126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

HTC Desire Official Thread V5, FAQs on First Page (Froyo OTA for SEA!)

coconutzz
post Aug 20 2010, 09:18 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Aug 20 2010, 09:02 AM)
It's an unopened box, full set and finally, warranty is 24 months by SiS biggrin.gif
Bro no le..i m getting a USED HTC Desire...just wondering, what should i check on the phone to ensure it's not Bricked before..etc etc...

CKHong
post Aug 20 2010, 09:21 AM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 20 2010, 09:16 AM)
When you select recovery, there will be a Nandroid option there. Then, select backup and thats it. smile.gif Again, if you follow the guides in the first page, its basically already step by step on how to do it. So no worries.
ooo.. means once i rooted the phone, it will have nandroid option from the recovery there?? thx ! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Aug 20 2010, 09:18 AM)
Bro no le..i m getting a USED HTC Desire...just wondering, what should i check on the phone to ensure it's not Bricked before..etc etc...
if not mistaken, a bricked phone, the phone macam totally cannot use liao ~
if u dun want the phone is rooted, maybe u can see whether there's superuser app in the app list ??
but also kenot check tongue.gif cus if the seller flash RUU back, macam no more the superuser app ~

This post has been edited by CKHong: Aug 20 2010, 09:23 AM
KTCY

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ Aug 20 2010, 09:16 AM)
Hi, may i know what program to use for benchmarking like that?
Search quadrant at market.
DecaPix

5 star monkey
3,000 posts

just root it 1st
later only decide want to flash ROM or not tongue.gif
KTCY
post Aug 20 2010, 09:23 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Aug 20 2010, 09:18 AM)
Test the screen, try calling and answering.
Basically not much unless you wanna go to details like root or not. Running on what HBOOT and etc.
akachester
post Aug 20 2010, 09:24 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Aug 20 2010, 09:21 AM)
ooo.. means once i rooted the phone, it will have nandroid option from the recovery there??  thx !  rclxms.gif
if not mistaken, a bricked phone, the phone macam totally cannot use liao ~
if u dun want the phone is rooted, maybe u can see whether there's superuser app in the app list ??
but also kenot check tongue.gif  cus if the seller flash RUU back, macam no more the superuser app ~
Yes, if you have rooted using unrevoked, there will be a nandroid option in the recovery.
coconutzz
post Aug 20 2010, 09:24 AM

1,109 posts

Okay thanks all!!! Appreciate that..next step, once i get the phone..i will ask u sifus how to root and upgrade to Froyo!! smile.gif

Cheers!

CKHong
post Aug 20 2010, 09:25 AM

1,380 posts

QUOTE(DecaPix @ Aug 20 2010, 09:21 AM)
just root it 1st
later only decide want to flash ROM or not tongue.gif
haha... mostly root liao confirm will flash oh tongue.gif
haih.. yesterday download nextsense5.3,
this morning woke up and open the zip file, file corrupted...
back home nie can redownload.. company block ish..

Added on August 20, 2010, 9:26 am
QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 20 2010, 09:24 AM)
Yes, if you have rooted using unrevoked, there will be a nandroid option in the recovery.
thx biggrin.gif

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Aug 20 2010, 09:24 AM)
Okay thanks all!!! Appreciate that..next step, once i get the phone..i will ask u sifus how to root and upgrade to Froyo!! smile.gif

Cheers!
oo.. the phone u're buying.. is ori set ? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by CKHong: Aug 20 2010, 09:27 AM
coconutzz
post Aug 20 2010, 09:32 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Aug 20 2010, 09:25 AM)
haha... mostly root liao confirm will flash oh tongue.gif
haih.. yesterday download nextsense5.3,
this morning woke up and open the zip file, file corrupted...
back home nie can redownload.. company block  ish..

