7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

HTC Desire Official Thread V5, FAQs on First Page (Froyo OTA for SEA!)

bryan_823
post Aug 28 2010, 01:19 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Aug 28 2010, 01:05 PM)
welcome to the club!  laugh.gif

faster read up on rooting and flashing and get your Desire to Froyo...  laugh.gif
You are a devil shakehead.gif
bryan_823
post Aug 28 2010, 11:57 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(Star_knight79 @ Aug 28 2010, 11:52 PM)
Hi, may I ask if the HTC Desire come with a backup apps which can restore everything including data and apps (Important for flashing the firmware)?
Download MyBackUp from Market, or Titanium Backup (For rooted device only)
bryan_823
post Aug 29 2010, 10:21 AM

649 posts

Good morning peeps biggrin.gif

Just woke up and found out NexTSense7.1 is not released yet. Boring.... whistling.gif
bryan_823
post Aug 29 2010, 06:55 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 29 2010, 05:52 PM)
Is tat a paid app? The cyanogen is giving me browser prob. Cant seem to load it properly. N i miss the "click to minimize my keyboard" icon on d keypad.
People, message, Bookmarks and Calendar widgets only available in Plus Version which you need to buy, else download Launcher Pro from Market which does not have the 4 widgets.
bryan_823
post Aug 30 2010, 10:10 AM

649 posts

Downloading AuraxTSense v7.1 brows.gif

What is WIFI N actually? What the different comparing with the normal WIFI thing? Sorry noob here blush.gif
bryan_823
post Aug 30 2010, 11:04 AM

649 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Aug 27 2010, 10:20 AM)
ok, as promised, some basic step by step guide to partition your sd card with Amon_RA.

Stage 1: Get Amon_RA into the Desire
1. Download Unrevoked.  [Link]
2. Download Amon_RA  [Link]
3. Install HTC and HBOOT driver.
4. Run reflash.exe as Administrator (DO NOT connect your Desire to computer at the moment).
5. At Unrevoked, File>>Custom Recovery>>Choose recovery-RA-desire-v1.7.0.1-R5 (the Amon_RA file you download in step 2).
6. Connect your Desire (USB debug mode on, etc).
7, The rest is fully automatic.  laugh.gif

Stage 2: Partition you SD Card
1. Enter into Recovery mode.  You will see the options below:
    - Reboot system Now
    - USB-MS toggle
    - Backup/restore
    - Flash
    - Wipe
    - Mount
    - Partition sdcard
    - Other
    - Power off
2. Under Partition sdcard, you will see:
      - Partition SD
      - Repair SD:ext
      - SD: ext2 to ext3
      - SD: ext3 to ext4
3. Use Partition SD to make the ext2, swap, and the remainder will be auto partitioned to be FAT32.
4. press back to return to step 2, select SD:ext2 to ext3 to upgrade the ext2 you created in step 3 into ext3.  Do SD:ext3 to ext4 if you want to upgrade further to ext4.  But I only upgrade to ext3 only coz i read somewhere ext4 is not necessary.
5. Reboot system now, it will boot with all the partitions now.

Note:  If you want to flash rom, you can use the Wipe function to wipe all ext3 partition, cache, etc clean, but the partition remain intact.

Hope this mini guide helps. For more details, should refer to this master guide.
Hi guys, above guide is provided by Cynox on how to partition SD card using Amon_Ra.

Im flashing to AuraxTSense7.1 (From NexTSense5.3), and would like to partition my SD card to 1GB on ext3 (Currently SD card is partitioned to Ext3 512MB).

Questions:
1) I have to format my SD card right (In order to re-partition to 1GB on ext3)?
2) Should I flash ROM and Radio 1st, then only format and partition SD card? Or format/partition SD card 1st/
3) In the above guide, after Stage 2 - Step 5, Cynox mentioned in a Note: "If you want to flash rom, you can use the Wipe function to wipe all ext3 partition, cache, etc clean, but the partition remain intact."

Meaning dont need to format SD card, but using the Wipe function in Recovery Mod instead? Can I use this method just to wipe and dont need format SD card (To re-partition ext3 from 512MB to 1GB)?

Advice is much appreciated notworthy.gif
bryan_823
post Aug 30 2010, 11:13 AM

649 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 30 2010, 11:09 AM)
1. IIRC, you need.
2. I partition first before flash.
3. Wipe the data but the partition remain. You can't make it to have bigger capacity IIRC.
x64 problems. I faced that before but once I used xp x86, it works perfectly.
Thanks for reply. What is IIRC stands for by the way? blush.gif
bryan_823
post Aug 30 2010, 11:35 AM

649 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Aug 30 2010, 11:25 AM)
1. yes, definitely if you want to change the size of the partition.
2. Should partition first then only flash rom, so that the rom will straight away recognise the ext3 partition.
3. The wipe only function is only useful when you want to flash rom but the partition size remain, eg. when you want to just upgrade the rom (the data on the card still intact if you did not delete the FAT32 partitions).  To change partition size denifitely need to repartitioning, all the partitions and data on the card WILL BE LOST.

@KTCY, you are the sifu lah, can't be wrong.  laugh.gif
I have formated by SD card, and my phone cant boot up (Stuck at HTC logo screen) now (Im still on NexTSense5.3). I need to continue with the amon_ra thingy and re-partition of SD card. How now ah?? doh.gif
bryan_823
post Aug 30 2010, 11:38 AM

649 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Aug 30 2010, 11:37 AM)
did you do the Revoked with Amon_RA?  You are stuck just after the Unrevoked?
No I havent do the Unrevoked with amon_ra. I just formated my SD card and now it is stuck. I was thinking to do the amon_ra only after I format SD card.
bryan_823
post Aug 30 2010, 11:43 AM

649 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Aug 30 2010, 11:40 AM)
if you haven't install Amon_RA, what program you use to partition the card?  My mini guide is only applicable when you have installed Amon_RA with Unrevoked.
Hmm...i think I made a mistake here. I tot the step to install amon_ra and partition Sd card can be done AFTER format my SD card.

