2011, 05:59 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Jan 20 2011, 03:42 PM)
drumming very tired girl no strength
Ehh. Go check out Salin on Youtube. She does System, Avenged and Lamb of God covers. Don't play play.
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 21 2011, 06:50 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

I'm using this cymbal setup tomorrow for recording smile.gif

Sabian HHX Stage Hats 14'
Sabian AAX Stage Crash 16'
Sabian AAXplosion Crash 15'
Sabian AAX Stage Crash 14'
Sabian AAX China Splash 12'
Sabian AAX Stage Ride 20'/Sabian Paragon 22' Ride

isaacmiranda7
post Jan 22 2011, 10:18 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Jan 21 2011, 08:15 PM)
Wow thats a fukken pro kit. What kind of stuff you recording? Please take video of the session or just a little oso can.  notworthy.gif
pro kit wink.gif NOT PRO drummer tongue.gif AHAHAHA!

its a very, fusion, funk, rock, heavy mix thing. tongue.gif AHAHAHA!

I'll try! smile.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 23 2011, 07:15 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

Most people around here use Pearl snares eh? Myself included tongue.gif

Anyway, had my first taste of track drum recording yesterday, was so different from live recording. I think I was utterly horrible.
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 23 2011, 10:26 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(treflip @ Jan 23 2011, 08:09 PM)
pearl rules!! hehehehe...my next target would be my own custom masterworks snare... *cross fingers*
Its still cheaper than the Reference right? xD Do they let you put your name on it? tongue.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 24 2011, 05:27 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

Mic-ing a snare with a kick drum mic helps you get WAY fat sounds. :S

25 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0597sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:32 PM