HTC HD2 : Users on Android

enCORe
post Sep 9 2011, 08:51 PM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

Advise to install official rom before they excuse anything

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Sep 9 2011, 07:29 PM)
My HTC HD2 Touchscreen finally died after exactly 1 years 1 week.. (today)

Going to PDAGadgets to claim warranty, as they have 15 month warranty..

when I bought the phone la st year they say no warranty for the software, just the hardware.. (means they dont care what's inside the phone)

so no need to flash back stock ROM?

I am on Energy ROM
enCORe
post Sep 12 2011, 09:03 AM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

The permanent way it flashing MAGLDR to call android from Nand.

QUOTE(ZizOu @ Sep 12 2011, 01:47 AM)
noob question..i'm new hd 2 user. i successfully install android on my hd2 but after i reboot it will back to window mobile..how to make it permenant because i dont like wm
Perhaps dual boot and hacking wannabe wink.gif

But the truth is HD2 is among cheaper way to get Android , WP7. You can use winmo + Garmin XT (the best navi) with safe way to dual android (via sd haret launcher). In between specs to HTC Desire or Evo for Android; & similar to HTC HD7 for Windows Phones. Alots easier than natives Android flashing, no s off thing or be specific radio for rom, & most rom is root ready . Once MAGLDR installed, its failproof for noobiem, very safe to install and easily recovered when 'bricked'

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Sep 12 2011, 03:25 AM)
Curious question,why did you buy HD2 if you don't like WM?
Isn't it better if you just buy a Android device?
This post has been edited by enCORe: Sep 12 2011, 09:05 AM
enCORe
post Sep 14 2011, 11:29 AM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

Try asking Fastech @ lelong, previously success replace my XDA o2 Flame crack screen,

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Sep 12 2011, 09:06 PM)
I have read thread at this forum on how bad is PDAGadgets, I think will send at another shop to repair..

Recommend me a good phone shop around Ampang / KL.. will HTC itself accept and repair the phone if I were to pay them?

and the touchscreen is not fully faulty, 1 minute can use, the next minute cant, then can, then cant.. haiyoyo
enCORe
post Sep 16 2011, 07:14 PM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

Lotsa Android rom on HD2 has LED issue, try LEDmeknow for enabling compatible mode

QUOTE(Niv86 @ Sep 15 2011, 05:28 AM)
just flashed my hd2 to Miui 1.9.9 2.3.5 sd build ROM.
somehow my LED flash cant work.

i sent for repair my digitizer earlier....is it possible to affected the LED or is OS problem?

any expert can help?
enCORe
post Sep 20 2011, 09:19 AM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

Niv86
Missing icon indicator mean your rom might has problem,
When using LEDmeknow the program extend notification with compatible mode, u can also control the LED blink speed

My fella HD2 users;
In recent news, HD2 rom developmend rapidly increasing due to Haldric graphics glithes FIXED for Ginger-Sense rom. Now we have HTC Sensation rom with Sense 3.0; HTC Bliss with Sense 3.5 rom and 'Runnymede' rom!
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Check this out
Android GBLeoR3 on HTC HD2 (2.3.3) by XxXPachaXxX

GLeoR3 is among the smallest Desire HD base rom. Require 220mb partition layout so Ext partition is not required. Gingerbread 2.3.3 with Sense 2.1.

HTC SENSE 3.0 (HTC DesireHD) on HTC HD2 by Dungphp

Gingerbread 2.3.5 with Sense 3. Graphics fix patch, kernel & gallery patches is necessary. Still have camcorder lag & sluggish playback on mp4 hires video. However this rom very responsive than DHD base Froyo rom (Currently test and evaluating)

HTC SENSE 3.5 (HTC Bliss) on HTC HD2 by Dungphp

Gingerbread 2.3.5 with Sense 3.5 but Im not yet test it

Runnymede SENSE 3.5 on HTC HD2 by Dungphp

Gingerbread 2.3.5 with Sense 3.5 also , Im not yet test it

Click here to XDA developement HD2 Nand section

This post has been edited by enCORe: Sep 21 2011, 12:08 PM
enCORe
post Sep 20 2011, 04:36 PM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

