abit Fatal1ty AN8 for AMD 64bit, Overclocking ability...
jarofclay
Sep 3 2005, 07:51 PM
Klipsch Addict
Currently using D43 Hynix and Winchester. No issues running 1T memory at 243HTT. Ratio to CPU is 1:1. The 1T setting is set to Auto.
So far, I've died one DFI (but that was 875P-T) but all my Abit boards so far are okay. Personal preference is Abit as it:
1. Has easy reset CMOS function at the front panel. 2. Cool red LEDs that work with my UV lightings. 3. Rock stable now with SLI mode on and moderate overclocking of the CPU. 4. Good motherboard layout although the Floppy connector is the only gripe. 5. VDIMM at 3.55V although I never needed more than 2.9V for my D43. 6. No issues at all with my cheap D43 RAM.
Anyone else has anything to share about Abit boards, please do post here... I find it very informative.
jarofclay
Sep 4 2005, 01:28 PM
Klipsch Addict
Flashed to bios 17 and verified that the temperature issue is solved. Will try out the stability over these few days.
jarofclay
Sep 8 2005, 10:19 PM
Klipsch Addict
So far with my Winnie 3500+ overclocked to 2.7ghz no issues or hangs. Another good and stable mobo from Abit.
Only thing is that whenever I go for standby, even disabling waking up from USB or LAN, it will automatically wake up. Anyone has any recommendation for this S3 issue?
jarofclay
Sep 10 2005, 10:43 PM
Klipsch Addict
Yup, mine works with 1T as well but limited to 250HTT as D43 limit. BTW, slightly off topic, why not get the SLI version for a little more money but are assured you have a good upgrade path in the future? Try bios 17, it should solve CPU temperature issues as well. QUOTE(wadieq @ Sep 10 2005, 09:34 PM) just light OC my rig ... using 1 : 1 with my KVR chip kingston week 2 2005 can up till 270FSB 1T @ 2.9v with no problem at all.. why irenic said that Abit AN8 ultra hav problem with 1T timing ?? *use bios 15
jarofclay
Sep 11 2005, 11:14 PM
Klipsch Addict
Beware of DFI mobo with D43 ram. I am using Hynix and that's the primary reason I didn't buy DFI although it is a splendid board; if you get the settings right.
Some of my recommendations are as follows; they represent my interpretation of value for money hardware:
CPU - X2 3800+ Mobo - Abit A8N-SLI (go for Fatality if you have budget) GPU - 6800GT single or SLI. Sound Card - Creative X-Fi if you could afford it. Otherwise, on board Abit mobo will do. CPU cooler - Thermalright XP90C or XP120. Hard Drive - Any SATA II with NCQ would be fitting. Otherwise, Raptor 74GB is exceptionally good for fast response times. Optical Drive - LG Supermulti DVDRW. GSA 4165 or above.
Now, do some research on the web with these headstart information and see what's best for you and your wallet.
jarofclay
Sep 12 2005, 08:33 AM
Klipsch Addict
Kind enough to provide a link for us all to learn?  QUOTE(cyberloner @ Sep 12 2005, 08:11 AM) Sound Card - Creative X-Fi if you could afford it. Otherwise, on board Abit mobo will do. that line have problem... Nforce have problem with X-FI
jarofclay
Sep 12 2005, 12:07 PM
Klipsch Addict
Get an Abit then, it automatically resets the clocks and reboots whenever I overclocked it too high; whether it is memory timings or HTT. Heheh. That's exactly the reason why I dun like DFI; I had very bad experience after flashing the bios of the 875P-T; where the mobo just died on me. RMA took me three months and still haven't received the board back... sighhhhhh. QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Sep 12 2005, 11:54 AM) i wanted to disable the OTES but menu gone...how to disable then???  hahahah..other problem factors of the mobo is the way it tend to not boot after a high overclock...it alwiz want to be discharge fully around 1 hour to boot up again...-sigh- but i like the LED tho...it makes at nite easier to 'see'
jarofclay
Sep 12 2005, 07:22 PM
Klipsch Addict
Yeah lor, coz no point la if you buy so expensive rigs and the time you spent on troubleshooting is more than using the system; totally the opposite of reason of using PC. THe original point of PC is to service us and make things easy for us; not the other way around.  And yes, I've read thru almost the whole creative thread on X-Fi having issues. It seems that the problem is more prevalent on Abit as MSI nforce4 mobo has a patch to resolve it. QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Sep 12 2005, 03:21 PM)
jarofclay
Sep 18 2005, 11:04 AM
Klipsch Addict
Lazy to find out exactly which version, but ver 17 so far has been very stable. No reboots nor shutdowns after flashing to it.
I flashed it in windows. However, I downloaded the bin file to the hard drive first and then use the utility to flash from file.
1. Immediately after flashing rebooted the system and then set the bios to default. 2. Rebooted it. 3. Go into bios again, set the ram timings and other settings correctly to reflect the overclock. 4. Then boot into windows.
Using these 4 steps, it helps eliminate the issue where you have your RAM timings wrongly. Usually, if a machine reboots by itself, that means your RAM tak tahan already.
So far, using bios 17, I've managed to have stability, have support for X2 (If you use the default Abit boot screen, it will show you the X2, FX and 64 logos) and the dreaded temperature issue is resolved.
Just my sharing to help get you guys solve this issue. BIOS 17 is great!!
jarofclay
Sep 19 2005, 09:00 PM
Klipsch Addict
I think guys, let's stick back to the main topic. I know Antonio is a hardcore overclocker who will stop at nothing to get that extra pico second at superpi or getting that little more fraction of HTT. So, the DFI board must be a god-sent gift for him.
However, true to the topic of the thread, this is all about Abit board and how users of Abit Fatality could give and share the opinion based on their usage.
