27 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

PENANG FOOD, Hawker, Kopitiam & FoodCourt see Pg1

samlee860407
post Feb 26 2011, 04:16 PM

4,631 posts

Geforce, yea I know , but its like Melaka and opening cendol, both share the same name as cendol Ma, which is quite diff actually

IMO when u eat something , don't bother too much on the name itself or u will limit urself too much on how it shud taste and how it shud be cooked.

Btw yes , I won't want to call Penang hokkien mee as prawn mee too , just like I wont use soccer to call football biggrin.gif
geforce88
post Feb 26 2011, 04:37 PM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Feb 26 2011, 04:16 PM)
Geforce, yea I know , but its like Melaka and opening cendol, both share the same name as cendol Ma, which is quite diff actually

IMO when u eat something , don't bother too much on the name itself or u will limit urself too much on how it shud taste and how it shud be cooked.

Btw yes , I won't want to call Penang hokkien mee as prawn mee too , just like I wont use soccer to call football biggrin.gif
+1 thumbup.gif

totally agree icon_rolleyes.gif
TSDarkNite
post Feb 26 2011, 04:57 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(geforce88 @ Feb 26 2011, 03:19 PM)
because u havent try Min Boon @ Jalan Kulim  brows.gif
Give la address or GPS coordinates so I can try.

BTW Have you try the dim sum at Shanghai Chinese restaurant at JW Marriot KL or Xin Cuisine restaurant in Concorde Hotel KL? hmm.gif
geforce88
post Feb 26 2011, 05:14 PM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Feb 26 2011, 04:57 PM)
Give la address or GPS coordinates so I can try.

BTW Have you try the dim sum at Shanghai Chinese restaurant at JW Marriot KL or Xin Cuisine restaurant in Concorde Hotel KL? hmm.gif
its a shop along Jalan Kulim (this place is in BM, not Kulim) business hour is night time.....

hotel food? never bother to try laugh.gif
TSDarkNite
post Feb 26 2011, 07:17 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(geforce88 @ Feb 26 2011, 05:14 PM)
its a shop along Jalan Kulim (this place is in BM, not Kulim) business hour is night time.....

hotel food? never bother to try  laugh.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif no specific address cos I always get lost in BM.

Those restaurant have imported famous dim sum chef from Hong Kong and China. Very ho heong and ho mei! (sry my Chinese sux) laugh.gif
geforce88
post Feb 26 2011, 07:37 PM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Feb 26 2011, 07:17 PM)
sweat.gif  sweat.gif  no specific address cos I always get lost in BM.

Those restaurant have imported famous dim sum chef from Hong Kong and China. Very ho heong and ho mei! (sry my Chinese sux) laugh.gif
i dont have the exact address, sorry sad.gif

only know beside the shop is church, opposite is shell station...

i personally been to many event and seminar in local hotels, tasted quite a lot of food, but none of them nice..... acceptable, but not to say really good......

and ironically, 2moro is going to be another 1 buffet lunch over island, kena paksa go 1 sweat.gif

so cant do anything, just hentam lah..........
trippin2
post Mar 6 2011, 03:53 PM

66 posts

I read about this Rojak King, where is it located? Different website point to different area in google maps?
samlee860407
post Mar 6 2011, 05:44 PM

4,631 posts

you mean hock seng rojak?

Click for google map
goliath
post Mar 6 2011, 11:49 PM

5,532 posts

Read that the Nasi Kandar Beratur along Jalan Masjid Kapitan Keling isn't the original one. Is that true?

Source

geforce88
post Mar 6 2011, 11:59 PM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Mar 6 2011, 11:49 PM)
Read that the Nasi Kandar Beratur along Jalan Masjid Kapitan Keling isn't the original one. Is that true?

Source
yes, this is true, kesian the owner of the ori one, but what to do? business is like this mah.....

this case is very similar to Lunas roasted duck....

the big restaurant which got lots of customers is NOT the ori one, the REAL ori shop is just directly opposite it, whether u believe it or not.....
skon9
post Mar 7 2011, 12:36 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(geforce88 @ Mar 6 2011, 11:59 PM)
yes, this is true, kesian the owner of the ori one, but what to do? business is like this mah.....

this case is very similar to Lunas roasted duck....

the big restaurant which got lots of customers is NOT the ori one, the REAL ori shop is just directly opposite it, whether u believe it or not.....
The fake shop just open recently? Because I knew, there's one or two shoplot beside the stall that open since few years ago, but they never serve any food or drinks, only table for the customer..

I think the actual nasi kandar start operating from morning, I went pass several time and saw it.. hmm.gif
TommyTan
post Mar 7 2011, 11:26 AM

You can call me Mr. Tan or Tommy
1,777 posts

If its crowded it must be good.
TSDarkNite
post Mar 7 2011, 02:28 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(trippin2 @ Mar 6 2011, 03:53 PM)
I read about this Rojak King, where is it located? Different website point to different area in google maps?
Most shit rojak I have ever tasted! It is like super sweet caramel (ba lei ko) flavored slightly with hee ko. doh.gif
I wan the real hee ko and balachen!
Dun believe you go and try. Just make sure he makes a fresh batch for you.

QUOTE(goliath @ Mar 6 2011, 11:49 PM)

Source
waaah ... I always go after 10:30pm.

