post Sep 23 2010, 08:12 PM

2,234 posts

this will definitely cause burn-in in plasma display brows.gif
neb
post Sep 23 2010, 11:32 PM

2,234 posts

strange, why astro did not deal directly with SBS, instead have to go through sony?

neb
post Sep 24 2010, 12:58 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Sep 24 2010, 12:13 AM)
Look on Frasier on FX HD and youl'll ge it. brows.gif
how come your frasier on FXHD is stretch?

I think it is SD upscaled+upconverted to HD, 4:3 aspect ratio is preserved, black bar on left and right, no stretch is done

This post has been edited by neb: Sep 24 2010, 12:59 AM
neb
post Sep 27 2010, 01:54 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(manutd10 @ Sep 27 2010, 10:14 AM)
I have tried a few times to record live EPL matches but recording failed. Its works fine for other programs. Am I Missing something? I'm using an External HD and subscribing to the recording service. Anyone face this problem before?
firmware for byond external hard disk recording is still very buggy, new firmware update is long ovedue, byond PVR however got more stable firmware

complain to astro hotline, and ask for your RM5 back brows.gif
neb
post Sep 27 2010, 02:04 PM

2,234 posts

hush hush stuff, better take off the link brows.gif

This post has been edited by neb: Sep 27 2010, 03:18 PM
neb
post Sep 27 2010, 03:18 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Sep 27 2010, 02:08 PM)
Why can't B.yond dish be THAT big, sure no fade rain problem... brows.gif
astro is using KU band for its broadcast, and KU band required dish with millimeter accuracy, multi-segment dish usually used for C-band is not accurately constructed for use with KU band

generally KU band dish required one piece dish construction to achieve the required millimeter accuracy
neb
post Sep 27 2010, 03:49 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Sep 27 2010, 03:41 PM)
So, why can't one receive C-Band? Does Byond support C-Band instead? hmm.gif
because astro is authorized to use ku band only for tv broadcast in malaysia

byond is using dvb-s2, should be able receive both KU and C-band signal, but byond is hard-coded to receive signal from measat satellites' KU transponders only

one day I may try to construct single piece 1m firebglass offset dish for astro reception, anyone know where to get fibreglass sheet and resin supply? brows.gif
neb
post Sep 27 2010, 05:46 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(apexg2 @ Sep 27 2010, 04:15 PM)
cannot use aluminium foil ka??? whistling.gif
yes you can if you are able to keep the shape of foil rigid, using magic or witchcraft may be brows.gif
neb
post Sep 28 2010, 01:56 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(Sting Ray @ Sep 28 2010, 12:02 PM)
noob question. if I upgrade to Astro Byond, would the installer change to a new satelilte dish and cable to replace the old one ?

is it the same for Astro Byond PVR ?
yes you will get everything brand new

for PVR it will require an extra cable from the satellite dish, because pvr has dual-tuner
neb
post Sep 28 2010, 03:14 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Sep 28 2010, 03:12 PM)
If u can take them to Court and u suceed then the gates wld be open for customers to sue, but............ flex.gif
why sue, we still have rain-fade problem, whatever the technology, it doesn't work whistling.gif

astro should just gives us 1m dish, this will really tackle rain-fade without using any exotic technology

vietnam DTH operator I think is using 1m offset ku-band dish

This post has been edited by neb: Sep 28 2010, 03:38 PM
neb
post Sep 28 2010, 06:15 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Sep 28 2010, 05:31 PM)
AV Asia also alleged that Measat withheld information from its Astro B.yond customers - who bought a new decoder and a new satellite dish for a monthly payment of RM20 to receive HD programmes - that they did not need to install the new dish to receive the programmes "
This is interesting ! notworthy.gif
so if av asia win the case, we don't have to pay astro RM20/month anymore?

if that is true, is is actually a good news for astro subscribers, more saving on subscription fee thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by neb: Sep 28 2010, 06:19 PM
neb
post Sep 28 2010, 06:31 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Sep 28 2010, 06:18 PM)
I know. It doesn't suck to have BIG dish, right? laugh.gif
not all dishes are alike, offset one piece dish(astr uses these dishes) is more efficient than prime focus multi-segment dish

This post has been edited by neb: Sep 28 2010, 06:35 PM
neb
post Sep 28 2010, 06:39 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Sep 28 2010, 06:35 PM)
B.yond decoder, if configure correctly can watch other country channel too hmm.gif ?
if someone successfully hacked it, byond box may be used to receive other satellites transmmission

in current byond state, it can't be configured to receive other satellites, only measat 3 and 3A brows.gif
neb
post Sep 28 2010, 07:11 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Sep 28 2010, 06:50 PM)
Discovery HD India is at MEASAT 3, so how? brows.gif
that channel belong to Ascent Media, a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Discovery Holding Company, I think they are using mesat 3A for distribution/feed

astro did not sign contract with discovery for DiscHD, so no DiscHD for us

neb
post Sep 28 2010, 07:17 PM

2,234 posts

astro should negotiate harder and ask discovery for "buy 2 and get one free" brows.gif

This post has been edited by neb: Sep 28 2010, 07:20 PM
neb
post Sep 28 2010, 09:36 PM

2,234 posts

av asia is suing astro for leaking LNB technology to Tele System Electronic, from local chinese language newspaper

This post has been edited by neb: Sep 28 2010, 09:47 PM
neb
post Sep 29 2010, 01:32 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(K.E @ Sep 29 2010, 12:55 PM)
guys i need some guide here  sweat.gif

received this letter today

- worth to upgrade ?
- the RM20 HD channel charge is compulsory right ?
any idea  hmm.gif
there is no mention of RM20/month on the letter, so HD fee should be optional
neb
post Sep 29 2010, 01:54 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Sep 29 2010, 01:47 PM)
And for RM300 installation charges? hmm.gif
the letter stated "Free standard installation"
neb
post Sep 29 2010, 04:27 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(apexg2 @ Sep 29 2010, 04:16 PM)
just my opinion...i dun think astro as that stupid...they know legal term better la i think....
if LNB internal electronic circuit is very similar to AV audio's original design, then astro will be in big trouble shocking.gif
neb
post Sep 29 2010, 06:26 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(sky3742 @ Sep 29 2010, 06:00 PM)
hello, i don't understand that today news. astro sues 1.3bil??? I don't understand what the news mean.
I hope what can't be do in the future...
av audio claimed that astro leaked av audio's LNB design to Tele System Electronic

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0432sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:13 PM