38 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

abit Fatal1ty AN8 for AMD 64bit, Overclocking ability...

Fries
post Sep 15 2005, 03:38 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(cyberloner @ Sep 15 2005, 10:33 AM)
about bios flashing... u can install flash menu and download the bios 1st and update by file ... dun ever flash online or live update...
That's what I've been doing all this while. No phone line at home. Everything offline.

16th Sept.
Flashed to 17 last night. A little bit worried when flashing. Dare not let it run the whole night, yet. Will see if it's okay after this. Then only will start to oc. This weekend just want to pay up the 3 weeks of no games. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Fries: Sep 16 2005, 12:16 PM
aaron_lwm
post Sep 17 2005, 11:38 AM

>jedi council<
3,277 posts

Abit is good bro, Me gettin AN8-Sli fatality, OC wise stable because of UGuru
Fries
post Sep 17 2005, 12:24 PM

328 posts

Saturday, Sept 17.

It happened again!!! ARRGH!!! Ran it overnight. Then this morning played some games. Right after closing the last game, it rebooted itself. Went into BIOS, both my OTES fan settings are gone. Only AUX left. Now the only way to control the OTES fan is through ABIT OC software. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

Anyone else facing this problem? Is bios 17 really stable? Because I don't have this problem while using bios 16.

Somebody HELP!!!
antonio
post Sep 17 2005, 12:42 PM

AMD Phenom II & Intel i7 Overclocker
4,032 posts

QUOTE(Fries @ Sep 17 2005, 12:24 PM)
Saturday, Sept 17.

It happened again!!! ARRGH!!! Ran it overnight. Then this morning played some games. Right after closing the last game, it rebooted itself. Went into BIOS, both my OTES fan settings are gone. Only AUX left. Now the only way to control the OTES fan is through ABIT OC software.  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

Anyone else facing this problem? Is bios 17 really stable? Because I don't have this problem while using bios 16.

Somebody HELP!!!
I had this problem no matter bios stock,15, or even 16...that is the problem i've been trying to tell ya all about.... whistling.gif
cyberloner
post Sep 17 2005, 12:49 PM

1,560 posts

u need to reset cmos after flash brother...
if the otes cannot be detected...
i think there might be problem with your casing and mobo...
try remove the mobo outside the casing with no harddisk , no cd-rom and other external devices....
boot and see if it is there... and plug in by one device see everything is ok...
after that... if you sit the mobo inside the casing and having problem again...
it would be the casing is bend adi....
you need to troubleshoot it....

antonio
post Sep 17 2005, 12:52 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(cyberloner @ Sep 17 2005, 12:49 PM)
try remove the mobo outside the casing with no harddisk , no cd-rom and other external devices....
boot and see if it is there... and plug in by one device see everything is ok...
whistling.gif
when my OTES menu missing my board was on a box and below the box were a sound dampening piece (insuflex)...
Fries
post Sep 17 2005, 12:53 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Sep 17 2005, 12:42 PM)
I had this problem no matter bios stock,15, or even 16...that is the problem i've been trying to tell ya all about.... whistling.gif
I know you're having this problem before, but does it restart by itself? Last time, when it happened, no matter what version you flash after that, the problem won't go away. It only happen after I flashed to version 17. cry.gif Afraid have to RMA again. Because last time, it restarted while flashing. And it took me 3 weeks!!
Fries
post Sep 17 2005, 12:57 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(cyberloner @ Sep 17 2005, 12:49 PM)
That's not the case. What do you think, if the board is inside the casing, and you can't see it, then you describe that undetected? vmad.gif Even if it is set up in the open space also, it still can't be detected!
antonio
post Sep 17 2005, 01:01 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(Fries @ Sep 17 2005, 12:53 PM)
I know you're having this problem before, but does it restart by itself? Last time, when it happened, no matter what version you flash after that, the problem won't go away. It only happen after I flashed to version 17.  cry.gif Afraid have to RMA again. Because last time, it restarted while flashing. And it took me 3 weeks!!
yerp...restarting itself the need to press the nuke symbol to reset cmos...and sumtimes reset cmos oso doesnt help in restarting back the computer....i have to take out the battery...wait an hour or so....then only put back the battery...and wallaaa...it boots with default value.... vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif mad.gif

