Photography Fujifilm FinePix X100 & X100S, Newly Released X100S Available Now!
seech
Mar 2 2013, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(Qool @ Mar 2 2013, 02:02 PM) What worries me now is the lack of a proper method to attach a filter. From someone who owns a dslr, this is kinda worrying as the camera's only lens is built in. Anything happened to it is a nail in the coffin. Either i buy the Fuji adaptor (expensive) to attach a 49mm filter or do the double filter method by sacrificing 1 filter and remove its glass then screwing 1 at the other end. Funny thing though, i cant seem to unscrew the front ring open to test out. its very very tight without any grip. Any advice? Buy the JJC adapter and hood from eBay. Quality is pretty good. So far so good with mine. This post has been edited by seech: Mar 2 2013, 03:05 PM
Qool
Mar 2 2013, 05:09 PM

Is that the original one from Fuji? And how much is it? By putting that up I think it's big enough and not fitting into the leather case, correct?
bem69
Mar 2 2013, 08:29 PM
Yes, its not possible to fit it into the leather case once a filter or hood is placed.
bem69
Mar 2 2013, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(bem69 @ Mar 2 2013, 08:29 PM) Yes, its not possible to fit it into the leather case once a filter or hood is placed. Man, I think I will get the S. Faster focus means better to get my son's photos.
seech
Mar 2 2013, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(Qool @ Mar 2 2013, 05:09 PM) Is that the original one from Fuji? And how much is it? By putting that up I think it's big enough and not fitting into the leather case, correct? Ori fr Fuji very expensive. JJC is a high quality unofficial adapter and hood. It's very nice. Color about the same as the X100. Unfortunately can only use bottom of leather case as you can't close the top part with the adapter.
dancingchicken
Mar 2 2013, 08:58 PM
got a new fuji x100 quite cheap from tarita last weekend for rm2450(with 8GB and leather case). I add a fiber glass screen protector(rm50) and a 3rd party battery(rm90) which makes the total rm2590 loving it so far! AF speed is not a problem for me, its just that I need to use macro for close up photo here are some sample shot http://www.flickr.com/photos/49715123@N02/8519931667/ http://www.flickr.com/photos/49715123@N02/8519931021/This post has been edited by dancingchicken: Mar 2 2013, 09:06 PM
Volkswagen2
Mar 2 2013, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(Qool @ Mar 2 2013, 02:02 PM) sure thing, i bought it from Excel photo Penang. They gave a very nice price of just below RM3.5k, with standard package (8GB SD card and Fujifilm leather case). I traded in for 16GB sanddisk extreme by topping up RM50. So the X100S with standard 8GB SD card and Fuji leather case is RM34**, I presume after discount. May I ask if there is only one option in finish(silver/black) or the X100S comes in all-black as well? The last time I read the new X100S now comes with both silver/black and all-black as standard, and there is no additional charge for the all-black unlike the additional premium charged for the X100 Limited edition Black.
Qool
Mar 2 2013, 10:31 PM

QUOTE(Volkswagen2 @ Mar 2 2013, 09:52 PM) So the X100S with standard 8GB SD card and Fuji leather case is RM34**, I presume after discount. May I ask if there is only one option in finish(silver/black) or the X100S comes in all-black as well? The last time I read the new X100S now comes with both silver/black and all-black as standard, and there is no additional charge for the all-black unlike the additional premium charged for the X100 Limited edition Black. To be honest, I didn't ask as I didn't really care for the black version. I just called them up, they confirmed stocks are in, I just reserved a unit and grabbed it immediately after work.  Actually, didn't read that Fujifilm has released any full black version for now, or was there? A few shots I've taken...   Still reading and exploring... something tells me, I'm gonna love it more and more as I get used to the handling.
bem69
Mar 2 2013, 10:59 PM
Wow, what's your thoughts on the focus speed?
Everdying
Mar 3 2013, 07:13 AM
Two is One and One is None.
seech
Mar 3 2013, 08:32 AM
AF speed seems to bad a major concern for all prospective X100 owners....
The X100 uses contrast detect AF which means that the camera will have to hunt back and forth to determine when the focus gives the highest contract which would indicate that it is in focus. All contrast detect cameras do this so it will inherently be slower than the Phase Detect AF on DSLR's which work continually. The X100s is a hybrid phase and contrast detect.... Not sure how it works or how well it works either.
But the point is. The X100 will never challenge a DSLR for focusing speed and it has never affected my use and enjoyment of the camera. Granted on the earlier firmware there was a lot of hunting especially in low light but now I don't even notice.
The X100 still is a great camera! Lovely, lovely Fuji color, very good at high ISO and pretty sharp.
AF? Don't worry so much about it.....
seech
Mar 3 2013, 08:34 AM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 3 2013, 07:13 AM) Wah.... Official price for X100s is only RM2988!!!!
Volkswagen2
Mar 3 2013, 08:43 AM
Thanks for providing the link.
If RM2988 is official retail price, then street price in the shops will be even slightly lower. Seems like the price of the X100S is even lower than US retail price($1200). Sounds great.
Surprisingly the X20's price is still following the US market price.
This post has been edited by Volkswagen2: Mar 3 2013, 08:44 AM
Qool
Mar 3 2013, 09:07 AM

QUOTE(bem69 @ Mar 2 2013, 10:59 PM) Wow, what's your thoughts on the focus speed? well to be honest, I think the focusing feels fast. On par with my D90 I would say but sometimes there's definitely some hunting going on, particularly on high contrast area which is natural. other than that, having not used a X100 before, I could not do any comparison but given the technology of phase + contrast, i would like to think it's definitely faster than its predecessor.
sanik
Mar 3 2013, 10:10 AM

QUOTE(Qool @ Mar 3 2013, 09:32 AM) went out for some morning action today...   Its truly stunning
seech
Mar 3 2013, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(Volkswagen2 @ Mar 3 2013, 08:43 AM) Thanks for providing the link. If RM2988 is official retail price, then street price in the shops will be even slightly lower. Seems like the price of the X100S is even lower than US retail price($1200). Sounds great. Surprisingly the X20's price is still following the US market price. Definitely typo leh. Should be RM3988.
lamjunrong
Mar 3 2013, 01:12 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(dancingchicken @ Mar 2 2013, 08:58 PM) got a new fuji x100 quite cheap from tarita last weekend for rm2450(with 8GB and leather case). I add a fiber glass screen protector(rm50) and a 3rd party battery(rm90) which makes the total rm2590 loving it so far! AF speed is not a problem for me, its just that I need to use macro for close up photo here are some sample shot http://www.flickr.com/photos/49715123@N02/8519931667/ http://www.flickr.com/photos/49715123@N02/8519931021/haha! another X100 user..welcome! Cheese! by Junrong LuLu, on Flickr Link-ing by Junrong LuLu, on Flickr
sanik
Mar 3 2013, 01:30 PM

QUOTE(lamjunrong @ Mar 3 2013, 01:12 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
haha! another X100 user..welcome! Cheese! by Junrong LuLu, on Flickr Link-ing by Junrong LuLu, on Flickr you do BW conversion in camera or PS?
velma
Mar 3 2013, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(Qool @ Mar 3 2013, 09:32 AM) went out for some morning action today...   wonderful