Group LYN Buddhism Retreat - SERIOUS TALK, No trolling please

xecton
post Aug 19 2010, 02:02 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(phantomkid @ Aug 19 2010, 01:09 PM)
lol, give people some time lah. smile.gif these answers are in my opinion and might be wrong and/or empty because i'm not a strong buddhist myself, only pray and .. believe but did not learn all the dharmasutras stuffs (and don't even know how to chant.)

1.) What are the duties of the monks?
- to help the believers communicate with God.
2.) Why do we need monks?
- as above.
3.) If we as a buddhist disciples follow the concept of Buddhism, then what does the monk do.

4.) How different is Buddhism with other religion or philosophy like Confucious?

5.) Siddharta realize the 4 points of life: Life, Old, Sickness, Death. so what he has to say abt them and how we deal with it?

6.) What is Kuan Yin? What does kuan yin has to do with buddhism? I see a lot ppl CANNOT eat beef coz they pray kuan yin. So should their religion be KUANYINISM ?

7.) is premarital sex allowed? in christian is not allowed, so buddhism can or not?
- Probably not.
8.) is gambling allowed in buddhism? coz i see the disciples all gamble like crazy. if it's allowed, why can't the monk gamble?
Yes, I guess. monks dont gamble maybe because they want to stay away from these bad habits.
9.) Why must a buddhist monk wear the robe? any reasoning behind it?

10.) Why a monk must accept donation but not go out work? For example I'm an IT Consultant, can i be a monk as well? day time wear suit go work, at nite or weekend oni wear the robe go temple pray like a monk.
they don't take donation openly.. afaik, you give them angpau instead, not a cheque written Ten-thousand ONLY.
11.) What is NamoAmitabha? Since u said buddhism no god, why need those chanting/prayers?

12.) Why do we need to donate to temple? everytime i see temple got a lot donation box. i dont see any such thing in church (alto some is local msian sendiri nak do charity donation to some gaza kids, but tat's another story)

13.) is there anything call holy water in buddhism? coz i see u cainis love to go temple mintak the ... what u call that ah.. a piece of yellow paper with writings on it. i remember watching a cainis show, the ppl burn the yellow paper and soak in water and ask the disciple to drink it. is this the holy water?
I think they call it "An Quan Zi" (sorry, I'm banana, don't know the exact pin yin) which means Safety Paper or something lah, burn and drink or something (lol).
14.) what does buddhism has to say about creation of life?

15.) so regardless how sincere we pray, we will still be in the situation and nobody will help us? for us, if we pray hard, lord will come to our rescue, and send us savior in times of difficulty.
if you meant this as christian stuff, i've seen something that a pastor do which obviously failed. no offense to christians. well, no one knows if god really exist or will be there at all times. i do pray hard at times, needing help to go through a hard time.
That's a fail.... sad.gif
xecton
post Aug 19 2010, 03:14 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(phantomkid @ Aug 19 2010, 02:30 PM)
Like what fail? My mum went to temple the other day and the monk told her something about my sister, and it was true. The monk has 6th sense that can read the future ke? And am not saying the monk has crazy shii- powers to talk to God.
Buddhism don't have God with a capital G. They might have deities.
If you believe in the supernatural stuffs, then some people might have the ability to see/talk with the deities.
But definately the purpose of Buddhism is not for you to chit-chat with the deities. Along the same line, communication with gods/deities is not the duty of monks.

QUOTE(phantomkid @ Aug 19 2010, 01:09 PM)
1.) What are the duties of the monks?
- to help the believers communicate with God.
Thus fail...

xecton
post Aug 19 2010, 04:41 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(phantomkid @ Aug 19 2010, 04:05 PM)
It's alright, I forgive those who fail to understand and couldn't/can't think further than what I said. smile.gif
Don't worry, I too forgive those who think it's morning when it's just the room's light being switched on.

However, we could still continue to discuss if you care to elaborate what you think I misunderstood you of.
xecton
post Aug 19 2010, 05:45 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

Hi guys, I have a question. And this is not trolling.

As far as I know, monks (Theravada only or all?) are not allowed to wear underwear.
The reason is that Buddha don't want his followers to have attachment to their clothings, so all must wear the orange robe. So since they haven't invent underwear at that time, it is not in their "uniform".

But why the commando practice still goes on today in the modern age? Why not wear underwear now?
Isn't holding on to the old practice for the sake of the old practice is an attachment?