Niv86
I believe its normal, coz our HD2 in android not fully utilising 512mb ram,

andyjyneo
MIUI rom supposely runs fine on LED blink smile.gif , for unsolved LED issue, LEDmeknow does really help for compatible
enCORe
post Sep 21 2011, 12:07 PM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

Niv86
recent MIUI has new launcher ala Touchwiz from SGSII, this launcher is very CPU and RAM intensive. Lag & sluggish performance might be unpolished rom or background running services
enCORe
post Sep 22 2011, 08:35 AM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

andyjyneo
MIUI is very neat and very skinnable than Cynogen Mod, speed not bad too, only its latest launcher feels lag. Originally develop from China geeks but now 99% port to English. You can try Jaguaralani MIUI for SD MAGLDR.
enCORe
post Sep 23 2011, 09:29 AM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

andyjyneo
Before installing rom, partition size was needed for reservation first. Imagine you got 512mb flashdrive & u will need to reserved 150mb for installing Android through CWR zip installation.

To setup the size of the partition, the flash.cfg will determine your partition size for Android

ie filename; flash.cfg

CODE
misc ya 1M
recovery rrecov|ro|nospr filesize recovery-raw.img
boot yboot|ro 5M
system ya 200M <--
cache ya 5M
userdata ya|asize|hr allsize

So (any) nand Android can be installed with be max to 200mb. If u put Rom which require more than reserve (200mb) , your android will not work due files overwriting & overlapping. smile.gif

neato4u
GBRleo still early stages, have to wait yawn.gif

This post has been edited by enCORe: Sep 23 2011, 01:03 PM
enCORe
post Sep 24 2011, 01:43 AM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

andyjyneo
when u using Nand toolkit, u only need to enter the cache (default 5) and the partition 100/150/200/ etc etc, once u click flash button, the installer automatically generate flash.cfg itself and proceed for partition setup,

So no need to edit the flash.cfg, this only was mean for traditional CWR installation.
enCORe
post Sep 25 2011, 04:48 PM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

no problemo,
MIUI rom mostly require 150mb partition recovery, u can also use the same Recovery (150mb) for zip install Cynogen rom due similar partition size
enCORe
post Sep 26 2011, 05:53 PM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

sorry andy
I never use the apps2sd+ thing, but the link you provide is the right one.

By creating EXT partition in sdcard, this (EXT) partition was mean for program and cache. This similar with traditional CLRCAD method where the (256/512/1gb) data.img use to store your program files data. smile.gif
enCORe
post Sep 28 2011, 12:25 PM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

PATs JW is using different launcher but it does looks like Sense when pairing with correct Sense clock smile.gif
enCORe
post Sep 29 2011, 12:24 PM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

kautahusiapa
yes u can do dual boot Android, with or without remove your current winmo smile.gif , For new beginner, look XDA HD2 subforum Android SD, easy

andyjyneo
Incompatible ? yup, latest Gingerbread variant somehow does do that. The only way to get it run is flashing other or older build which is troblesome dry.gif

rkwan67
Sorry I slow, I dun getit "have problem coping with the intense footprint" ? tongue.gif
HD2 on Android very good on stock rom Cynogen mod & MIUI rom. Almost everything work & less bug. Cynogen Mod = fasts, stable & recommended.

