Starcraft 2 Troubleshooting thread, Check first post for possible solutions

TSkianweic
post Jul 29 2010, 09:41 PM, updated 16y ago

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

For technical support Q&A.

GC Overheating in SC2?

The following information was taken from: http://gameinformer.com/b/news/archive/201...eating-bug.aspx

"Anyone else have StarCraft II try to melt their hardware? Blizzard admits that it's a known issue and has a fix for you.

Apparently, the game's menu screens aren't framerate-limited. This means that when there's nothing else going on, your graphics hardware renders the bejeezus out of those screens, causing nasty overheating problems. The fix is easy, requiring players to add the following lines to your "Documents\StarCraft II\variables.txt" file:

frameratecapglue=30
frameratecap=60

Good to know. Personally I would have appreciated a heads-up before my video card fried, but maybe this can save someone else from the hassle I've been dealing with since yesterday afternoon."

Keep Bumped.

---
"Come get some!" -Ash

Before reinstalling sc2, try doing repair.exe

via: C:\Program Files\StarCraft II\Support\repair.exe (depend on your installation directory/drive)

=edit=
forgot to add this: do note before doing repair.exe, please be connected to the internet, and make sure your connection is stable (and preferably port forwarded) for patch/files download

This post has been edited by kianweic: Sep 27 2010, 10:23 AM
hazairi
post Jul 30 2010, 07:37 AM

2,694 posts

Anyone playing SC2 on XP SP2?
I'm playing on SP2 and so far got no prob..
Sky.Live
post Jul 30 2010, 08:38 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I always have problem to tab in and out, almost took me more than a minute to tab back in..

Sometimes my mouse would run out to my 2nd screen and made me tab out
abeajoc
post Jul 30 2010, 10:28 AM

for me, it takes ages to download custom map.. when i press "join game" button it either says "not available while downloading" or "not available while waiting lobby".. but then it never happens.. don't know what the problem is..
mcblade
post Jul 30 2010, 10:42 AM

1,116 posts

Thinking on having starcraft 2 but not sure whether my lappy can support (at least medium mode) or not

C2D 1.8ghz
3Gb Ram
Intel GMA X3100
Windows 7 Ultimate 32 Bit
TSkianweic
post Jul 30 2010, 10:45 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jul 30 2010, 08:38 AM)
I always have problem to tab in and out, almost took me more than a minute to tab back in..

Which OS?
-ZeN-
post Jul 30 2010, 10:48 AM

353 posts

Check your settings is it currently Windowed mode, or Windowed (Fullscreen) or Fullscreen?
Also, is you resolution setting at Native resolution?
Do not run the game in Administrator privilege also.
Edison83
post Jul 30 2010, 02:41 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

the problem i spotted is that the game doesnt work on my creative XFI Xtremegamer Fatality SoundCard on 5.1 and 7.1. If u guys use multiple speaker please set to proLogic.
SSJBen
post Jul 30 2010, 02:44 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Jul 30 2010, 07:37 AM)
Anyone playing SC2 on XP SP2?
I'm playing on SP2 and so far got no prob..
Why would there be a problem in the first place if playing on SP2? laugh.gif
I'm also playing on SP2.
Sky.Live
post Jul 30 2010, 02:53 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

win 7 ultimate, 1680x1050, ATI 4850, c2d 3ghz with 4gb ram.. I guess it's not a too bad rig to run sc2, only problem is that tab in and out taking forever. Maybe I should disable the other screen when I play sc2?

need to switch to gamer mode for my keyboard too as always accidently press start button
-ZeN-
post Jul 30 2010, 03:19 PM

353 posts

SC2 options there got settings for disable window key and alt+tab.
hazairi
post Jul 30 2010, 06:00 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jul 30 2010, 08:38 AM)

Hmm, maybe because you ran too many programs at a time..

QUOTE(abeajoc @ Jul 30 2010, 10:28 AM)
for me, it takes ages to download custom map.. when i press "join game" button it either says "not available while downloading" or "not available while waiting lobby".. but then it never happens.. don't know what the problem is..
hmm, though i'm using sp2, i got no problem like this

QUOTE(mcblade @ Jul 30 2010, 10:42 AM)
Thinking on having starcraft 2 but not sure whether my lappy can support (at least medium mode) or not

C2D 1.8ghz
3Gb Ram
Intel GMA X3100
Windows 7 Ultimate 32 Bit
your graphics card should have at least 128MB of ram. Go to ur display properties and check..

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 30 2010, 02:44 PM)
Why would there be a problem in the first place if playing on SP2? laugh.gif
I'm also playing on SP2.
haha, because the requirement is to have the latest service pack.. maybe Blizzard already 'pakat' with Microsoft.. tongue.gif

TSkianweic
post Jul 31 2010, 01:33 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jul 30 2010, 02:53 PM)
win 7 ultimate, 1680x1050, ATI 4850, c2d 3ghz with 4gb ram.. I guess it's not a too bad rig to run sc2, only problem is that tab in and out taking forever. Maybe I should disable the other screen when I play sc2?

need to switch to gamer mode for my keyboard too as always accidently press start button
Auto-tabbing out from the game seems quite ok for me.

No issues so far.
SSJBen
post Jul 31 2010, 01:51 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Jul 30 2010, 06:00 PM)
haha, because the requirement is to have the latest service pack.. maybe Blizzard already 'pakat' with Microsoft.. tongue.gif
Haha... if you update your SP2 all the time, it is basically SP3.
Doesn't matter. Although now SP2 will not get any more updates in the future.
yeahh
post Jul 31 2010, 03:23 AM

Not enough stars :(
1,715 posts

can we have a minimum requirements thread?? see what are user feedbacks on their current rig .. be it ram/processor/graphics/OS

hdd dun think need to specify ... as long as got space..

im running
processor: core2dua e4600 @ 2.4ghz
ram: 2 gig DDR2
graphics: nvidia geforce 9600gt 512mb

anyone running at this specs?? dun wanna buy it and then 'feel' i have to upgrade certain parts ... sad.gif
TSkianweic
post Jul 31 2010, 09:51 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(yeahh @ Jul 31 2010, 03:23 AM)
can we have a minimum requirements thread?? see what are user feedbacks on their current rig .. be it ram/processor/graphics/OS

hdd dun think need to specify ... as long as got space..

im running
processor: core2dua e4600 @ 2.4ghz
ram: 2 gig DDR2
graphics: nvidia geforce 9600gt 512mb

anyone running at this specs?? dun wanna buy it and then 'feel' i have to upgrade certain parts ... sad.gif
Change your GPU to something more powerful, AMD5770 or GTX260 (if you can still find it).

Starcraft 2 is quite GPU dependent.

kEazYc
post Jul 31 2010, 10:50 AM

1,314 posts

Do you guys face any shuttering problem when you just logged into SC2 where you see all the news and community blabla thing, i realise that the shuttering problem happens when its loading the "built it webpage", after loading everything, then its smooth.
TSkianweic
post Jul 31 2010, 11:56 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

To enable AA in Starcraft 2 for Nvidia cards, just use Rivatuner or the Nvidia drivers software.

So far I am playing at 1920x1200 resolution with ultra details for everything and 4xAA.

fujkenasai
post Jul 31 2010, 12:00 PM

1,137 posts

Isnt there already one in the QnA section sticky?
TSkianweic
post Jul 31 2010, 12:02 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

This is for technical support.

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:10 PM