What should I do now in order to boot up my phone? I have just formated my SD card (I formated from system settings > SD card storage > Unmount SD card then format). cry.gif

This post has been edited by bryan_823: Aug 30 2010, 11:48 AM
bryan_823
post Aug 30 2010, 11:48 AM

649 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 30 2010, 11:47 AM)
Boot from recovery ?
Boot from Recovery then? My SD card is now emptied. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by bryan_823: Aug 30 2010, 11:49 AM
bryan_823
post Aug 30 2010, 12:02 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 30 2010, 11:56 AM)
Put in a ROM zip into the SD card, boot into recovery and flash to that image. There are times when you flash your SD card and you will be caught in a boot loop.
My SD card is now empty (Formated) and I cant boot up the phone now. Any way to put the ROM file into SD card without having to boot up my phone? sad.gif
bryan_823
post Aug 30 2010, 12:11 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 30 2010, 12:05 PM)
Take out your SD and use a card reader.
Im now in Recovery Mod and chose Install zip from sd card (My SD card is still empty), it says "can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0 (or /dev/block/mmcblk0p1)
Invalid argument
E: cant mount /sdcard

Is this something wrong or anything i can do to fix this? I just wan to make sure there is nothing else I have wrongly done before I copy a ROM file into the SD card.
bryan_823
post Aug 30 2010, 12:21 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Aug 30 2010, 12:17 PM)
I also think this is the easiest.  Delete all the partitions you created and format into 1 single partition.  Then copy the new ROM zip file into it.
Can you guide me how to do this on a pc (How to delete all partitions and format into 1 single partition)? Just wan to make sure I get things done right this time smile.gif
bryan_823
post Aug 30 2010, 04:34 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Aug 30 2010, 11:25 AM)
1. yes, definitely if you want to change the size of the partition.
2. Should partition first then only flash rom, so that the rom will straight away recognise the ext3 partition.
3. The wipe only function is only useful when you want to flash rom but the partition size remain, eg. when you want to just upgrade the rom (the data on the card still intact if you did not delete the FAT32 partitions).  To change partition size denifitely need to repartitioning, all the partitions and data on the card WILL BE LOST.

@KTCY, you are the sifu lah, can't be wrong.  laugh.gif
Hi Cynox, I was previously on NexTSense5.3 and had partition SD card ext3 to 512MB. Now I managed to flashed to AuraxTSense7.1 finally (I was stuck at the HTC boot up screen after formated my SD card). However, now when I look at the disk space under computer management using my laptop, i found out that my SD card space available is around 14GB++ on my 16GB SD card (FAT32), is this normal? Does it mean that I have fully deleted all partition I made before on NextSense5.3 and I am now safe to continue partition using amon_ra as per the guide u provided? (I want to change my partition on ext3 to 1GB from the previous 512MB)

Pls advice. notworthy.gif

A screenshot on my laptop computer management, note that the "Mark Partition as Active" and "Delete Partition" is grey out (Meaning the SD card is now clean without partition?), I am on windows XP by the way.

bryan_823
post Aug 30 2010, 05:21 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Aug 30 2010, 04:34 PM)
I was previously on NexTSense5.3 and had partition SD card ext3 to 512MB. Now I managed to flashed to AuraxTSense7.1 finally (I was stuck at the HTC boot up screen after formated my SD card). However, now when I look at the disk space under computer management using my laptop, i found out that my SD card space available is around 14GB++ on my 16GB SD card (FAT32), is this normal? Does it mean that I have fully deleted all partition I made before on NextSense5.3 and I am now safe to continue partition using amon_ra as per the guide Cynox provided? (I want to change my partition on ext3 to 1GB from the previous 512MB) 

A screenshot on my laptop computer management, note that the "Mark Partition as Active" and "Delete Partition" is grey out (Meaning the SD card is now clean without partition?), I am on windows XP by the way.

Anyone can advice on the above? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by bryan_823: Aug 30 2010, 05:22 PM
bryan_823
post Aug 30 2010, 06:46 PM

649 posts

Anybody done a Nandroid restore b4? Im on NexTSense7.1 and would like to restore back to 5.3.

What is the step required here? icon_question.gif
bryan_823
post Aug 30 2010, 08:03 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Aug 30 2010, 07:26 PM)
Just boot into your recovery manager and do a nandroid restore

Should be very straightforward
Does not require wipe?
bryan_823
post Aug 30 2010, 08:44 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Aug 30 2010, 04:34 PM)
I was previously on NexTSense5.3 and had partition SD card ext3 to 512MB. Now I managed to flashed to AuraxTSense7.1 finally (I was stuck at the HTC boot up screen after formated my SD card). However, now when I look at the disk space under computer management using my laptop, i found out that my SD card space available is around 14GB++ on my 16GB SD card (FAT32), is this normal? Does it mean that I have fully deleted all partition I made before on NextSense5.3 and I am now safe to continue partition using amon_ra as per the guide u provided? (I want to change my partition on ext3 to 1GB from the previous 512MB) 

icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by bryan_823: Aug 30 2010, 08:45 PM
bryan_823
post Aug 30 2010, 09:40 PM

649 posts

For those using AuraxTSense7.1 with A2SD+, how much space u have on internal memory during ur 1st boot?

I have 128MB on internal, and partitioned ext3 to 1024MB, however Quick System Info shows A2SD with 775MB only. Weird. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by bryan_823: Aug 30 2010, 09:43 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:21 PM