HTC HD2 : Users on Android

andyjyneo
post Jan 27 2012, 01:49 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Jan 26 2012, 06:26 PM)
hmm, so that Tosti isnt tasty at all  doh.gif

Id prefer HD2 Garmin XT due able to send & receive location via sms, easy for favourites backup and maps. If u look on my siggy Im looking a winmo devices with Garmin & Wifi tehering (as mobile router with 3G sim) smile.gif
I see. Then what WinMO device are you looking for?
Why not try 5800XM as suggested by prolexus?

QUOTE(prolexus @ Jan 27 2012, 12:15 AM)
I used back my old nokia 5800 and installed garmin xt and joikuspot pro. The old battery still last for days and garmin  works flawlessly. It's my dedicated gps cum mobile router now. Papago X5 on my hd2  really looks so ugly ...not to mention the lack of features compared to the garmin.
I agree. 5800XM's Garmin is the best.
andyjyneo
post Jan 30 2012, 04:55 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Jan 28 2012, 01:07 AM)
andy
me dont like symbian ... does it have wifi tethering ?
Hmm, nope, it doesn't have any WiFi tethering.
Symbian is a bit outdated on this.

QUOTE(prolexus @ Jan 30 2012, 12:15 PM)
You guys use screen protectors on your current / previous hd2 ? I knew a few who prefer not using sp's as the hd2 screen is already made of gorilla glass.
Bro, our HD2 is not made of gorilla glass. I broke mine after dropping on the floor.
Gorilla glass is break-proof, not scratch-proof, if I'm not mistaken.

QUOTE(enCORe @ Jan 30 2012, 12:38 PM)
prolexus
Its not a latop, he's running aTorrent on his Galaxy Tab 7+ , rageeeee  .. Im envy... =(

Talk about screen protector our HD2 is NOT using Gorrilla Glass, Iv see the razor test on HD2 from youtube but some user report has scratches. BTW, Im using the clear type one
Do you use any cover for HD2? I can't find any screen protector and cover casing for HD2. sad.gif
Where-to-buy to recommend?

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Jan 30 2012, 04:55 PM
andyjyneo
post Jan 31 2012, 02:07 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(prolexus @ Jan 30 2012, 08:21 PM)
Andy,

Got la..i'm using it now. Can get the free version from ovistore . Refer here http://www.joiku.com/products/joikuspot_light 

Fyi, symbian already have this wifi sharing back in 2008, that time android only just started..ver 1.6 a.k.a donut..and there was no such thing as wifi tethering on an android at that time. 

Cover ? got plenty at mudah.com ..here some cheap-cheap  examples http://www.mudah.my/Black+Rubberized+Hard+...HD2-7721883.htm  or this one http://www.mudah.my/Htc+hd2+silicon+case-12386073.htm

Sp look here..http://www.mudah.my/Htc+hd2+privacy+screen+protector+and+matt-6010132.htm
Thank you very much for the links. Extremely helpful because I prefer backflip pouch.
As for screen protector, I think I'll try to search in LYN first.

Anyway, bro enCORe needs the ovistore link badly. Haha...
andyjyneo
post Jan 31 2012, 06:28 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Jan 31 2012, 09:28 AM)
prolexus , andyjyneo
again symbian .. ewww , I rather go winmo 6.5
Haha, sorry to tell you that WinMO might not be that advance and modern.
See how it lags behind Android and iOS & what direction Nokia is taking by teaming up with WP.

Honest speaking, I feel that Nokia Lumia is a very nice phone. Suitable for ICS, isn't it?
If someone managed to crack and port it to Android, I'm sure a lot of people will buy, including me.

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Jan 31 2012, 06:28 PM
andyjyneo
post Jan 31 2012, 09:20 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Jan 31 2012, 06:54 PM)
Last 2011 report state Winmo market holder still >50% than WP , Winmo OS kinda primitive but honestly very lotsa usefull function base on my 5 years winmo experience & Symbian  hmm.gif

Android on Lumia ? KENG lor, sounds exciting but my prediction it wont happened ....  U can have Lumia experience alike by installing WP7.5 rom then Chevron'it with Nokia WP7 Apps ...  would go WP andy ? tongue.gif  laugh.gif
No way I'll go for WP7, unless it's ported to Android, then I'll buy it, similar to HD2.
Frankly speaking, Lumia can be a good successor to HD2.

HD2 is getting old and will be lesser in days to come.
We need a good phone, eg Lumia or maybe HD7 to be its successor to support ICS.
But unfortunately, nobody is able to crack HD7, so I don't think it's possible. The only hope now is Lumia.

