22 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Food Recipes: Share them here, Recipes ONLY, no comments here.

jarodfjk
post May 10 2005, 03:31 PM

359 posts

Malay Batik Cake

Ingredients:
5 egg
1 buttercup
1 cup fine sugar
5 spoon of coco
5 spoon of milo
1/2 tin of milk
300g Marie biscuit
1/2 cup of water
1 teaspoon of vanilla esen

Methods:
1. Break the Marie biscuit into 4 part

2. Put in all the ingredients stated above into a pan. Heat it and stir it until it mixed.

3. After the mixture done, put in the biscuit. Arrange it properly in order to get a nice looking cake.

4. Press the mixture with biscuit until it is compact.

5. Put it into freezer for 2 to 3 hour. The cake is serve cold and ready to eat when it freeze.
rosamundwo
post May 18 2005, 12:40 PM

481 posts

Anyone here have egg tart recipe.. i got one but the pastry not crispy enough and that filling is too sweet...

This is my recipe

Egg Tart[B]

8 oz of Flour
A pinch of salt
2 tablespoon of icing sugar
5 oz of butter
1 egg separated
4-5 tablespoon of iced water

Method

1. Sift flour and icing sugar together
2. Rub butter lightly into sifted flour till mixture resembles breadcrumbs
3. Add egg yolk and water to form a dough
4. Chill dough in refrigerator for 1/2 hour
5. Roll dough out thinly and cut to line greased pastry tins. Prick pastry with fork and brush with egg white.
6. Fill with eggs mixture
7. Bake in hot oven at 150 celcius (300 Fah) for 50 mins
8. Lower the heat to the lowest
9. Bake till the egg is cooked

Filling

(8oz) 1/2lb of sugar
(8oz) 1/2lb of hot water (mix with sugar to dissolve)
4 tablespoon of ideal milk
1/2 teaspoon of vanilla essense
4 eggs

Geminist
post May 21 2005, 11:41 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Hmm... Juz to add in...

I was reading how to make yakisoba tat day and realized they use a sauce called yakisoba sauce or worcester sauce...

I tried frying mee + worcester sauce yesterday... and it taste good ~~

FYI, worcester sauce is something like Lea & Perrins worcester sauce...

Try it ~
puliamo
post May 22 2005, 04:02 PM

261 posts

First guy to post, muahaha...though its really simple, its jus one of the fav dishes i've learnt from my mum...it really taste different from wat i could get in restaurants...and i don't know whats the amount of ingredients, just feel it through experience =P

-A-ma style curry mutton-

-1-First step is the MOST troublesome process, removing all unnecessary fats from the mutton ( preferable imported lamb, taste better,it would ). Cut it into middle cube / slices ( i prefer slices ), add small pinches of salt and 'message' it all over the meat.

-2-Ingredients for the curry includes loads of onion and garlic ( minced ), bat gok(is it called cloves?) ,cinnamon,cardamon, fresh red chilli ( sliced / minced ), curry leaves, coconut milk ( damn, my mum used to squeeze it out with a kitchen towel with fresh santan ), suitable amount of curry powder, chilli paste

-3-Basically its quite easy to prepare the curry, jus put in some oil, heat it up put in the garlic/onion, when the 'smell' appears, add in the other ingredients, cook and stir while adding in suitable amount of water, until the it looks like thick curry paste. ( At this stage, we'd normally scoope it up and store some of the curry paste for future usage ).

-4-Clear the wok/pan, add in some oil,heat it up and stir fry the mutton in the wok for a while, ( really just for a while ), then add in curry paste, cook it until the meat looks almost cooked, and add in the coconut milk ( caution, don't pour in everything, add accordingly to your own liking ). Of course, add in suitable amount of water.

-5-Either boil it with the wok itself, or scoop up everything into a pot ( preferably clay pot, not sure why, but it 'seems' to taste better when its coming from a claypot =P ). Then just let in a small fire maybe for at least half an hour to 45 minutes.

Guarantee...the meat would be damn tender, and IMO mutton taste perfect with curry.

To be frank, the way to cook it is just normal lo... the difference is the process of removing all the extra fat/ligaments from the mutton makes the meat tastier to eat and less oily ( curry itself would be oily enough )

Dunno this qualifies as a recipe or not, feel free to remove it if u think its not helpful. Cheers ~ smile.gif
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post May 23 2005, 05:07 PM

1,396 posts

Simple and Good Snack! WOHOoo!