Personally, I've not tried DFI for the very obvious reason that I am a cheap ******* who doesn't believe is spending double for that extra speed or tight timings that TCCD or TCC5 chips can achieve. Therefore, I am using a cheap KVR D43 from the days of socket 478. So far, this Abit board has been a great workhorse, no issues and is reasonably fast.
For my primary usage which is gaming, I find that overclocking the rig to the max might not be such a good idea. I need stability when I am fragging someone; the last thing I want is a reboot during my gaming session of BF2. I'd rather spend some money on getting a better VGA and get high frame rates. I've come to notice that it doesn't make much practical gaming difference when I am running my A64 at 2.4ghz or 2.7ghz except during benchmarks; which aren't real games in itself. I also use this rig to surf the net to check forums and to learn more new things in the overclocking and computer world. I'm sure Irenic shares my sentiment.
So, like what I said in my earlier thread; beauty lies in the eye of the beholder. Let's stop this topic about DFI is a better overclocking board as no one here denies that. Peace.
jarofclay
Sep 20 2005, 10:35 AM
Klipsch Addict
Not much results to show except that I am happy that my Winchester can prime stably at 10.5 x 250HTT @ 1T. Not much to boast but it's stable and reasonably fast.
jarofclay
Sep 20 2005, 11:01 AM
Klipsch Addict
No issues so far. What kind of problems do you anticipate? QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Sep 20 2005, 10:52 AM) bro how come u run on 10.5 dividers???no problems or what so ever occur????
jarofclay
Sep 20 2005, 12:47 PM
Klipsch Addict
It's good and rock stable with 0.5 multipliers. I did some prime yesterday while watching Initial D. Nothing failed. QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Sep 20 2005, 11:13 AM) mostly the instability from the CPU itself...it will run either to the rams resulting in an unstable situation for the rams...and windows usually locks up...i am going far from 0.5 multipliers avoid it while i still can...
jarofclay
Sep 21 2005, 05:34 AM
Klipsch Addict
Blank screenshot... QUOTE(wadieq @ Sep 20 2005, 10:28 PM) just simple play around with my rig.. wat the heck ?? my KVR can reach till 300FSB 
jarofclay
Oct 1 2005, 04:44 PM
Klipsch Addict
Normally, if you started your computers way back in the Pentium 133MHz onwards, you would have heard of ALi chipsets. It is part of Acer last time and most of the time, ALi chipsets are items that you should avoid at all costs. It was highly unstable and most of the times, you get hangs with those machines.
At the end, I stayed with Intel chipsets for stability such as Asus P2B mobo, in which it is so stable I never had to reformat my Win98 machine for two years!! Yes, at that time, Intel chipsets were the most dominant in terms of stability and performance. Nothing from AMD nor Cyrix could come close.
How the world has turned around nowadays.
Anyway, it seems that some motherboards incorporate ULI chipsets as they are very feature rich and quite stable nowadays. We'll get to know more of it when more ppl in LYN buys their Crossfire boards with ULI southbridges.
jarofclay
Oct 8 2005, 06:39 PM
Klipsch Addict
Not sure why you only maxed out at 240 as I managed to get 253 * 10.5 on this board. Anyway, on the cpu end, that's quite a gem you have there. What voltage you engaged to get 2.8ghz and is it watercooled? QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Oct 8 2005, 06:17 PM) i was maxed out at 240* 10 with 1:1.2 divider giving 200Mhz ram speed... I used the X2 3800... amazingly, I managed to go up to 2.70 Ghz - 270*10, 225mhz ram speed on my new ASUS Premium board... same chips, same rams, different boards... it could certainly be the board
jarofclay
Oct 9 2005, 01:34 AM
Klipsch Addict
Perhaps I wasn't that precise in my sig... I am running SLI as well. It's the same board. QUOTE(aaron_lwm @ Oct 8 2005, 09:10 PM) @jarofclay urs is the AN8 Fatality, she is using AN8-SLi fatality, there is a difference @wild_card_my I agree with you, I think is the board, asus boards seem to be more promising nowadays, stable on OC
jarofclay
Oct 9 2005, 01:40 AM
Klipsch Addict
You need to check on your HTT multiplier as well. Normally, HTT works below 1GHz. So if you absolutely need to raise HTT, then lower the multiplier. So far, the best and stable for me is 4x 250HTT (due to my system RAM bottleneck) QUOTE(comgeek85 @ Oct 8 2005, 10:43 PM) ermm i dont know why when i increase the HTT , my pc will restart... hurmm i dont know how to do.... 
jarofclay
Oct 9 2005, 12:08 PM
Klipsch Addict
If you're selling, let me know. I am searching for a good dual core too on my quest to build a better machine. However, as I know, the temps in US are pretty low now, so that must've helped as well. QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Oct 9 2005, 04:17 AM) Well, I set the voltage to 1.475V but in windows it is reported as 1.500V, and it is only cooled by VENUS 12, I use lowest fan speed most of the time. And yeah, i think my CPU is actually meant to be labelled as the X2 4600 (2.4Ghz) as I managed to get it to run at 2.4Ghz @ 1.35V @ Prime stable SuperPI stable and everythingelse stable 
jarofclay
Oct 10 2005, 10:21 AM
Klipsch Addict
Yeah, I can attest to that. This Abit board is great in terms of features that are geared to gamers and overclockers. I like the front cmos reset the most.
The board does have it's fair shares of occasional reboot. I am not sure it is my chip or the board; whenever I turn up the vcore to 1.6V nowadays, even if the temps are mid 40s, the whole system just shuts down. Luckily it didn't have the 4 leds of death symptom but it does hang on me.
What about the rest? Do you have any similar experiences?