abit Fatal1ty AN8 for AMD 64bit, Overclocking ability...

irenic
post Jun 30 2005, 04:06 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

how much is the abit fatality?
irenic
post Jul 7 2005, 11:27 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

fatality an8 sli nf4 ultra around rm800 tongue.gif
irenic
post Jul 8 2005, 03:44 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

why? whats the problem with the vdimm?
irenic
post Jul 10 2005, 12:45 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

i dont think u need to change ur mobo just to get a better spec than u dont think u gonna use it smile.gif
irenic
post Jul 13 2005, 11:38 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

no offence to abit users or fans.. but DFI also using high quality capacitor and pcb... tongue.gif
irenic
post Aug 6 2005, 12:47 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

i was a dfi lanparty nforce 4 sli d user and sold it because thinking of upgrading. then after a few weeks using my old pentium 4 rig, i bought abit fatal1ty an8 sli coz of hand itchy biggrin.gif

what i can say in terms of overclocking is DFI is better because of its wide range of setting, and when i oc with abit, somehow i feel sthing is missing in the bios.. and when running benchies, the score is less than what i got with the same setting with DFI.

but in general use, as a student who use the same rig for assignments, i can say abit is better since i have never ever experience cold boot .. DFI nforce 4 is well known for this problem but not everyone experience it.. too bad i was unlucky with my board. and this DFI is board is very very choosy with ram.. cheapo ram wont run good with this board.. unlike abit which is more flexible towards ram compatibility.

i'm not suprise all reviews said that DFI is the best nforce 4 board since i myself also think that is true. but what i wanna say here the reviewers tested the board just for a few days or maybe some 2-3 weeks only and they wont have chance to experience any instability problem.
i used the board since march and the cold boot problem only appeared in july..

and i love to quote what i found in kelvin_hata signature :

DFI=Headaches for veterans, curses for noobies, destruction for a teenager's face with pimples and overclocker's favourite board.---------->pizzaboy

DFI got a lot of problems, but still no other board can compete with it in oc.. biggrin.gif

owh n 1 more thing, i guess high htt shows what the board is capable off.. no matter at what speed ur ram is running.. just my 2 cents rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by irenic: Aug 6 2005, 12:53 AM
irenic
post Aug 7 2005, 02:44 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Aug 7 2005, 12:49 AM)
Yo irenic, i agree with you about the cold boot issue, it happens to DFI nf2 as well. It is fixed after the latest official BIOS update. For me there's no big deal becoz i nv turn off my PC. Uptime wise, DFI realy did better than Abit in my experience. I've no idea on the RAM incompatibility too, thanx for the info wink.gif

About the HTT u mentioned, actually high HTT doesnt mean as much as running synchronous with RAM. It's bcoz HTT multiplier is always set to a certain value to get around 1000MHz, so going high isnt a big issue, js like setting to a high FSB but lower down a CPU multiplier doesnt mean shows the CPU real o/c potential. In my opinion, if the board can run sync with RAM at high speed, it needs a good stability to make sure the data transferred from RAM to CPU through the bus on mobo. Just my 2 cents wink.gif

BTW, would u like to share the problems of DFI? I really wanted to know, thanx !
the problem with my DFI was only the cold boot. beside that, all were perfect. i did a review and found out that my problem wasnt the normal cold boot problem. in my case, all the 4 led's were blinking and i found in one website ( either xs or overclockers.com .. not remember) they called it 4 leds of death.. meaning the board is dying hehe..
its weird becoz most of them who have the same problem are using high voltage ram.. but i was using ocz rev2 which is tccd chipset and i nvr go beyond 2.8 (2.9 in some cases).. even when i wasnt oc my system, everytime i switched off it took me at least half an hour to switch it on again..
i also very seldom switched on the pc since i stay in hostel and the electricity is free laugh.gif but one morning i wanted to restart the pc but instead of pressed the restart button, i pressed the shut down button.. then i never ever able to switch on my system again hehe.. so i changed to a new board at alphamatic system and straight away selling it. that time i sold it becoz i was thinking to wait for DFI crossfire and use my p4 rig for a while..
but one thing is i still prefer DFI for oc purpose. Since using this abit i never do serious oc although my 3dmark got higher score than what i got with my DFI hehe..
about the ram compatibility, i heard that DFI wont run well with value ram or d43 ram... my current abit works perfect with my ocz rev2 tccd and patriot d43 chipset..
wink.gif

