12 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 >Bottom

Nokia N900 V6 (More than 140 owners), Where Tablets Meets Mobile Phone

super_evil_alien
post Oct 19 2010, 06:59 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Seriously if I'm rich I'll sponsor Eiraku with a free N900.
I miss his constant hacking.He's the 1 who discovered W3M CLI text-based web browser.Mighty usefull when I'm in 2G only area.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 19 2010, 09:48 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

@zhlly4eae
The frontpage method will not modify any voltage.So it's pretty safe for the newbies.

QUOTE(Cornwell @ Oct 19 2010, 09:33 PM)
hi,
my 1st post  blush.gif & im noob
problems:
1/
rootsh: install
ssh client & server: install
winscp: install to laptop (win7)
view system files via network (wifi)
1st attempt succesfull, 2nd failed (network error)
try usb mode via mad developer, failed. No rndis/ ethernet gadget driver
2/
try to install fMMS, failed. Error with gnome python sumtin2 bla bla..

need help  blush.gif
1)Make sure you created a password.
If you didn't create password type the following in X-Terminal

root
passwd
Now you should type in your password.
Try again with WinSCP.Make sure you SSH Status is in "ON" now.

2)Install Faster Application Manager from App Manager.
After installing it use it to install any other apps.It'll auto install all the dependencies

Added on October 19, 2010, 9:51 pm
QUOTE(zhlly4eae @ Oct 19 2010, 09:39 PM)
when OC i feel unstable abit when click apps open there got one box of black colour then open d, when listen music when lag got hang ZZZZ music then run back normal.. i OC back cause testing can or not, when i sell or claim warranty mah,  notworthy.gif

Added on October 19, 2010, 9:44 pmwaaaaa.... why now i OC to 900mhz more worst?? always hang or slow or not responding??
Open X-Terminal
Type "Top"
Post the screenshot here.

After that restore to your default speed.Follow this guide

To restore back to original speed

Step 1 In your nokia n900 Menu go to More... > X Terminal
Step 2 Type Root > Enter
Step 3 Type apt-get --reinstall install kernel kernel-flasher > Enter
Step 4 That is all

Reboot & try OC back with the 900MHz fiasco image again.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Oct 19 2010, 09:51 PM
super_evil_alien
post Oct 19 2010, 09:59 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(zhlly4eae @ Oct 19 2010, 09:58 PM)
i type Top it says -sh: Top: not found
???
My bad.. blush.gif
Type "root" before typing "top"
super_evil_alien
post Oct 19 2010, 10:13 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(zhlly4eae @ Oct 19 2010, 10:05 PM)
how how how?
You CPU/RAM usage seems to be normal.
Proced to the next step I suggested to you.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 19 2010, 10:26 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 19 2010, 10:17 PM)
Welcome our newest member mfitri77 to the Nokia N900 family.
Keep it up super_evil_alien u so hardworking happy.gif
manaada.jpg
Taking another programming subject again this sem.So have to sit in front of computer for a long time doh.gif
Might as well do some "charity" work.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 19 2010, 10:50 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Josh_M @ Oct 19 2010, 10:43 PM)
aspire when is the TT session we wanna test out ur N8

good jod Super evil alien "SIFU"
Master Alien rejects that title.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 19 2010, 11:09 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Oct 19 2010, 11:01 PM)
Master Alien, you're not speaking correctly  tongue.gif

Should be "Rejects the title, Master Alien is"
Or "The title, master Alien rejects"
tongue.gif
I'm sorry laugh.gif
Was contesting at fanboy battle just now..
super_evil_alien
post Oct 19 2010, 11:29 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 19 2010, 11:10 PM)
haha yea i saw u was debating again.  No point debating because to fully understand you must used both.

The answer from a person used N8 only vs Used N900 and then n8 u get different answer
Well..I already has experience of testing N8.Only thing I cannot test is the day 2 day usage because I don't own it.
But I can compare pro & cons of these 2 phone.

Don't think Andre ever used N900.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 19 2010, 11:37 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 19 2010, 11:33 PM)
from the reply yea. The battery life really not bad. Now my phone still got 2 battery left extensive gameplay, internet, sms , email and installing games.
Seems like even though the firmware still needs some bug fix the graphic acceleration implemented really well.I guess by making GPU to handle graphics the CPU usage is kept low hence the longer battery life.
1200mA battery can last 3 days.That's impressive.
Nokia should have just throw in 1500mA battery.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 20 2010, 12:10 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Oct 19 2010, 11:46 PM)
They need more polish on the software lar for N8. Imagine, you know already you don't have hardware keyboard, make sure la you have very nice, good and easy to use soft keyboard. Still they come up with that.

That's why I went looking for the N900 just now.  tongue.gif
Device design wise E7 is seriously sexy.Too bad it's not possible in any way to install MeeGo in it.Else I I would have give it a go.