But when I enquired, many of my friends perfer the one after 10pm wan... laugh.gif
and according to 'hardcore' fans, the best is only if you eat after 2am!!! doh.gif

PS my fav is still line clear. And hey if you have a passion for curry goose try Tajuddin Hussian at Queen Street. Pls go there before 12:30pm.

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Mar 7 2011, 02:39 PM
skon9
post Mar 7 2011, 04:23 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Mar 7 2011, 02:28 PM)
PS my fav is still line clear. And hey if you have a passion for curry goose try Tajuddin Hussian at Queen Street. Pls go there before 12:30pm.
Line clear is also one of my fav, I always get those whole chicken leg, cheap and BIG.. lolx The goose curry expensive or not? I always get it during bulan ramadan, dam nice but very expensive.. sad.gif
geforce88
post Mar 7 2011, 10:17 PM

2,841 posts

wow, got curry goose kah? nvr try b4.....

nice or not?
etigge
post Mar 7 2011, 10:45 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(skon9 @ Mar 7 2011, 04:23 PM)
Line clear is also one of my fav, I always get those whole chicken leg, cheap and BIG.. lolx The goose curry expensive or not? I always get it during bulan ramadan, dam nice but very expensive.. sad.gif
smile.gif Line Clear has to be the most publicised Nasi Kandar outlet in the net. Yes, it is actually nice but there are better. I usually patronise Kassim Nasi Kandar in Brick Kiln Road (just in front of Gama). Well, last time when I was staying in Penang, my wife does shopping there and I just pop over there for a meal. The food is nicer here , in my opinion off course. The real nasi kandars are actually in Tamil St. beside Chowrasta Market. They are still there but has fallen in favour of the usual crowds. Till today, the best nasi kandar I have had is still Kassim Mustaffa in Bayan Baru. I don't know if they still maintain the quality but I has the best nasi kandar there.

There are so many actually and I tend to think that, just like Prawn Mee, if you see any stall in Penang, it will always be better than any in KL. Likewise nasi kandar, any of them beats most of the outlets in KL.

There's a good one in front of Continental Hotel, Penang Road, another good one in Hotel Merlin, Penang Street, another good one in Burma Road just a few steps from Him Heang biscuits and many many more. thumbup.gif

When I was staying in Penang, there was this 'makcik' who sells her nasi on her front porch. The 'chicken Kapitan' I thnk was fantastic. I even ate the bones. That was before the place was demolished for newer buildings. I heard that she is still selling in Tanjong Tokong and anyone from Penang knows where? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Mar 7 2011, 10:52 PM
geforce88
post Mar 7 2011, 11:26 PM

2,841 posts

sometimes, famous doesnt mean best......

example:

-7 village koay teow soup
-"kio kha teng" curry mee
-line clear nasi kandar
-raja uda "keh-liao" curry mee (the WORST of the WORST in fact)
-air itam market laksa

and usually, good food not necessary must have big restaurant, big shop, or full with customers.....

the best nasi lemak (bungkus type) was once beside chain ferry shell station, beside perodua showroom.....

miss that a lot, now no longer selling sad.gif

cant find anymore nice nasi lemak bungkus in PG now, others are just average~

This post has been edited by geforce88: Mar 7 2011, 11:28 PM
goliath
post Mar 8 2011, 12:11 AM

5,532 posts

Tried Line Clear when I was there couple months back. Found it quite alright. Wondering whether I should go for Nasi Kandar Beratur or Hameediyah on my next trip. hmm.gif
geforce88
post Mar 8 2011, 12:33 AM

2,841 posts

there's ntg wrong with line clear, its good, but not really the best as some ppl claimed......
TSDarkNite
post Mar 9 2011, 07:12 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Mar 7 2011, 10:45 PM)
smile.gif  Line Clear has to be the most publicised Nasi Kandar outlet in the net. Yes, it is actually nice but there are better. I usually patronise Kassim Nasi Kandar in Brick Kiln Road (just in front of Gama). Well, last time when I was staying in Penang, my wife does shopping there and I just pop over there for a meal. The food is nicer here , in my opinion off course. The real nasi kandars are actually in Tamil St. beside Chowrasta Market. They are still there but has fallen in favour of the usual crowds. Till today, the best nasi kandar I have had is still Kassim Mustaffa in Bayan Baru. I don't know if they still maintain the quality but I has the best nasi kandar there.
sad.gif this one of the weakness of these guys, they just are unable maintain the quality. Which is why outlets like Line Clear & the one below Hotel Merlin@Penang St are still the BEST after all these years.

QUOTE(etigge @ Mar 7 2011, 10:45 PM)
When I was staying in Penang, there was this 'makcik' who sells her nasi on her front porch. The 'chicken Kapitan' I thnk was fantastic. I even ate the bones. That was before the place was demolished for newer buildings. I heard that she is still selling in Tanjong Tokong and anyone from Penang knows where? hmm.gif

There is one selling opposite the 'Floating Mosque' just beside the road on the hill slope. Dunno if it is the same one.
There are a few food outlets that sell excellence food but over the years they also disappear. sad.gif

QUOTE(goliath @ Mar 8 2011, 12:11 AM)
... Wondering whether I should go for Nasi Kandar Beratur or Hameediyah on my next trip. hmm.gif
Hameediyah? Go before bulan puasa! Cos bulan puasa looooong queue and they either put too much salt or it taste bland! doh.gif

27 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:39 AM