128 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Primitive Fish, Fish that survived Milleniums

sheahann
post Dec 8 2010, 05:55 PM

Crashing like a tidal wave..
2,263 posts

QUOTE(mollymurder @ Dec 8 2010, 05:04 PM)
better not to deepfried that fish..boney as hell..
ppl say make fish ball .. we go steam .. i eat 1 spoon i no touch ad ..
hahaha
btw fishing kena this big fish really nice .. alot of ppl come and see and took pic.haha
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 9 2010, 11:41 PM

325 posts

Devillsin
post Dec 10 2010, 12:30 AM

17 posts

nice pima pimpin.how much was the damage to the walllet and wht setup you planning on raising it in while its small ?
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 10 2010, 12:34 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(Devillsin @ Dec 10 2010, 12:30 AM)
nice pima pimpin.how much was the damage to the walllet and wht setup you planning on raising it in while its small ?
Contact ggMing for prices. The fishes are at his shop for the meantime and once they've grown a few more inches then I'll pick-up.
SAMPERTH
post Dec 10 2010, 05:29 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(PIMPIN @ Dec 10 2010, 12:41 AM)
I guess its their season now !! I think this year is a bumper year for them (Arapaima) as I see them @ lelong price on my wholesaler list !!

tony05
post Dec 12 2010, 03:07 AM

60 posts

It this primitive fish too .. Here are some exotic pleco brows.gif
ggMing
post Dec 12 2010, 01:00 PM

535 posts

GOD DAMN THE SUTTONI!!!!! drooling!!!!

Added on December 12, 2010, 1:03 pmbuaya ku..... soon to be mine... 3 kaki babe!!!

and yah, i dont care if u got red aro, gold helmet xback or others.... but do you have an australian aro with pink spots? coz i do!!

This post has been edited by ggMing: Dec 12 2010, 01:06 PM

ggMing
post Dec 12 2010, 01:12 PM

535 posts

and i dont care if you have seen or kept walking fish before... but i have the rarest of all, the harlequin/gold variation

camillenoir
post Dec 12 2010, 01:38 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(ggMing @ Dec 12 2010, 01:12 PM)
and i dont care if you have seen or kept walking fish before... but i have the rarest of all, the harlequin/gold variation
f****ng poisoning.

but bro, fyi, according to Section 12 of Act 686 under the Laws of Malaysia, you should care wink.gif
TSBenSow
post Dec 12 2010, 02:07 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

the SUTTONI so beautiful wei o.o

this thread is freaking poisoning.. tongue.gif

I saw 6 arapaimas with the biggest at around 3+ meters i think... but poor thing was in a big pond... but water level cant even cover its whole body...

saw at yong peng express bus stop at johor... have quite some monster fish there.. pacus, 3ft long RTC... etc
akidos
post Dec 12 2010, 03:40 PM

606 posts

ah ... i saw the 2 pimas at ggming's shop.

i super minat his albino mexican walking fish .

TSBenSow
post Dec 12 2010, 04:55 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

also known as axolotl right?
akidos
post Dec 12 2010, 05:05 PM

606 posts

yerp ....
ggMing
post Dec 12 2010, 05:06 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Dec 12 2010, 01:38 PM)
f****ng poisoning.

but bro, fyi, according to Section 12 of Act 686 under the Laws of Malaysia, you should care  wink.gif
i got invoice for supplier, if kena, its not my prob, supplier should care... im just seling what they can supply/// hehehh bu tthanks bro for the heads up
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 13 2010, 04:22 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Dec 12 2010, 02:07 PM)
the SUTTONI so beautiful wei o.o

this thread is freaking poisoning.. tongue.gif

I saw 6 arapaimas with the biggest at around 3+ meters i think... but poor thing was in a big pond... but water level cant even cover its whole body...

saw at yong peng express bus stop at johor... have quite some monster fish there.. pacus, 3ft long RTC... etc
Bro, the poor thing was in a big pond but for some reason water level cant even cover its whole body? Then how exactly is it a big pond in the first place LOL

Anyways, did you get any pics? Like whose pond is it and who maintains/feeds/etc?

