79 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

HTC Desire Z is launched!, Finally out at Maxis!

spunkberry
post Dec 25 2010, 09:56 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Dec 25 2010, 12:02 AM)
all rite, it's normal for stuffs today to be made of plastic. plastic also has level of toughness and durability.

the most important thing is, does the hinge on desire z is loose that looks like a defect?
FOR goodness sake I don't know how many times I've said that it's NOT A DEFECT. I don't even need to adapt the way I hold it the way DJFoo just demonstrated ... and I doubt you'll ever have to unless you decide you want to text while lying down

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Dec 25 2010, 09:57 PM
jaylatias
post Dec 25 2010, 10:32 PM

36 posts

I've been using Desire Z for one month. Even though the hinge is quite loose, it NEVER pose a problem to me even if it's in my pocket.
boris
post Dec 25 2010, 10:49 PM

you bastard~!!
955 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Dec 25 2010, 07:19 PM)
Any maxis MEP around PJ has a demo unit? sad.gif
I think Sunway still have the demo unit. thumbup.gif

Off topic - Sifu, I wanna get screen protector from you. PM me where can COD?
irenic
post Dec 25 2010, 11:51 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Dec 25 2010, 03:20 PM)
i dunno how many times i've mentioned this, but HTC specifically replied to SlashGear that the stiffness of the spring in the hinge was a design intent.

http://www.slashgear.com/htc-desire-z-review-02111799/

A flawed design? Maybe, but definitely not something they are going to change. There're tutorials in XDA about taking the hinge apart and stiffening the spring, if you're interested :-)

And normally ppl don't play with their phone while having it inclined to the vertical like that. It hurts the eye.

The hinge won't open without external forces that easily one.
the 2nd method of holding desire z is the way everyone should hold a slide phone.. i dunno.. but that's the way i hold my tytn2, n900 and milestone in the past.. so i guess it's more to problem with people looking for perfection rather than problem from the phone itself.

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Dec 25 2010, 09:56 PM)
FOR goodness sake I don't know how many times I've said that it's NOT A DEFECT. I don't even need to adapt the way I hold it the way DJFoo just demonstrated ... and I doubt you'll ever have to unless you decide you want to text while lying down
FOR goodness sake it doesnt matter. and i never say it's a defect. lol..

This post has been edited by irenic: Dec 25 2010, 11:54 PM
boris
post Dec 26 2010, 01:09 AM

you bastard~!!
955 posts

Guys, when can we have official thread? I'm still newbie, else I have started it.
beyond430
post Dec 26 2010, 02:34 AM

-----
1,325 posts

if buy via maxis 2 years contract, still need to update warranty at HTC site?
Joker87
post Dec 26 2010, 02:49 AM

607 posts

wrong thread ... sorry

This post has been edited by Joker87: Dec 26 2010, 02:51 AM
jaylatias
post Dec 26 2010, 10:33 AM

36 posts

To all DZ owners, have you all received the 1.72.405.2 system update? It says it has camera features and system improvement but I don't see any much difference though. blink.gif But that update cripple my swype and I have to reinstall it twice only it's back to functioning -.-"

Oh ya but obviously, it's not gingerbread update tongue.gif The android version is only updated to 2.2.1.

This post has been edited by jaylatias: Dec 26 2010, 10:33 AM
spunkberry
post Dec 26 2010, 01:37 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Dec 25 2010, 10:51 AM)
FOR goodness sake it doesnt matter. and i never say it's a defect. lol..
no, but we've had way too many people ask about whether the hinge "seems like a defect". It isn't.
coolxcool
post Dec 26 2010, 04:08 PM

seems like not many people own this phone yet.. sad.gif

finally encountered my first short coming of this phone...the GPS just decided to stop working ...dunno what's wrong but it just won't sync the satellite signal.

I wanna cry edy... anyone had this problem or better..fixed it?
DJFoo000
post Dec 26 2010, 04:40 PM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

lol just restart the GPS. Or reboot the phone. Or wait a while longer. It took longer to get a lock on my phone today too.

Not gonna get the 1.72 update coz i'm on CM 6.1.1. Do not update if you intend to root the phone coz currently 1.72 is unrootable.

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Dec 26 2010, 04:40 PM
coolxcool
post Dec 26 2010, 04:44 PM

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Dec 26 2010, 04:40 PM)
lol just restart the GPS. Or reboot the phone. Or wait a while longer. It took longer to get a lock on my phone today too.

Not gonna get the 1.72 update coz i'm on CM 6.1.1. Do not update if you intend to root the phone coz currently 1.72 is unrootable.
tried all... and i waited for like...30 minutes.....still not getting signal...OMG..

btw, how u restart GPS only apart from rebooting?

This post has been edited by coolxcool: Dec 26 2010, 04:46 PM
DJFoo000
post Dec 26 2010, 04:47 PM

3,000 posts

go download GPS Test. See if it detects any surrounding satelites. Just tried GPS Test, got a coordinate lock within 20 seconds, in my room.

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Dec 26 2010, 04:53 PM
coolxcool
post Dec 26 2010, 04:50 PM

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Dec 26 2010, 04:47 PM)
go download GPS Test. See if it detects any surrounding satelites. Just tried GPS Test, got a coordinate lock within 20 minutes, in my room.
THanks so much!.I did download that software, just not confident that it would solve my problem.

BUT at least i know you fixed yours - so i still have hope.. all is not lost nod.gif
DJFoo000
post Dec 26 2010, 04:54 PM

3,000 posts

^no it won't solve your problem. It will tell you if the GPS chip is detecting any satellites. If it's not, then got prob. If can detect, then you might want to let it run a while to get a lock.
coolxcool
post Dec 26 2010, 05:13 PM

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Dec 26 2010, 04:54 PM)
^no it won't solve your problem. It will tell you if the GPS chip is detecting any satellites. If it's not, then got prob. If can detect, then you might want to let it run a while to get a lock.
Thanks to your advise, my GPS is now back on... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

I guess i was too anxious and impatient when it stopped working.

I let my phone sit in front of my room window and hope that it sync...ALAS.. after 15 mins! i am seeing sunshine again..

Thank you thank you!!
DJFoo000
post Dec 26 2010, 05:43 PM

3,000 posts

I really don't know what's the fun with Quadrant scores, but

Overclocked to 1.2Ghz
Average 22 FPS when rendering the double helix

Tuned back to 800Mhz
Average 16 FPS when rendering the double helix

The increase in score is about the Quadrant score of an X10...
thumbup.gif

Any sifus passing by can tell about processor profiling? Using CPU Tuner. Want to save battery when screen off and have better performance when playing games.

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Dec 26 2010, 05:44 PM
spunkberry
post Dec 27 2010, 12:24 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

in short, my phone is amazing lolol
imjoejack
post Dec 27 2010, 07:47 AM

Purchased Desire Z at Sunway Pyramid Maxis Roadshow Thursday 16th Dec 2010 morning. Was Customer #1 on that day. the promoters didn't even have the spec sheet for Desire Z yet. 1st time experience with Android, not as idiot proof as Iphone4. I prefer the Android for the widgets and range of settings possible. Also ability to download and install apks. only -ve comment is that the Desire Z heats up when using Wifi. And I still need to learn how to extend battery life.
michael9413
post Dec 27 2010, 09:24 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

all smartphone battery barely last 1 day if your usage is heavy...

79 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:05 AM