7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Seiko Watches only, Share your watches experience.No sales.

fariq_azad
post Apr 25 2012, 10:24 PM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Apr 25 2012, 03:01 PM)
Aiyaa.. Thong Sia said that they'll call me when they're done with my watch, err.. they didn't but anyway .. my pepsi is ready now .. but argh.. they're no longer open on Saturday starting April 2012. Grr, need to find time to go there during office hours now.
Thong sia is near the golden triangle rite? To get there would really troublesome
fariq_azad
post Apr 27 2012, 02:58 PM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

QUOTE(rayz1031 @ Apr 27 2012, 12:46 PM)
Thank for the reply.

Another question, how do I confirm the width of the strap on my watch?
Just measure it using a ruler with mm markings. measure the distance at thge lugs (near the spring bar)

BTW may I know how old is the strap and how long did it take to break?
fariq_azad
post Apr 29 2012, 11:57 AM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

QUOTE(rayz1031 @ Apr 29 2012, 12:18 AM)
Red Stiches

I tempted to get the above, however they quote me more than RM200 so I did not take it on the first offer. I ask my friend in the watches industry to help me survey whether can get cheaper or not 1st tongue.gif
why not try sumthing different? if you still prefer leather then i would recommend the deployment clasp leather strap. i find that you tend to drop your watch when taking it off using the conventional buckle.
fariq_azad
post May 4 2012, 11:03 PM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 4 2012, 04:37 PM)
well, its here.
damn hard getting the bezel off, i tried 2 diff knifes cannot get under it.
good thing got the whole case cos i think transplanting movements is going to be easier tongue.gif
shouldn't just taking off the bezel be easier? if you transplant the movement wouldn't you risk losing the water resistance?

anyways how much did the mako ray bezel cost?
fariq_azad
post May 7 2012, 12:19 PM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 5 2012, 12:08 AM)
actually another thing no one really mentioned.
the Ray crystal is better made than Mako...the angle on the edges is same with the bezel, so feels more smoother.
the Mako crystal stands up straighter, so can really feel the edge of it.

water resistance wont be lost cos i wont do it myself tongue.gif
hehe I think these watch makers will never make the perfect watch hehehe

for me the perfect MAKO would be

- Original Mako Nice Blue Dial
- Original MAKO arabic numerals but with the LUME of RAY
- Second hand lume tip like Ray
- Maintian original Mako Hour and minute hands (dont fancy the Ray's Hour hand)
- Crystal from RAY (just like you said)
- Original Mako oyster braclet but with solid end links
- A Pepsi bezel but with RAY fonts

a good mod to consider transplanting? or too much to ask?? huhu rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by fariq_azad: May 7 2012, 12:21 PM
fariq_azad
post May 10 2012, 02:04 PM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ May 10 2012, 12:33 PM)
Its called being "unique"  nod.gif
haha i totally get that. I think its also why many like to do mods is so that their watches are different than other owners of the same model.

btw how much n where did everdying order the ray bezel? if ray had a pepsi style id get it in a jiffy.

hmmm my spork's date is at 4:30 haha unconventional but best type of dial for me as the date somehow is "hidden" smile.gif

This post has been edited by fariq_azad: May 10 2012, 02:04 PM
fariq_azad
post May 11 2012, 05:03 PM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

QUOTE(Digifriend07 @ May 10 2012, 05:43 PM)
The lowest that I can get is about RM750 include shipping... smile.gif
if you are getting it then perhaps better go with the rubber strap version. the bracelet version has folded end links.
fariq_azad
post May 14 2012, 10:24 AM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

QUOTE(wshazi @ May 13 2012, 11:58 PM)
guys, do you think there is still seiko samurai titanium available locally? If yes, where can i find one?
Saw one for sale at Mudah.my... seller was asking for a staggering RM2000 shocking.gif blink.gif shocking.gif

Well I guess the seller can ask any amount he wants since its very rare and hard to get evem overseas.

