Windows 8 News, Released on 26 Oct 2012

Quantum_thinking
post Nov 15 2010, 02:05 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(Xtremo @ Nov 15 2010, 01:12 AM)
hmm..microsoft is such a good company that deploys everything they have:)
I say if it does not do so, this software giant may be out of the business within the century.
adi88
post Nov 16 2010, 11:00 AM

122 posts

i hope windows 8 been more better than 7 smile.gif
gstoh
post Nov 16 2010, 11:03 PM

INTJ
1,282 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Nov 13 2010, 01:15 AM)
New OS from scratch is not an option as that would take too much times and while in process, all other OSes will advances with new features and such. Even MacOSX and Linux doesn't get total rewrite as it's time consuming, money costing and not productive.

BTW, what does not get fully utilized in Windows 7? Can you name a few?
I should use not fully optimized instead of fully utilized, sorry for the wrong word used here
for example:
the battery life in windows is not efficient compared to other advanced OS such as OSX leopard on the same machine
on the same machine OSX has much longer battery life
source: http://www.anandtech.com/show/2785/the-new...sta-sata-issues

furthermore, windows has some redundant services running behind that consume CPU resources, which slow down and shorten the battery life nod.gif

well you can see, windows phone 7 is just an example of revolution

Added on November 16, 2010, 11:05 pm
QUOTE(herojack41 @ Nov 15 2010, 01:19 AM)
well....if MS follow as you said...im pretty sure the company will collapse straight away....

do you know in this world there are still many end user and business user using old OS? and also hardware....yeah you might think if hardware are not working with latest software should change it...but i can said its so darn wrong. those hardware maybe cost over rm10k!!!
well the software architecture should be made to be compatible with hardwares. smile.gif

This post has been edited by gstoh: Nov 16 2010, 11:05 PM
FarCry3r
post Nov 17 2010, 01:20 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(gstoh @ Nov 16 2010, 11:03 PM)
the battery life in windows is not efficient compared to other advanced OS such as OSX leopard on the same machine
on the same machine OSX has much longer battery life
source: http://www.anandtech.com/show/2785/the-new...sta-sata-issues
That's so 2006. Haven't you heard that Windows 7 now handles power more efficiently than Windows Vista?

furthermore, windows has some redundant services running behind that consume CPU resources, which slow down and shorten the battery life nod.gif
That can be disabled if needed.

well the software architecture should be made to be compatible with hardwares. smile.gif
I still can't figure out what this sentence mean. If Windows is not compatible with hardwares, you will see peoples moaning over the world that their new hardware purchases doesn't work with Windows. Am I right?
gstoh
post Nov 17 2010, 01:35 AM

INTJ
1,282 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Nov 17 2010, 01:20 AM)
That's so 2006. Haven't you heard that Windows 7 now handles power more efficiently than Windows Vista?
That can be disabled if needed.
I still can't figure out what this sentence mean. If Windows is not compatible with hardwares, you will see peoples moaning over the world that their new hardware purchases doesn't work with Windows. Am I right?
well i heard alot about windows 7 regarding power handling improvement , but in real world test... it makes negligible differences
athough you say it is so 2006
windows 7 does not really improve the power handling.
source: http://www.pcworld.com/article/172509-2/wi...ance_tests.html

well I just said that sentence because the former forumer thought re-designing architecture of OS will need new hardware architecture/organization as well...

This post has been edited by gstoh: Nov 17 2010, 01:37 AM
CopyX
post Nov 17 2010, 03:31 AM

317 posts

for me and my personal beliefs. the good windows version is

(upgrade from 98)
Windows 98se (best version. beats the hell out of ME and 2000)

(upgrade from 2000)
Windows XP (didnt use it until 2002, shockingly satisfying, i dont even want to change at first lol)

(upgrade from Vista)
Windows 7 (tried vista on a friends pc and readin review.. it sucks.. until 7 comes i installed it right away)

~looks up~ rolleyes.gif
im pretty sure i will hold up for a while if Windows 8 hav surfaced..

I don't dig the hype, i dig the reviews.

cheers~ wink.gif
SUSgreenlemontea
post Nov 17 2010, 03:57 AM

99 posts

windows 7
- windows media player - failed
- dvd burner - failed
-internet explorer - failed
-defender - failed
-hardware req - high
-power consumption - high

the only things that not failed is the direct x ,which enable many pc games can be play.
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 17 2010, 12:58 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

I hope that Microsoft would make their OS greener. I have have to use laptops and i always find myself low in battery when using the Windows 7.

My Acer laptop can survive for about 1.25 hour, but it could only survive for about 45 minutes on the Windows 7.
shoduken
post Nov 17 2010, 02:53 PM

1,741 posts

All Chinese in the world will like Windows 8.

8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
SVENZ
post Nov 17 2010, 03:39 PM

i never try window 7 yet cry.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 17 2010, 06:04 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(shoduken @ Nov 17 2010, 02:53 PM)
All Chinese in the world will like Windows 8.

8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
Yeah.

Nokia avoids the S60V4 to rename the Symbian touchscreen OS to S60V5 due to the eastern culture.

QUOTE(SVENZ @ Nov 17 2010, 03:39 PM)
i never try window 7 yet  cry.gif
you can always buy from the retail shops.
cloudstrife07
post Nov 17 2010, 08:25 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(greenlemontea @ Nov 17 2010, 03:57 AM)
windows 7
- windows media player - failed
- dvd burner - failed
-internet explorer - failed
-defender - failed
-hardware req - high
-power consumption - high
the only things that not failed is the direct x ,which enable many pc games can be play.
i dont think the hardware requirement is high. i can use windows 7 on pentium 4 pc with 512mb RAM.

internet explorer is ok to me.
Panda
post Nov 17 2010, 10:20 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Nov 17 2010, 08:25 PM)
i dont think the hardware requirement is high. i can use windows 7 on pentium 4 pc with 512mb RAM.

internet explorer is ok to me.
Internet Explorer 9 will be good, it will follow strictly web standard and support HTML 5.

Quantum_thinking
post Nov 17 2010, 10:39 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(Panda @ Nov 17 2010, 10:20 PM)
Internet Explorer 9 will be good, it will follow strictly web standard and support HTML 5.
When will the IE9 be available as a stable version?
Fallensya14
post Nov 22 2010, 11:17 AM

115 posts

Too early liao.. They wan suck peoples money ka? (._.) win7 is good alrdy.
leyley
post Nov 22 2010, 12:02 PM

2,096 posts

Still using Windows XP here. If they come out can skip Windows 7 laugh.gif
FarCry3r
post Nov 22 2010, 12:37 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(Fallensya14 @ Nov 22 2010, 11:17 AM)
Too early liao.. They wan suck peoples money ka? (._.) win7 is good alrdy.
You don't have to upgrade if you don't want to. No one, including Microsoft is forcing you to upgrade anyway, plus Windows 8 release date fits just fine in Microsoft OS release cycle.
djronzai
post Nov 22 2010, 07:24 PM

KL ron
881 posts

i hope window 8 will getting better ...chg the design view and themes at all
Quantum_thinking
post Nov 22 2010, 09:43 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(djronzai @ Nov 22 2010, 07:24 PM)
i hope window 8 will getting better ...chg the design view and themes at all
I wish that it would be greener, so that i can use it on my laptop for a longer time compared to Windows 7.
ibnibrahizarmd
post Nov 23 2010, 10:39 AM

41 posts

Hope the windows 8 is much much better wink.gif

28 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0271sec    2.20    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:07 AM