4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Seiko Watches only, Share your watches experience.No sales.

Catnip
post Mar 4 2012, 12:36 AM

1,633 posts

I have an old Seiko Kinetic Cal. 5M43. Anybody know roughly the cost to change the capacitor and service the watch at thong sia service centre?
Catnip
post Mar 6 2012, 08:29 PM

1,633 posts

Ordered from jennyte's store @ lelong.com.my yesterday, and received my Seiko 5 SNK809K1 today. Excellent service and prompt delivery.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

A nice inexpensive pilot watch for daily use. The small diameter and thinner case is an advantage for work. There's less chance of snagging or bumping and damaging the finish of the watch. The prices are now higher though. Last time I bought a Seiko 5, it only costs RM 99.00 and it was stolen years ago. Hopefully this watch serve me for a long long time.

For those interested in this type of pilot watch design, you may also want to look for SNKH63K1 model.
SNKH63K1 vs SNK809K1
Catnip
post Mar 8 2012, 01:27 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(adkins981 @ Mar 7 2012, 06:15 PM)
can this model b found in watch boutiques?
Yes, you can find it in any watch boutiques that are authorized Seiko dealers. I doubt you can get one in WooHing boutiques.... wink.gif
Seiko 5 is also commonly available in any watch shops but you need to be careful of fakes.

There are also several dial color variations:
SNK811K (Sand)
SNK805K (Green)
SNK807K (Blue)

SNK809K2 comes with a black Nato strap instead of a steel bracelet.
Catnip
post Mar 8 2012, 01:54 AM

1,633 posts

The Seiko 5 is a good reliable watch. The same caliber 7S26 is also used in a Seiko Diver's watch (SKX007) that is more expensive.

The diameter of the watch dial is roughly 30mm and the case width 38mm. You need to purchase an aftermarket leather strap if you want one.
Catnip
post Mar 8 2012, 11:05 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(twho @ Mar 8 2012, 06:47 PM)

Mind sharing the cost of the watch?
Is the metal black?
I paid mine RM230 including shipping.
No. It's dull grey silver in color. (Bead blasted Stainless Steel)

QUOTE(si perfeck! @ Mar 8 2012, 08:56 PM)
How much is the price for this watch? Interested. Those simple seiko 5 costs rm220 only. This one sure mahal sikit than those simple seiko 5 kan?
Shop around and ask, I'm confident that you can purchase one at RM220.00.
Catnip
post Mar 9 2012, 11:06 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(zafrandbz @ Mar 9 2012, 04:54 PM)
My watch got moisture inside for the second time...what should i do about it??? I dont know any shop here in ipoh that service and repair watch.
What's model is that watch?

QUOTE(zafrandbz @ Mar 9 2012, 09:10 PM)
Most of them only provide battery change only...last time when i sent my watch the man just clean it and he dont know about the seal at the crown and all that.
Assuming it is a Seiko, why don't you try calling Thong Sia ask them for assistance? If they are helpful, I'm sure they can recommend an authorized repair shop in your area. Perhaps they can accept watches for repair via courier? Don't bother e-mailing their customer service. I never get any reply from them asking for estimate cost for servicing my watch. doh.gif

Alternatively, you can try and call their authorized dealers and ask if they can service and replace the gaskets.
Seiko Authorized Dealers (Perak)
Catnip
post Mar 9 2012, 11:42 PM

1,633 posts

Sorry, I didn't notice your sig earlier.

In that case, your best bet is to call Thong Sia. Somebody has to order parts for repairs and if there are dealers near you that order parts regularly from them, they could probably tell you where to send it for repairs.
Maybe its time to upgrade?
Catnip
post Mar 10 2012, 11:31 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(zafrandbz @ Mar 10 2012, 04:15 PM)
From my observation the watch have not been modified before....i got it for rm500 its the reasonable price too.This is my picture of the watch and i think i post it before hmm.gif ...

I don't think it is reasonable to get a watch that is rated for 100M water resistance and get water inside. All my Seikos have never sprung a leak and they are all rated 5Bar WR.
Your's not even one year old. Can't you get it fixed under warranty?

The model that you have does not have a screw down crown and the watch design totally relies on gaskets for water resistance.

