11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

VIOS VS FORTE 1.6, VIOS VS FORTE 1.6

cybermaster98
post Oct 4 2010, 12:59 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(angel_jc8 @ Sep 30 2010, 02:13 PM)
Hey guys,

I need some real advises..I am thinking of getting a Vios or a Forte 1.6...But I have no idea regarding FC...maintenance..
Ill give u an assessment:

Vios

Pros
1) Excellent fuel consumption - 13km/L (city) and 15km/L (highway)
2) Very good after sales service from Toyota
3) Good build quality
4) Very reasonable maintainence costs
5) Excellent resale value - only about 40% drop in price after 7 yrs

Cons
1) Average specs
2) Current Vios design is average also
3) Price bit high
4) Not spacious at the rear but is ok since its targetted at young adults and not families

Forte

Pros
1) Good specs
2) Good physical design
3) Ample rear legroom
4) Excellent price

Cons
1) Mediorce after sales service as it is Naza
2) Cost of spare parts might be expensive if they dont sell enough cars
3) Resale value will be poor since its Naza and if sale numbers dont improve
4) Build quality - hopefully is improved compared to earlier models which gave alot of trouble
5) Fuel consumption higher

Conclusion:
Wait for the upcoming Hyundai Avante. 1.6L but with 6 speed gearbox and more horsepower than even the Honda Civic 1.8

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Oct 4 2010, 01:03 AM
FrostLance
post Oct 4 2010, 01:03 AM

Dr.Frostie
607 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 4 2010, 12:41 AM)
Long term use and u buy Forte?? Thats a mistake. No Korean can was built to last.
bravo, another bullshit from cybermaster without propers facts. I salute u.
cybermaster98
post Oct 4 2010, 01:11 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Oct 4 2010, 01:03 AM)
bravo, another bullshit from cybermaster without propers facts. I salute u.
Its based on EXPERIENCE which u dont have.
yeexing
post Oct 4 2010, 01:27 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 4 2010, 12:59 AM)

Vios

Pros
2) Very good after sales service from Toyota
3) Good build quality
4) Very reasonable maintainence costs
5) Excellent resale value - only about 40% drop in price after 7 yrs

Cons
1) Average specs
2) Current Vios design is average also
3) Price bit high
4) Not spacious at the rear but is ok since its targetted at young adults and not families

Forte

Pros
1) Good specs
2) Good physical design
3) Ample rear legroom
4) Excellent price

Cons
1) Mediorce after sales service as it is Naza
2) Cost of spare parts might be expensive if they dont sell enough cars
3) Resale value will be poor since its Naza and if sale numbers dont improve
4) Build quality - hopefully is improved compared to earlier models which gave alot of trouble
5) Fuel consumption higher

Conclusion:
Wait for the upcoming Hyundai Avante. 1.6L but with 6 speed gearbox and more horsepower than even the Honda Civic 1.8
yes all the things you mention is from your pass experience... but i not really agree on resale value... as you can see now day car is getting more and more advance, are you sure another 4-5 year the resale value of your vios still can like last time 7 year only drop 40% (i mean buy the new vios and count from now) , i dont think so.

for TS... choice the car base on your need since currently so many ppl have advise joh

cybermaster98
post Oct 4 2010, 01:30 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(yeexing @ Oct 4 2010, 01:27 AM)
yes all the things you mention is from your pass experience... but i not really agree on resale value... as you can see now day car is getting more and more advance, are you sure another 4-5 year the resale value of your vios still can like last time 7 year only drop 40% (i mean buy the new vios and count from now) , i dont think so.

for TS... choice the car base on your need since currently so many ppl have advise joh
If Toyota resale value drops, other brands like Kia, Hyundai will be worse. Resale values are determined by 1 main factor which is number of original sales. Of course there are other factors but the main driver is the original sales volume.
yeexing
post Oct 4 2010, 01:46 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 4 2010, 01:30 AM)
If Toyota resale value drops, other brands like Kia, Hyundai will be worse. Resale values are determined by 1 main factor which is number of original sales. Of course there are other factors but the main driver is the original sales volume.
yes i know it base on original sales volume and i know current only T + H is on top ( due to easy find service center anywhere, experience on my hometown @ johor) but let just assume 2 year down the line when other brand have been pick up (be it conti / Korea maker where the service center or etc easy to find like current T & H) do your think the sale figure is still the same if T+ H still maintain current standard?
FrostLance
post Oct 4 2010, 02:24 AM