Actually, before I found out that HD2 has already been ported to Android, I made my decision to buy N900.
Then when I researched more about N900 on Android port, only I found out that there're still a lot of leftovers.
Little did I know, the project has been abondoned long time ago.

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Feb 1 2012, 01:20 AM
andyjyneo
post Feb 2 2012, 10:06 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Feb 2 2012, 09:00 AM)
Ahh the N900 ! its run Android very well but since it has small number users there no rom development and left behind. I think you kinda very 'hopeful' for someone make Android port from WP7 devices, afaik HD7 already has ported to Android (MAGLDR) but not much expose. People now eyeing on Lumia but lookdown due WP7 software limitation,

wait something miracles from DFT, who knows they can make suprise on Lumia

HD2 feel its aging due limited drivers for hardware optimisation. No worry, the HD2 has the largest ROM development in XDAdevelopers.com  & our hope still there  nod.gif
Yes, you're right about HD2 is aging. I agree that HD2 is still the largest ROM development and still has a lot of room to customise.

HD7 have not been ported yet, and nothing has been done.
As for Lumia, I can sense and feel that it's a very solid phone. Very suitable to be an ICS phone.

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Feb 2 2012, 10:06 AM
andyjyneo
post Feb 3 2012, 01:41 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Feb 2 2012, 06:08 PM)
check this out

Android on HD7
the HD7 specs is the same with HD2,

Anyway why Nokia Lumia ?
we got Galaxy, Xperia etc brand phone on Android platform already ?  hmm.gif
I saw the video before. They said it's fake and I can't find any guide to flash, and XDA didn't prepare a sub-forum for Android on HD7.

The reason why I bought HD2 is because I want to be different from others. I can flash anything I want, and even faster (2.3.7) than stock Android ROMs (some stucked at 2.3.4).

P/S:
I think langthang messed up his ROMs pretty badly this time. His MIUI DEVELOPMENT v45 and v46 sucks. Full of funny words in Settings page. The problem I encountered with v46 is low mic and reception problem. I tried to download his MIUI STABLE v6 and GINGER v36, it can't boot into Android. Stucked at first splash screen for hours. When I went back to MIUI DEVELOPMENT v44, after I used for some time, it started to show funny problems, like Browser FC, etc. Bloody hell!

I'm downloading ICS now. Going to flash and stay for good.
andyjyneo
post Feb 3 2012, 11:12 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(prolexus @ Feb 3 2012, 02:35 AM)
Yeah ..that's true..i back tracked to ver 42 just to get rid of the slow mic and sounds ...the layout also crapped out in ver 45 & 46. Maybe Langthang discreetly asking for more donations to get proper working roms ? I dunno la ..but his ndt series kinda screwed these days..just like you've said it.

Let me know about the ics findings bro..as i've been holding on for a stable release. I'm not  flashing anything this week because driving up to krabi tomorrow. Need a stable working rom and a backup gps just in case the garmin konked out halfway in the middle of nowhere smile.gif
I'm on michie's ICS now. Very good and stable. A2SD is supported. Gallery no more lagging and FC. Most importantly for you - GPS and AGPS is working, according to michie.

If I revert back to GB, I won't go back to NDT anymore. Really useless piece of sh*t nowadays.
My low mic problem almost caused me hell and everyone is complaining that why I talk so softly.
For now, I'll stay at ICS for good.

Added on February 3, 2012, 11:14 am
QUOTE(enCORe @ Feb 3 2012, 09:24 AM)
Andyneo, Prolexus,
Its true the latest NDT MIUI quite messs up, usefull function like skip music by holding volume has removed. Im revert back to dev42. Iv also patches with Bravia & Xloud, however only the Xloud only works (NDT MIUI).

Bravia engine work on certain rom include Cynogen, MIUI & Sense rom , result is nice , believe me the images re-sharp & has better color.
I've downloaded stock MIUI ROM from miuiandroid.com. I'll try if ICS gives me problem.
Otherwise, I'll stay for good, at least for now.

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Feb 3 2012, 11:14 AM
andyjyneo
post Feb 8 2012, 07:43 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Feb 8 2012, 10:52 AM)
Andyneo
I bet u wont be long on Cynogen GB tongue.gif , u gonna miss MIUI theme alot and tempt to get back tongue.gif
so far my best NDT MIUI rom is Development release 42, release 43-46 is quite mess,
You're right, bro. Now, I'm back to miuiandroid's original pure MIUI. Hahahaha...
Now I'm waiting for ICS MIUI to get stable, then I'll start flashing.

Yes, I agree that NDT is really extremely MESSY till cannot recognise road home.