Another suggestion: I've spoken to a Seiko Dealer in my area today and they could send a customer's watch to Thong Sia for repairs if requested. It may take longer than the customer send in directly.
Catnip
post Mar 11 2012, 01:29 AM

1,633 posts

Ouch! That's an unfortunate situation you're in. The movement needs to be checked for water damage. Replacing the gaskets is one thing and dry pressure testing to check water resistance is another.

Sending it for repairs @ Thong Sia is the best option.
If the seller gave you a 1 year warranty in writing, then he should bear the cost of repairing the watch. If he refuses, then bring him to Consumer Tribunal Court.

I could get a better Seiko Cal 4R36A (hacking and manual winding) watch for RM500.
Catnip
post Mar 13 2012, 02:12 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(fluffy6640 @ Mar 11 2012, 06:39 PM)
On the note of water resistance, I would not let a watch without a screw down crown go under water.even in a pool.i'd agree 100m rated watches with no screw down crown has some resistance,but that would be some splashes,or even in bath (if that's your thing).
A properly designed watch does not need a screw down crown for water resistance. For example, like the Fortis B-42 MarineMaster reviewed below.
9 Divers' Watches Tested

QUOTE(wiraone @ Mar 11 2012, 06:48 PM)
Hey, we've the same watch! smile.gif Still waiting for my Pepsi to be fixed. The last time I've checked, they still haven't done with the watch yet. sad.gif

Wa, cheaper .. bought mine from creation watches for US$85 (turn out to be around RM255).
LOL! Along with probably thousands of other Seiko SNK809K owners around the world. RM20~RM30 difference isn't much.

I'll try to send in my Seiko SKJ012 when my schedule is free this month.

I hope they still have a replacement bezel for mine.

QUOTE(iamadrianlee @ Mar 12 2012, 05:51 PM)
We've known it for some time now that the Monsters were no longer being produced and Thong Sia doesn't bring in new stocks. Seiko is slowly phasing out 7Sxx movts with the newer 4Rxx movts (will be hard to find a diver below 1K?). Seiko fans were expecting a replacement monster to be released but we got the Stargate instead.

This is still rumour but the replacement monsters looks pretty ok. Expect this to pop up end of this year, if the rumours are to be true. But don't expect the current Monster price.  sweat.gif

Is that pic from a catalog? SRP311K1 is the best out of the 5 models.
I don't think that it will be hard to get a Seiko Diver below 1K since I got a quote for SRP229K1 at that price range.

Catnip
post Mar 15 2012, 02:08 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(mradult @ Mar 14 2012, 02:01 PM)
a clearer shot

it's diameter is 41mm...too big for my wrist eh? sad.gif

perhaps a 37mm will fit better?
woah this looks great...does anyone know where can i get the snkh63k1?
I think it is too big. From the photo the the distance between the spring bars on the lug is bigger than the diameter of your wrist.

Have not seen snkh63k1 in stores yet. A blue dial version, SNKH67J1 with blue strap is available online from Creation Watches.
I think I'll ask my local AD if he can order SNKH63K1 for me.

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Mar 14 2012, 05:28 PM)

Feel a bit big on my slim hand  sweat.gif
I have to agree on that. If you are right-handed, try wearing it on your right since your right wrist would be slightly bigger.
Nice watch, BTW. Congrats on your first automatic. For good upkeep of your watch refer to the instruction booklet.

Catnip
post Mar 15 2012, 11:28 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(mradult @ Mar 15 2012, 10:55 AM)
i had placed an order for the SNKH67J1 in creation watches  rclxm9.gif
Nice. Post pics of the watch and box when it arrives. I want to see is there is any difference in packaging with the K model.

If you are interested in high end aviator watches with similar dials look for:
Glashütte Senator Navigator Automatic
Bell & Ross WW1-92 Military
Bell & Ross WW1-92 Heritage

QUOTE(iamadrianlee @ Mar 15 2012, 12:07 PM)
I'm not sure if it is from a catalog. Just rumours for now I guess.