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Oct 19 2010, 11:51 PM)
I don't think so too; Anyway, I think some of the GODLIKE members there is "not happy" that N900 is praise or people praising how great N900 is.
The truth is, N900 is not great, it's the OS, Maemo; And technically, Maemo is an Internet Table, it's more powerful and a class above those smartphone OS already, it's flexibility, customization level, what it can do; For technical people, they should understand the difference, just like Eiraku and Jananan used to mentioned; Those GODLIKE users doesn't seems to know much or get the point or maybe they're "not happy" and see any N900 users, they just bring out their gun and blast.

Honestly, when I first go in N8 thread (after invited for Ranger Program), I posted something about Qt, just sharing information, tiba tiba kena tembak like nobody business. I was like w-t-f? I just share explain what is Qt and what it can/suppose to do, didn't say that it's the best, I didn't say it will change the world, etc. That thread really give me big surprise, total different situation in N900 forum, at least all the members here are nice, we share our disappointments as well as our joy on the N900, share information, disucssion, etc. I mean, that's the purpose of joining the forum right? To join the community, learn about the device, discuss, etc.
But in N8 thread, hard... must know who and who and talk properly; and those people don't know you, straight away judge you and blast their gun without aiming, and too much spamming.

Just can say, Maemo OS is great, but it doesn't suit everyone; It has it's category of users, just like buying cars, you have people who like Sedan cars, people who prefer hatchbacks, people who prefer MPV, etc.
Maemo is different from other smartphones; I don't find MeeGo able to replace Maemo? First thing I see missing is the Desktop concept, which is one of the main strengths of Maemo OS being an Internet Tablet OS.
Well, let's wait for MeeGo and see how it goes; From those demos, it still feels very Android-ish to me.
1st of all we understand the shortcoming of N900.Other users don't.They say it's bulky & full of bugs & keep on bragging that their choice of phone is perfect.
Also I do noticed lack of technical discussion in that subforum.Majority of the post are don't contain any point.just random post.Like you said at least in this forum people like you,jananan,Eiraku & me do post some technical stuff.
Sometimes we also post technical stuff unrelated to maemo too.From what I can know members in this thread consider that technical stuff informative & ask more about it(example NITDroid).
In N8 thread you post one technical stuff automatically you're godlike users doh.gif
Fine.I take it as praise laugh.gif
Then came Rangers Program.People started posting random stuff hoping to get selected.C'mon,don't be so desperate.Even people who posted few but quality stuff can be selected(like you).
If I was selected most probably I would have suggested another person because frankly I lack interest in Symbian device.If MeeGo device I'm on(Again tq Andy wink.gif )

Godlike or not I'm rather happy that N900's users are at least good listeners.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Oct 20 2010, 03:18 AM
super_evil_alien
post Oct 20 2010, 12:15 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Oct 20 2010, 12:00 AM)
and those funny icons in Meego makes it look like kindergarten drawings tongue.gif
not classy at all but lifely tongue.gif
I found it sort of interesting.Android have their mascot & MeeGo have their own.

Try boot S3, btw, Nokia confirm that Meego is Maemo in fox skin so why brag about it?

I found this kind of statement really useless.
Obviously MeeGo will have have same architecture with Maemo.Nokia already spends so much of money for the R&D process & you want the MeeGo team to throw away everything about Maemo & start from scratch?How dumb does it sounds?

Also 1 of the guy mentioned that maemo community is GODLIKE.If you ask me they are godlike.Is there any other OS community providing assistance & software support like maemo community?Is there any other OS community that ported an entire new workable OS from scratch to the particular phone?(Android port to HD2 is much easier because the guys who ported them basically just copied the entire ROM from another Android based HTC phone)
If these guys can prevent an entire OS from dying,I can say they are GODLIKE.

btw if they are looking for easy troll target they are looking at wrong person whistling.gif

Added on October 20, 2010, 12:18 am
QUOTE(kk6513 @ Oct 20 2010, 12:13 AM)
rclxms.gif i like maemo and i like symbian too.
I'll still say Symbian is relevant to users now.It's simple & there are still plenty of support.
However Symbian do lack other OS like Android & iOS "power"
Hence MeeGo comes in picture.Entire new GUI + lots of interesting functions(Thank god the X-Terminal still retained)

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Oct 20 2010, 12:27 AM
super_evil_alien
post Oct 20 2010, 12:33 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(ccgenius @ Oct 20 2010, 12:29 AM)
http://www.wda.cn/thread-6437-1-1.html

PR1.3 leaked.
i didnt register as a member there, so i didnt download the .bin file.
for those who is interested can try o.o
Downloading right now but I'll just check the legality of the built.
My phone already messed up as it is. laugh.gif

From filename it's legit alright.Much newer build than PR 1.2
Anyone want to sponsor their phone for testing?

