Big tummy?, How to flatten it

TSdaisical
post Aug 12 2010, 06:26 AM, updated 16y ago

28 posts

Anyone have any personal experience in flattening your tummy? My body proportion is all good except that I have a slightly big tummy. Help sad.gif
Nanotaco
post Aug 12 2010, 11:12 AM

38 posts

2 words
LIPO SUCTION

heheh
matthewctj
post Aug 12 2010, 11:43 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(daisical @ Aug 12 2010, 06:26 AM)
Anyone have any personal experience in flattening your tummy? My body proportion is all good except that I have a slightly big tummy. Help sad.gif
Nothing beats healthy eating + moderate exercise ... try not to take the easy way out.
Arajishi
post Aug 12 2010, 11:54 AM

17 posts

Sit on a sofa/chair. Then pretending u are bending down and picking up something. U can do this exercise while watching tv too... =)
leongal
post Aug 12 2010, 12:40 PM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

do u have the habit of drinking beer?
barista
post Aug 12 2010, 12:42 PM

I want to retire
883 posts

If you want to try the Osim Uzap, I have a used unit for sale.
It belongs to a friend and I've never used it before.

Do PM me if you're interested.
SUSspanker
post Aug 12 2010, 02:27 PM

Custom Made e-Penis
7,606 posts

do pilates, it strenthens core muscles and reduces your tummy. Results varies for individuals though.
TSdaisical
post Aug 12 2010, 02:31 PM

28 posts

I wouldn't prefer liposuction. Prefer the natural way. Any suggestion on the type of exercise? My food intake is normal and my body weight is good too, so I wouldn't want something that makes me loss weight, because the whole body will get slimmer, not the tummy alone.

I'm a muslim so i don't drink beer.

Added on August 12, 2010, 2:34 pmOsim Uzap looks expensive. I'm still a student so I don't think I could afford it.

Pilates seems like a good idea. Thank you.

This post has been edited by daisical: Aug 12 2010, 02:34 PM
misscreamypie
post Aug 12 2010, 04:03 PM

84 posts

Experts say lessen your intake on cold water (which we all like @@) such as teh c peng, icelemon peng, milo peng, kopi peng, iced cola, iced soft drinks etc.

Cold drinks = bigger tummy. because more fats will accumulate there.
Read up and see if it's real or not.

and a good tip would be - try to use ur stomach to breath instead of just nose. will exercise the muscle there.

try belly dancing - it's easy n quite enjoyable.
matthewctj
post Aug 12 2010, 05:25 PM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(daisical @ Aug 12 2010, 02:31 PM)
I'm a muslim so i don't drink beer.
My dear, never ever use this to justify that you don't drink beer as I have seen plenty of muslims who does drink. All you needed to say was you don't drink beer/alcohol, full stop.

In any case, there are plenty of exercises which emphasizes abdominal concentration. Stay off oily and fried food. Reduce snacks and soft drinks.

Have plenty of fish, occasional lean meat and plenty of fruits and veges for fibers. Water is a must. All this plus the right exercise will get you the results you want.

When you say your food intake is normal, that means eating nasi lemak is normal for us Malaysians. Going for teh tarik is normal for us Malaysians. Roti canai is normal for us Malaysians. So, who says eating normal is normal? You have to change your whole diet for it to work.
~LynX~
post Aug 12 2010, 05:33 PM

264 posts

You only need 2 things:
1) Regular, consistent exercise
2) Healthy diet

if you can maintain these 2, 100% guarantee you will slim down.
TSdaisical
post Aug 12 2010, 09:46 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(misscreamypie @ Aug 12 2010, 05:03 PM)
Experts say lessen your intake on cold water (which we all like @@) such as teh c peng, icelemon peng, milo peng, kopi peng, iced cola, iced soft drinks etc.

and a good tip would be - try to use ur stomach to breath instead of just nose. will exercise the muscle there.

try belly dancing - it's easy n quite enjoyable.
Now that's hard ): There was a period where I substitute my drinking habit with plain water and I feel good about it, but it couldn't last that long -__- I must put it into habit again.
Thanks for the suggestion. I'll definitely try your tips smile.gif

QUOTE(matthewctj @ Aug 12 2010, 06:25 PM)
My dear, never ever use this to justify that you don't drink beer as I have seen plenty of muslims who does drink. All you needed to say was you don't drink beer/alcohol, full stop.

In any case, there are plenty of exercises which emphasizes abdominal concentration. Stay off oily and fried food. Reduce snacks and soft drinks.

Have plenty of fish, occasional lean meat and plenty of fruits and veges for fibers. Water is a must. All this plus the right exercise will get you the results you want.

