Apple iPad Discussion Thread v3, Everything about iPad

lching
post Dec 9 2010, 09:44 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Dec 9 2010, 09:31 AM)
Check : Settings/General/About/Version - this is the actual version number , which should read 4.2.1 for firmware 4.2

If yours is  4.2 : I think it is not the official release, probably the beta developer version - anyone can verify this point ?

4.2 is just the initial official name but when it was officially release it appears as 4.2.1 in all the ipads, iphones, ipod touch
i checked, its 4.2 (8C134B). i bought it at the very 1st day launched in msia from Machine Sunway.

This post has been edited by lching: Dec 9 2010, 09:45 AM
geniuz
post Dec 9 2010, 09:44 AM

402 posts

No matter what we do its still cant be use unless we activate the ipad right?? If the "plugin with iTunes program" didnt show up the ipad can be consider as used right??
Agito666
post Dec 9 2010, 09:53 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Dec 9 2010, 09:31 AM)
Check : Settings/General/About/Version - this is the actual version number , which should read 4.2.1 for firmware 4.2

If yours is  4.2 : I think it is not the official release, probably the beta developer version - anyone can verify this point ?

4.2 is just the initial official name but when it was officially release it appears as 4.2.1 in all the ipads, iphones, ipod touch
i know 4.2 fw last time have wifi issue bug (not sure that time launched or not) then after fixed the bug they put 4.2.1. nod.gif
fhyzal garcia
post Dec 9 2010, 09:56 AM

QUOTE(lching @ Dec 9 2010, 09:44 AM)
i checked, its 4.2 (8C134B). i bought it at the very 1st day launched in msia from Machine Sunway.
maybe u must restore it or update the ipad for the new version...mine before is 3.2 and i update to 4.2.1

This post has been edited by fhyzal garcia: Dec 9 2010, 09:57 AM
benny888
post Dec 9 2010, 10:12 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(geniuz @ Dec 9 2010, 09:44 AM)
No matter what we do its still cant be use unless we activate the ipad right?? If the "plugin with iTunes program" didnt show up the ipad can be consider as used right??
If yoiu switch on and you see a USB cable on a black background asking you to connect to iTunes : It is a new unactivated set. Other than this, if you can view the homescreen means it is activated and is aused/or demo set

Added on December 9, 2010, 10:19 am
QUOTE(lching @ Dec 9 2010, 09:44 AM)
then update it to 4.2.1
Connect your ipad to computer ; open iTunes - you will be prompted to update
Backup your ipad first. TIP - remove all your big files especially video/movie files to reduce backup time. You can always add it back later. Most people report slow backup the first time - the time ranges from an hour to 4-5 hours !!! However my first backup took only about 40 minutes. The computer you used to backup and sync with your ipad will affect it. I noticed that those who report very slow backup are usually using Windows PC. I am using a iMAC.

This post has been edited by benny888: Dec 9 2010, 10:19 AM
lching
post Dec 9 2010, 10:21 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 9 2010, 09:53 AM)
i know 4.2 fw last time have wifi issue bug (not sure that time launched or not) then after fixed the bug they put 4.2.1.  nod.gif
jz 1 page before got a buy said stuck in ios 4.2.1, what happen? shud i update to 4.2.1?

Any one know how can i transfer PDF file to view in ipad? i got cloudreader and ibook installed, but not sure is it useful hehe
geniuz
post Dec 9 2010, 10:21 AM

402 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Dec 9 2010, 10:12 AM)
If yoiu switch on and you see a USB cable on a black background asking you to connect to iTunes : It is a new unactivated set. Other than this, if you can view the homescreen means it is activated and is aused/or demo set
Thanks Uncle Benny smile.gif

This post has been edited by geniuz: Dec 9 2010, 10:22 AM
benny888
post Dec 9 2010, 10:25 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(lching @ Dec 9 2010, 10:21 AM)
jz 1 page before got a buy said stuck in ios 4.2.1, what happen? shud i update to 4.2.1?

Any one know how can i transfer PDF file to view in ipad? i got cloudreader and ibook installed, but not sure is it useful hehe
GoodReader I must say should be the first app everyone should buy as it is very versatile.

You can transfer pdf files thro iTunes. At the ipad window in iTunes , slect Apps - scroll down to File Sharing : select your app and choose the file you wish to transfer. Or you can use cloud services such as Dropbox
icedlink
post Dec 9 2010, 03:17 PM

208 posts

hehe good reader!

u can use transfer it over wifi w/o connecting it to the PC/MAC via Ip add too = )
Fullbl4d3
post Dec 10 2010, 05:16 PM

may i know where can i buy a genuine ipad? because all of the machines was out of stock and i heard that most of the shop in lyt and digital mall is selling "water stock"
benny888
post Dec 10 2010, 05:35 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Fullbl4d3 @ Dec 10 2010, 05:16 PM)
may i know where can i buy a genuine ipad? because all of the machines was out of stock and i heard that most of the shop in lyt and digital mall is selling "water stock"
You can try other resellers not necessary machines : macStudio, Switch, Epic etc