This post has been edited by irenic: Aug 7 2005, 02:45 AM
irenic
post Aug 7 2005, 09:50 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(babyelf @ Aug 7 2005, 11:04 AM)
i think the thread needs to be renamed "Abit VS DFI" heh

i am not siding anyone here.. but like i say above Abit and DFI.. they are both great boards.. DFI being the one having the upper hand in overclocking than the Abit..

Ram compatibility wise they fixed it with having DRAM response time in bioses after 618 if i'm not mistaken

DFI boards still have the best TCCD clocking capabilities than the Abit.. the Abit does not have the physical capabilities to play with drive strengths..

I thought they've catched up since the POS AV8 i've been using for a while but don't think they quite made it there yet.. and one thing i'm really pissed off when i was using my AV8 and AN8 SLI fatality is the bios release that does not fix anything.. but instead it disables something
QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Aug 7 2005, 11:32 AM)
hehe babyelf, i js cant tolerate somebody who always say one brand is the best and another sux to max. It's very misleading. Thanx for sharing your valueable experience here biggrin.gif
Well, RAM and certain compatibility issue can be solved by BIOS update, this works to my nf2 DFI UI. Up to now, i really cant find a single error and the board works perfectly well. I believe nForce4 based DFI can sooner or later fixed the problem.
Usual DDR RAM chip cannot exceed 2.85V according to specs, and Winbond chips should be around 3.3-3.5V. More than that of course will give some problems.
i'm not sure bout the DFI uncompatibility with value ram since the only ram i had paired with my DFI was tccd chipset ..Corsair XL (tccd), Gskill LF (tccd), and OCZ rev2 (also tccd) hehe.. i just said what i read in other forum..
DFI is indeed a better board in oc.. it cant be compared with abit or other board. maybe the current bios is good, which fixed all the problems that never be solved during my time with DFI .. or maybe i just unlucky to get a suck board.. i never ever manage to solve my 4 leds problem even using the tips given by other pro in overseas forum..
i really hope DFI will fixed every problem since i am targeting their crossfire board for my next rig rolleyes.gif thumbup.gif hehe

This post has been edited by irenic: Aug 7 2005, 09:54 PM
irenic
post Aug 8 2005, 01:02 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

after spending some hours playing with this an8 bios, i notice it has problem when running more than 227 htt @ 1T ram.. the system wont boot into windows unless i change the command rate to 2T..
sigh wink.gif

both tccd & d43 have same problem.. anyone manage to solve it?

edited:: i tested using bios 13, 15 & 16. & i cant find any difference between bios 15 & 16..

This post has been edited by irenic: Aug 8 2005, 01:03 AM
irenic
post Aug 8 2005, 04:47 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

hmm one more thing.. why abit temperature so high aa? on water uguru reported my sandy's temp at 44 idle.. but my hardcano 13 shows the temp is 28.. last time with my DFI my sandy idle at 33C only..