QUOTE(akidos @ Dec 12 2010, 03:40 PM)
ah ... i saw the 2 pimas at ggming's shop.

i super minat his albino mexican walking fish .
I saw one Mamak fishing around for Arapaimas marked 'Sold' at ggMing's shop tongue.gif

Nice to meet you; probably be seeing more of you in future LOL

QUOTE(ggMing @ Dec 12 2010, 05:06 PM)
i got invoice for supplier, if kena, its not my prob, supplier should care... im just seling what they can supply/// hehehh bu tthanks bro for the heads up
Actually you only need to have a photocopy of the import permit and basically keep it as record. That's all the law requires of you. The guy who imported it or any other animal listed in CITES appendices is the one responsible for obtaining relevant permits and providing copies to all subsequent buyers.

The real danger is Act 76 of the Wildlife Protection Act 1972; Act 686 covers mostly international trade of CITES listed animals. Since yours is not listed under Act 76 you really have nothing to worry about because although its unlikely that its bred locally; Act 686 applies to the actual fish that is imported. If someone managed to breed them and yours is the offspring then technically it doesn't fall under either of the Act.

Anyways, the chances of you getting into trouble for it is less than nil.
camillenoir
post Dec 13 2010, 08:50 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(PIMPIN @ Dec 13 2010, 04:22 AM)
The real danger is Act 76 of the Wildlife Protection Act 1972; Act 686 covers mostly international trade of CITES listed animals. Since yours is not listed under Act 76 you really have nothing to worry about because although its unlikely that its bred locally; Act 686 applies to the actual fish that is imported. If someone managed to breed them and yours is the offspring then technically it doesn't fall under either of the Act.

now that's a discussion.

according to section 14 of act 686, technically, locally, captive bred offspring of any scheduled animals are still considered illegal unless the breeding efforts are registered with the management authority (in the case of amphibians, the the Department of Wildlife. last time i checked, there are no records of axolotl breeder at Perhilitan), in which needed animals to come with CITES documents and import permit for any consideration to taken. all records of stocks and transactions needed to be strictly maintained, e.g., if sold to someone, that someone must be able to apply for a keeping permit from the respective authority based on the records/receipts/documents provided by the seller.

earlier this year, keepers of undocumented animals that were scheduled under Act 686 that hasn't already been scheduled in Act 76 were given a grace period, in which many of us had taken the opportunity to declare each and every specimens that falls under Act 686, and applied for a special permission. the special permission also applies for those animals that originally came with CITES permit but in which owners had neglected to apply for a permit before.

some of the keepers in Klang Valley had already got their special permission, but the application seems pending for keepers from other areas and for those with a big collection.

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Dec 13 2010, 09:21 AM
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 13 2010, 09:35 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Dec 13 2010, 08:50 AM)
now that's a discussion.

according to section 14 of act 686, technically, captive bred offspring of any scheduled animals are still considered illegal unless the breeding efforts are registered with the management authority (in the case of amphibians, the Department of Wildlife. last time i checked, there are no records of axolotl breeder at Perhilitan), in which needed animals to come with CITES documents and import permit for any consideration to taken. all records of stocks and transactions needed to be strictly maintained, e.g., if sold to someone, that someone must be able to apply for a keeping permit from the respective authority based on the records/receipts/documents provided by the seller.

earlier this year, keepers of undocumented animals that were scheduled under Act 686 that hasn't already been scheduled in Act 76 were given a grace period, in which many of us had taken the opportunity to declare each and every specimens that falls under Act 686, and applied for a special permission. the special permission also applies for those animals that originally came with CITES permit but in which owners had neglected to apply for a permit before.

some of the keepers in Klang Valley had already got their special permission, but the application seems pending for keepers from other areas and for those with a big collection.
Well if its in Appendix 1 of CITES meaning you need special import permit right? Ok that's what I understand so far. Let's say someone imported some and they mated and I end up with one of the offspring. Technically, it's not imported nor is it really breeding. It's just animals mating. Does everyone with a CITES pet inform authorities each time their pets mate?

Plus, what if that pet is not listed under Act 76 in Jadual 1 nor Jadual 2? Should the issue of applying for permits to possess, etc even arise as its neither a Binatang-Binatang Yang Diperlindungi Sepenuhnya nor is it a Binatang-Binatang Yang Diperlindungi?.

And lastly, what if its again not listed in Third Schedule of Act 686? From what I understand, this grace period you mentioned covers those animals on that list so if a pet isn't listed then how is it relevant?