Toast Bread

Peanut Butter

Marshmallow(small pieces)

ginger_bread_man
post May 29 2005, 10:37 PM

89 posts

cream of mushroom soup

butter
flour
In equal portion combined made to become roux

oyster mushrooms
shitake mushrooms
fresh button mushrooms
Sliced

chicken stock / water

1. saute mushrooms in butter until soft
2. add in chicken stock/water
3. add in combined roux
4. season as required
pizzaboy
post May 29 2005, 11:33 PM

9,495 posts

Try this.

-Bihun(abt 200Gms? I donno, i dun measure)
-Eggs(x2)
-Soya sauce
-Pepper
-Salt
-Bawang putih

Cara Preparation

1.Boil the bihun annen remove the water.

2.Fry the bihun with soya sauce and bawang (cud try Worcester sauce as geminist suggest)

3.Beat the eggs with pepper and add some salt and soya sauce again.

4.Soak the bihun with the egg mixture for a while annen fry.

5.Add the remaining eggs and just goreng till masak~!

Mati i duno arh, i eat this every three days lidat.

The soup version oso can try. Fact, it's damn simple.

1.Boil water with ikan bilis and the maggi the dunno wat cubes..

2.Masukkan the bihun

3.Add some ..i duno, maybe fishball, meatballs whatever you feel like.

Then eat lo...

Chartry
post May 29 2005, 11:38 PM

In the mood of love
1,616 posts

Steamboat Moden.

Take ur electronic kettle and boil the soup.
Remove the caps and put fishball, prawn etc inside.
Enjoy!

DrJackal
post Jun 6 2005, 12:02 AM

-
3,107 posts

Haha... Campbell Mushroom Soup

Mix it with MILK , yes MILK instead of water as stated in the instuction.
add pepper~
u can add extra button mushroom too hehe

Can use it as the sauce for spaghetti (corret spelling ar), but some ppl dun like it. Add cheese powder.
chanti-sama
post Jun 8 2005, 07:48 PM

710 posts

[aSa] rations

Meat
5 pieces ramli burger (chicken)
5 pieces ramli burger (beef)
6 eggs

Seasoning
1/2 cup tomato sauce
1/2 cup chilli sauce
some leftover bbq sauce
1/4 clove garlic
2 large onions
margerine or oil

Instructions

defrost burgers and crack ur eggs.
combine burgers with eggs and mash them until become like mincemeat like state.
chop onions and garlic.
heat up the wok and melt the margerine or u can use oil.
brown garlic and throw in the meat.
cook the meat like 10 minutes.
combine all the sauces, add a little water(very little)
and slowly mix the sauces into the meat.
continue cooking until meat is throughly cook.

serve with bread or toast.

makes 3-4.

warning: the rations are very filling. lasted me and 3 of me pals for the entire morning and afternoon without eating. suitable for those on beachin' trips. biggrin.gif thumbup.gif

TSshadowprincess
post Jun 23 2005, 10:08 PM

228 posts

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

Ingredients
1-1/2 cups HONEY MAID Graham Cracker Crumbs

3 Tbsp. sugar

1/3 cup butter or margarine, melted

4 pkg. (8 oz. each) PHILADELPHIA Cream Cheese, softened

1 cup sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

4 eggs

Preparation
MIX crumbs, 3 Tbsp. sugar and butter; press firmly onto bottom of 9-inch springform pan.

BEAT cream cheese, 1 cup sugar and vanilla with electric mixer on medium speed until well blended. Add eggs, 1 at a time, mixing on low speed after each addition just until blended. Pour over crust.

BAKE at 325F for 55 minutes or until center is almost set if using a silver springform pan. (Or, bake at 300F if using a dark nonstick springform pan.) Loosen cake from side of pan; cool before removing side of pan. Refrigerate 4 hours or overnight. Store leftover cheesecake in refrigerator.

tip: to avoid the cheesecake from cracking, always put a pan of hot water on the shelf below the cheesecake while baking.

if i'm not mistaken, ppl use gelating if they wanna make a "non-baked" cheesecake.. basically assemble then just put in the fridge....
fraulein
post Jun 29 2005, 09:26 AM

510 posts

This is a simple counterfeit "Vanetta Ice cream" that my friend taught me:

Ingredients:
Ma Ling Biscuit - 1 pack
1 cup milo powder
1 cup cocoa powder
1 cup water
1 cup sugar

Mix water with cocoa & milo. Heat it over fire and add in sugar. Then snap the biscuits into 2 or 4 parts and add in. Let it boil a while, so the biscuit mix in well and become soft. Then let it cool.