Added on August 20, 2010, 9:26 am

thx  biggrin.gif
oo.. the phone u're buying.. is ori set ? biggrin.gif
Bro it's AP Set...Original set stil labout 1.9-2.0k....a bit sakit pocket..
Y ar bro?
Btw, how can i upgrade to Froyo? ehehe..ask first and upgrade before i load my contacts into the phhone smile.gif
KTCY
post Aug 20 2010, 09:33 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Aug 20 2010, 09:32 AM)
Y ar bro?
Btw, how can i upgrade to Froyo? ehehe..ask first and upgrade before i load my contacts into the phhone smile.gif
Used AP ? How much you got it ?
Now ori set around 2k. Is worth to get ori
akachester
post Aug 20 2010, 09:34 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Aug 20 2010, 09:32 AM)
Y ar bro?
Yea, how much is it for AP? If its Europe AP set, then you might already have default FroYo via OTA.
KTCY
post Aug 20 2010, 09:35 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 20 2010, 09:34 AM)
Yea, how much is it for AP? If its Europe AP set, then you might already have default FroYo via OTA.
Add on : Default FroYo which can't be ROOT tongue.gif
coconutzz
post Aug 20 2010, 09:36 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 20 2010, 09:33 AM)
Used AP ? How much you got it ?
Now ori set around 2k. Is worth to get ori
Bro Ori still too high...I m getting about RM1.6k ... I have a BB Bol 9700...then my company gave me a brand new BB9700 2 days ago..hence now i m carrying to BB...so I tot i would sell off mine and get a HTC desire...but I m not really willing to pay RM2k..

Too many commitments bro..plus getting married next year..sighz..

Bro any tips to upgrade to Froyo?
KTCY
post Aug 20 2010, 09:38 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Aug 20 2010, 09:36 AM)
Bro Ori still too high...I m getting about RM1.6k ... I have a BB Bol 9700...then my company gave me a brand new BB9700 2 days ago..hence now i m carrying to BB...so I tot i would sell off mine and get a HTC desire...but I m not really willing to pay RM2k..

Too many commitments bro..plus getting married next year..sighz..

Bro any tips to upgrade to Froyo?
Sell your BB and get HTC brows.gif

AP set by default can update to FroYo but you can't root.
akachester
post Aug 20 2010, 09:41 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 20 2010, 09:35 AM)
Add on : Default FroYo which can't be ROOT tongue.gif
But if his intention is purely on obtaining FroYo, then thats the easiest solution smile.gif
coconutzz
post Aug 20 2010, 09:42 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Aug 20 2010, 09:38 AM)
Sell your BB and get HTC brows.gif

AP set by default can update to FroYo but you can't root.
Y cannot root bro?
akachester
post Aug 20 2010, 09:44 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Aug 20 2010, 09:42 AM)
Y cannot root bro?
OTA FroYo comes with a different HBOOT (0.92) compared to Eclair which is on 0.80. Current rooting method only comes with 0.80 HBOOT. So, if you update directly via OTA, you will get 0.92 compared to those Custom FroYo.
coconutzz
post Aug 20 2010, 09:45 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 20 2010, 09:44 AM)
OTA FroYo comes with a different HBOOT (0.92) compared to Eclair which is on 0.80. Current rooting method only comes with 0.80 HBOOT. So, if you update directly via OTA, you will get 0.92 compared to those Custom FroYo.
oh..meaning to say..i can still root..but not now..have to wait longer? So shall i wait and not update to Froyo yet?

This post has been edited by coconutzz: Aug 20 2010, 09:46 AM
draco82
post Aug 20 2010, 09:46 AM

584 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 20 2010, 09:44 AM)
Yup, so if you want to root your phone, you better ask the seller which hboot the phone is..... smile.gif
akachester
post Aug 20 2010, 09:47 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Aug 20 2010, 09:45 AM)
oh..meaning to say..i can still root..but not now..have to wait longer? So shall i wait and not update to Froyo yet?
Yes. If you want FroYo now and still have root capability, make sure the phone you are going to buy is on 0.80 HBOOT and root using Custom FroYo available at XDA. Those custom FroYo are all running on 0.80 HBOOT.

126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:26 AM