Dr.Frostie
607 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 4 2010, 01:11 AM)
Its based on EXPERIENCE which u dont have.
The hell i dont idiot...
Ive owned an hyundai elantra for 8 damn years before this.. family owned a few hondas before.. the korean elantra had no problems..
damn troll go die la..
always talk without proper facts..why dont u answer some of fortezen questions..give ur fact.. u say u debate like a man, but no proper facts, and say based on experience.. go die man
cybermaster98
post Oct 4 2010, 02:34 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Oct 4 2010, 02:24 AM)
The hell i dont idiot...
Ive owned an hyundai elantra for 8 damn years before this.. family owned a few hondas before.. the korean elantra had no problems..
damn troll go die la..
always talk without proper facts..why dont u answer some of fortezen questions..give ur fact.. u say u debate like a man, but no proper facts, and say based on experience.. go die man
Ive provided all answers. Grow up. Forte aint a Hyundai or dont u recognise emblems? HAHA
cybermaster98
post Oct 4 2010, 02:36 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(yeexing @ Oct 4 2010, 01:46 AM)
yes i know it base on original sales volume and i know current only T + H is on top ( due to easy find service center anywhere, experience on my hometown @ johor) but let just assume 2 year down the line when other brand have been pick up (be it conti / Korea maker where the service center or etc easy to find like current T & H) do your think the sale figure is still the same if T+ H still maintain current standard?
Surely not. Im hoping that other brands like the Koreans pick up their after sales service standards. Only then can they challenge Toyota and Honda. Hope it happens soon.
Pogostik
post Oct 4 2010, 08:41 AM

~ Merry Prankster ~
766 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 4 2010, 02:34 AM)
Ive provided all answers. Grow up. Forte aint a Hyundai or dont u recognise emblems? HAHA
But you said Korean cars, not KIA cars.
leozai
post Oct 4 2010, 05:35 PM

112 posts

try imagine 2012/13 vios wif dual vvti coming out.. who else wan vios which used bout 2-3 yrs time ... try predict how much u gotto sell da vios u bought at 2010/11?
kenji1903
post Oct 4 2010, 05:41 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(leozai @ Oct 4 2010, 05:35 PM)
try imagine 2012/13 vios wif dual vvti coming out.. who else wan vios which used bout 2-3 yrs time ... try predict how much u gotto sell da vios u bought at 2010/11?
i think the previous second hand gen city idsi and vtec still selling not bad despite the new i-vtec out...

the dual vvti is just better carbon emission due to europe's tight restrictions... check out the 1.6 vvti in the altis and compare it wit the dual vvti in the new altis... vios's 1.5 should not that far away only in terms of power and torque...

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Oct 4 2010, 05:47 PM
NiCkY
post Oct 4 2010, 08:32 PM

The POWER Of Dream(tm)
2,383 posts

if everyone hav the thinking like u mentioned, then all go for new car, all 2nd hand car dealer ma close shop?
if u still insist wanna talk about advance tech in car will help to boost value for 2nd hand, previously there is a lot brand with high tech but suffer on 2nd hand value...

LOL...

there is enough real case scenario like u mentioned, just spend some time and do some research on malaysia's car market... our country market is a bit unique, so dun think is so simple as u thought...

brows.gif
LONGandBIG
post Oct 4 2010, 08:55 PM

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Oct 4 2010, 02:24 AM)
The hell i dont idiot...
damn troll go die la..
cool down dude.. hope cyber won't be someone like City tinted Kindachi who loves to brag about even a piece of straw

This post has been edited by LONGandBIG: Oct 4 2010, 08:55 PM
NiCkY
post Oct 4 2010, 11:56 PM

The POWER Of Dream(tm)
2,383 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 4 2010, 12:59 AM)

Vios

Pros

btw, ur vios FC seems so so only... my FC for 55% highway, 30% town and 15% heavy jam also can get 15KM/L...
not yet try 100% highway, i assume should not be problem to hit 17KM/L or above for highway...
Folio
post Oct 5 2010, 12:00 AM

55 posts

Safest bet for you. Get a bicycle. Technology advances year by year, with such mentality you will never go forward.
eddie_al
post Oct 5 2010, 12:20 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 4 2010, 01:30 AM)
sorry to bust yr bubble cyber, but that statement can be voided ler. one can check with motor trader & confirm that for the past 2 years, lancer 2.0 has never gotten into the top 20 sales model in msia. even triton outsells lancer.

but a quick look at mudah, we can see a '07 lancer gt still sells for around 90k. thats about 25% depreciation ya?

i've checked also the figure for civic 2.0 & altis 1.8, they too, sell for around 24%~26% depreciation. but of course we all know these two models easily tops lancer in terms of number in sales. (since lancer isn't top 20, i guess around thrice?) so ya, resale value determined by number of sales is not necessary so.

i think it's the "want to get" factor. simply put, alot of people wanted to get the lancer 2.0gt too (as much as civic or altis?), but not at its' original asking price of 120K. there is alot of reason for that; plasticky interior, questionable handling, etc etc. but at 2nd hand price, these weakness are more acceptable (or we say, overlooked). that's why alot of people are so hyped up by the new waja now, it's just like getting a new lancer at 2nd handed lancer's price.