Fries
post Sep 17 2005, 01:25 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Sep 17 2005, 01:01 PM)
yerp...restarting itself the need to press the nuke symbol to reset cmos...and sumtimes reset cmos oso doesnt help in restarting back the computer....i have to take out the battery...wait an hour or so....then only put back the battery...and wallaaa...it boots with default value.... vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  mad.gif
Yup. And the problem is still there. It won't go away. cry.gif
wadieq
post Sep 17 2005, 01:41 PM

Aku Senior, Hang Dupe
675 posts

QUOTE(Fries @ Sep 17 2005, 01:25 PM)
Yup. And the problem is still there. It won't go away.  cry.gif
try flash back to bios 15 and reset ur bios.. itz never happend to me either An8 or An8 ultra sweat.gif
Fries
post Sep 17 2005, 02:06 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(wadieq @ Sep 17 2005, 01:41 PM)
try flash back to bios 15 and reset ur bios.. itz never happend to me either An8 or An8 ultra  sweat.gif
It happened to me and antonio_zth. sad.gif

Now I'm afraid of flashing it anymore. Last time I did that, it restarted by itself during flashing. Hate to send it for RMA.
cyberloner
post Sep 17 2005, 02:48 PM

1,560 posts

I think it should be a bug...
Please blackbox abit about it...
sure new bios can fix that problem...

Fries
post Sep 17 2005, 02:49 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(cyberloner @ Sep 17 2005, 02:48 PM)
I think it should be a bug...
Please blackbox abit about it...
sure new bios can fix that problem...
Sent a report to Abit's technical support just now. Just wondering if anyone else having the same problem.
cyberloner
post Sep 17 2005, 10:54 PM

1,560 posts

you may try at http://forum.abit-usa.com
asking any other SLI user whether this problem occur too...
irenic
post Sep 18 2005, 12:00 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

is this board good & stable for amd x2 processor?
cyberloner
post Sep 18 2005, 01:00 AM

1,560 posts

irenic i can see a lot of user use san diego with all AN8 XXX version... in the abit forum

It have no problem at all to run the X2 CPU...

This post has been edited by cyberloner: Sep 18 2005, 01:01 AM
wild_card_my
post Sep 18 2005, 08:20 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(aaron_lwm @ Sep 17 2005, 11:38 AM)
Abit is good bro, Me gettin AN8-Sli fatality, OC wise stable because of UGuru
So ou're getting the same board as mine. Though mine is not the fatal1ty, but they are almost identtical anyway

QUOTE(Fries @ Sep 17 2005, 12:24 PM)

Somebody HELP!!!
I'm using bios 17 and it is running fine. Hand when I try to OC it using software though...
wild_card_my
post Sep 18 2005, 08:22 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Sep 18 2005, 12:00 AM)
is this board good & stable for amd x2 processor?
Make sure you update the bios to the one that supports X2 though. If you do it after windows reinstallation, using the uGuru utility to update the bios, you'll need to reinstall windows again.

I leaned that the HARD way

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Sep 18 2005, 08:24 AM
jarofclay
post Sep 18 2005, 11:04 AM

Klipsch Addict
2,068 posts

Lazy to find out exactly which version, but ver 17 so far has been very stable. No reboots nor shutdowns after flashing to it.

I flashed it in windows. However, I downloaded the bin file to the hard drive first and then use the utility to flash from file.

1. Immediately after flashing rebooted the system and then set the bios to default.
2. Rebooted it.
3. Go into bios again, set the ram timings and other settings correctly to reflect the overclock.
4. Then boot into windows.

Using these 4 steps, it helps eliminate the issue where you have your RAM timings wrongly. Usually, if a machine reboots by itself, that means your RAM tak tahan already.

So far, using bios 17, I've managed to have stability, have support for X2 (If you use the default Abit boot screen, it will show you the X2, FX and 64 logos) and the dreaded temperature issue is resolved.

Just my sharing to help get you guys solve this issue. BIOS 17 is great!!

38 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:01 AM