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Oct 20 2010, 12:35 AM
super_evil_alien
post Oct 20 2010, 12:43 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Okay.
My eyes keep moving from the bin file to my phone.
How long I able to resist the urge to flash sad.gif

BTW the update was compiled in week 36 & the official update was rumored to be out on week 41.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 20 2010, 12:45 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 20 2010, 12:42 AM)
Maemo community is really helpful, I experienced it once I was a N900 user and until now you guys support it, and I respect that see this topic alive although Nokia have end the support of N900.

I'm trying to support the Symbian/N8 community, but sometimes there are people kept in my way, hard for me to give supports and even others to give supports like tips, tricks, tutorial. Its hard to contribute when there is people who is getting your ways.
Actually Nokia still trying to main all 3 OS.But they prefers to keep maemo as developer OS rather then end user OS.

Symbian forum support bit tunggang langgang if you know what I meant... laugh.gif
super_evil_alien
post Oct 20 2010, 12:50 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 20 2010, 12:47 AM)
true, and most expect spoonfeed.  rclxub.gif
My enthusiasm on maemo still keeping me posting stuff here.
Newbie for linux really needs lots of help with this device at 1st.

Lucky for us we have great frontpage guide icon_rolleyes.gif

About the rangers program,did the Nokia employers mentioned anything about future product?

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Oct 20 2010, 12:51 AM
super_evil_alien
post Oct 20 2010, 12:58 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 20 2010, 12:53 AM)
Err, didn't ask that. But they did mentioned that if there is another product launch, they will call/invite us with new nokia ranger.
Next time they should choose different types of people to become Rangers.
If it's me I would have choose advanced,average & newbie users from both genders to test the product.
If Nokia indeed wants to sells the products to variety of groups this is the only way they can know what each group except.

Current rangers....I would not say everyone great...

Added on October 20, 2010, 1:01 am
QUOTE(mashimarow @ Oct 20 2010, 12:56 AM)
News from China Maemo site also said the same, no one dare to flash it yet blush.gif  who want to be no.1  biggrin.gif
I'm following a thread from maemo talk.Once 1 guys installs the update successfully I'm on for the update.

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 20 2010, 12:57 AM)
well said sifu. Sifu i tested the GT RACING for you di. Working fine no lag and with accelerator support
I remember he used to post this kind of long explanation with just his phone laugh.gif
Real patient guy.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Oct 20 2010, 01:04 AM
super_evil_alien
post Oct 20 2010, 01:14 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Oct 20 2010, 01:05 AM)
David asked me about my impression on the N900, I said, lack of RAM; He suggested there should be ways for consumers to upgrade chips on their device, like RAM; hehehe.
Nice if we can have dedicated graphics that is upgradeable  tongue.gif
I remember last time Alienware come up with the first laptop with upgradeable dedicated graphic card, it was shown on Tech TV - Call for Help (I think) on Astro (if anyone still remembers the show).
hmm.gif MeeGo's development seems like a independent body now.OS wise Nokia only provides drivers code only.
The rest I think is outside Nokia's control.
Tomorrow there's going to be closed door meeting on the MeeGo.The leader said if it's not a confidential stuff he'll share the content of the meeting tomorrow.
Also he said MeeGo 1.1 release date is set to 01/11/2010
So far I've tried v 1.0.99 it's ok(shutdown issue finally solved)

I've suggested the self upgrade feature sometime ago.It's should be flexibility for the people to upgrade like PC.But it's hard to achieve because manufacturers prefers users to keep their hands off the hardware.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 20 2010, 01:17 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 20 2010, 01:16 AM)
i love sharing but maybe not at the moment not yet, i have some surprises coming up. When the surprise is ready ill be there no worries.
So busy that you want me to take over as next TS? sweat.gif
super_evil_alien
post Oct 20 2010, 01:24 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 20 2010, 01:19 AM)
Btw, when I heard Nokia Malaysian representative says MeeGo is just a skin of Maemo, I just like shocked.

If combine Moblin + Maemo = MeeGo means it's a new OS,  hence not a skins of Maemo.
Rubbish.The core of the OS has undergone some transformation.But the new GUI is something needed.
New GUI was done so average people will be able to use this OS without much issue.Some claim Maemo's GUI is hard to use.

Anyone who are interested in MeeGo functions can post in this IRC channel - #meego at irc.freenode.net
The devs & enthusiast will entertain your question provided it's a legit question.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 20 2010, 01:29 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 20 2010, 01:26 AM)
the graphic look abit cartoonish but i saw a demo of meego there are trying to make it simple by using tabs
v 1.0.99 still have similar UI.
UI is not the main target of v 1.1 it's the overall OS functions.

12 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0434sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:51 PM