Thanks in advance.
camillenoir
post Dec 13 2010, 10:37 AM

373 posts

i'll try to provide answers based on my understanding and experiences. if there are flaws/things that needed to be pointed out by others, i sincerely welcome them to further enhance our understanding in this matter. i would also like to point out that i only have experiences dealing with the Wildlife Department and that i know nuts about the operations of Fisheries Department. (INTESA is governed by several authorities under the Ministry of Natural Resources, each with their own jurisdictions).

QUOTE(PIMPIN @ Dec 13 2010, 09:35 AM)
Well if its in Appendix 1 of CITES meaning you need special import permit right? Ok that's what I understand so far. Let's say someone imported some and they mated and I end up with one of the offspring. Technically, it's not imported nor is it really breeding. It's just animals mating. Does everyone with a CITES pet inform authorities each time their pets mate?
yes. that's what we had all been doing so far. all scheduled animals bred in captivity needed to be reported immediately. provided there are evidences to support the claim - eggshells, the offspring itself, usually the Wildlife Department are not that stringent unless they have reasonable doubts to suspect that the applicant is not sincere etc (e.g. trying to unlawfully produce for commercial purposes, etc)

Plus, what if that pet is not listed under Act 76 in Jadual 1 nor Jadual 2? Should the issue of applying for permits to  possess, etc even arise as its neither a Binatang-Binatang Yang Diperlindungi Sepenuhnya nor is it a Binatang-Binatang Yang Diperlindungi?.
yes, even though the animals are not listed under Act 76, permits are needed if they are listed under CITES.

example: as we know it, Act 76 is so outdated that not a single tortoise is included, but still, we have got to apply for a permit to keep these animals.

scheduled animals that are imported through proper channels come with CITES record etc. the record would be used to apply for a permit from the Department of Wildlife (in which they will match the details provided by the applicants with the importation, trading, etc records they have before issuing the permit).

And lastly, what if its again not listed in Third Schedule of Act 686? From what I understand, this grace period you mentioned covers those animals on that list so if a pet isn't listed then how is it relevant?

the grace period only covered animals are listed under act 686 but not pre-existing acts/ordinance,

eg.

if those animals are listed under previous acts/ordinance but not Act 686, it is then subjected to existing laws.

if those animals are listed under previous acts/ordinance and Act 686, the grace period did not cover them as well because they are subjected to existing law.

but, if the animals are not listed under any Acts, then you should have no worries though. smile.gif

--------------------------------------------------------------------

as for the provisions of captive bred animals stated by CITES - well, it ain't captive bred unless there are proper records showing that it is captive bred. there is one interesting case that happen in the US a few days ago involving the genus Brachypelma. prior to this, everybody had been saying that no authorities give a damn about some insignificant arachnids and pointed out the fact their animals are CB animals obtained from reputable breeders, but since the apprehension of one very reputable breeder involving captive bred animals, most clients of the said offender had been denying all ties with him and even condemned him for what he's doing doh.gif

it is sad to see good, passionate men being punished for doing the things they love the most. i'm not being anal or anything, but i think it is better to not take insignificant things for granted. therefore, if there are animals that needed to pointed out in case the owner hasn't realized its status, i will point it out but it is up to the owner to do whatever he sees fit. smile.gif

TSBenSow
post Dec 13 2010, 01:45 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

QUOTE(PIMPIN @ Dec 13 2010, 04:22 AM)
Bro, the poor thing was in a big pond but for some reason water level cant even cover its whole body? Then how exactly is it a big pond in the first place LOL

Anyways, did you get any pics? Like whose pond is it and who maintains/feeds/etc?
I saw one Mamak fishing around for Arapaimas marked 'Sold' at ggMing's shop  tongue.gif

Nice to meet you; probably be seeing more of you in future LOL
Actually you only need to have a photocopy of the import permit and basically keep it as record. That's all the law requires of you. The guy who imported it or any other animal listed in CITES appendices is the one responsible for obtaining relevant permits and providing copies to all subsequent buyers.

I'll see if I have pics.. about the pond... Big area.. but not deep enough... 1st time i ever seen a pima that huge
[PIMPIN]
post Dec 13 2010, 10:59 PM

325 posts

camillenoir - totally understand your point of view but to me so long as there are idiots smuggling out wildlife in socks packed in suitcases if I was in enforcement I'd go after those people all out.

128 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:41 PM