Group LYN Buddhism Retreat - SERIOUS TALK, No trolling please

soul2soul
post Sep 20 2010, 09:49 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Sep 20 2010, 09:26 AM)
sorry let me rephrase my question again, How to know whether there is any Devas around to protect you when u are doing metta meditation?  by feeling? smile.gif
That one we don't know for sure unless you can see them. Even there is no Devas around you at that time, you can still derive other benefits from this meditation, good karma being one of them..
soul2soul
post Sep 20 2010, 09:52 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(phantomkid @ Sep 20 2010, 08:57 AM)
Hey fellow Buddhists. I am an English literate, tak tau baca Chinese characters, so can anyone let me know where to get the English version of Dharmasutra (or however you spell it)? And several other sutras? Thank you smile.gif
Try google "access to insight". There contains some of the english translation of the Pali Tipitaka, the one used by the Theravada buddhists.

For Mahayana sutras, I am not very sure. Try "heart sutra" etc, maybe the links there will bring you to the sutras.
Tohsan
post Sep 20 2010, 11:59 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Sep 20 2010, 09:49 AM)
That one we don't know for sure unless you can see them. Even there is no Devas around you at that time, you can still derive other benefits from this meditation, good karma being one of them..
thanks for the explaination smile.gif
xecton
post Sep 20 2010, 12:05 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 12 2010, 07:54 PM)
i wonder how many good karma brought over from my past life has left...

i've been pretty 'good luck' on a few occasions...notably life threatening ones..including not seeing the incoming cars properly before making a turn...thankfully that time the opposing car was coming slow.. sweat.gif
QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 13 2010, 12:25 PM)
its not only driving...

sometimes crossing the road..

most recent case was i drive my car until reach home with very very VERY little fuel..the next day i start car....car cannot move because fuel tank totally empty..

luckily the car did not die while i was on the road..so just wondering...how many good merits that i had obtained had been exhausted in these situations, or it does not work this way. tongue.gif
Karma or not, it is time for you to be more mindful of your environment.
soul2soul
post Sep 20 2010, 12:40 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Sep 20 2010, 11:59 AM)
thanks for the explaination  smile.gif
You are welcome. Give a try and may you derive all the benefits from it.

syadu , syadu , syadu
zstan
post Sep 20 2010, 01:46 PM

15,856 posts

anybody attending world buddhist conference this weekend?
SUSrelaxtoday
post Sep 20 2010, 01:54 PM

125 posts

I'm reading a meditative book called Opening to our primordial nature.
Very good reading smile.gif
soul2soul
post Sep 20 2010, 01:59 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 20 2010, 01:46 PM)
anybody attending world buddhist conference this weekend?
Not attending wor

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Sep 20 2010, 03:56 PM
soul2soul
post Sep 20 2010, 03:56 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

Wah man, I'm getting addicted to this kopitiam thread. I think i will stop posting in those irrelevant topics,kena jaga-jaga don't talk too much nonsense breaking the 3rd precept. hu hu

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Sep 20 2010, 03:59 PM
zstan
post Sep 20 2010, 05:07 PM

15,856 posts

lolx. like what? chinese girl boobs getting......... brows.gif
soul2soul
post Sep 21 2010, 09:47 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

Good morning.

Venerable Sariputta was Buddha's first Chief Disciple, Marshall of the Dhamma, Elder and also expert of Abhidhamma (taught by the Buddha to the gods). His wisdom (panna) is second only to the Buddha. The Buddha praised Ven Sariputta as one of the 'turner of the wheel of the Dhamma' as the Buddha was himself.

Some of us might wonder "what is Dukkha"?

What is suffering? Below is Ven Sariputta's reply and elaboration on it.

Sariputta's elaboration

[Ven. Sariputta:] "Now what, friends, is the noble truth of stress? Birth is stressful, aging is stressful, death is stressful; sorrow, lamentation, pain, distress, & despair are stressful; association with the unbeloved is stressful; separation from the loved is stressful; not getting what is wanted is stressful. In short, the five clinging-aggregates are stressful.

"And what is birth? Whatever birth, taking birth, descent, coming-to-be, coming-forth, appearance of aggregates, & acquisition of [sense] spheres of the various beings in this or that group of beings, that is called birth.

"And what is aging? Whatever aging, decrepitude, brokenness, graying, wrinkling, decline of life-force, weakening of the faculties of the various beings in this or that group of beings, that is called aging.

"And what is death? Whatever deceasing, passing away, breaking up, disappearance, dying, death, completion of time, break up of the aggregates, casting off of the body, interruption in the life faculty of the various beings in this or that group of beings, that is called death.

"And what is sorrow? Whatever sorrow, sorrowing, sadness, inward sorrow, inward sadness of anyone suffering from misfortune, touched by a painful thing, that is called sorrow.

"And what is lamentation? Whatever crying, grieving, lamenting, weeping, wailing, lamentation of anyone suffering from misfortune, touched by a painful thing, that is called lamentation.

"And what is pain? Whatever is experienced as bodily pain, bodily discomfort, pain or discomfort born of bodily contact, that is called pain.

