108 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Bottom

Photography Fujifilm FinePix X100 & X100S, Newly Released X100S Available Now!

Masculine
post May 24 2012, 09:12 PM

1,282 posts

QUOTE('62jaguar @ May 24 2012, 08:57 AM)
if I were buying a 2nd hand x100 unit...what should I look for during testing?
thanks in advance
This what I did a month ago..... I didn't really understand SAB (sticky aperture blade) issue... I COD at night.. so tested inside McD which was low light..
So the effect of SAB was not pronounced in low light.. the next morning, I realized something was wrong. The exposure was here and there.. mostly over exposed.
Luckily, the X100 unit was 11 months old.. still got 1 month warranty left... Sent to Fujifilm in JB. It took them 1 month to return to me with the lens assembly
replaced. Now, the X100 is a gem.... the cost of lens replacement is RM1065.... So better look for in warranty used unit... sweat.gif

I think the best way to test is to shoot in aperture mode and set aperture at f16. Then shoot at bright object and see if the resulting photo is not overexpose.

Just my 2 cent... whistling.gif

hidden830726
post May 25 2012, 12:15 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

Imo, this camera is just a bit risky buying second hand, in the end i opt to buy new one, because this camera really have a string of issues but luckily Fuji cust service seems to be good enough.

So, if buy second hand, imo 1st criteria is the warranty.
Spad3
post May 25 2012, 01:05 AM

24 posts

Hi guys, is the sab issue fixed after send it for repair? I mean really fixed. Anyone happed to get it twice? Not worth if after warranty period and have to bare the cost of replacement.
bem69
post May 25 2012, 10:28 AM

K-Bem
2,660 posts

QUOTE(Spad3 @ May 25 2012, 01:05 AM)
Hi guys, is the sab issue fixed after send it for repair? I mean really fixed. Anyone happed to get it twice? Not worth if after warranty period and have to bare the cost of replacement.
It is possible to get it twice, but by now I think they should have weeded out the faulty lens assembly. I got a replacement unit and the new batches (21M.. and above) should not have the problem.
'62jaguar
post May 25 2012, 11:23 AM

564 posts

thanks all for the input...

for the x100 with SAB issue, the camera still useable rite? apperature only stuck at f2...meaning shoot at wide open?
leonghan
post May 25 2012, 11:36 AM

440 posts

any of you guys here using Artisan strap ???
widget
post May 25 2012, 11:48 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(leonghan @ May 25 2012, 11:36 AM)
any of you guys here using Artisan strap ???
I'm using A&A 103N... Infact I have 2 coz 1 is for the X100, and another 1 for NEX7.
I like it so much as easy to adjust the stap length and the cotton material is soft and felt comfortable on the neck
gerrard87
post May 25 2012, 11:52 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(widget @ May 25 2012, 11:48 AM)
I'm using A&A 103N... Infact I have 2 coz 1 is for the X100, and another 1 for NEX7.
I like it so much as easy to adjust the stap length and the cotton material is soft and felt comfortable on the neck
how much and where u got it?? and i also think that x100 ori strap a bit hard and not comfortable on the neck...

This post has been edited by gerrard87: May 25 2012, 11:53 AM
bem69
post May 25 2012, 12:00 PM

K-Bem
2,660 posts

QUOTE('62jaguar @ May 25 2012, 11:23 AM)
thanks all for the input...

for the x100 with SAB issue, the camera still useable rite? apperature only stuck at f2...meaning shoot at wide open?
Yes, wide open only, which limits the camera heavily...
'62jaguar
post May 25 2012, 12:15 PM

564 posts

QUOTE(bem69 @ May 25 2012, 12:00 PM)
Yes, wide open only, which limits the camera heavily...
at f2, x100 max shutter speed is 1/1000?
yes, if stuck only f2 not so good oso... hmm.gif
hidden830726
post May 25 2012, 12:36 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

Solution is to use the nd filter if u need faster than 1/1000 or to remain F2 bokehlicius
bem69
post May 25 2012, 12:41 PM

K-Bem
2,660 posts

being stuck at F2, macro shots look blurry.
hidden830726
post May 25 2012, 12:45 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

This camera a bit hard to macro. Either u go into macro mode or manually focus using the focus button.
widget
post May 25 2012, 02:35 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(gerrard87 @ May 25 2012, 11:52 AM)
how much and where u got it?? and i also think that x100 ori strap a bit hard and not comfortable on the neck...
I bought mine in SG for S$85/each
gerrard87
post May 25 2012, 03:27 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(widget @ May 25 2012, 02:35 PM)
I bought mine in SG for S$85/each
i was saw it in avenue K there. cost about RM200++. so expensive huh... hmm.gif
samsungfreak
post May 25 2012, 04:03 PM

Also a PanasonicFreak
816 posts

QUOTE(Masculine @ May 24 2012, 09:12 PM)
This what I did a month ago..... I didn't really understand SAB (sticky aperture blade) issue... I COD at night.. so tested inside McD which was low light..
So the effect of SAB was not pronounced in low light.. the next morning, I realized something was wrong.  The exposure was here and there.. mostly over exposed.
Luckily, the X100 unit was 11 months old.. still got 1 month warranty left...  Sent to Fujifilm in JB.  It took them 1 month to return to me with the lens assembly
replaced.  Now, the X100 is a gem.... the cost of lens replacement is RM1065.... So better look for in warranty used unit... sweat.gif

I think the best way to test is to shoot in aperture mode and set aperture at f16.  Then shoot at bright object and see if the resulting photo is not overexpose.

Just my 2 cent... whistling.gif
One have to understand that the maximum shutter speed for X100 when using f2.0 is only 1/1000s! For comparison most mirrorless can go 2 stop faster to 1/4000s and SLR can go to 1/8000s. And most mirrorless and SLR kit lenses can open up to f3.5 only. With X100, most people like to shoot at f2.0 day time and got lots of overexposure photos. You have to turn on the build in ND filter when shooting in bright day light. Even with ND filter, you may still hit the overexposure limit that means you need to stop down to f2.8 or f4.0.

But since Fuji replace the lens for you, they must have believe there are some physical problem with your X100 too. sad.gif

Again, X100 doesn't have good 2nd hand value so it is deemed as expensive "toy". It has good glass and sensor but "toy" build. The same with X Pro1. Just look at the build quality of the original X100 strap (and compare that to the box). Haha.
leonghan
post May 25 2012, 04:09 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(samsungfreak @ May 25 2012, 04:03 PM)
One have to understand that the maximum shutter speed for X100 when using f2.0 is only 1/1000s! For comparison most mirrorless can go 2 stop faster to 1/4000s and SLR can go to 1/8000s. And most mirrorless and SLR kit lenses can open up to f3.5 only. With X100, most people like to shoot at f2.0 day time and got lots of overexposure photos.  You have to turn on the build in ND filter when shooting in bright day light. Even with ND filter, you may still hit the overexposure limit that means you need to stop down to f2.8 or f4.0.

But since Fuji replace the lens for you, they must have believe there are some physical problem with your X100 too. sad.gif

Again, X100 doesn't have good 2nd hand value so it is deemed as expensive "toy". It has good glass and sensor but "toy" build. The same with X Pro1. Just look at the build quality of the original X100 strap (and compare that to the box). Haha.
talk about 2nd hand value...any idea of a 2 months unit with everythg in box??
treflip
post May 25 2012, 08:43 PM

712 posts

Here's examples of shots from my Fuji X100:

_DSF0770 by A-FIQSTER, on Flickr
user posted image[/url]
Day Dreamin' by A-FIQSTER, on Flickr
_DSF1004 by A-FIQSTER, on Flickr