After cooling, prepare a pan and put plastic/wrappers on it. Pour in the mixture and freeze it in the fridge until it became hard. Usually it won't look very nice (unless u do it very carefully and skillfully) but it taste good all the same. My friend said can substitute millk with water but i never try before.

Hope you will enjoy this cheap desert.

P/S: make sure u boil the biscuit till soft, if not you'll be eating chocolate rock! And while boiling, always stir so it won't burnt.
fraulein
post Jun 29 2005, 09:28 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(fraulein @ Jun 29 2005, 09:26 AM)
This is a simple counterfeit "Vanetta Ice cream" that my friend taught me:

Ingredients:
Ma Ling Biscuit - 1 pack
1 cup milo powder
1 cup cocoa powder
1 cup water
1 cup sugar

Mix water with cocoa & milo. Heat it over fire and add in sugar. Then snap the biscuits into 2 or 4 parts and add in. Let it boil a while, so the biscuit mix in well and become soft. Then let it cool.

After cooling, prepare a pan and put plastic/wrappers on it. Pour in the mixture and freeze it in the fridge until it became hard. Usually it won't look very nice (unless u do it very carefully and skillfully) but it taste good all the same. My friend said can substitute millk with water but i never try before.

Hope you will enjoy this cheap desert.

P/S: make sure u boil the biscuit till soft, if not you'll be eating chocolate rock! And while boiling, always stir so it won't burnt.
Oh.. forgot to mention, after poouring in the mixture, tie the plastic up & compress it. put pressure on the plastic with hand or other things so i'll become COMPACT. sORRY.
fraulein
post Jul 1 2005, 11:41 PM

510 posts

notworthy.gif Sorry friends, I forgot. It's MARIE biscuit, not Ma Ling. So SORRY notworthy.gif
Kii
post Jul 16 2005, 02:09 AM

Why so serious?
561 posts

I just made Oreo Cheesecake today! Woohoo! As good as Secret Recipe's. Hehe, but it's not cheap. Cost me almost $30 for all the material. But really nice and simple.No baking!! Here's the recipe:

Oreo Cheesecake

Ingredients :
- 2 packet of Oreo biscuit (for base and for mixture)
- 1/3 cup butter, melted
- 2 pieces of 250g Philadelphia cream cheese (softened at room temperature)
- 3 teaspoon of gelatine(this is agar agar powder) dissolved in 1/2 cup boiling water
- 1/3 cup castor sugar
- 25g whipping cream

Method :
3 Easy Steps
1. Mix
Mix Oreo biscuit crumbs (for base) with melted butter, press into base of pan. Chill
2. BEAT
Beat the cream cheese with an electric beater until smooth, mix in gelatine mixture, sugar, cream and blend till smooth. Add in Oreo rough crumbs and mix.
3. POUR
Pour mixture onto crumb base and chill in refrigerator (2-3 hours or overnight).

OPTIONAL :
Garnish with chocolate shavings and strawberries.

Can't wait to try my first homemade cheesecake tomorrow morning ^_____^
Tiramisu is my next experiment. Will post the recipe if succeed.

This post has been edited by Kii: Jul 16 2005, 02:10 AM
chosei
post Aug 11 2005, 04:38 PM

102 posts

Spaghetti in Olive Oil and Garlic

Ingredients
. 400g Spaghetti
. 6 tbsps oil
. 4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
. 1 tsp MAGGI Concentrated Chicken Stock
. 4 tbsp grated Parmesan cheese

Method
1. Cook spaghetti as per instruction.
2. Heat oil in a frying pan and gently saut the garlic until slightly golden, not brown.
3. Season with MAGGI Concentrated Stock and pepper to taste.
4. Put the drained spaghetti in the frying pan with oil and garlic and stir well until the spaghetti is well coated.
5. Serve immediately.
6. Add grated Parmesan cheese if desired.

ez?

caramel
post Aug 25 2005, 05:14 PM

This is a simple recipe for those of you who have not much time. Probably about 5-8 minutes.

