Studying in the UK V3

chungdavi
post Oct 8 2015, 08:17 PM

Keep Calm and Keep Cubing
620 posts

QUOTE(kelmarin @ Oct 7 2015, 07:31 PM)
abang kat uni mana? kursus apa?
Nottingham Trent Uni, doing MSc Molecular Cell Biology.
How bout you?
chungdavi
post Oct 8 2015, 08:18 PM

620 posts

EDIT: Sorry double posted, had some problem with the system.

This post has been edited by chungdavi: Oct 8 2015, 08:18 PM
kelmarin
post Oct 8 2015, 08:21 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Oct 8 2015, 08:17 PM)
How bout you?
oh nottingham trent. the uni which anybody can get into. most people call it the fake uni. kerana the real uni in nottingham ialah Uni of Nottingham.

I baru dapat offer dari Bristol dan Birmingham. masih tunggu untuk lain lain uni untuk reply.
chungdavi
post Oct 8 2015, 08:24 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(kelmarin @ Oct 8 2015, 08:21 PM)
oh nottingham trent. the uni which anybody can get into. most people call it the fake uni. kerana the real uni in nottingham ialah Uni of Nottingham.

I baru dapat offer dari Bristol dan Birmingham. masih tunggu untuk lain lain uni untuk reply.
Haha, say until like that. In many cities it's similar though, for example Uni of Sheffield and Sheffield Hallam Uni, or Uni of Edinburgh and Edinburgh Napier Uni.
Of course its ranking is far lower than Uni of Nottingham if really want to compare. But as a uni itself I think NTU is not bad, facilities wise.

Oo? Which intake you going for? January 2016 and September 2016?

This post has been edited by chungdavi: Oct 8 2015, 08:27 PM
kelmarin
post Oct 8 2015, 08:38 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Oct 8 2015, 08:24 PM)
Haha, say until like that. In many cities it's similar though, for example Uni of Sheffield and Sheffield Hallam Uni, or Uni of Edinburgh and Edinburgh Napier Uni.
Of course its ranking is far lower than Uni of Nottingham if really want to compare. But as a uni itself I think NTU is not bad, facilities wise.

Oo? Which intake you going for? January 2016 and September 2016?
minta maaf abang, bukan sengaja. i have a few friends who went through student agency. my friends had very lousy grades but many lousy unis pester them and offer them automatic places for the degree courses. i wish my friends study hard and go to better university. tetapi i wish you all the best for your studies. make your parents proud and do the best for yourself.

chungdavi
post Oct 9 2015, 07:30 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(kelmarin @ Oct 8 2015, 08:38 PM)
minta maaf abang, bukan sengaja. i have a few friends who went through student agency. my friends had very lousy grades but many lousy unis pester them and offer them automatic places for the degree courses. i wish my friends study hard and go to better university. tetapi i wish you all the best for your studies. make your parents proud and do the best for yourself.
It's ok, I can see where that is coming from.
Some uni would really lower the entry requirements to attract student. I'm not too worried about that, they can take in as many students as they want, you're paying them the fees to enter, of course they'd like that. The challenge comes after the course started, whether or not you able to complete the course and graduate.

I do look at the rankings before I decide which uni to choose, Nottingham Trent ranks around 50 out of 100+ universities, for me that's pretty much where the limit is, I don't really look for uni that ranks lower than that, like 60+ or 70+.

I've actually checked for around 20 universities that ranks between 10-50+, only found 2 universities that offer the course I'm interested, 1 of them is Nottingham Trent Uni, so yeah, here I am, lol.

This post has been edited by chungdavi: Oct 9 2015, 07:32 AM
christcwl9
post Oct 15 2015, 02:24 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Oct 8 2015, 08:17 PM)
How bout you?
Yo bro, i am in Uni of Nottingham. Free to chill at the city centre during weekend? wink.gif

This post has been edited by christcwl9: Oct 15 2015, 02:25 AM
arsengal
post Oct 17 2015, 04:39 AM

200 posts

Hey guys. I'm planning to do my electives in UK come July 2016 til August, and I've understood that I needed to apply a Tier 4 Visa. How much would it cost to apply for the visa eh?
ly7
post Oct 18 2015, 07:57 AM

29 posts

hi guys im at university of nottingham too!!! erm arsengal im not sure. when i applied i went through an agent who did everything free for me perhaps you should try them?

www.fay-education.co.uk

good luck smile.gif
kokcc1995
post Oct 18 2015, 10:47 AM

hey guys, i'm studying in monash malaysia now.
my a levels result was 2A*2A, am planning to apply to Uk Unis and try to get a full scholarship from the local companies.
do you guys think i stand a good chance at getting the scholarship?
im going to do bachelor of economics, will apply to UCL, LSE
chungdavi
post Oct 19 2015, 05:43 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Oct 15 2015, 02:24 AM)
Yo bro, i am in Uni of Nottingham. Free to chill at the city centre during weekend? wink.gif
Ouch, I'm sorry, I just saw your post. A bit busy with uni stuffs right now. But sure, in the future I'd love to meet up with fellow Malaysians.
Do you hang out together in a group or is it just you?

