17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

RTS War40K: Dawn of War Winter Assault / Dark Crusade, Official Dawn of War, M'sia Thread

Hunt
post Jul 19 2005, 02:42 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(king_kong @ Jul 19 2005, 09:33 AM)
i wud get trashed anyway, which i did.

btw, try the flash game at the main page of the forums. quite fun.
you thrashed, come on.

you trying to reel a fish in is it? haha
Hunt
post Jul 22 2005, 08:56 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(Ctrl-Alt @ Jul 21 2005, 11:20 AM)
it's a pity DoW is gone from M'sia's WCG line-up. Somemore this year the games is held at S'pore.

damnatus........ vmad.gif

patch 1.3 being used for nationals... reign of Defilers?
Well it is a real pity that WCG decided to remove DOW from their list. Hope they will re-insert it back into their list the next year.

biggrin.gif Reign of Defilers

Well in 1.3 the defilers are a little uber. But atleast the Eldar players now have a purpose to their strats. Stopping the Chaos players from reaching Tier2.
Hunt
post Jul 25 2005, 02:05 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(johnnycp @ Jul 25 2005, 12:04 PM)
LOL, Orks should be the most underpower and the most pity race ever

watching the defilers tear down orks' paper thin buildings
and nothing can do to defend the base.

XD
Orks were supposed to be the most unstoppable race in the entire galaxy. The move to remove the wartrukk strat in 1.3 by relic was a bad call. The Orks should command such awesome CC power but then now gets mowed down by any range unit. Totally unfair. Looking at DOW universe the only challenge the Orks ever had was from the tyranids.

Its just so sad to see so many ppl leaving the Ork race and going to chaos just because of defiler spam. cry.gif

how could relic not see this. Make the Orks uber again.

Hunt
post Jul 27 2005, 12:20 PM

137 posts

I guess there's not much Ork players in Malaysia. It figures, its also hard to find Ork players and experts online. I think its because Orks now need much more micromanagement than Eldar. The Ork strats have now been drastically changed.

Any opinions ???
Hunt
post Jul 29 2005, 12:28 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(johnnycp @ Jul 27 2005, 12:48 PM)
Orks strat??? i do know 1 lol
make 4 squad of slugga boyz with nobz leader
set overwatch reinforcement.

rush ur oponent and sit back and watch those slugga
overrun ur oponent's base lol

only works for abusing n00bs
[attachmentid=67105][attachmentid=67106][attachmentid=67107]
see the orks walking style ROFLMAO
But if youre facing chaos, that rush might not work as by the time you get NLs, your chaos opponent would have three fully reinforced squads of CSMs and you would also need your BM to face their CL in any case. Without your commanders, no one can stand the intial rush without a turret. Even then, the enemy would change his strat to hold you in your own base. With that done, you could say goodbye to map control.

Well thats my 2 cents.
Hunt
post Jul 30 2005, 03:23 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(johnnycp @ Jul 29 2005, 12:01 PM)
hmmmmm.... how about Orks vs Orks

Hunt, wanna try this when u free? wink.gif
sure no problem but i think i would have to try it out with you in some cybercafe as i wouldnt want my pc to disconnect when we are half way playing.

that would suck. Anyway i tried the Orks vs Orks today with some dude online. Its a stalemate and it only breaks to who gets their NLs first.

I found that by going all Shootas with BS's will own ork players but you have to ruch for your NLs. You would also need the More Dakka, More Blastier, Eavy Armour researched.
Its important to have the slugga squad with your BM full reinforced.

Well johnny try it out. Let me know what you think.
Hunt
post Jul 30 2005, 03:31 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(arminvanbuuren @ Jul 30 2005, 01:45 AM)
I read in the Relic forums that Winter Assault expansion will be out in 2 month's time (mid-late Sept). I hope they have the Tyranids in it.
Well its good to know that the date for its release is getting closer but i dont think tyranids is gonna be in it. The WA expansion will only consist Imperial Guards as the new race.

Sorry dude.

I was hoping to see the necrons.

here's a question. Wouldn't it be cool if relic did a RTS of warhammer(the medieval themed warhammer)

What do you guys think?
Hunt
post Aug 1 2005, 11:50 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(redeye84 @ Jul 30 2005, 04:47 AM)
nah i dont think it would sell out cos people will compare it more to warcraft 3.

hence people will say it a warcraft3 clone.
You see thats because every medieval game that comes out consist of the 4 most commonly used races which are the humans, elves, orc and undead.

As far as im concerned, i only enjoyed warcraft because of its storyline. Im a firm believer in storylines. The make the gamer more attached to the game. Now i believe warcraft has seriously gone to the dogs with the Dota crap.

I believe if the medieval warhammer was unleashed it would kick warcraft off the charts. However to do so, the relic team would need to put some serious thought in it.

QUOTE(king_kong @ Jul 30 2005, 09:14 AM)
the medieval version? hmmm, with so much stiff competition from Warcraft.... and the unique way of resource collection in DoW.... how would they want to introduce a more efficient way than the 2?

a strategic points in a medieval setting may not fit.

Well firstly instead of SPs, they could make it settlements. They would begin with a HQ like DOW and create structures in your HQ area but the key to the game is conquering the settlements(this will give the game realisticness as in those days, armies was gathered at your main base and not all over the place.)which will give you map control. These settlements could consist of other races which are neutral until they are captured and the creatures in the settlements would protect their settlements. After capturing these settlements, gold would be generated by the amount of resource buildings created in it. You could also create other structures like defensive buildings or army producing buildings which creates creatures which can be found at that settlement.

By doing this, you could have one settlement, totally dedicated to creating money while the other ones in the frontlines consisting of army creation buildings.