Buy online and you get it within 3 working days

http://store.apple.com/my/browse/home/shop...mco=MTY5NjUyMTY
fhyzal garcia
post Dec 10 2010, 05:37 PM

QUOTE(Fullbl4d3 @ Dec 10 2010, 05:16 PM)
just give a call to them

EPICENTRE

EpiCentre@Pavilion
Lot 5.24.07
Level 5 Pavilion Kuala Lumpur
168 Jalan Bukit Bintang
55100 Kuala Lumpur

Tel : +603 2141 6278/ 6378
Fax : +603 2141 6318.
Store Opening Hours:
Daily : 10.00am to 10.00pm

MAC STUDIO

+Plaza Low Yat - Kuala Lumpur
Tel : 603 2145 9799
: 603 2145 4799
Fax : 603 2144 6799

+Bangsar Shopping Centre
Tel : 603 2282 1799
: 603 2283 2799
fax : 603 2287 6799

+Berjaya Times Square - K.L.
Tel : 603 2145 1799
: 603 2143 9799
fax : 603 2148 2799

or any harvey norman
Goneraz
post Dec 10 2010, 08:04 PM

432 posts

Try harvey Norman. Got mine from there
landlily98
post Dec 10 2010, 08:51 PM

33 posts

To all the sifu,
I'm thinking to buy an Ipad for myself, now can't decide to get an Ipad 32G WiFi + cheapest data plan (Maxis), or Ipad 32G 3G + cheapest Ipad plan (Maxis), wondering which one will save me more money.
Thanks!

This post has been edited by landlily98: Dec 10 2010, 10:06 PM
wah chai
post Dec 10 2010, 08:56 PM

717 posts

hi all, i need help/guide.

my ipad is wifi version. if i want use my iphone 3g network as internet, how to sync my ipad to iphone ? i mean ipad connect to iphone then get internet. pls help/guide me. tq
benny888
post Dec 10 2010, 09:34 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(wah chai @ Dec 10 2010, 08:56 PM)
hi all, i need help/guide.

my ipad is wifi version. if i want use my iphone 3g network as internet, how to sync my ipad to iphone ? i mean ipad connect to iphone then get internet.  pls help/guide me. tq
You cannot in its default state. You can if you are using any Android phone ( ver 2.2) . Read here to learn how to do it for the iphone

http://mygadgetnews.com/2010/04/15/how-to-...ct-to-the-ipad/

Added on December 10, 2010, 9:41 pm
QUOTE(landlily98 @ Dec 10 2010, 08:51 PM)
To all the sifu,
I'm thinking to buy an Ipad for me, now can't decide to get a Ipad 32G WiFi + cheapest data plan (Maxis), or Ipad 32G 3G + cheapest Ipad plan (Maxis), wondering which one will save me more money.
Thanks!
If you want to use the 3G service to connect to the internet - it makes no difference as the data charges are the same.

Buying the 3G version gives you more flexibility as you can access internet thro both WiFi and the 3G built in function.

However the WiFi model can only access the internet through WiFi . You can pair /thether it with a 3G phone to use the phone 3G service to access but this is limited to type of phone . You can also pair it with a MIFI device. Either case you will incurr data charges which will be the same. Battery drain is very much higher on the phone and MIFI device if you connect this way

This post has been edited by benny888: Dec 10 2010, 09:41 PM
wah chai
post Dec 10 2010, 09:41 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Dec 10 2010, 09:34 PM)
You cannot in its default state. You can if you are using any Android phone ( ver 2.2) .  Read here to learn how to do it for the iphone

http://mygadgetnews.com/2010/04/15/how-to-...ct-to-the-ipad/
thx smile.gif
landlily98
post Dec 10 2010, 10:05 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Dec 10 2010, 09:34 PM)
If you want to use the 3G service to connect to the internet - it makes no difference as the data charges are the same.

Buying the 3G version gives you more flexibility as you can access internet thro both WiFi and the 3G built in function.

However the WiFi model can only access the internet through WiFi . You can pair /thether it with a 3G phone to use the phone 3G service to access but this is limited to type of phone . You can also pair it with a MIFI device. Either case you will incurr data charges which will be the same. Battery drain is very much higher on the phone and MIFI device if you connect this way
Thanks you Uncle Benny, Ok, guess I already have an idea of what type of Ipad to get smile.gif
hhng
post Dec 10 2010, 10:15 PM

1,564 posts

im stilld look forward for my ipad... had been running from mid valley, sunway, the curve... and yet to get any stock
dilvin
post Dec 10 2010, 11:04 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(hhng @ Dec 10 2010, 10:15 PM)
im stilld look forward for my ipad... had been running from mid valley, sunway, the curve... and yet to get any stock
all sold out? klcc machines?

146 Pages « < 141 142 143 144 145 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:04 PM