QUOTE(arsengal @ Oct 17 2015, 04:39 AM)
Hey guys. I'm planning to do my electives in UK come July 2016 til August, and I've understood that I needed to apply a Tier 4 Visa. How much would it cost to apply for the visa eh?
QUOTE(chungdavi @ Aug 20 2015, 08:51 AM)
NHS depends on individuals, it will come out slightly different for different cases. For my case it was USD360.
You can use the link below to check roughly how much you'll have to pay:
https://www.immigration-health-surcharge.se...uk/checker/type

Visa application fee is USD515.

Hope this helps.
I hope my post above helps.
By the way, just to make sure, do you mean you'll be studying in the UK from July 2016 to August 2017 or beyond?
Cause if you're studying for less than half a year, I believe you don't need a tier 4 student visa.

This post has been edited by chungdavi: Oct 19 2015, 05:46 AM
cckkpr
post Oct 19 2015, 08:46 AM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(kokcc1995 @ Oct 18 2015, 10:47 AM)
hey guys, i'm studying in monash malaysia now.
my a levels result was 2A*2A, am planning to apply to Uk Unis and try to get a full scholarship from the local companies.
do you guys think i stand a good chance at getting the scholarship?
im going to do bachelor of economics, will apply to UCL, LSE
You can try from the scholarships advertised. But with the depreciation of the ringgit, not many will offer overseas scholarships. Look out for Shell, Sime Darby, Bank Negara or Securities Commission.
christcwl9
post Oct 22 2015, 02:30 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Oct 19 2015, 05:43 AM)
Ouch, I'm sorry, I just saw your post. A bit busy with uni stuffs right now. But sure, in the future I'd love to meet up with fellow Malaysians.
Do you hang out together in a group or is it just you?
By the way, just to make sure, do you mean you'll be studying in the UK from July 2016 to August 2017 or beyond?
Cause if you're studying for less than half a year, I believe you don't need a tier 4 student visa.
It is just me smile.gif Sometimes with my MSc mates together. u?? btw pm me ur UK number smile.gif
arsengal
post Oct 22 2015, 11:00 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Oct 19 2015, 05:43 AM)

Thanks bro for the reply! Actually I'll only be there for a month, going for a visiting student electives (medical) at Dundee University. Does that mean the whole cost for the visa is USD515? I thought so too but in their website it is stated that I need to have a tier4, maybe because I'm gonna be getting involved with procedures and hands on stuff at their attached hospital.
limeuu
post Oct 22 2015, 02:05 PM

12,292 posts

You don't really need a tier 4 visa for an elective....just go in as a tourist....after all, electives are generally holidays for med students....and no, you will not be involved with actual clinical care....
kelmarin
post Nov 2 2015, 07:03 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Oct 15 2015, 02:24 AM)
QUOTE(ly7 @ Oct 18 2015, 07:57 AM)
hi guys im at university of nottingham too!!! erm arsengal im not sure. when i applied i went through an agent who did everything free for me perhaps you should try them?

www.fay-education.co.uk

good luck smile.gif
what are both of you studying at Nottingham?

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 22 2015, 02:05 PM)
You don't really need a tier 4 visa for an elective....just go in as a tourist....after all, electives are generally holidays for med students....and no, you will not be involved with actual clinical care....
ys you are correct. btw im just wondering. if i graduate from UK uni how to get citizenship? possible to give me a timeline based on your knowledge? please don't link me to any UK citizenry website because it is too long winded and inaccurate. terima kasih.

Geminist
post Nov 2 2015, 10:41 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(kelmarin @ Nov 1 2015, 11:03 PM)
ys you are correct. btw im just wondering. if i graduate from UK uni how to get citizenship? possible to give me a timeline based on your knowledge? please don't link me to any UK citizenry website because it is too long winded and inaccurate. terima kasih.
The Gov website would be the most accurate source of information.

In any case, British Citizenship has nothing to do with which university you graduate from. You can either stay in the country continuously long enough to qualify (10 years +), stay long enough post Indefinite Leave visa (2 years minimum I believe) or you marry a British citizen and remain together for a few years.

By the way, the above conditions only qualify you. You'll have to jump through a few hoops like demonstrating UK is now your home (own property, have kids etc), you assimilated to the area you live in, and show you know enough about the country. Your case will be evaluated on a case by case basis, and they can still reject you.

This post has been edited by Geminist: Nov 2 2015, 10:43 AM
christcwl9
post Nov 2 2015, 02:02 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(kelmarin @ Nov 2 2015, 07:03 AM)
I am taking MSc in Chemical Engineering at University of Nottingham. What about u? Are you in UK now?
kelmarin
post Nov 3 2015, 03:16 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Nov 2 2015, 02:02 PM)
I am taking MSc in Chemical Engineering at University of Nottingham. What about u? Are you in UK now?
hi abang. belum lagi. bila i sampai i bilang u k?
digitalz
post Nov 6 2015, 12:46 AM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

Citizenships? Tier 4 for students won't score you any points. Sorry to say but unless you start to work in the UK for the coming years, your visa would change as well. But for now, Tier 4 (Students) cannot be considered under the type of visa that will score you points to be qualified for it.

174 Pages « < 171 172 173 174 >Top

0.0293sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:14 AM