174 Pages « < 169 170 171 172 173 > » Bottom

Studying in the UK V3

chungdavi
post Sep 7 2015, 04:44 PM

Keep Calm and Keep Cubing
620 posts

QUOTE(mrericchia @ Sep 7 2015, 03:48 PM)
Hi there, do you mind to tell me how long it takes to process your visa (are you taking the standard type or the fast track) ? I heard is around 15days and not include working days right ? Quite nervous because I booked my flight exactly the 15 working days...
Yes it's around there.
I did not use the fast track service, for my case it took them 16 days from the day I submitted my documents to the day I was informed by VFS to collect my documents.
It was Friday afternoon, so I waited until the next Monday (19th day) to collect it.

Do you mean you did not take the fast track option and you're just giving a 15 days gap between document submission and flying to UK? That's very risky.
FYI the documents including your passport is sent to the British Embassy in Manila, Philippines for the visa application. So it takes much longer time than previously when it was approved by British High Commission at Jalan Ampang.
If you willing to take the risk, I suggest you check for your mailbox regularly to see if the Manila office emails you to inform that 'A decision has been made on your application and your documents are being returned to the Visa Application Centre (VAC).' It's only after 3 days that I received the email and SMS from VFS Malaysia to inform me they received the documents and I can go collect it.
mrericchia
post Sep 7 2015, 04:54 PM

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Sep 7 2015, 04:44 PM)
Yes it's around there.
I did not use the fast track service, for my case it took them 16 days from the day I submitted my documents to the day I was informed by VFS to collect my documents.
It was Friday afternoon, so I waited until the next Monday (19th day) to collect it.

Do you mean you did not take the fast track option and you're just giving a 15 days gap between document submission and flying to UK? That's very risky.
FYI the documents including your passport is sent to the British Embassy in Manila, Philippines for the visa application. So it takes much longer time than previously when it was approved by British High Commission at Jalan Ampang.
If you willing to take the risk, I suggest you check for your mailbox regularly to see if the Manila office emails you to inform that 'A decision has been made on your application and your documents are being returned to the Visa Application Centre (VAC).' It's only after 3 days that I received the email and SMS from VFS Malaysia to inform me they received the documents and I can go collect it.
Thanks for the advice! I'll revise the ticket sad.gif and when is the exact date you submit your visa ? smile.gif

chungdavi
post Sep 7 2015, 06:24 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(mrericchia @ Sep 7 2015, 04:54 PM)
Thanks for the advice! I'll revise the ticket sad.gif and when is the exact date you submit your visa ? smile.gif
No problem. Hope my advice helps.
I submitted the documents to VFS Malaysia on 29th July, received email from office in Manila on 11th August informing me the documents is sent for Malaysia, received email and SMS from VFS Malaysia on 14th August asking me to go collect my documents.
MathsGeniusOrNot
post Sep 8 2015, 01:08 AM

460 posts

Hi everyone! would like to ask how is the student life in UK compare to Melbourne? Going to college next year, but cant decide whether to go to Melbourne or to UK.
Is there any college that is good in commerce field in UK?

thank you smile.gif
limeuu
post Sep 10 2015, 10:47 PM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(MathsGeniusOrNot @ Sep 8 2015, 01:08 AM)
Hi everyone! would like to ask how is the student life in UK compare to Melbourne? Going to college next year, but cant decide whether to go to Melbourne or to UK.
Is there any college that is good in commerce field in UK?

thank you smile.gif
Why are you comparing Melbourne, a city, with UK, a country?....
digitalz
post Sep 10 2015, 10:56 PM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

QUOTE(mrericchia @ Sep 7 2015, 04:54 PM)
Use Priority Service. If you wanna rush. They will finish it within 3 - 5 days and 2 days for the courier (if you opted courier). Its RM744 by the way.
MathsGeniusOrNot
post Sep 12 2015, 11:10 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 10 2015, 10:47 PM)
Why are you comparing Melbourne, a city, with UK, a country?....
oops so sorry, i meant the states in UK like, London,Manchester,Edinburgh...
hakunamatata
post Sep 14 2015, 03:32 PM

511 posts

Hey guys,

Based on your experience please recommend me a way to pay my university tuition fee. By credit card or bank draft? I know credit card exchange rate is higher but my card offer 1% overseas cash back. Not sure about bank draft.

yanhui95
post Sep 14 2015, 04:33 PM

Already started
1,441 posts

QUOTE(hakunamatata @ Sep 14 2015, 03:32 PM)
Hey guys,

Based on your experience please recommend me a way to pay my university tuition fee. By credit card or bank draft? I know credit card exchange rate is higher but my card offer 1% overseas cash back. Not sure about bank draft.

someone here has mentioned before that a credit card may be a good option. currently maybank2card premier gives 5xpoints overseas.

my school fees are 20k pounds and at this exchange rate, i would be able to get a free return business class ticket to london( need to pay the taxes and aiport fee only)

if u fancy that, then it is definitely worth more than the 1% cash back that many cards offer.

corad
post Sep 14 2015, 09:34 PM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,403 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Sep 14 2015, 04:33 PM)
someone here has mentioned before that a credit card may be a good option. currently maybank2card premier gives 5xpoints overseas.

my school fees are 20k pounds and at this exchange rate, i would be able to get a free return business class ticket to london( need to pay the taxes and aiport fee only)

if u fancy that, then it is definitely worth more than the 1% cash back that many cards offer.
Not sure if the offers are still the same, but 5 or so years ago I was using my UK HSBC Premier.