I guess the only reason I would want one is for the titanium and the fact that no one else has one haha

after having owned a few seiko divers, (SKX007, Orange Monster, Black Starfish, White knight and now the Spork) I have downsized my collection to only the Spork and white knight.

I find the Spork to be right one for me as I am always fond of aviator style dials. the white knight is up for sale but I would also like to keep as its the only seiko Diver ala "Dress" style that I know of.

anyways the link for the samuari at mudah is still available... I would post it here but am refraining posting anything related to sales sweat.gif
fariq_azad
post May 15 2012, 02:03 PM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

QUOTE(awan @ May 14 2012, 05:30 PM)
Got this today......my 1st automatic watch...
very nice catch thumbup.gif

- looks nice and simple like a tag F1
- its quites rare to find a 100m seiko automatic that doesnt have the seiko "5" emblem (its a good thing)
- solid end links although you better like the SS bracelet on it cause I dont think can change to any other straps
fariq_azad
post May 16 2012, 02:36 PM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

what is the lug size? 20mm or 22mm?
fariq_azad
post May 19 2012, 12:01 AM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

feeling a bit sad coz I just sold off my Seiko White Knight huhu cry.gif at least I know that it will be well taken cared of. now only one seiko left (Spork) and rotating with the pepsi mako...

hmmm dont have any next target yet...

This post has been edited by fariq_azad: May 19 2012, 12:03 AM
fariq_azad
post May 20 2012, 01:24 AM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

[quote=speedywinger,May 19 2012, 10:56 PM]
It's my first Seiko. Might get a Monster next biggrin.gif

[/quote]
Yeah the monster! Still haven't achieve my monster dream yet.. Hopefully my next watch will be the monster as well or perhaps the mako..
A portion of my fund already went to the rare seiko sky339 where I just purchased two weeks ago..
*thanks walikard for recommending the skx339 to me*

Added on May 19, 2012, 11:02 pmOops the skx399.. Typo

[/quote]

made the right choice in getting the skx399, its like an skx007 with a facelift (chromed hour markers) and another rare seiko. smile.gif

speaking of 'rare'ness I have a fetish for rare, discontinued, limited editions. but in the case of seikos you really have to do your homework and only those in the know would fork out a substantial amount just to grab their hands on a particular model i.e. the sammurai or the submariner.

how much would u pay if stumbled upon a used SKX031/033?

This post has been edited by fariq_azad: May 20 2012, 01:26 AM
fariq_azad
post May 20 2012, 02:28 PM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

QUOTE(Mspot @ May 20 2012, 01:59 PM)
Have anyone seen any shops in kl selling the spork?
the Spork is very hard to find now. I was lucky enough to find one new in a shop in putra place mall.

if you're in KL then I havent seen any at all the watch shops in Pertama Complex and Sg Wang. I did find a spork on rubber strap at SOGO and did not scout around Campbell though...
fariq_azad
post May 21 2012, 10:27 AM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

QUOTE(fluffy6640 @ May 20 2012, 07:24 PM)
A nice affordable amount.  laugh.gif
hmmm how much would "a nice affordable amount" be?

apparently the original rolex submariner Pepsi bezel was half blue and red, and not just quarter like the seiko's pepsi sub. I feel that quarter make more sense to me...
fariq_azad
post May 21 2012, 12:25 PM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

QUOTE(Mspot @ May 21 2012, 11:28 AM)
New bracelet on the OM!

[attachmentid=2851362]
Wow... if I am not mistaken.. that is a "super engineer" bracelet right?

mind to share how much and where did you get it from? Do drop me a PM thanx smile.gif
fariq_azad
post May 23 2012, 11:51 PM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

yup ask any old timer... and they will say seiko 5 is the best thumbup.gif
fariq_azad
post May 24 2012, 09:46 PM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

The SNAA41p1 "panda" is the winner for me... does it come with a black face version?