I may have made some assumptions above. If I'm mistaken in any part, it's because of my lack of knowledge. Don't flame me.
xecton
post Aug 19 2010, 09:59 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Aug 19 2010, 08:38 PM)
commando practice is because cloth between the legs may cause excitement.

however it is a minor vow, and can be disregarded depending on the circumstances i.e when there are greater needs. For example in monasteries in tibet (now dharamsala) older monks do wear underwear as it makes it easier for younger monks to help wash them.
shakehead.gif shocking.gif rclxub.gif shakehead.gif shocking.gif rclxub.gif
What? I never feel excited wearing underwear everyday... I'll feel more excited if I don't wear.
xecton
post Aug 20 2010, 04:39 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(Palmolive Thermal Spa @ Aug 20 2010, 03:16 PM)
the thread reads retreat but there is no information whatsoever about retreats. user posted image

anyone interested for a short length retreat (10days+) let's discuss about it. we can zerg rush kuantan's dhamma malaya or penang's MBMC.
Hmm... isn't MBMC rather infamous for temple politics (you know, like office politics)?
xecton
post Aug 20 2010, 04:46 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

That's why I prefer smaller temples. Less of such nonsense. The bigger the group, the dirtier it gets.
xecton
post Aug 20 2010, 05:32 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Aug 20 2010, 04:47 PM)
small temple oso got. big temple oso got. company also got. friend groups also got. with relatives oso got. family also got.

u wanna run to where?! isnt it better to just learn how to deal with it and handle it accordingly?
I maneuver around office politics because I need to cari makan. But there is no reason for me to stand for holier-than-thou people squabbling about petty issues.

QUOTE(Palmolive Thermal Spa @ Aug 20 2010, 04:54 PM)
yea, a lot of tai tais went to the last retreat i went and couldn't stop talking even there's a big no talking sign. very strong habits haha.
oh, you do retreats too? how was it?
Er...... no. But there was one time when I had a serious issue at work that I considered going for one, in Kelantan. But never did.

This post has been edited by xecton: Aug 20 2010, 05:32 PM
xecton
post Aug 23 2010, 10:02 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Aug 20 2010, 09:11 PM)
If you could do it for your makan why not do it for Dharma? Same techniques, different motivations, different outcome. If you tahan politics in a temple you will be able to find Dharma. Consider the effort and the struggles an offering to the Buddhas.
LOL no, I'm not even a buddhist.
xecton
post Sep 10 2010, 04:08 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Sep 10 2010, 01:03 PM)
If we don't know fate , fate is actually exist
If we know fate , we can overcome fate or will not exist
Hanuman does exists
Does Hercules exists?
xecton
post Sep 20 2010, 12:05 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 12 2010, 07:54 PM)
i wonder how many good karma brought over from my past life has left...

i've been pretty 'good luck' on a few occasions...notably life threatening ones..including not seeing the incoming cars properly before making a turn...thankfully that time the opposing car was coming slow.. sweat.gif
QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 13 2010, 12:25 PM)
its not only driving...

sometimes crossing the road..

most recent case was i drive my car until reach home with very very VERY little fuel..the next day i start car....car cannot move because fuel tank totally empty..

luckily the car did not die while i was on the road..so just wondering...how many good merits that i had obtained had been exhausted in these situations, or it does not work this way. tongue.gif
Karma or not, it is time for you to be more mindful of your environment.
xecton
post Sep 27 2011, 09:10 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Sep 26 2011, 03:27 PM)
its actually Qi there. I went with practitioners of qi gong and we meditate and train there. For meals, they cook for you all organic =)
not buddhism
xecton
post Jan 14 2015, 09:02 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(Michael2020 @ Dec 22 2014, 08:02 AM)
No peace will be found in Christ, I will tell you why:
Pretty soon a Catastrophic event will befall a large Christian nation, this will be just a beginning for those who professed Abrahamic religions. After it happened. Those people will then claim "The end of time is near"..."Judgment Days is near"..."It Apocalypse"..."2nd coming of Jesus". The truth is this so-called Apocalypse will largely wipe out those who professed Abrahamic religions within 10 years, after this Catastrophic event. Those whose survive will be largely non-Abrahamic religions. During WW2 in Europe, it is Christian killing another Christian, in WW3 it will be the same. Orthodox Christian will rule Europe which have been largely depopulate after WW3. The current Pope will be the last Pope.
And you called yourself a buddhist?
xecton
post Jan 16 2015, 01:44 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(Michael2020 @ Jan 14 2015, 12:26 PM)
Why you butthurt?
Not butthurt, but appalled by you, a so called buddhist.
xecton
post Jan 16 2015, 06:11 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(Michael2020 @ Jan 16 2015, 05:27 PM)
I only tell the TRUTH of what will happen in the future, I don't simply make up some story or wish it to happen.  In fact I hope it will not happen & I hope I got wrong information.

But the truth is around 80% of those who professed abrahamic religions will perish, while those 80% of pagan will survive. You don't need to wait for long time to know whether i'm telling the truth or not...It will come whether we like it or not.

In fact I'm in the process of learning to be a prepper. I hope all Buddhist start to learn to be a prepper. When the 1st catastropic event happen it is adviseable to start buying & storing food supply. Make sure the food supply can last your family 3-6 month.
Are you going to tell me that you got visions of the future TRUTH from your meditations?
Can you describe what you saw?
Also the weed you smoked?
xecton
post Jan 16 2015, 09:07 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(Michael2020 @ Jan 16 2015, 08:12 PM)
Just wait and see.......the event will come.......
Yeahhh...... probably the nasty lunch you had.

0.0664sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:31 AM