T&H always excel at creating the "want to get" factor with most of their models, whether it is new or 2nd hand. that's why their resale value are strong. peeps wanted their cars, old or new. but there are exceptions too.

now back to forte, i believe the "want to get" factor is similar to lancer, and provided naza doesn't butthurt current forte owner like how proton did with lancer owners, i think the residual value for 2nd hand forte should be quite as remarkable as lancer, even if the sales figure doesn't shine.
Folio
post Oct 5 2010, 12:25 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(eddie_al @ Oct 5 2010, 12:20 AM)
sorry to bust yr bubble cyber, but that statement can be voided ler. one can check with motor trader & confirm that for the past 2 years, lancer 2.0 has never gotten into the top 20 sales model in msia. even triton outsells lancer.

but a quick look at mudah, we can see a '07 lancer gt still sells for around 90k. thats about 25% depreciation ya?

i've checked also the figure for civic 2.0 & altis 1.8, they too, sell for around 24%~26% depreciation. but of course we all know these two models easily tops lancer in terms of number in sales. (since lancer isn't top 20, i guess around thrice?) so ya, resale value determined by number of sales is not necessary so.

i think it's the "want to get" factor. simply put, alot of people wanted to get the lancer 2.0gt too (as much as civic or altis?), but not at its' original asking price of 120K. there is alot of reason for that; plasticky interior, questionable handling, etc etc. but at 2nd hand price, these weakness are more acceptable (or we say, overlooked). that's why alot of people are so hyped up by the new waja now, it's just like getting a new lancer at 2nd handed lancer's price.

T&H always excel at creating the "want to get" factor with most of their models, whether it is new or 2nd hand. that's why their resale value are strong. peeps wanted their cars, old or new. but there are exceptions too.

now back to forte, i believe the "want to get" factor is similar to lancer, and provided naza doesn't butthurt current forte owner like how proton did with lancer owners, i think the residual value for 2nd hand forte should be quite as remarkable as lancer, even if the sales figure doesn't shine.
Make it simple. The supply and demand principle. People always skeptical towards korean and conti brands' resale value. But try looking into models like VW Golf GTI and Mini Cooper. The resale value isn't that bad. So it all goes back to the demand.
eddie_al
post Oct 5 2010, 12:28 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(Folio @ Oct 5 2010, 12:25 AM)
Make it simple. The supply and demand principle. People always skeptical towards korean and conti brands' resale value. But try looking into models like VW Golf GTI and Mini Cooper. The resale value isn't that bad. So it all goes back to the demand.
sorry...bad with summary, smile.gif

yeexing
post Oct 5 2010, 01:51 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(NiCkY @ Oct 4 2010, 08:32 PM)
if everyone hav the thinking like u mentioned, then all go for new car, all 2nd hand car dealer ma close shop?
if u still insist wanna talk about advance tech in car will help to boost value for 2nd hand, previously there is a lot brand with high tech but suffer on 2nd hand value...

LOL...

there is enough real case scenario like u mentioned, just spend some time and do some research on malaysia's car market... our country market is a bit unique, so dun think is so simple as u thought...

brows.gif
2nd hand car dealer will not close shop but will have less sale. dun forget that people is earn more and more which currently fresh graduate from UNI work starting salary also min 2k-2.5k (apply only on central part like KL, Selangor) so when his/her salary hit 3k and above... i think he/she can afford a brand new car which price tag about 70-90k (provide the person dun have other commitment ).

advance tech only can say is some add-on, but the most important is demand... if you ask me... i only can say if the amount differ with 2nd hand against the new car is not many.. i rather take new car.

for TS... since you have take consider on forte and vios... maybe you also take consider into ford fiesta which also having the similar price tag

VIOS:
1.5 J(AT) : 76k
1.5 G(AT): 82k
1.5 E(AT) : 87k

forte:
1.6EX(AT) : 76k
1.6SX(AT) : 82k

ford fiesta (still is estimate price from website but wait this month they launch will have better picture)
1.4 (MT-hatch back) : 74k
1.6 (AT-sedan) : 80k
1.6 (AT-hatch back) : 85k

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:15 AM