Not hard to get a diver below 1K now but in the future. That was the news coming out from HK watch fair a year+ ago. Rumours then were Citizen were going to set up shop in Swiss industry (Citizen have since bought over a Swiss brand that produces high end movts). Seiko wants to move upmarket as well and launched Grand Seiko to the US and European markets. They need to improve their branding tho in that part of the world. Hard to do that when the gwailos associate Seiko with cheap and affordable watches.
Well, I read some feedbacks from GS spring drives owners that after a few years the watch will stop working and needs to be sent to japan. Seriously, if I had that kind of money to spend on a watch I'd rather get one that is 100% reliable 100% mechanical. I don't think this is good for Seiko's reputation for reliability. Although Seiko never mentioned it, I think there is some sort of energy storage device in the movement powered by the pendulum and spring. Else how to reliably control and regulate the gear wheels without an escapement? Why need to send to Japan?

Similarly, I got my Seiko Kinetic since I thought it would last forever. Quartz accuracy with mechanical movements of an automatic. No battery needed but it uses a capacitor and it was never mentioned in the ads. After a few years of excellent use, it stopped working..... sweat.gif

I'll stick to 100% mechanical movements from now on. 7S26 & 4R36 FTW!! laugh.gif

If they want to go high end, Seiko have the Credor range. Perhaps they should promote that instead of Seiko?

QUOTE(Spooky92 @ Mar 15 2012, 04:32 PM)
I own a Seiko 5 SNZG11J1. Anyone knows how am i supposed to remove scratch marks from the bezel of my watch? its quite deep...
If your model is a recent one, chances are you can get the bezel replaced at Thong Sia service center. Try calling them first and give the model code for their reference. Look at the caseback. Yours should be 7S36-XXXX. I just sent mine today, SKJ012 Kinetic (bought in 1996) for complete overhaul. But no more replacement bezel for mine. Total cost RM195. Should be ready for collection sometime in May. shocking.gif

Looking at the number of watches sent for repairs there, I really hope that they can comply with their completion date.

QUOTE(adkins981 @ Mar 15 2012, 06:14 PM)
any1 here know where i can get deployment clasp and leather bracelet for watches in Malaysia, preferable near Petaling Jaya/Subang Jaya/Kuala Lumpur.. Thanks
I'm not sure, but you could try asking IWC watch dealers. They have some aviator models that uses leather straps and deployment clasp. One thing for sure, it isn't going to be cheap.

Catnip
post Mar 16 2012, 01:08 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(adkins981 @ Mar 16 2012, 12:33 AM)
where can i find those dealers?? It isnt gonna be cheap, what price range are u talking about??
First, what watch do you want to put the deployment clasp? There are several types of deployment clasps for leather straps.

Visit the watch boutiques in KLCC, Farenheit88, Starhill Gallery and KL Pavillion. Price? Probably more than 1.2K for stainless steel. I don't know if those replica watches in Sg. Wang have leather deployment clasps that you can use. No harm in asking them, right? laugh.gif
Catnip
post Mar 17 2012, 01:49 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(mradult @ Mar 16 2012, 03:53 PM)
Just received my snkh67j1 from Creation Watches, thumb up for their fast service  thumbup.gif

Fast delivery and nice attractive packaging. Does it comes with an international warranty card inside the manual? Is the day dial in English/Japanese(Kanji) or English/Roman numeral?
I'll get a black K1 version later.

Here's my wrist shot.

Catnip
post Mar 18 2012, 12:22 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(ammaryusoff @ Mar 16 2012, 12:55 AM)
anyone have any idea whether this watch SSB035P1 (click link below)

http://www.ilovediscounts.my/img/clients/t...meshoppe-11.jpg

will be able to be fitted with this type of steel 'president' bracelet? (click link below)

http://yeomansweblog.wordpress.com/2008/03...ident-bracelet/
Maybe 50/50. The 'president' bracelet is for 22mm lugs. Need the SSB035P1 caseback number to confirm.

QUOTE(mradult @ Mar 17 2012, 12:02 PM)
Gorgeous! No warranty card attached with the manual but there is a sticker there stating 'waranty' with date...the day dial is in english/arabic(jawi) O_O
Thanks. Looks like made in Japan, but for Mid-East market. Nice watch box. If you decide not to keep it, can you please give it to me?
Catnip
post Mar 18 2012, 07:22 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(Naka7a @ Mar 18 2012, 01:39 AM)

something i got today....  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Full marks for artistry, would be nice to include a wrist shot.

I prefer the design of Mako II CEM75002D but it's too big for my wrist. Link
With a lug to lug width of roughly 52mm, I'm not worthy.

