99 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Bottom

Standard Questions during Interview

mad-d0g
post Feb 6 2015, 05:45 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(danny_rocker @ Feb 6 2015, 09:30 AM)
I need some tips on how to  answer " Why did you leave your previous job?" because my previous job was on a contract basis and once the contract has ended, the company has decided to terminate me because there are no projects for this year for me to work on. Thanks!
Well, you already answered that question. If I were you, I'll tell them exactly what you mentioned, it's a contract job and you served your contract but unfortunately there are no more projects to work on hence you didn't stay with the company.

If the below two questions were not asked during the interview, I will answer them together with "Why did you leave your previous job?" question.

What kind of job would interest you?
That's the reason why you're looking for new opportunities and briefly state what kind of job would interest you, which ideally should be the job you're interviewing for.

How will you bring value to this job?
Tell the interviewer what I learned from the previous job (summary of points) and how you can add value to your next job.

Belphegor
post Feb 6 2015, 05:47 PM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(danny_rocker @ Feb 6 2015, 09:30 AM)
I need some tips on how to  answer " Why did you leave your previous job?" because my previous job was on a contract basis and once the contract has ended, the company has decided to terminate me because there are no projects for this year for me to work on. Thanks!
I think better don't say they decided not to renew your contract. Just let them know it's a contract basis job. tongue.gif
danny_rocker
post Feb 6 2015, 10:15 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(mad-d0g @ Feb 6 2015, 05:45 PM)
Well, you already answered that question. If I were you, I'll tell them exactly what you mentioned, it's a contract job and you served your contract but unfortunately there are no more projects to work on hence you didn't stay with the company.

If the below two questions were not asked during the interview, I will answer them together with "Why did you leave your previous job?" question.

What kind of job would interest you?
That's the reason why you're looking for new opportunities and briefly state what kind of job would interest you, which ideally should be the job you're interviewing for. 

How will you bring value to this job?
Tell the interviewer what I learned from the previous job (summary of points) and how you can add value to your next job.
Thank you very much for the tips. Now I am confident in answering that question in my tomorrow's interview! rclxms.gif
danny_rocker
post Feb 6 2015, 10:17 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Feb 6 2015, 05:47 PM)
I think better don't say they decided not to renew your contract. Just let them know it's a contract basis job. tongue.gif
I agree on this because it sounds less negative. Thanks for the reply! biggrin.gif
kaif14
post Feb 9 2015, 01:34 AM

87 posts

hi

I have recently did a video interview for a technical based position..

i have difficulty in answering the technical questions and i have honestly told the interviewer that since i dont have experience working in the sector.. i cant answer the question correctly BUT i did try to answer it ... and he just replied i accept the answer though is wrong.. What is it that is he testing... knowledhlge or my honesty???

And throughout the interview, he keep saying "i'm impressed with you"... "i like the way u sell yourself".. "you really fit into being a motivator"... "i admire your confidence"

Do you think the interviewer is impressed and want to hire me or they just being nice... thats all??

I have confidence issue and my weakness is i could not present myself very well.. i just hentam and blabber, sometimes i think i dint even answer their question well... plus those video interview through Skype bound to have sound problem..

I keep my smiling face on n just continue to blabber...

Ughhhh... any chance i will get hired???

danny_rocker
post Feb 9 2015, 12:19 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(kaif14 @ Feb 9 2015, 01:34 AM)
hi

I have recently did a video interview for a technical based position..

i have difficulty in answering the technical questions and i have honestly told the interviewer that since i dont have experience working in the sector.. i cant answer the question correctly BUT i did try to answer it ... and he just replied i accept the answer though is wrong.. What is it that is he testing... knowledhlge or my honesty???

And throughout the interview, he keep saying "i'm impressed with you"... "i like the way u sell yourself"..  "you really fit into being a motivator"... "i admire your confidence"

Do you think the interviewer is impressed and want to hire me or they just being nice... thats all??

I have confidence issue and my weakness is i could not present myself very well.. i just hentam and blabber, sometimes i think i dint even answer their question well... plus those video interview through Skype bound to have sound problem..

I keep my smiling face on n just continue to blabber...

Ughhhh... any chance i will get hired???
It depends on who is interviewing you. If he/she likes your answers, then you have a better chance of being hired. Sometimes, you may have to attend a second interview session, but it depends on the company's HR. Did you ask him about what is the next step of the hiring process after the interview session?

This post has been edited by danny_rocker: Feb 9 2015, 12:20 PM
kaif14
post Feb 9 2015, 01:02 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(danny_rocker @ Feb 9 2015, 12:19 PM)
It depends on who is interviewing you. If he/she likes your answers, then you have a better chance of being hired. Sometimes, you may have to attend a second interview session, but it depends on the company's HR. Did you ask him about what is the next step of the hiring process after the interview session?
He say he will discuss with management.. if they agree on hiring me... they will email by this week or probably next week
xandercooper
post Mar 17 2015, 06:32 PM

68 posts

Hi everyone,

Just need your opinion here.

I just finish my interview today and I thought the interviewer will ask me about what should be ask in the interview. But they just give me the question form to be fill. I read the question and talk to myself "This questions should be ask directly by the interviewer". And after finish fill the form I pass it to the staff, after a couple of minutes he come to me and ask about the software they use whether I know about the software or not. He ask a couple of questions and explain to me about the company.

After that, he told me to wait for 2nd interview after he pass the form that I just fill up to the manager. And then I just go home. The interview just lasted about 5-10 minutes only, it take much time when I want to fill the question form.