Added on February 9, 2012, 2:13 pm
QUOTE(efariz @ Feb 8 2012, 11:19 AM)
add me please, new user Android on HTC HD2 using NexusHD2-IceCreamSandwich Beta10 (by tytung)
Welcome to HD2 Android family!
So any improvements on tytung's HD2 ROM?
Gallery and menu still lagging?

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Feb 9 2012, 02:13 PM
andyjyneo
post Feb 12 2012, 04:00 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Feb 10 2012, 10:17 AM)
btw guys,
Just passing rumor, someone from Dark Force Team has putting an IOS 4.5.x into HD2 ... can u believe it  ?  thumbup.gif
How did they source iOS since iOS is not an open source project?
Now this is funny.

Anyway, I hope DFT should start doing something in finding HD2 successor, eg HD7 or Nokia Lumia.
I still love my HD2, but it's getting old and spare parts may hard to find in future.
By appointing a successor to take over HD2, this is the most appropriate way.
andyjyneo
post Feb 13 2012, 11:37 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Feb 12 2012, 11:13 PM)
Yesterday I read Alexey Rosleyakov flash Nokia N9 with ICS , but then still lots of bugs especially with hardware accelaration
btw, what your MIUI version right now ?
Yeah! N9 or Lumia is a good successor to HD2.
I don't mind, as long as all HD2 developers can devote their time on this successor.

I'm on MIUI 2.1.20 currently. I downloaded from miuiandroid.com.

By the way, my new HD2 just arrived. I'm going to install Android tonight and pack nicely for tomorrow's Valentine's Day. Hehe...

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Feb 13 2012, 12:48 PM
andyjyneo
post Feb 14 2012, 07:44 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Feb 14 2012, 09:21 AM)
Owh, so ur not using NDT varient anymore ? you bought another new HD2 ?  thumbup.gif

N9 maybe could flash android like N900, however I think HD2 still special  icon_rolleyes.gif
NDT gave me so many problems and headache. Too unstable at the moment.
Will flash back once langthang corrected everything.

Yeah, as Valentine's Day gift for my GF.

Yes, HD2 is still special, but it's getting old. I'm afraid that some time in next few months/years, spare parts for our HD2 might be lesser.
And to find a second hand HD2 is easy now, but doesn't mean it's easy in future.

Anyway, I'm really excited about the prospect of N9. Hopefully, it'll be a successful project.
They're porting voice in-calls in N9 and hopefully, N900 too.

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Feb 15 2012, 05:56 PM
andyjyneo
post Feb 16 2012, 10:38 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(prolexus @ Feb 16 2012, 12:41 AM)
Well ..the dreadful day finally came ...my hd2 display finally became unresponsive yesterday..and after 5 months of its warranty expired.

Andy, how much la you spend for the new digitiser ? Heard from some forumners that it cost an arm and leg to get it replaced at SIS....You got any lubang to get it done cheap cheap ?

Currently using button savior app to bypass the hard buttons and rerouting the volume button to fuction as the wake up button..a bit leceh to use but at least the hd2 still works fine at least for now.

Anyway i did a full format when the hd2 became unresponsive earlier and flashed ndt stable ver 6 with tytung's r14 clk kernel. The graphics are amazingly beautiful..

I'm thinking of getting a dell streak if the hd2 cost a lot to repair...prices are quite reasonable for a good used unit with some warranty left.[attachmentid=2687084][attachmentid=2687085]
I don't have lobang, but I sent to my friend to repair. It costs RM300 to repair.
Mine got some problem after changing digitiser. The screen will look like old TV some time after using.
Need to send back to repair.

I tried to flash MIUI ICS last night, it's damn good, fast and responsive, but the ROM has some problem with no network issue.

You should wait for them to fully port Nokia N9. It's a good replacement for HD2, I must say.

andyjyneo
post Feb 16 2012, 05:26 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(prolexus @ Feb 16 2012, 04:58 PM)
Hmm..300 is boleh tahan..But i'm more inclined to retire the hd2 and get a replacement if the soft buttons also fail later on.

N9 is indeed a beauty to look at..i'm just slightly disappointed that the screen size at 4' ..kind off smallish when these days when 5' seems to be the new norm.
4" is slightly smaller than our existing HD2. So I think I'm alright with it. The design is quite matching with today's design too.

Yup, RM300 is alright, but I don't know how much if we send back to HTC to repair. Maybe will cost double.
andyjyneo
post Feb 16 2012, 10:05 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Feb 16 2012, 07:47 PM)
andyjyneo
youre very positive on N9 development, I looking forward to see the result, but then I m gonna play my HD2 for awhile

prolexus
man, that was unlucky, I suggest u wait for new model from HTC, or Asus Maemo (Tegra3), as Andy mention RM300 is quite cheap actually.
Yes, I'm looking forward to it because I'm afraid that in future, my HD2 can't find any spare parts.
I intend to settle down on HD2. If Nokia N9 is complete, I'll remain and use my HD2 as my secondary phone.