Ingredients
a) Chicken
B) Sliced Onions
c) Oyster Sauce
d) Honey (loads of them ;P)
e) Some oil

1) Heat wok.

2) Pour oil (just a little)

3) Add onions

4) Add chicken

5) Add oyster sauce + some water

6) Add loads of honey

Smells good; tastes great

This post has been edited by caramel: Aug 25 2005, 05:15 PM
chosei
post Aug 26 2005, 05:25 PM

102 posts

Sambal Ikan Bilis

Ingredients
100g ikan bilis , soaked and washed
3 tbsp oil
1 Bombay onion, sliced
2 tbsp chilli paste
Pound:
5 shallots
2 cloves garlic
1 stalk lemon grass, thinly sliced
1/2 tsp belacan granules

Seasoning:
1/2 tsp ikan bilis granules
1 tsp sugar or to taste
2 tbsp lime juice
2 tbsp water

Method
Heat oil in a wok, saute pounded ingredients, chilli paste and belacan until fragrant. Add ikan bilis and big onions and stir-fry well.

Mix in lime juice, water and seasoning ingredients. Mix well. Dish out and serve with nasi lemak.

Recipe by Amy Beh

This post has been edited by chosei: Aug 26 2005, 05:26 PM
chosei
post Aug 30 2005, 12:18 PM

102 posts

Mashed Potato

Ingredients
800g potatoes, washed

40g butter

140ml hot milk

Salt to taste

A dash of pepper

For the gravy:

30g plain flour

30g butter

320ml beef stock

Salt and pepper to taste

1 tsp prepared mustard

Method
Place potatoes in a pan with enough cold water to cover them. Add tsp salt. Bring to a boil, then simmer for 25-30 minutes or until potatoes are tender. Drain the potatoes and put aside to cool slightly.

Peel the potatoes and put them back into the pan. Add butter. Mash the potatoes over low heat until a smooth texture is achieved. Add the hot milk slowly and beat vigorously with a wooden spoon until it turns creamy. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Serve with the gravy or sauce for extra taste.

To prepare the gravy or sauce, heat butter in a non-stick saucepan then stir in flour. Make a roux or allow the paste to brown a little over very low heat, stirring all the time. Do not allow it to burn.

Blend in the stock gradually and allow to cook until it has a thick consistency.

Season to taste with salt, pepper and mustard.

chosei
post Aug 30 2005, 12:22 PM

102 posts

The umm-I-don't-think-I-made-it-quite-right-but-it-still-turned-out-okay Bictody's special hamster/mouse-creature-seemingly-driving-a-bumper-car deviled eggs!

What you'll need:
Your favorite deviled eggs recipe*
Raisins (eyes and tail)
Small celery stalk or cucumber seeds (ears)
Toothpicks
*Being the incredibly simple-minded fool that cringes at complexity I am, my deviled egg recipe calls for boiling eggs, cutting the egg in half (for this recipe, you can cut it either the long or short way based on your preference), scooping out the egg yolks with a spoon - taking care not to rip the egg whites, mixing the egg yolks with mayonnaise until it is the consistency you like - based on how much mayonnaise you want, and spooning the egg yolk/mayonnaise mixture back into the holes where the original yolks used to be in the boiled egg halves. This is just to help out those who've no idea what deviled eggs are. It'd probably be worth your time to find a really good recipe, but this works for me. smile.gif

What to do:
Make your deviled eggs
Cut raisins to pieces for your creature's eyes - cutting one raisin into four pieces works well
Thinly slice a small stalk of celery (see pictures if you are confused) or find some cucumber seeds in that cucumber of yours to use as ears for your creature
Place raisin eyes as deemed appropriate
Place celery/cucumber ears a little way behind the eyes
Spear a whole raisin with a toothpick, and bring the raisin down about 3/4 of the length of the toothpick. Stick the toothpick (dirty end that raisin left goo all over as you were sliding it down) into the "back" of the creature until raisin meets egg white
Tweak as you like to adjust appearance - Easy, ne? - experiment with different food items you can use for different body parts

have fun!

22 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:22 PM