So here my question:

1) Should the manager come to conduct the interview?
2) Did they choose for 2nd interview based on question that I just fill?
Nathlec
post Apr 6 2015, 02:12 PM

27 posts

Hi Guys,

I need some help in answering these type of interview questions:-

1. How do you multitask successfully?
2. Give a example on how you improve processes
3. How do you persuade someone to have similar mindset as you?
4. How do you manage several tasks in a tight deadline?
5. How did you handle a difficult team member?

Thank you.

Nathlec
post Apr 6 2015, 02:12 PM

27 posts

Hi Guys,

I need some help in answering these type of interview questions:-

1. How do you multitask successfully?
2. Give a example on how you improve processes
3. How do you persuade someone to have similar mindset as you?
4. How do you manage several tasks in a tight deadline?
5. How did you handle a difficult team member?

Thank you.

falcon21
post Apr 30 2015, 08:08 PM

198 posts

Hi all,

Recently I encountered this situation in an interview, the interviewer asked me "What do you know about this company?'

I answered base on the information I had (mostly from their website) and inserting my own points as when and where necessary..such as saying that their values are in line with my view, etc (bla bla).

In the end the interviewer just said that I know nothing about the company, that those are things from website.

I mean base on my research, those are mostly the available information I can get, only through their website. Other information I found is basically is ex-employee lamenting about the company which is all and all standard nothing special.

In this case, how would you answer back or precisely what sort of answer they are looking?

This post has been edited by falcon21: Apr 30 2015, 08:09 PM
nicole_4ever
post May 17 2015, 09:10 PM

612 posts

QUOTE(falcon21 @ Apr 30 2015, 08:08 PM)
Hi all,

Recently I encountered this situation in an interview, the interviewer asked me "What do you know about this company?'

I answered base on the information I had (mostly from their website) and inserting my own points as when and where necessary..such as saying that their values are in line with my view, etc (bla bla).

In the end the interviewer just said that I know nothing about the company, that those are things from website.

I mean base on my research, those are mostly the available information I can get, only through their  website. Other information I found is basically is ex-employee lamenting about the company which is all and all standard nothing special.

In this case, how would you answer back or precisely what sort of answer they are looking?
Well then move on with other company. They seems very arrogant to me.
BlurGuy1992
post May 25 2015, 10:05 PM

254 posts

nice thread! bump for more questions and answers
Belphegor
post May 26 2015, 09:02 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Hi all,

I mean base on my research, those are mostly the available information I can get, only through their  website. Other information I found is basically is ex-employee lamenting about the company which is all and all standard nothing special.

The only source that you can find information about the company is through internet. And if the interviewer thinks that you know nothing about the company, maybe this job is not suitable to you at all.

I have a few open ended question that could affect the chance of you getting hired.

1) Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
2) How you think you can contribute to this company?
3) Our salary package is below your asking price. Is it negotiable?

1) You cannot answer "I will be sitting your place, asking the same question" because that would be sound arrogant.
2) You cannot answer "Action speaks louder than words, I will prove to you" because that sound like you cannot find any answer in that question
3) You cannot answer "Yes is negotiable. / No it is not negotiable" because that makes you look you can agree on any terms / not flexible enough.

What do you guys think? How to answer these questions? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Belphegor: May 26 2015, 09:06 AM
dragonsuy
post Jul 4 2015, 02:24 AM

112 posts

Hi all,

well what else did you say?

mention any "recent news" regarding the company? any thoughts regarding this..
who are it's competitors? what is the company doing different from others?

i guess the interviewers are looking for your opinion rather than memorizing stuff from their website which everyone can do.
pretty sure everyone they asked the question to answered the same as u did. they were probably looking for something extra/special

scoop7
post Jul 8 2015, 01:09 AM

orly? mai pen rai
1,154 posts

i like to throw in wildcard questions to catch candidates off guard

example:
why do people do trialthon?
which burger bakar is best?
mmuhammadhaziq
post Jul 8 2015, 02:56 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(scoop7 @ Jul 8 2015, 01:09 AM)

example:
It's true.
Most question also asked based on the candidates experience.
DS_Legacy
post Jul 17 2015, 12:46 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(scoop7 @ Jul 8 2015, 01:09 AM)

example:
This proves that knowing ourselves and the company history will not suffice. Hahaha this is all about spontaneous reactions and personal experience. whistling.gif
spreeeee
post Jul 23 2015, 02:07 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

What position do you prefer on a team working on a project?
- It doesn't matter till I learn something new in every project.

Why should we hire you?
- If you hire me, it will be a great platform to showcase my skills. Whatever goals I set I ensure to complete them within stipulated time.

Reason behind leaving your last job?
- I'm looking for better opportunities and enhancing my skill set.

Why have you been unemployed for such a long time?
- I enrolled myself for advanced personality development course along with some freelance work.

What are your expectation from this job?
- Professional advancement and good future.

How long would you expect to work for us if hired?
- As long as I feel challenged professionally.

How do you see yourself in 5 years from now?
- I see myself in a senior position managing important portfolio of this company.

What is your weakness?
- I concentrate on one thing at a time.

What is your strength?
- I am a quick learner and a great team player.

Do you have any question for us?
- When can I join?
sunnyday123
post Jul 27 2015, 11:19 AM

19 posts

Hey everyone! How can I possibly answer "where do you see yourself in 5 years?" when i do not have a clue what to do with my life...

99 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Top

0.0235sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:00 PM