I believe this might work as Warhammer(medieval version) has quite a number of races and by implementing this kind of gameplay they allow all the races to be played. you could even cycle the races. What i mean is when youre playing a major race like the humans, you could set the map to have ogre settlements, You would only be able to attain ogres by conquering that settlement and if youre playing ogres as your main race, the settlements could be humans offering calvary.

Well i have more ideas for strategy games, just trying to fit myself with the skills that will allow me to unleash all these ideas to the world.

Well let me know what you guys think. Im sorry if i offended any Dota fans, i didnt mean too.

Hunt
post Aug 3 2005, 10:07 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(johnnycp @ Jul 30 2005, 11:53 AM)
Hunt,

Slugga and shoota boyz with BS upgrade will sweep off all infantry_medium and
infantry_high armour of infantry. after 1st lvl more blastier upgrade,
even Space Marine Tactical, Chaos Marines and Warp Spider also cant
take the damage. they dying very fast.
The problem is you would need to have NLs with those shoota squads and they would have to outnumber the enemies squads as because Orks morale last longer in large groups.

My strat nowadays is to rush 3 sluggas and 2 shootas with NLs and a BM. Shootas are equipped with rokkits and shootas with BS. this kills everything. One of the slugga squad is attached to the BM. The BM has to have kustom teleport and his range damage shield.

with this strat im able to bring in stormboyz easily and with NLs attached to them. The only problem i face is when the Eldar players warp their buildings to a more secure location.

Well give it a try and see whether it suits you
Hunt
post Aug 3 2005, 11:01 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(king_kong @ Aug 2 2005, 04:17 PM)
well, people WILL still say it's a warcraft 3 clone cause they know NUTS bout the history of Warhammer.

just show ANYONE DoW and they'll say it looks like starcraft/warcraft.

tis is a fact frens, the Malaysian mentality. tak boleh lari.
well come on Kong. Youre the man. You could sell ice to an eskimo. Maybe its about time Warhammer gets the marketing it deserves.

I for one would really like to see DOW kick warcraft's ass. As far as im concerned, warcraft died when that DOTA crap appeared.

I really hope you guys do another tourney when WA comes out. It would be a great way to market the game as you would get the malaysian pros back out to strut their stuff.
Hunt
post Aug 3 2005, 11:03 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(johnnycp @ Aug 2 2005, 08:36 PM)
I hope New Era will make a bigger launch for WinterAssault with lots of advertisement.

Hopefully all ppl will know how is Warhammer40k universe looks like and become a popular game in cybercafes.

i dont hope much for it, just as popular as the C&C:General or Red Alert is more than enough. smile.gif
cheers.
me too, me too
Hunt
post Aug 4 2005, 02:34 PM

137 posts

Yeah a LAN party would be cool. It will also satisfy the goal of bringing all the DOW fans together and grow the community.

Hunt
post Aug 5 2005, 12:44 AM

137 posts

Just wondering anyone going to the Asian Game Developers Summit?

http://www.agdsummit.com/
Hunt
post Aug 6 2005, 12:08 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(johnnycp @ Aug 6 2005, 12:05 AM)
For the new DoW expansion, u need:
-Dual G-force 7800GTX SLI mode
-Athlon64-X2 4800+
-2GB Ram
-400GB free harddisk space
- and of course the original copy of DoW
Is this the specs released from Relic or your own dream gaming rig johnnycp. biggrin.gif
Hunt
post Aug 6 2005, 10:29 PM

137 posts

Why is the specs so high????.
I wont be able to play online then. Feel like wanna cry.
Hunt
post Aug 9 2005, 09:40 AM

137 posts

Well everyone has the right to have a dream rig. Too bad its not possible to make the dream come true all the time.

Wanted to ask you guys, what do you guys think of getting an alienware comp?
Ever wondered how DOW would run on alienware?
I bet it would be so realistic.

I really hope one day, hollywood would make a movie of warhammer. Especially with the story about the horus heresy.
Hunt
post Aug 10 2005, 11:19 AM

137 posts

I cant wait for WA to come out. Im really waiting to see the new additions to the Ork race and praying they have done some good balancing this time around.

Well watching those IG units salute their commander as he runs by is something seriously cool. Watching the units breathe is great as well.

Well just reading the latest update in gamespot about WA and seeing how their strat is slightly like the Orks, i wonder if that was a good move. hmmm......
Hunt
post Aug 11 2005, 10:17 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(johnnycp @ Aug 10 2005, 12:22 PM)
There is a rumour that the orks' techtree will be
totally new.

imperial guard is a defensive race with lots of reinforce bunker
and u can ocupy the bunker with ur infrantry and shoot from inside
Oh man, i really hope they dont kill the Ork race by doing some weird techtree. The Orks have suffered enough. Hope could relic make a race which dominates three quarters of the galaxy into the most bullied race?

QUOTE(JonyFinger @ Aug 10 2005, 12:34 PM)
IG sounds like China Infantry from CnC:ZH...tongue.gif
Well they are supposed to function like that.

QUOTE(johnnycp @ Aug 10 2005, 05:16 PM)
IG is something like Red Army if u read the story

IG guardsmen only have light weapons and flak jackets.
They have only an option which is Kill or Die.
there is no retreat for them.
Well i think the IG in WA will have slightly stronger weapons or they would have to solely rely on their tanks to advance into enemy territories.

Well i just want relic to give this game the chance to be great.

Hunt
post Aug 15 2005, 07:33 PM

137 posts

pre-order.......

waiting for the release date is giving me the gitters.

hehehe
Hunt
post Aug 18 2005, 02:35 PM

137 posts

and i guess you'll be the glorious SMs, isnt it johnnycp ?

17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1961sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:54 PM