is there any bios or version of uguru that fix this temperature problem?
irenic
post Aug 8 2005, 05:36 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Aug 8 2005, 05:07 PM)
ya lor...when i bench my temp go up until 80c on the guru panel....but my aerogate show 44c only....summore very tension when pc alwiz restart...arghhhh..stupid thermal proctection..... shakehead.gif
QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Aug 8 2005, 05:25 PM)
i can confirm it is not running that hot...is the bios reading that is wrong....haiyah...where a bios editor when u need one??.... shakehead.gif
is this a well known issue? hopefully abit will release a bios that have accurate temp reading..
irenic
post Aug 10 2005, 01:52 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

i dont think top overclockers do need the uguru biggrin.gif
irenic
post Aug 23 2005, 10:36 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(Fries @ Aug 23 2005, 03:25 PM)
Bios Release Date 21/7/2005?
yups... i flashed it yesterday and so far i can say this is the best bios for this board. Sadly still cant solve the 1T issue.. In terms of temperature reading, i'm not sure whether Abit just simply minus 10C from temp in previous bios.. but my temp now is the correct one, 29 idle n around 38 full load at stock vcore. (almost same with my hardcano 13 and same with what my previous DFI lanparty reported)
irenic
post Aug 24 2005, 12:25 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(Fries @ Aug 24 2005, 09:17 AM)
After flashing to bios 17, my computer started to get crazy.  sad.gif  After booting for a while, it suddenly reboot by itself. When I check the bios, I found out that my FanEQ2 Control gone haywire. I don't have both the OTES FanEQ on display. Only AUX FanEQ Control available. and at the top of the screen there's some weird thingy displaying there.

Don't know what is happening. Sometimes when it reboot by itself, it can't POST at all. sad.gif Anybody can help me with this? Or anyone experience it?

Btw, I flashed using Abit FlashMenu.  tongue.gif
hmm first of all plz tell ur current specs.. and Fyi, i also flashed using winflash that comes with DFI lanparty board
irenic
post Aug 24 2005, 01:45 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

hmm maybe a bad flash? i never experience it but i guess maybe u can try flash again using winflash?
irenic
post Aug 27 2005, 11:58 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(wadieq @ Aug 27 2005, 12:31 AM)
off topic... irenic, u mention before an8 have prob with 1T.. actly i dont know diff between 1t and 2t... how to change it ??

just change my board + cpu + ram.. no OC yet..

AMD64 venice 0523
AN8 ultra bios 15
Apacer DT-D43
I also dunno whats the diff between 1T n 2T in theory, but what i know is 1T gives more performance than 2T.

U can change it in advanced chipset configuration in bios and in the ram setting at the bottom got command rate ( u can choose either auto, 1T or 2T ; default is auto)

an8 has prob with 1T if u r using either venice or sandy. I think clawhammer or newcastle dont have this prob..
irenic
post Sep 8 2005, 10:31 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(dinster @ Sep 4 2005, 05:54 PM)
who says AN8 Ultra cant do high HTT @ 1T ?  thumbup.gif

351 mhz HTT @ 1T

http://www.xtremecomputing.co.uk/review.php?id=192&page=6

i guess the problem only occurs with either venice or sandy processor
irenic
post Sep 9 2005, 08:05 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(antonio_zth @ Sep 9 2005, 10:22 AM)
yo irenic did u notice in bios such as the SLI Fatality...when sumtimes u play with settings the OTES 1 and 2 control is gone...you know why???
erm i never experienced that.. but i always disable the automatic fan control for both OTES so that the fans will keep spinning no matter what the temp is..
irenic
post Sep 11 2005, 02:12 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

then maybe the problem comes with sandy tongue.gif btw, not all having the same problem. thats good u all manage to go high with 1T, some dont even can run 1T at default setting.. Mine can do up to 220fsb 1T.. more than that must use 2T.
irenic
post Sep 11 2005, 09:25 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

DFI lanparty series = super oc board. got many settings in bios to play with. easy to get supports /advice from experts from all over the world (forum). Quite sensitive with ram, especially the value ram. It can be very stable, or very not stable, like cold boot, or 4 leds of death (depends on ur luck & other hardware)

ABIT an8 = Great stability. Flexible with a lot of ram, from value ram to high performance ram. Limited setting in bios. Nice oc board, but u'll lose a few Mhz of oc compared to DFI.

ASUS a8n = I'm not sure bout this board, but quite a lot of people manage to get a good result with it.

It's all ur choice smile.gif

0.0333sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:45 PM