"And what is distress? Whatever is experienced as mental pain, mental discomfort, pain or discomfort born of mental contact, that is called distress.

"And what is despair? Whatever despair, despondency, desperation of anyone suffering from misfortune, touched by a painful thing, that is called despair.

"And what is the stress of association with the unbeloved? There is the case where undesirable, unpleasing, unattractive sights, sounds, aromas, flavors, or tactile sensations occur to one; or one has connection, contact, relationship, interaction with those who wish one ill, who wish for one's harm, who wish for one's discomfort, who wish one no security from the yoke. This is called the stress of association with the unbeloved.

"And what is the stress of separation from the loved? There is the case where desirable, pleasing, attractive sights, sounds, aromas, flavors, or tactile sensations do not occur to one; or one has no connection, no contact, no relationship, no interaction with those who wish one well, who wish for one's benefit, who wish for one's comfort, who wish one security from the yoke, nor with one's mother, father, brother, sister, friends, companions, or relatives. This is called the stress of separation from the loved.

"And what is the stress of not getting what is wanted? In beings subject to birth, the wish arises, 'O, may we not be subject to birth, and may birth not come to us.' But this is not to be achieved by wanting. This is the stress of not getting what is wanted. In beings subject to aging... illness... death... sorrow, lamentation, pain, distress, & despair, the wish arises, 'O, may we not be subject to aging... illness... death... sorrow, lamentation, pain, distress, & despair, and may aging... illness... death... sorrow, lamentation, pain, distress, & despair not come to us.' But this is not to be achieved by wanting. This is the stress of not getting what is wanted.

MN 141

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Sep 21 2010, 09:48 AM
Awakened_Angel
post Sep 21 2010, 10:37 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Sep 21 2010, 10:47 AM)

Some of us might wonder "what is Dukkha"?

What is suffering? Below is Ven Sariputta's reply and elaboration on it.
Dukkha does not exist.. it is only an illusion in the mind that cause suffering
zstan
post Sep 27 2010, 09:49 AM

15,856 posts

world buddhist conference was fun. laugh.gif
soul2soul
post Sep 28 2010, 10:03 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 27 2010, 09:49 AM)
world buddhist conference was fun. laugh.gif
attended by all the major schools?
Misteri2010
post Sep 28 2010, 10:17 AM

21 posts

I found out there are lot of different Buddhist nowadays, so which one u are saying?...My friends told me that they are Buddhist, I tot should be same with me then when I follow her to her home then only she told me she is Japanese Buddhist Society...she consulted me about her religion and it is actually different from our normal Buddhist...

then, I also found some other different Buddhist society but they are actually not the normal Buddhist..the god that they pray are different..I'm confuse rclxub.gif

for the Japanese Buddhist Society, they don't have the buddha patung...they only pray to the wood with the close door..and my friends told me that we are the Buddha..human actually is the real Buddha and they wont pray for people that are death...
zstan
post Sep 28 2010, 10:20 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Sep 28 2010, 10:03 AM)
attended by all the major schools?
major schools?what do u mean?

QUOTE(Misteri2010 @ Sep 28 2010, 10:17 AM)
I found out there are lot of different Buddhist nowadays, so which one u are saying?...My friends told me that they are Buddhist, I tot should be same with me then when I follow her to her home then only she told me she is Japanese Buddhist Society...she consulted me about her religion and it is actually different from our normal Buddhist...

then, I also found some other different Buddhist society but they are actually not the normal Buddhist..the god that they pray are different..I'm confuse rclxub.gif

for the Japanese Buddhist Society, they don't have the buddha patung...they only pray to the wood with the close door..and my friends told me that we are the Buddha..human actually is the real Buddha and they wont pray for people that are death...
as long as the teachings are based on the 4 noble truths..then it is real Buddhism..
Misteri2010
post Sep 28 2010, 10:20 AM

21 posts

I read on their kitab suci..all written in Japanese..They din say Namo Amitabha..They say Namyo Horen Gekyo..

anyone know about this?
soul2soul
post Sep 28 2010, 10:21 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(Misteri2010 @ Sep 28 2010, 10:17 AM)

Well.. difference in opinion occurs even within 1 generation. We are talking about 2500 years of buddhism, so evolution of opinions and split of buddhism into different kinds of schools are expected. Need to do a bit of reading if you are interested.
zstan
post Sep 28 2010, 10:23 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Misteri2010 @ Sep 28 2010, 10:20 AM)
I read on their kitab suci..all written in Japanese..They din say Namo Amitabha..They say Namyo Horen Gekyo..

anyone know about this?
read this:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daimoku

it still refers to the teachings of the Sakyamuni Buddha.
Misteri2010
post Sep 28 2010, 10:24 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 28 2010, 10:20 AM)
major schools?what do u mean?
as long as the teachings are based on the 4 noble truths..then it is real Buddhism..
I don't really know about her Buddhist..this is because she tried to ask me to join their club, she also explain to me about their religion..

119 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0170sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:41 AM