Parents M'sia HSBC Premier -> Supplementary Card for me -> Open UK HSBC Account -> Upgrade own UK Account to HSBC Premier for free (Main account) tongue.gif

At the time (maybe still current?) HSBC Premier had the option of choosing our rewards. I went for supermarket vouchers (M&S, Morrisons etc) Conversion was around 10% of spend ... so 5kGBP spend gets me 500GBP of credit vouchers. thumbup.gif
yanhui95
post Sep 14 2015, 11:39 PM

Already started
1,441 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Sep 14 2015, 09:34 PM)
Not sure if the offers are still the same, but 5 or so years ago I was using my UK HSBC Premier.

Parents M'sia HSBC Premier -> Supplementary Card for me -> Open UK HSBC Account -> Upgrade own UK Account to HSBC Premier for free (Main account)  tongue.gif

At the time (maybe still current?) HSBC Premier had the option of choosing our rewards. I went for supermarket vouchers (M&S, Morrisons etc) Conversion was around 10% of spend ... so 5kGBP spend gets me 500GBP of credit vouchers.  thumbup.gif
Wow that is even more amazing. I highly doubt such a thing exists right now tho. Debit cards are without perks, but credit cards in the UK have lots of benefits such as insurance, fraud protection etc
hakunamatata
post Sep 15 2015, 03:39 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Sep 14 2015, 04:33 PM)

The miles offered by maybank2card can only redeem MAS & SIA flights? I did some research and seems like the maybank card is the best for travel. Any other cards offered the same perks?
yanhui95
post Sep 15 2015, 05:48 PM

Already started
1,441 posts

QUOTE(hakunamatata @ Sep 15 2015, 03:39 PM)
The miles offered by maybank2card can only redeem MAS & SIA flights? I did some research and seems like the maybank card is the best for travel. Any other cards offered the same perks?
Can redeem asiamiles which is cathay pacific as well.
This card seems to be the best for travel so far.
iYuuki
post Sep 15 2015, 10:56 PM

It shouldn't be a problem if i bring my hard drive containing loads of movies in it right? Sorry for the stupid question blush.gif
yanhui95
post Sep 15 2015, 11:00 PM

Already started
1,441 posts

QUOTE(iYuuki @ Sep 15 2015, 10:56 PM)
It shouldn't be a problem if i bring my hard drive containing loads of movies in it right? Sorry for the stupid question  blush.gif
well, there may be random spot checks but they won't kacau u for pirated movies if im not mistaken but child p0rno like that MARA guy then you will go to jail.

The chances that they will check it is extremely low, never heard of such a check from my friends and family
wintermelon0826
post Sep 16 2015, 05:47 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Sep 15 2015, 11:00 PM)
well, there may be random spot checks but they won't kacau u for pirated movies if im not mistaken but child p0rno like that MARA guy then you will go to jail.

The chances that they will check it is extremely low, never heard of such a check from my friends and family
yea, i agree with you - should not be a proble at all. so far have not heard anything like this smile.gif
keiru13
post Sep 16 2015, 12:04 PM

144 posts

Hi....want some help or opinion here...my uk visa application for tier 4 have been defered via email on 11/9....what should i do???my flight ticket is on this saturday....any opinion 0r someone also have been in this situation before?helpppp...
kokcc1995
post Sep 16 2015, 05:20 PM

Hi there, I'm currently a first year first semester business student in Monash Malaysia.
Planning to go to US to study WITH scholarship. most likely UCB, UCLA, UCSD.
Got 2A*2A for A levels.
can anyone weighs my chance getting into these unis?
what scholarship/financial aid should i be looking into? Thanks.
digitalz
post Sep 17 2015, 02:51 AM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

QUOTE(keiru13 @ Sep 16 2015, 12:04 PM)
Hi....want some help or opinion here...my uk visa application for tier 4 have been defered via email on 11/9....what should i do???my flight ticket is on this saturday....any opinion 0r someone also have been in this situation before?helpppp...
Have you called and asked on why it was deferred? Without your passport back, you can't travel at all.
chungdavi
post Sep 17 2015, 03:13 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(iYuuki @ Sep 15 2015, 10:56 PM)
It shouldn't be a problem if i bring my hard drive containing loads of movies in it right? Sorry for the stupid question  blush.gif
So far I have not heard of people kena spot check for laptop/handphone/portable hard disk content before. Out of my 5-6 times entry into UK also never kena.
But I did see before people got stopped at the customs for luggage inspection though, and the luggage happens to be cardboxes, so I'm not sure if using cardboxes increase the risk of getting checked.

QUOTE(keiru13 @ Sep 16 2015, 12:04 PM)
Did they give you the reason of deferment? Have you get back your passport? If you want to try apply again then you should amend the flight ticket to a later date, and opt for priority service, which can get your visa application done within 5 working days if not mistaken.

174 Pages « < 169 170 171 172 173 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:31 PM