Anyone knows the RRP in Malaysia for Orient Marcus Gronholm LE CDB04001D0? Saw one for sale at a shop longing for an owner 6 years since after it was issued. It wasn't even displayed inside its LE box and has a scuffed tachymeter bezel. Strange for a watch with no stopwatch function, non hacking and non handwinding. I'm thinking maybe I can get a bargain...... hmm.gif
Catnip
post Mar 21 2012, 01:44 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(raclette @ Mar 19 2012, 11:55 AM)
how to spot fake? cheap watch also want to fake doh.gif
heres mine. full with scratches. ppl around me always thought its more expensive ranging from 300 to 500 lols.

It's been posted in this thread before.... http://quartzimodo.com/how-to-spot-a-fake-seiko-watch/
From the pic, it's looks fine to me with no visible damage. How long did you had yours?
Haven't worn a watch in 10 years. Only started again this month. Now saving up for an old Seiko.

QUOTE(wiraone @ Mar 19 2012, 09:49 PM)
Still waiting for my Pepsi, Thong Sia, where are you .. its mid March already.. 2 months and no news sad.gif
Have you tried calling them asking for updates? Anyway, the customer service phone there is quite busy. In fact, I find it annoying that I was interrupted 4 to 5 times by the service attendant answering calls while personally attending to me. While I don't blame her for doing her job, can't the company at least can put another personnel there to answer calls while there is a walk-in customer at the service counter?

QUOTE(walikard @ Mar 20 2012, 10:12 PM)
Time for pic guys smile.gif
SARB035M bought from LYN garage sale.
Yeah, nice. From afar, closing my right eye, it looks like a Rolex Air-King. wink.gif
Catnip
post Mar 22 2012, 09:29 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(kmoh4346 @ Mar 22 2012, 06:57 PM)
This is indeed a respectable watch and value for money. Im planning of upgrade my seiko watch and this look perfect for my formal wear.
Unfortunately I cannot trace this model on Seiko Ananta website, did I overlooked?
Yes, you overlooked.
http://www.seiko-watch.co.jp/p_search/deta....php?no=SAEC013

Anyway, it's a limited edition. Good luck finding one. BTW Malaysia's distributor have yet to bring in Ananta or GS models here yet. Perhaps you could ask Singapore ADs.
Catnip
post Mar 22 2012, 10:54 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(kmoh4346 @ Mar 22 2012, 10:26 PM)
Limited Edition makes it worth the purchase  smile.gif and the effort to search for it. You are correct, Malaysia Distributor such as Thong Sia ( http://www.thongsia.com.my) have not officially distribute Ananta in Malaysia.
Thong Sia must upgrade their service center first before bringing in those models. Never bothered answering my inquiry via e-mails and I don't think that a personnel at their service counter should be answering phone calls while attending to a walk in customer. Been there before and frankly, it's annoying.

When you've bought it, don't forget to post a review here....
Catnip
post Mar 23 2012, 07:53 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(kmoh4346 @ Mar 23 2012, 01:00 PM)
You have to understand that most distributors business module does not emphasize on its Customer Service / relations. Its the Dealer that deals with this.
Nevertheless, that does not excuse them from being ignorant. We are buying and promoting their brand as we speak.
For sales, yes I agree through dealers. The dealers themselves will also go though the same service center. wink.gif Same problem also. Most Seiko dealers just sells the watches and they are not interested in doing repairs since it requires high capital investment. I haven't seen one that have the proper equipment, clean room environment nor spare parts inventory to do repairs either. Usually, the dealers the will send the watches to Thong Sia and according to a dealer I spoke, it will be longer to get it repaired rather than a customer send it over there.

I've got no problems with dealers selling watches only. As long as they are able to give deep discounts, that good enough for me.

QUOTE(putterbit @ Mar 23 2012, 06:38 PM)
noob here...just jumped into the seiko bandwagon...something came through the mail today..

More to come...perhaps somebody wanna make some guesses? tongue.gif
not something high end but I'm very happy!!!
I dunno, but the profile of the watch familiar.... hmm.gif a Seiko 5?

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 23 2012, 07:05 PM)
today i bought a rubber strap for monster......
That's a nice find... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Catnip: Mar 23 2012, 08:05 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0531sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:23 PM