Same here, I'll play with my HD2. At the meantime, I'm looking forward towards MIUI ICS too.
andyjyneo
post Feb 17 2012, 02:41 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

Some ICS MIUI + Nova Launcher screenshots to share. Just flashed it (beta 9) last night and it worked quite well.

So far, I've noticed these bugs to note:
1. Moving Dalvik Cache to SD-EXT will cause the phone to be mute. (common bug in ICS)
2. Each and every time after installing apps from Market and exit from Market, the launcher will return to "MIUI Launcher". I've already set "Nova Launcher" as default launcher. The only way to solve is to press home button to use my Nova Launcher.
3. Groups in contacts is buggy. Whenever you want to see who's in your group, it'll FC.
4. Messaging will FC after you use some time. No matter how many times you restart, result will still be the same.

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Feb 18 2012, 01:36 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
andyjyneo
post Feb 17 2012, 03:22 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(xiaolp @ Feb 17 2012, 03:13 PM)
any 1 have the source of mango+ics dual boot in same SD card?
Most of the developers have discontinued their Android ROM for SD card, if I'm not mistaken.
The only way is to install NAND method and let go of your WM/WP ROM.
andyjyneo
post Feb 19 2012, 06:59 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(miraclejustin @ Feb 18 2012, 03:50 PM)
so guys. Is there any stable ICS rom for HD2?

andyjyneo, ur HD2 spoiled? i saw people selling new one with warranty at 600 if not mistaken. But if u are getting another phone, i think better get dual core nvidia terga with 1GB ram phone. That is the future.
Nope, my HD2 is still functioning well. Just that my previously repaired LCD has some problem.
Just need to send back to them to do something about it.

QUOTE(ax_86 @ Feb 18 2012, 06:01 PM)
Hye guys.. I asking behalf of my friends.. His htc hd2 got problem with lcd.. His htc lcd didn't sense any touch anymore.. Its happen after his recharge his phone using his laptop and at the same time he update his android apps.. But suddenly someone call him and his just pulled out the cable.. Then his phone hang and went into reboot.. After dat lcd cant used anymore.. Is dat his phone brick? Thanks..
Most probably his ROM is corrupted.
He needs to reflash his ROM and reinstall all his apps.
andyjyneo
post Feb 20 2012, 11:11 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Feb 20 2012, 09:34 AM)
R U sure its the real thing ? there was HD2 KIRF (look a like) identified as MEDIATEK, different hardware which not support software of all HD2

I was hoping a Tegra 3 phone with at least AMOLED screen from HTC, this would give fair fight with Samsung lineup,
HTC has been left behind, thanks to Samsung and rising Motorola.
Well, I don't think that HTC can beat Samsung and Motorola, in any time near future.

EDIT:
Just sent my phone to repair. My friend said warranty period is already over. Supplier don't want to accept my phone anymore. Damn it.

Well, I guess I need to find another repairer to repair my phone.
I can feel that my friend is not professional enough to repair smartphone.

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Feb 20 2012, 03:59 PM
andyjyneo
post Feb 20 2012, 07:06 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Feb 20 2012, 06:47 PM)
doh.gif lolwut , another repair ? I think you need a better replacement. Nokia N9 maybe  brows.gif

My bros already using Samsung Galaxy S & SII & Tab 7+, my officemate using Galaxy S Plus & Ace. Till now nothing impress me but only the AMOLED screen & camera quality, software support still lacking. No idea on Motorola but its default launcher was quite boring. What I like on HTC is better software upgrades
SGS2 is a damn good phone, I must admit. Well, you can always flash custom ROM.
Nokia N9 is not stable on Android yet, so I can't buy. I need a good phone to replace my aging HD2.
Or maybe I'll settle down on some cheap CSL Android phones for temporary.

QUOTE(nghj @ Feb 20 2012, 06:52 PM)
from my observation, most HD2 users will experience LCD spoil (not responding) when the phone is +/- 2 years old.
i sent mine to SIS too.
How much did you repair yours?

I've inquired a repairer in LYN. He said most probably it's due to my LCD.
Bloody hell! That'll cost at around RM350 for solder type and RM200 for clipped type.

If that's the case, might as well I buy another 2nd hand HD2 or maybe other phones.

EDIT:
I've dismantled my digitiser and found out that my motherboard's back button has gone missing.
That's why I'm having trouble to press the back button.

Oh well, I'll have to tahan a bit.

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Feb 20 2012, 07:31 PM

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0495sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:24 AM