Sense rom from HTC Desire (not HD) perform well as original. For Sense 2-(froyo Desire HD2 base rom), it DOES run.. abit slow on Sense 2/3 rom. Sense rom for Ginger still unpolished but usable.

exavantz
Wireless Data packet (2G/3G/4G) eats battery, almost smartphones have this problem. Activate the data packet when necessary. My friend was using SGS2 believe me its battery life is worse than your HD2. Kingmax or Andida battery may serve for backup purpose but usage pattern might similar. My bro using Kingmax on SGS, he say its better than stock battery

enCORe
post Sep 30 2011, 01:15 PM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

smileyguy
So u try Dorimanx ? hmm does it complicate to install it ? .. Once I see the 1st post I just skip that rom due information overloads*, yet untill now Im still looking WHERE is the downloads links on that post sleep.gif
* TLNDR tongue.gif

exavantz
As long youre using Cynogen Mod the speed would be fast. Desire & Desire HD Gingerbread is not yet polished. If you want to use most everything working Sense 2 (Desire HD sense) the best one Im used is 'Imilka' Desire HD 2 & Coredroid 1.6 but both is still Froyo. Sense 3 & Sense 3.5 still has graphics lag issue.

When you have trouble with Sense rom & stuck onboot, its possible that you dont have the EXT partition on your sd card. Refer Jayce Ooi blog to do it smile.gif

andyjyneo
Ya getting MIUI rom is nice but its frequent updates somehow trouble me, I dont mind with speed, all I care is stable smile.gif
enCORe
post Sep 30 2011, 06:39 PM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

andyjyneo
I didnt perform task29 when upgrading rom, are sure its needed since CWR already clear the nand ?

smileyguy
Wow 20 apps multitask ? Erm, Does SWAP require EXT part ? I dislike EXT since my devices is TMous (1GB) tongue.gif , gonna try later

exavantz
Got your PM, cekedaut!

ongdennis
Its too early to use Sense 3/3.5 rom, current issue porting Sense 3/ 3.5 rom because the rom itself not for our specs. Originally for Adreno 205 GPU (HD2 is Adreno 200) & 700+mb ram (Desire HD). Ram actually its not at issue, believe me GingerSense 3 with 80MB RAM left is faster than FroyoSense2 150MB available RAM.
enCORe
post Oct 3 2011, 10:48 AM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

smileyguy
Eh, is this rom disabling its internal auto killer management ? hence fast program switching & true multitasking ?
enCORe
post Oct 3 2011, 04:12 PM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

Yup nod.gif
Task29 afaik applicable for winmo rom, but Andy; its okay todo wink.gif

QUOTE(smileyguy @ Oct 3 2011, 01:51 PM)
If you are going to do a Task29, just do a full factory reset and flash ROM. That is the same. Task29 is only useful for WM ROMs. Wipe data, dalvik is only if you are not flashing entirely new kernel. e.g. Hiero, Kefir is derivative of Tytung... so it should be ok.

Just my 2 cents smile.gif

Added on October 3, 2011, 1:56 pm
If your HD2 is not your daily driver, then go flash away... usually I will wait for the +.1 update.
But this update is crazy... 3000+ on quadrant tongue.gif because all apps is in EXT...
enCORe
post Oct 4 2011, 08:35 AM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

QUOTE(smileyguy @ Oct 3 2011, 06:06 PM)
Wow... since there were no serious problems, I jumped into 2.8.7 Dorimanx.
WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWW.... way smoother than playing with SGS2!
Really really fast. No lag at all. WOW.....
you ALL have to try this wei...
LOL, Are you in fever shocking.gif ? that sound very tempting me to try it , btw, which version & setup u picked ? Im going to test this week brows.gif

QUOTE(synchun @ Oct 3 2011, 09:37 PM)
I'm now facing the touch screen issue. Sometimes my screen just wouldn't respond to my touch.
My warranty period is over and I just asked a shop. He said our HD2 spare parts are expensive and the cost of changing our screen will be about RM500+.
Synchun, Im agree with Andyjyneo statement, get a 2nd unit because its cheaper. But have u try reinstalling back to official windows mobile to confirm this sympton ?
enCORe
post Oct 4 2011, 11:32 AM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

I couldnt believe our winmo HD2 come so far rclxms.gif , now we got version 2.3.7 thumbup.gif

approve = typhoon rom is very stable nod.gif

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Oct 4 2011, 10:43 AM)
Bro enCORe, new TyphooN CM7 is very stable with Android 2.3.7. No more random reboots. Very good.
I love it.

20 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0952sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:01 PM