When you say your food intake is normal, that means eating nasi lemak is normal for us Malaysians. Going for teh tarik is normal for us Malaysians. Roti canai is normal for us Malaysians. So, who says eating normal is normal? You have to change your whole diet for it to work.
I don't see what's wrong with justifying myself as a Muslim, therefore I don't drink beer. You are not wrong saying plenty of Muslims who does drink, but there's plenty who does not too. So, yes. I don't drink beer, because I'm a Muslim. Full stop.

I usually take fish for my food intake. Fruits are occasionally, but veges is a must as I feel weird not having it in my meal. I dislike soft drinks and hardly consume on snacks too.

I can't remember the last time I drink teh tarik, roti canai and nasi lemak. Maybe like half a year ago? You're right. I'm not sure myself if my diet is okay, but i think it is. Except that I rarely eat fruits since it's kinda hard to get it here in my university, so I substitute with juice instead.

Do you think maybe it's because of this very bad habit of mine who likes drinking and eating alternately? sad.gif I heard that it will make you have a big tummy. Not sure what's the scientific reason behind it. I tried so hard to kick off this bad habit, but I've been consuming that way since I was little sad.gif(

QUOTE(~LynX~ @ Aug 12 2010, 06:33 PM)
You only need 2 things:
1) Regular, consistent exercise
2) Healthy diet

if you can maintain these 2, 100% guarantee you will slim down.
What kind of exercise would you recommend? Just a simple walking and jogging? Is there any stretching method that can fasten the process of slimming my tummy?

munkeyflo
post Aug 12 2010, 11:18 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(daisical @ Aug 12 2010, 09:46 PM)
Now that's hard ): There was a period where I substitute my drinking habit with plain water and I feel good about it, but it couldn't last that long -__- I must put it into habit again.
Thanks for the suggestion. I'll definitely try your tips smile.gif
i've also substitute most of my drinks with plain water and i actually prefer plain water now. although sometimes i still have cravings for fruit juices.

i think sit-ups might work as it will strengthen the stomach muscles.
try googling around. i'm sure there are lots of exercise routines to follow. especially now summer time, everyone wants that perfect stomach for their bikini body.
map
post Aug 13 2010, 12:00 AM

Moonlight Healing Escalation!
675 posts

if i have a dress i have to fit into, i don't take carbs for a whole week and drink plenty of water

no bread, noodles or rice for one week sad.gif

ehh also, having good posture helps happy.gif;
~LynX~
post Aug 13 2010, 09:13 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(daisical @ Aug 12 2010, 09:46 PM)
What kind of exercise would you recommend? Just a simple walking and jogging? Is there any stretching method that can fasten the process of slimming my tummy?
Cardio at least 30 mins a day, every day. If you can exercise longer, even better.

Brisk walking, cycling, swimming or jogging, but intensity must be high enough to get your heart rate up and keep it there for the duration of your exercise session. That means you'll be sweating alot and breathing heavily if you've beginner-level stamina/fitness. You can take a short rest in between if necessary but no longer than 60 secs.

I'm afraid there's no shortcut to slimming your tummy unless you do liposuction, because you cannot spot-reduce bodyfat. It has to come off from the overall percentage. Doing ab exercises won't directly affect the tummy fat because you're just working the ab muscles.

QUOTE(map @ Aug 13 2010, 12:00 AM)
if i have a dress i have to fit into, i don't take carbs for a whole week and drink plenty of water

Carb deprivation is actually not really recommended, cutting carb intake will make you crave for it later, dangerous if you want to keep the smaller waistline. sweat.gif
Reduced to 1/4 portion for every meal is easier to maintain.

This post has been edited by ~LynX~: Aug 13 2010, 09:14 AM
shecapricorn
post Aug 13 2010, 08:48 PM

67 posts

Try muaythai. I used to have your problem too, but after a few sessions, my tummy went down and now it's all flat and nice biggrin.gif muaythai moves your waist and ups your cardio. Also, try doing sit-ups with weights. Try with a single 3kg dumbbell or two 1.5kgs dumbbells as weight. Do 50 reps every 3 days.
BlurSotong
post Aug 14 2010, 12:08 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(misscreamypie @ Aug 12 2010, 04:03 PM)

not true. By the time the liquid reaches your esophagus, it's already body temp.

Same goes for caffeine intake. There isn't much difference in hot or cold coffee/tea.

Ps: I got fooled till I studied food science. Now I google everything I read.
sparda
post Aug 14 2010, 02:16 AM

244 posts

Use a wallet with a hole. The coins will keep dropping out so you will have to keep bending down to pick them up, thus reducing your tummy quickly.
beauslim4u
post Aug 15 2010, 09:28 AM

Hi Dear, i'm distributor for selling Organic Slim product...if u interest pls contact me if u need any further info about " How to reduce big tummy"

msn: cindylms09@hotmail.com
phone: 0195555714
iamdolly
post Aug 16 2010, 08:02 AM

QUOTE(map @ Aug 13 2010, 12:00 AM)

Hmm... I still think clothes should fit us. Not the other way round... hmm.gif

0.0226sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:56 PM